DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

This actually a very weak link for us . Some prof in a PSU or college might come up with some innovation but nothing comes out of it as there is no next step .. hardly anyone will follow up to commercialise hence the researchers just keep pumping out papers with no actual work happening. Our pvt companies on the other hand will happily import already commercialised tech.from abroad.
Example being some research team may come up with an innovative battery cell but no investor will put money in to bring this to market.
We need to encourage the researchers to go out into the private sector and do startup companies. Nowadays that's what most US scientists and researchers do. Once they invent or patent something, they either market it o companies and get a fat salary or do a startup with seed money from capital ventures people.

karn

We need to encourage the researchers to go out into the private sector and do startup companies. Nowadays that's what most US scientists and researchers do. Once they invent or patent something, they either market it o companies and get a fat salary or do a startup with seed money from capital ventures people.
I mentioned the VC space .. that got moved to the economy thread.
I don't wanna be all gloom and doom .. sometimes it works out . Research by IOL is what is behind the 2nd gen ethanol plants being set up today.

I meant to say that let army induct Nirbhay with Russian engine in nos rather than waiting for stfe
That will increase capability manifold times
Do you know that using Russian engine is going to deplete the performance of the missile by manifold from what the designers have envisioned?

Why you want to induct a system which basically don't fit in your war scenario?

jai jaganath

Do you know that using Russian engine is going to deplete the performance of the missile by manifold from what the designers have envisioned?

Why you want to induct a system which basically don't fit in your war scenario?
But it better than having no subsonic cruise missiles in arsenal
Except costly bhramos what other cruise missile does army have
If we see current conflict Russia used hundreds of Kalibr
Subsonic missiles have their own cost and capability advantage having them is must that too with robust manufacturing capability of it as to scale up during conflict

kharabela

Lots of information on solar industry history and system they are building . They have projects like maheswarastra , bhargavastra .

Damn rags to riches, brought tears to my eyes.
1 industrialist > 100 IAS babus.

Aniruddha Mulay

Folks can u enlighten me regarding few things
1)status of ex air india a320 for netra mk2
2)status of a319 for amca tech development
3)status of 747 or 767 for tanker conversion by hai partnering with IAI
1) Those ex-AI A320 have been sent to France for modifications and structural strengthening after which the DRDO developed Netra Mk2 radome will be mounted.
2) Already operational with DRDO.
3) The IAF Chief was given a demo of the Boeing 767 conversion to a refueller during the DefExpo 2022.

Abdus Salem killed

1) Those ex-AI A320 have been sent to France for modifications and structural strengthening after which the DRDO developed Netra Mk2 radome will be mounted.
2) Already operational with DRDO.
3) The IAF Chief was given a demo of the Boeing 767 conversion to a refueller during the DefExpo 2022.
How many countries can build indigenous awecs bro ?

Aniruddha Mulay

US, UK, Italy, Sweden, Russia, Israel, French, India, China, Japan.
Sweden, Israel, India need foreign jets.
US, Russia, China and Israel sells full AWACS [360 degree, 450km+ range sensor]
I wouldn't add Japan to that list since their AWACS is basically the E-3 Sentry's radome mounted on Boeing 767

Roland55

US, UK, Italy, Sweden, Russia, Israel, French, India, China, Japan.
Sweden, Israel, India need foreign jets.
US, Russia, China and Israel sells full AWACS [360 degree, 450km+ range sensor]
I might add that they could sell the full systems (or the ones chosen by the user) for various platforms

We used to have the examples of this in the form of Electronic Warfare Boeing 707 and Lockheed Electra, both done by IAI.

Im sure that you could do the same deal on another common platform like a 767 or Airbus equivalent.

kharabela

Data pattern has gotten orders to build two deep-space surveillance radars from DRDO . For the first time, India is entering deep space surveillance by building radars.