DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Tanmay

Any photos of BSR and BMFR of QRSAM?
Would be interesting if DRDO works on Pantsir type one piece solution for IA.

cyclops

Fast-tracking procurement for stronger Armed Forces The indigenously developed 'Mareech ATDS' will be made by Bharat Electronics Limited, Bengaluru at an estimated cost of Rs 850 crore for the @indiannavy

A fine example of @makeinindia wherein NPOL & NSTL has contributed immensely in giving @indiannavy a worthy torpedo decoy system. Shall be fitted onboard warships very soon

Mareech and other naval systems developed by NPOL.

NeXoft007

Confirmed
Rudra M-II Air Launched Missile have 200kg class warhead. Watchout for its test from SU-30MKI most probably before summer season ends.

On a lighter note - Porki Nuke Missile Bunkers ke maa ka pakora

What new missile tests we could see this year
Agni 1P (Cannisterised)
Agni 4 Mk. II (Cannisterised)
Rudra M-II
NASM-SR
HSTDV
Pralay (low possibility)

Indibomber

DRDO Daksha ......short clip

Genuine question, Why do we take so long in making these robots i have seen footages of ISIS robotics guns in Syria. We have to use such weapons in anti Terror ops and anti Naxal opps. Infact these canbe so effective in Kashmir.

Tanmay

Genuine question, Why do we take so long in making these robots i have seen footages of ISIS robotics guns in Syria. We have to use such weapons in anti Terror ops and anti Naxal opps. Infact these canbe so effective in Kashmir.
Any team of mechanical/ electronics engineering graduates can make them. Not even necessary to have engineering degree.
What DRDO does is add more features to these robots.
Example. : Image processing to track moving person and thus acquire this target for the gun system.
Identification of people with weapons automatically. Etc

Problem is as usual forces aren't buying/ deploying on large scale ( atleast we don't get to see them despite being so interested with terrorist encounters).
The most interesting one will be deploying ( along with small UAVs) them on LOC patrols a few hundred metres ahead of actual patrol( terrain permitting) to detect possible human presence before hand. This will surely help in minimising BAT attack casualties.

Any team of mechanical/ electronics engineering graduates can make them. Not even necessary to have engineering degree.
What DRDO does is add more features to these robots.
Example. : Image processing to track moving person and thus acquire this target for the gun system.
Identification of people with weapons automatically. Etc

Problem is as usual forces aren't buying/ deploying on large scale ( atleast we don't get to see them despite being so interested with terrorist encounters).
True that. The main issue is priorities. If its not priority for the forces, then it gets little to no budget. Army would have put UGV as a "future requirement". Its not that the Army is not aware of these futuristic technologies. I have seen Army demand weapons that target the electricity grid of the enemy by non-EMP, hardkill methods. I saw this in a document that listed technologies that the Army will need in the future. So DRDO starts researching these areas promptly, so that whenever the forces ask for an actual weapon, the DRDO has enough research under its belt to be able to engineer a solution. Now obviously, research projects get a smaller slice of the DRDO budget than engineering projects.

@porky_kicker
@Adioz

Jaumann absorber and capacitive Jaumann absorber for AMCA and GHATAK.

View attachment 23235 View attachment 23236
Thanks. Already seen that sirji. check out this post: #3134 DRDO and PSU news and discussion

But we are not sure if these can indeed be applied on the skin. In the paper I posted, it says this is mainly for wing leading edges. The thickness of the JA sandwich is 24.8 mm. And this is recent tech from DRDO. Maybe DRDO is working in parallel on a carbon nanotube - based RAM skin for the aircraft. Hope they are able to achieve that technology. If they do, AMCA might turn out to be as stealthy as F-35.

BTW, since we are on the topic, anyone have any news on the nozzle for AMCA? Interested to know what IR reduction methods it will employ.

IA does not have a GSQR for these yet...

Whatever robots we are seeing are purely experimental in nature.

cyclops

True that. The main issue is priorities. If its not priority for the forces, then it gets little to no budget. Army would have put UGV as a "future requirement". Its not that the Army is not aware of these futuristic technologies. I have seen Army demand weapons that target the electricity grid of the enemy by non-EMP, hardkill methods. I saw this in a document that listed technologies that the Army will need in the future. So DRDO starts researching these areas promptly, so that whenever the forces ask for an actual weapon, the DRDO has enough research under its belt to be able to engineer a solution. Now obviously, research projects get a smaller slice of the DRDO budget than engineering projects.

Thanks. Already seen that sirji. check out this post: #3134 DRDO and PSU news and discussion

But we are not sure if these can indeed be applied on the skin. In the paper I posted, it says this is mainly for wing leading edges. The thickness of the JA sandwich is 24.8 mm. And this is recent tech from DRDO. Maybe DRDO is working in parallel on a carbon nanotube - based RAM skin for the aircraft. Hope they are able to achieve that technology. If they do, AMCA might turn out to be as stealthy as F-35.

BTW, since we are on the topic, anyone have any news on the nozzle for AMCA? Interested to know what IR reduction methods it will employ.
Nozzle as in the engine nozzle?

The engine itself hasn't been selected so its nozzle would be a far off prospect.

The ADA report says the engine would likely be a 110 kN one.

Sorry if this pic is a repost as well.
Screenshot_20180216-110636.jpg

NeXoft007

Thought must be put into miniaturization of the generator and integrating launch mechanism along with drive box. That way we could have more impact AT TEL launcher.
LOL. Thats Control Room inside. APU/ Generator is required to power up both Control Room and Silos

Why not control the battery remotely from the battery command post vehicle? Was this due to some Army requirement?

You didn't got my point. I know that it does holds Control room and APU. But my point is to make it compact enough to bring down the entire length. Have a look at these CM launcher.

lacm_new_tel.jpg

000_s94oy.jpg

The ideal one is as per me is the first one. In our case, the APU and Control unit has increased the overall length by atleast 25%.

NeXoft007

You didn't got my point. I know that it does holds Control room and APU. But my point is to make it compact enough to bring down the entire length. Have a look at these CM launcher.

View attachment 23243

View attachment 23244
The ideal one is as per me is the first one. In our case, the APU and Control unit has increased the overall length by atleast 25%.
About first pic, are you sure there's a control room inside? Coz possibly command & control room can be omitted if there's a remote command vehicle. Our Nirbhay TEL seems to be a stand alone system. No external support required.

About 2nd pic, it looks like MBRL or SAM with separate command vehicle and hence I can't see any dedicated C&C room.

Tremendous development have been achieved on DRDO's LFRJ Cruise Missile (Desi ASMP-A). But testing is still atleast a year away. It's technically made for what Brahmos legally can't.... Nuke Delivery
Tere muh me ghee sakar brother
It's like whenever you post only good thing come out of it