DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

The Shrike

By 2030 -> Majority of the world including both of our enemy Neighbours will be moving to 5th Gen jets with a substantial 4.5+ Gen. jets in their inventory, while we will be starting our production of 4.5 Gen. jet and waiting for AMCA's manufacturing to start.

LCA Mk2 better be at least as good as Rafale, if not better, otherwise, it will be purely useless.

Also, pray that China/Pakistan does not attack us in the 2025-2032 timeline, which is actually, like 90% probable, given the current brewing geopolitics.

I pity those people who trusted HAL to deliver LCA Mk2 early, even going as far as dismissing any need for MRFA in favor of LCA Mk1A/Mk2.
Problem is not ADA/HAL but modifying the Mk2 to such an extent that it is practically a new aircraft + navy dropping out of the program in favour of twin engine fighter design at a late stage. So now all practical purposes Mk2, AMCA and TEDBF have become concurrent programs, none of which will deliver significant airframes before 2030.

omaebakabaka

Delays should be minimal since it's evolution of an already flying design. So most of the things are sorted. And most of the components are ready .

Regarding Pakistan even china isn't helping them with debt and hence they are again at door of IMF.
Different this time is that USA is no longer the cold war ally and hence IMF is brutal in its conditions and hence PKR is sinking below ocean .
Isn't 2030 a bit too late and leisurely to see first deliveries? 84 new will replace some mig 21 squads but overall numbers would still be projected to be in deficit with growing threats from China. I see atleast one major import deal to keep the edge like more Rafale's

This is a myth. Their armed forces do posses capability, funds and supplies to fight a short high intensity war. Something like 14 days conflict.
The reason Pakistanis are not holding military exercise is not because of shortage of funds but because holding military exercise and begging for funds at the same time is bad PR and will cause problem with their special begging operations.😄

As Pakistani once said they will eat grass but build the bomb. Today the same saying is morphed as even if the entire country eats grass and goes down the drain the Pakistani armed forces will have capabilities to fight India.

It would be very much preferred if they start the war and we liberate POK and G&B, just like 1971.
Actually it is in our interests to make them hold exercises because it costs them money. Yes you can eat grass and build the bomb but you are not gonna live for long. So let's force them to eat grass because it means they are not gonna last that long afterwards.

Kuldeepm952

Isn't 2030 a bit too late and leisurely to see first deliveries? 84 new will replace some mig 21 squads but overall numbers would still be projected to be in deficit with growing threats from China. I see atleast one major import deal to keep the edge like more Rafale's
What bro, Shukla ji ki baat par sab se last m trust karna h, Shukla is a known dalla just like like here oberfurer pravin shwaestein but just more like a gekko, drdo official timelines se jyada thode hi hai Shukla ji, wait kro next aeroindia ka , sab pta lag jayega tab

Dark Sorrow

Actually it is in our interests to make them hold exercises because it costs them money. Yes you can eat grass and build the bomb but you are not gonna live for long. So let's force them to eat grass because it means they are not gonna last that long afterwards.
Forcing them into arms race and space race will also have same outcome.
We can conduct exercise on our side than Pakistan in tit for tat move will start executing exercise on their end.

ObiWanKenobi

Forcing them into arms race and space race will also have same outcome.
We can conduct exercise on our side than Pakistan in tit for tat move will start executing exercise on their end.
An arms race or space race is only a financial drain if you import everything. If it is indigenous, you actually increase your annual GDP by a multiple of 3x of every 1 rupee you spend on indigenous manufacturing, research, development, testing etc.

Assuming a tax to GDP ratio of 25% or so, and 30%+ for organised sectors like defence and aerospace, you make back 90 paisa for every rupee you spend in tax revenues in that very same year alone.

This is how the US grew its economy in WW2 and the Cold War. For the soviets, without a market driven economy - defence/space expenditure was a cost with no benefit. For the yanks, it was an economic supercharger with multiple downstream benefits that could be quantified all the way to Wall Street.

Pakistan obviously doesn't have much indigenous industry. However, I don't think India sees these benefits since most of our defence expenditure goes into salaries and pensions. That doesn't create much downstream industrial activity in the organised sector.

Okabe Rintarou

An arms race or space race is only a financial drain if you import everything. If it is indigenous, you actually increase your annual GDP by a multiple of 3x of every 1 rupee you spend on indigenous manufacturing, research, development, testing etc.

Assuming a tax to GDP ratio of 25% or so, and 30%+ for organised sectors like defence and aerospace, you make back 90 paisa for every rupee you spend in tax revenues in that very same year alone.

This is how the US grew its economy in WW2 and the Cold War. For the soviets, without a market driven economy - defence/space expenditure was a cost with no benefit. For the yanks, it was an economic supercharger with multiple downstream benefits that could be quantified all the way to Wall Street.

Pakistan obviously doesn't have much indigenous industry. However, I don't think India sees these benefits since most of our defence expenditure goes into salaries and pensions. That doesn't create much downstream industrial activity in the organised sector.
A few years ago, Defence CAPEX was around 10% of total GoI's CAPEX. Its come down but is still a significant %. So it does create a lot of downstream activity. Just not in the country. But that is also changing these days with earmarking a definite share of defence CAPEX for indigenous industry.

fooLIam

By 2030 -> Majority of the world including both of our enemy Neighbours will be moving to 5th Gen jets with a substantial 4.5+ Gen. jets in their inventory, while we will be starting our production of 4.5 Gen. jet and waiting for AMCA's manufacturing to start.

LCA Mk2 better be at least as good as Rafale, if not better, otherwise, it will be purely useless.

Also, pray that China/Pakistan does not attack us in the 2025-2032 timeline, which is actually, like 90% probable, given the current brewing geopolitics.

I pity those people who trusted HAL to deliver LCA Mk2 early, even going as far as dismissing any need for MRFA in favor of LCA Mk1A/Mk2.
Even we accept MRFA ,how does it help us against Han china which has its own military industrial complex. They will simply replace their loss.
By the way I do not trust any PSU to deliver.
They don't have funds for holding exercises now.
It is far more likely that this time we may initiate a war to take bake gilgit and baltistan.
I would not bet on that.