DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

GigaBanaxix893

@binayak95 Isn't MQ9 with it's 100 million $ price tag a bit too expensive for that logic.

Defence is an "expensive business" ,when you import stuff from 3rd party. Do not invest in your own R&D. Then wine about lack of capability. Loose your expensive imported assets in hostile territory & the cycle continues.

And it will remain the same for the next 25 years if this goes on the way its going.

You have the platform Tapas Bh-201 , you have the electronic components required for SIGINT/ELINT operations & you also have the missiles to neutralize your targets, SANT / NAG or SAAW.

Instead of Fastracking the development program with better investment. You wine about your own capability & wanna import gold plated Amriki assets which would get shot down by a cheap MANPAD on the first instance of any conflict.

Pathetic logic

@binayak95 Isn't MQ9 with it's 100 million $ price tag a bit too expensive for that logic.

Defence is an "expensive business" ,when you import stuff from 3rd party. Do not invest in your own R&D. Then wine about lack of capability. Loose your expensive imported assets in hostile territory & the cycle continues.

And it will remain the same for the next 25 years if this goes on the way its going.

You have the platform Tapas Bh-201 , you have the electronic components required for SIGINT/ELINT operations & you also have the missiles to neutralize your targets, SANT / NAG or SAAW.

Instead of Fastracking the development program with better investment. You wine about your own capability & wanna import gold plated Amriki assets which would get shot down by a cheap MANPAD on the first instance of any conflict.

Pathetic logic
Are we not investing in indigenous R&D? Arent orders going out for hundreds of drones from small quad copters to large complex swarms to pvt players?

But why should we not invest in 30 UCAVs that can revolutionalise ISR for India. Seriously, there is nothing in this nation of ours that comes anywhere close to what 30 MQ9Bs can do for you.
They will save lives, save money and enhance our ISR manifold times.

GigaBanaxix893

The drone contact given to Idea forge is 20 million $ which is one of the largest. And the contract to other Indian private companies is even smaller.

Where as the contract for MQ9 is 3 Billion $

You tell me how does one even justify the other.

The drone contact given to Idea forge is 20 million $ which is one of the largest. And the contract to other Indian private companies is even smaller.

Where as the contract for MQ9 is 3 Billion $

You tell me how does one even justify the other.
toh capabilities bhi dekho na
Maruti Suzuki ke liye BMW ki kimat doge kya

Kahaan se aate hai aise khayaal

Dark Sorrow

Are we not investing in indigenous R&D? Arent orders going out for hundreds of drones from small quad copters to large complex swarms to pvt players?

But why should we not invest in 30 UCAVs that can revolutionalise ISR for India. Seriously, there is nothing in this nation of ours that comes anywhere close to what 30 MQ9Bs can do for you.
They will save lives, save money and enhance our ISR manifold times.
GOI should allow private players in aerospace and defence R&D and manufacturing.
It can be the only redemption or our armed forces.

GOI should allow private players in aerospace and defence R&D and manufacturing.
It can be the only redemption or our armed forces.
They have. The floodgates are open. Its the services (COUGH ARMY COUGH) that are hesitating. Take a look at the scope and breadth of challenges and prime contracts on iDEX.

There are projects worth hundreds of crores there (and these are just for prototyping and R&D) and the services assure full support vis testing and data.

GigaBanaxix893

The European OEMs are asking for around 5 Billion Euros to form a JV for the development of AMCA engine. At current market rate Euro = Dollar (approx)

A government that has spent around 3000 cr in the last 30 years for the Gas Turbine Engine program which would amount to just around 0.38 Billion $ will it be willing to pay 5 Billion dollars to a foreign OEM for JV. I hope not.

When the GTRE held its webinar in Jan they informed that a total investment of around 6000-7000 cr is required to upgrade their testing facility & remove their dependence on foreign OEMs. Which is even less than 1 Billion $.

If the government even spends 2 Billion in defence R&D we wouldn't be in this position.

Dark Sorrow

They have. The floodgates are open. Its the services (COUGH ARMY COUGH) that are hesitating. Take a look at the scope and breadth of challenges and prime contracts on iDEX.

There are projects worth hundreds of crores there (and these are just for prototyping and R&D) and the services assure full support vis testing and data.
Have we even opened MALE and HALE UAV/UCAVs to private player?

Srinie

Some good news this morning and knowing private company will produce it atleast delivery will be on time any idea what private company can get this contract? Kalyani? And whats the range on extended ones?

Nagpur based Solar Explosives . They are also developing the 122 mm variant

The European OEMs are asking for around 5 Billion Euros to form a JV for the development of AMCA engine. At current market rate Euro = Dollar (approx)

A government that has spent around 3000 cr in the last 30 years for the Gas Turbine Engine program which would amount to just around 0.38 Billion $ will it be willing to pay 5 Billion dollars to a foreign OEM for JV. I hope not.

When the GTRE held its webinar in Jan they informed that a total investment of around 6000-7000 cr is required to upgrade their testing facility & remove their dependence on foreign OEMs. Which is even less than 1 Billion $.

If the government even spends 2 Billion in defence R&D we wouldn't be in this position.
You gotta mainten some balance in r&d investment for tomorrow vs operational requirements today. And you have to do it from same small budget ( once you take out salary and pensions).

About r&d our priorities up untill now we're strategic r&d ( read nuclear ) which was not available to us from market. So we put most of our research money there ( nuclear warhead, Agni series ICBM, arihant ssbm , k series and now S5 class ssbm , ssn and BMD and asat weapons).
Good thing is that we are now very mature in those and with increasing budget money can flow to conventional weapons r&d and thus we are seeing new emphasis on tapas, lch , luh , IMRH , mwf , TEDBF , AMCA and various engines form stfe to htfe , htse and 110 kn jv.
Various missiles like Astra1-2, akash ng, qrsam, sfdr , vl -astra , xr sam , smart , star , pralay, mpatgm , helina , torpedos , saaw , cat's program are all being funded handsomely .

More money will be freed up for indegenous r&d and acquisitions when army size is reduced and agniveer comes in motion and budget will further increase with GDP.

So all in all we are making very good utilisation of our resources if you look holistically.

Regarding aerospace engine we will solve that puzzle by next decade now that focus is on there and money will flow for it just like SSN program. We will get there.

Dark Sorrow

Does GOI provides funding for R&D for these projects?

army was first off the block to adopt "Problem statement model" of innovation. as soon as army design bureau got settled in, they started releasing compendium of problem statements.

Okabe Rintarou

Nagpur based Solar Explosives . They are also developing the 122 mm variant
They won't be developing the 122mm variant. They will simply be manufacturing the 122mm variant after TOT from DRDO who has already developed the 122 mm variant for Grad.

http://www.designation-systems.net/dusrm/m-54.html

From 3:05 to 3:30. The missile flies an optimised profile between 24000 metres to 30000 metres after launch.

You are being deliberately obtuse just to prove that you aren't wrong. That doesn't mean it changes the facts on the ground.

The only technical paper you have presented is for an experimental launch of an AIM-54 from a F-15 for a study on hypersonics. THATS WHAT YOU HAVE DONE.

Watch from 1:43 onwards. That's how the Phoenix or any missile climbs towards its ceiling.

Also notice the horizontal launch and not a high alpha launch.

Don't give me the same bullshit that what are the planes of reference? Was the photographing aircraft in the same plane as the launch aircraft or was it horizontal? Don't try to hide behind such sophistication when you know you are plain wrong.

Tell me was the aircraft photographing Tejas in this case in the same plane as the Tejas launching the missile?
Is this launch with the nose level ?
Or is it a high alpha launch just because according to you we don't know or see the frames of reference????

SHOW ME A SINGLE VIDEO WHERE DURING A TEST LAUNCH OR A WEAPONS TRIAL, A BVRAAM WAS LAUNCHED WITH THE NOSE HIGH UP.

YOU CANT. Coz there isn't any. In my years of playing and studying in DCS, haven't ever seen someone going high alpha to launch a bvraam. Equating a single experimental case with regular launches won't do.

YOUR INFLATED SENSE OF EGO WONT ALLOW YOU TO ADMIT THAT YOU ARE WRONG.

You are the only person in the entire world who is completely ignorant of how a Phoenix and some other bvraam works . Ask anybody on this or on other forum.

And I will again mention it. ASTRA mk3 has a 300+KM RANGE AND THE MISSILE INDEED CLIMBS TO HIGHER ALTITUDE AFTER LAUNCH FOR V LONG RANGE SHOTS.
I have inflated ego or not, but you have a deflated intelligence. Could you guide me to one instance or para where anyone in your tagged article or video mentioned about launch angle?

And you know why you have a deflated intelligence? Because in practical sense, you can't launch a long range BVRAAM horizontally unless and untill you are flying at a much higher altitude then the target. Even then there would be a 5 to 10 degree of high AoA.
If you are so intelligent, go and find the answer why.

And you want technical papers?

https://www.jstor.org/stable/44473121

Abstract
Air combat simulator studies consistently show large fighter effectiveness payoffs due to thrust vectoring and/or thrust reversing exhaust nozzles. However, the air-to-air missile related kill ratios achieved during these evaluations vary considerably as a function of maximum missile launch angle-of-attack (AOA). This paper will review the ways thrust vectoring/reversing is used during air combat and then discuss some missile related multi-function nozzle survivability benefits. Typical air combat simulator fighter agility advantages and disadvantages attributable to vectoring/reversing nozzles will then be examined. These include relative antenna train (look) angles, capture times, and capture frequencies during close-in combat. The high AOA launch desirability will be defined along with the payoffs of attaining that capability. Nozzle max vector angles and utilization frequencies along with high AOA missile launch problems and potential solutions will also be addressed. In addition, the relationship between pilot training and missile launch AOA will be shown as it relates to kill ratio trends.
This paper included both SRAAM and BVRAAM.

https://www.researchgate.net/public..._based_on_missile_launching_envelope_analysis

... The results of literature [31] show that the attack envelope is a function of the flight status, launch angle of the missile, target entry angle, the target aircraft's flight status, and so on. These parameters can be used to fit the attack area, and the specific fitting process can be referenced in [3,32]. ...
I've give the abstarct because I know people like you would not even try to read these papers as it would show how much deflated your intelligence is.