DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Steven Rogers

NaPakiRoaster
HOW MUCH DO U GUY'S THINK THIS STORY IS TRUE..???????????????
ONLY THEPRINT HAVE PUBLISH THIS AND PROVIDED THAT THERE INFO IS FROM " THE source "........

Double Setback for Indian missile programme: K-4 SLBM and QRSAM Both Failed recent trials

3-4 minutes

SOURCE: THE PRINT

View attachment 22186

The Indian missile development programme has encountered a setback with two successive failures within a week, including a worrying development in which a submarine-launched nuclear-capable missile got stuck in its testing canister following an unsuccessful test.

Sources told ThePrint that a recent test of the Quick Reaction Surface to Air Missile (QRSAM) failed during its test on 22 December at Chandipur-on-Sea in Odisha. It hit turbulence within 1.5 seconds of the missile taking off, as an actuator did not respond to a software command, according to sources.

QRSAM is being developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) to meet urgent requirements of the Indian Air Force for protection of vital assets. It is meant to complement the Akash short-range surface-to-air missile. It is supposed to take down fast-moving incoming air targets like missiles and fighter jets at extremely short notice. This was the third test of the missile.

More worryingly, there has been major concern with the failure of the K-4 submarine-launched ballistic missile (SLBM), which is being developed for the nuclear triad to give India the capability to take down long-range targets from under water.

A test carried out on 17 December ended in failure after the missile did not launch from an underwater pontoon, it is learnt. The missile, believed to have a range of over 3,500 km, is to be equipped on the INS Arihant and Arighat nuclear submarines as a second strike option.

Sources said that the K-4 missile did not activate during the test, with its battery getting drained after the launch command was given. It is believed that DRDO scientists were even unable to retrieve the missile from the test pontoon following the failure, raising safety concerns for the programme.

India’s lone nuclear missile-carrying submarine, the INS Arihant, is currently equipped with the 750 km range B-05 SLBM. However, the limited range of the missile and a struggle to keep the Arihant functional raises concerns on the effectiveness of the nuclear triad.

The 3,500-km range K-4 missile was to be the real game changer, giving India a second strike option over all potential target positions. While it has been tested three times before, the unsuccessful test last week raised concerns as the missile was to be launched from the INS Arihant shortly. Careful assessments are now being made to pinpoint the reason for the failure, and assess whether it would lead to safety considerations for a submarine launch.

DRDO has also started work on the K-5, a 5,000 km range SLBM that would be fitted onboard nuclear-powered submarines, as well as a futuristic K-6 project to develop an underwater launched missile with a range of up to 6,000 km.
So acc to this, drdo tested k4 and qrsam back to back in these days.

Sent from my Aqua Ace II using Tapatalk

And interestingly as per NIE, QRSAM was a success. Although NOTAM for K-4 was there, but there is no news of its test.
But ThePrint is terming both test to be failure according to their source.

INDIA LAUNCHES ‘STAR WARS’ MISSILE DEFENSE AS CHINA AND PAKISTAN JOIN FORCES

India successfully intercepted one of its own Prithvi short-range ballistic missiles, launched from a test range in Chandipur, with a second missile fired from Abdul Kalam Island off the coast of the eastern state of Orissa by the country’s supersonic advanced air defense system. This sophisticated shield was likened by India’s NDTVand other outlets to former President Ronald Reagan’s Cold War–era “Star Wars” missile defense plan, which ultimately proved ill-fated. The test was the third to be conducted this year and the first since India and China tensions nearly boiled over during a summer border conflict.

An advance air defense interceptor missile is launched from Abdul Kalam Island, known then as Wheeler Island, off the Dhamra coast in the eastern Indian state of Orissa December 6, 2007. That year, India became the fourth country to successfully intercept a ballistic missile with another missile, joining the ranks of the U.S., Russia and Israel.INDIAN MILITARY/HANDOUT VIA REUTERS

Kyubi

Guys , there was a post in DFI quite a long back , it detailed the list of software packages developed by DRDO , CSIR organisations , i am talking about software that includes , CFD analysis, Structural analysis, etc.. i am unable to find it , do the veterans of DFI here remember it ? or can any one point out where i could find them.

Currently RCI ( Kanchan Bagh , Hyderabad) had developed PACE plus 32 for computing the Aerodynamics for missile development, likewise FEAST ( finite element analysis package) was developed by ISRO ( VSSC) it is a complete in house developed software for both acedemic and commerical use.

There are other softwares developed by DRDO and other affiliated divisions, hope is that if i could locate that information for future reference.

Any information will be of a great help

Kyubi

Guys , there was a post in DFI quite a long back , it detailed the list of software packages developed by DRDO , CSIR organisations , i am talking about software that includes , CFD analysis, Structural analysis, etc.. i am unable to find it , do the veterans of DFI here remember it ? or can any one point out where i could find them.

Currently RCI ( Kanchan Bagh , Hyderabad) had developed PACE plus 32 for computing the Aerodynamics for missile development, likewise FEAST ( finite element analysis package) was developed by ISRO ( VSSC) it is a complete in house developed software for both acedemic and commerical use.

There are other softwares developed by DRDO and other affiliated divisions, hope is that if i could locate that information for future reference.

Any information will be of a great help

I was able to gather the following developed by ADA after a fairly easy search.
  1. Graphical Interactive Three dimensional Applications (GITA)
  2. Finite Element Structural Synthesis Expert (FINESSE)
  3. FINEGRAF
  4. AUTOLAY is a software system for design, analysis and manufacture of composites
  5. PRANA is a Virtual Reality software tool which gives life to CAD
  6. AAVRITA a Comprehensive Fortran Software Package 'AAVRITA', for the electromagnetic (EM) design and analysis of radomes.
  7. CADTRANS
The reason behind tabulating these softwares is that currently ADA is going to start using their INHOUSE developed software for Computational analysis and i wanted to know are there any such packages developed by ADA that are in public domain ?

Earlier ADA was using AIRBUS leased Mobile Analysis Station ( MAST ) for various aerodynamic profiles , some of them were about computing the data points for Missile Drop test's , Drop Tanks etc..

The workstations leased from Airbus were pretty expensive its about a 1 crore for a single unit. the contract has just expired and next year onwards they are gonna use In House developed Software package. Another MAKE IN INDIA milestone i suppose.

KYUBI

soikot banerjee

I was able to gather the following developed by ADA after a fairly easy search.
  1. Graphical Interactive Three dimensional Applications (GITA)
  2. Finite Element Structural Synthesis Expert (FINESSE)
  3. FINEGRAF
  4. AUTOLAY is a software system for design, analysis and manufacture of composites
  5. PRANA is a Virtual Reality software tool which gives life to CAD
  6. AAVRITA a Comprehensive Fortran Software Package 'AAVRITA', for the electromagnetic (EM) design and analysis of radomes.
  7. CADTRANS
The reason behind tabulating these softwares is that currently ADA is going to start using their INHOUSE developed software for Computational analysis and i wanted to know are there any such packages developed by ADA that are in public domain ?

Earlier ADA was using AIRBUS leased Mobile Analysis Station ( MAST ) for various aerodynamic profiles , some of them were about computing the data points for Missile Drop test's , Drop Tanks etc..

The workstations leased from Airbus were pretty expensive its about a 1 crore for a single unit. the contract has just expired and next year onwards they are gonna use In House developed Software package. Another MAKE IN INDIA milestone i suppose.

KYUBI
I have fairly good idea about this issue, India especially DRDO/ISRO/BARC has since early 90s or so been using home programmed CAE/CAD/Analysis softwares. My Finite Element Analysis professor was an scientists in DRDO till 2010 then worked with Mahindra Aero & Def and Bombardier, he told us that he had been one of the guys for developing CAE/CAD/Analysis packages for missile programme in RCI, Imarat. But the Vastness of this field was way too much to cover everything and hence many types foreign Packages are Requred. I also attended a seminar by a Scientist from IGCAR who is currently working on the final construction of the Fast Breeder Reactor that is to started in First quarter of 2018, he told us that the analysis of the reactor was done on several packages including that developed by IGCAR.
I believe these organisation should monetise these sofwares in market especially to students as getting the foreign maal is way too costly and once you leave college finding one easily is pain in a$$. I think these organisation will get good profits if they start monetizing the softwares under
1.Make In India
2.Skill India
With versions ranging from: Students to Industry level.

Kyubi

I have fairly good idea about this issue, India especially DRDO/ISRO/BARC has since early 90s or so been using home programmed CAE/CAD/Analysis softwares. My Finite Element Analysis professor was an scientists in DRDO till 2010 then worked with Mahindra Aero & Def and Bombardier, he told us that he had been one of the guys for developing CAE/CAD/Analysis packages for missile programme in RCI, Imarat. But the Vastness of this field was way too much to cover everything and hence many types foreign Packages are Requred. I also attended a seminar by a Scientist from IGCAR who is currently working on the final construction of the Fast Breeder Reactor that is to started in First quarter of 2018, he told us that the analysis of the reactor was done on several packages including that developed by IGCAR.
I believe these organisation should monetise these sofwares in market especially to students as getting the foreign maal is way too costly and once you leave college finding one easily is pain in a$$. I think these organisation will get good profits if they start monetizing the softwares under
1.Make In India
2.Skill India
With versions ranging from: Students to Industry level.
Exactly my point, many of the DRDo / MoD affiliated labs in an aroubd pune use several finite element packages of dassault .. ARDE is also one of the main users of these packages almost all the packages whose single licences are above 25 lakhs ... its truly expensive .. but i guess our FeA softwares developed have limited scope when it comes to solver and post processing capabilities. They are not on par with the commercial softwares like Nastran or Ansys. Typically DRDO labs majorly uses softwares designed by Dassault. Ansys i am not to sure they would have licences for it but by and large its dassault.

Yes , our softwares such as FEAST by Isro can be marketed for pan india use in all the engineering colleges across India. This way an ecosystem can be developed for continous developement in the engineering softwares. Currently many of the CFD and FEA softwares are being developed using Python , as it is touted to be the future. DRDO should be looking into such developments. We can build a legitimate industry that could rival any european gaint. This will in longterm help us in developing our own set of capabilities that is developing our own IC engine , turbojet/fan etc...

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
Exactly my point, many of the DRDo / MoD affiliated labs in an aroubd pune use several finite element packages of dassault .. ARDE is also one of the main users of these packages almost all the packages whose single licences are above 25 lakhs ... its truly expensive .. but i guess our FeA softwares developed have limited scope when it comes to solver and post processing capabilities. They are not on par with the commercial softwares like Nastran or Ansys. Typically DRDO labs majorly uses softwares designed by Dassault. Ansys i am not to sure they would have licences for it but by and large its dassault.

Yes , our softwares such as FEAST by Isro can be marketed for pan india use in all the engineering colleges across India. This way an ecosystem can be developed for continous developement in the engineering softwares. Currently many of the CFD and FEA softwares are being developed using Python , as it is touted to be the future. DRDO should be looking into such developments. We can build a legitimate industry that could rival any european gaint. This will in longterm help us in developing our own set of capabilities that is developing our own IC engine , turbojet/fan etc...

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
If we do anything, it must be done by 2030. There isn't much time left to do competitions. I guess, considering that the development of software took place only recently and India being an IT hub, it should be easier and faster

Kyubi

If we do anything, it must be done by 2030. There isn't much time left to do competitions. I guess, considering that the development of software took place only recently and India being an IT hub, it should be easier and faster
yup you said it right, our IT industry is no longer the hub for call centres , we have centers of excellence in a variety of IT engineering and allied services. Most of us Mech Engineers have heard the obvious about IT engineers , that they are mere coders, plethora of APP developers have sprung in recent times giving a notion that they are not hands on and all, i think thats a false narrative being peddled , we have a robust IT industry capable to serve the requirements of our Def Industry. Inter disciplinary requirements are burgoening in the present day and age and it will continue to as we move into the future.

Public & Pvt sector participation should be encouraged in various sectors , trim the dept's in DRDO, allocate more resources to Pvt sector for co-development of IT infrastructure and allied services for the Defence establishment. C4ISR is one such endeavour. Likewise Development of Softwares for R&D , we have to bring back the golden age of supercomputers and its development in India. DRDO should become something like DARPA ,

National supercomputing mission is step forward in that , hopefully we achieve it within a limited time frame. we should have a desi version of Dassault SYSTEMES, ANsys , AVL Fire and others , and we have the infrastructure and the knowledge bank to develop it. One more important aspect is that India itself is a huge market for these softwares.

Actually if you read this paper published in the January edition of DSJ, it is basically a statsistical simulation study on vehicle configuration based on some existing data on automobile structures and its regression and ANOVA based modelling.

It gives Evolutionary design : 54 tons ;
Revolutionary design : 41 tons.

In reality we DRDO will build the prototype there will be much more. For comparison the evolutionary designm seems to be a future iteration of Arjun Mk2 which weighs 68 tons.
So you can add 10-14 tons to the Revolutionary designs safely. This will include add on ERA, NERA and latest Kanchan armour, 120/130 mm smoothbore gun , latest electronics etc. Still it will fall in the 50-55 ton category similar to Armata and will be the perfect candidate for FRCV tender.

Source : http://publications.drdo.gov.in/ojs/index.php/dsj/article/view/12182/6087

Quote from the conclusion of the paper :
A DOE based on regression with ANOVA for evaluating two different configurations namely evolutionary and revolutionary design for GNMBT is presented. This methodology saves considerable time during the configuration stage to arrive at weight estimates for the design. However, it is to be noted that the system weight and volume estimates used for the DOE evaluation are based on 95 per cent confidence level and hence there are always possibilities for the weight to be on the higher side which will still qualify it for a sub 50 t tank. Finally, this paper does agree that many approaches for the problem exists and this paper presents only an alternate approach to choose an acceptable configuration for both the designer and user".
Hence my comments on the paper :
1. This is a Design of experiment based statistical study with a confidence level of 95 %.
2. There are other alternative statistical studies and this is just one of them.
3. Paper takes the gun system to be of 120/125/130 mm as part of this study but still arrives as the same weight of 41 tons and 54 tons for all the above configuration. In contrast. we know not only gun system but weight of ammunition of each caliber will also be different. This point needs clarity.
3. No physical prototypes is actually built. The subsystem themselves are in various stages of developement.
4. The only safe conclusion is the revolutionary design is 10-13 tons less weight than the evolutionary one.

soikot banerjee

FICV Officially exists in DRDO, They have started making specialised alloys for the same.
But question is who is the parent organisation OFB which also has officially been funded by MoD for FICV and one of the pre-selected of three compaies to make a prototype or private party?
https://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/techfocus/2017/Jan-Feb_2018_web.pdf

page: 2,13,16