DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

kurup

Dessert Storm

Subs can launch it once they detect any airborne hostiles .
Thats not the primary role of a SSN. May fire on ASW aircrafts, on being detected, or in case of imminent threat, from an airborne to a Capital Ship it may be escorting. Whether and in what circumstances the capability would be used in landing Special Ops.....can't say but the Op would have to really really special.

Kalkioftoday

In an active combat scenario ASW platforms won't wait for that long for submarines to cook that underwater khichdi, ASW platforms will release their torpedos the moment they detect the sub on their sonobuyos. And i don't think subs exposing their periscope or radar to scan the air for hostile target is even a good idea cuz they will be detected by ASW platform's radar and RWR from miles away

not so dravidian

Can this RAWL-03 Radar be used to replace the BEL-Thales LW-08 Radars of the 1980s present on the Delhi, Kolkata and Vishakhapatnam Class Destroyers? Almost all the other users of this particular radar have shifted to the Thales SMART-L Radar
Absolutely Bhai. Both are same L band.

The reason for the cluster fuk is blacklisting of Leonard group. Leonardo supplied the L band radar found in IAC1. this was supposed to the successor to Thales. Once Agusta was bought by Leonardo, dumb Babu/neta also blacklisted Leonardo.

Then for Nilgiri class we went to Saab, then Saab and BEL, are co producing RAWL 03.

Hopefully, it will be standardized

flanker99

The reason for the cluster fuk is blacklisting of Leonard group. Leonardo supplied the L band radar found in IAC1. this was supposed to the successor to Thales. Once Agusta was bought by Leonardo, dumb Babu/neta also blacklisted Leonardo.

Then for Nilgiri class we went to Saab, then Saab and BEL, are co producing RAWL 03.

Afaik nilgiri and rest of the p15b will get lanza 3d from indra,spain made in india by tata

Aditya Ballal

When we have an existing alternate that has some level of local co-development involved, I wonder why we haven’t used this instead of continuing with tech from the 1980s and Tata SED doing screwdrivergiri with the alleged alternative(Lanza).
Afaik nilgiri and rest of the p15b will get lanza 3d from indra,spain made in india by tata
That’s what I thought so I’m even more confused.

When we have an existing alternate that has some level of local co-development involved, I wonder why we haven’t used this instead of continuing with tech from the 1980s and Tata SED doing screwdrivergiri with the alleged alternative(Lanza).

That’s what I thought so I’m even more confused.
Rawl 03 isn't indigenous at all