DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

johnj

IA simply doesn't want local stuff. They demand world class specs>which when met>is countered by magical bullshit "concern" that materializes out of thin air>gov intervenes>IA agrees on a token order of 10% of their total requirement>rinse and repeat
IA totally buy local stuff if there is no alternatives or other countries[foreign companies] says its world class.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert

If we are really serious about TAPAS MALE/HALE we should ditch underpowered piston engines and go for turboprop engines with > 800Hp power output. If DRDO cannot make it in-house, import them as we do for Tejas till a homegrown solution is not ready.

Turkey uses Motor Sich turboprop engines which are manufactured in Ukraine, and their UAVs are selling like hot cake, going neck-to-neck with Chinese and American UAVs in performance.

WarmongerLSK

If we are really serious about TAPAS MALE/HALE we should ditch underpowered piston engines and go for turboprop engines with > 800Hp power output. If DRDO cannot make it in-house, import them as we do for Tejas till a homegrown solution is not ready.

Turkey uses Motor Sich turboprop engines which are manufactured in Ukraine, and their UAVs are selling like hot cake, going neck-to-neck with Chinese and American UAVs in performance.
@Chinmoy, is this engine powerful enough for TAPAS? IIRC you said its underpowered. Also, in the specifications, it shows 180 HP upto 11,000 feet? Our requirement is at 30,000 feet.

Rassil Krishnan

Bhai kahna kya chahte ho??
UN Generals takes zillion of trials also DRDO fault.
Did not placed order after trials also DRDO fault.
Not giving proper requirement also DrDO fault.

Only solution is put DRDO under UN generals. Even Pakistani Donkey will laugh on your suggestion.

How comfortably you ignored biased/Wrong doing of UN Generals why they keep changing goal posts.
why doesn't army order 80% solution items from indigenous sources as enthusiastically as foreign armies.the so called US army is atleast good in one aspect even though many recent bg ticket acquisitions have been controversial to disastrous.they are always bullish and defending the private arms seller even when their product is clearly not backed by the product on the ground.

With IA, there is always a nervous sense in the air that they will abandon the defence project or product at the slightest mistake while the US army hardly ever voices a lot of hatred for clearly dysfunctional equipment even when they cause big issues in their force structure like LCS.

I want some more bullishness from the IA and I want it in terms of actions of orders rather than just speeches and words. This feels like they are stalling for time until a less nationalistic gov comes to power so that they can resume their usual shenanigans. Ihope I am wrong or at least the UN General agenda is thwarted from the bud and that India becomes permanently in the hold of the indigenous industries like in our strategic weapons sectors.

When trials were successfully completed was that not good enough?
Technically these are not trials, but users (IA &IAF) terms these as trials.
A small quantity of product is ordered and put into tactical real life exercise. Based on the results, a war plan is created around the system. On basis of that, numbers are decided. But then too, the testing phase goes on and on as war scenario keeps on changing.

For example, these are some snippets of Gridbot UGVs used in real life exercise.

Gridbot 1.jpg

Gridbot.jpg

So from user point of view, these are also trials.

Tuco

Technically these are not trials, but users (IA &IAF) terms these as trials.
A small quantity of product is ordered and put into tactical real life exercise. Based on the results, a war plan is created around the system. On basis of that, numbers are decided. But then too, the testing phase goes on and on as war scenario keeps on changing.

For example, these are some snippets of Gridbot UGVs used in real life exercise.

View attachment 188823

View attachment 188824

So from user point of view, these are also trials.
Since these are new articles until a handbook is created, trials will continue. As newer and newer tech starts trickling there will be more of these trials.

TVS Sundaram Industries pvt ltd, written on upper right corner of pic. Don't know if the design of this load hauler is indian or screwdrivergiri of Israeli similiar system, looks similiar to me, probably is, even the treads on tires match
I always have double doubts on any Indian company showing a good product, as we know they are particularly not known for putting their own money in R&D
Yeah, I've checked Sundaram products last day itself, but it is not been published there. But search result points towards TVS Sundaram only.

This is the reason why indigenous products do fail to even qualify.