Aditya Ballal
what are its comparable alternative in the world ?
ATAGS, Elbit Athos 2052, and every other modern 155mm/52 caliber howitzer.what are its comparable alternative in the world ?
Is there enough life left in the airframes of the Jaguars to give them another upgrade after DARIN 3?Looks futuristic. The aerospace community especially HAL seems to be trying out a lot of modifications /upgradations on the Jaguar.
First it was the addition of an overwing WVR air to air missile. It was the ASRAAM
Iirc.
Then the change in the radar from a pulse doppler radar to a AESA one, the Israeli Elta 2052 which is a big scale up in performance.
Now the WAD cockpit display. A drastic improvement over the mostly analogue dial displays of the past.
The biggest change pending is the new engine in place of the Rolls-Royce Adour engine.. Having almost dropped the Honeywell re engining proposal what is the road ahead.
Take up the old proposal of the British and their engine.
Or wait for the HTFE of HAL to materialise. Unfortunately we don't have a reputation for developing and certifying aero engines in a given time frame. Delays stretch into many years and sometimes even decades.
Some questions beg answers.
What will be the remaining life of the aircraft after all the modifications including the engine change. Will it be cost effective.
As for its operational role, the low flying radar evading fighter - bomber was deemed a potent weapon. But in the Gulf War, the Tornado fighter- bomber which was seen as a replacement for the Jaguar by the British and the French fared poorly. Many were shot down by shoulder fired portable anti aircraft missiles like the Igla used by the Iraqis.
In contrast high flying aircraft which are out of range of VSHORADS armed with LGB's suffered less losses. Anyway the jury is still out on this.
Probably the Jaguar needs a very good jammer and effective counter measures against heat seeking missiles. Flares and chaff of course will be a standard equipment on the aircraft.
I would like to have faith in the utility of low flying bombers like the Jaguar. We should remember that Jaguars were assigned to carry gravity nuclear bombs for delivery by the IAF in the past. (Probably still tasked for the same even now).
Let's see what the future holds for the Jaguar. We have nearly 120 of them.
No in pak and chinaATAGS, Elbit Athos 2052, and every other modern 155mm/52 caliber howitzer.
The Chinese have 155mm howitzers which are currently in Service with UAENo in pak and china
Bruh. This is the same thing I posted: ENVG-B with FWS-I.US is moving to another level of night vision capability.
here is the video their new night vision capability something similar like wireless transferring the data from weapon sight.
Thank! This is it. This is the ENVG-B/FWS-I of Tonbo. This is what that document was saying that Tonbo has supplied to NSG.Tonbo has a similar system. I think it was called Cobra FTWS (Fused thermal Imaging Weapon System) . In fact they are so similar that you might think there is some background cooperation going on.
Video presentation is from 4 years ago.
Yes. Northern Command buys their stuff. Even Para SF do I think. But Para SF haven't adopted the ENVG-B/FWS-I while the NSG has.In an interview in 2019 with Tonbo founder, it was said that their equipment was used in the 2016 surgical strike and Northern command has been their long time customer.
Bengaluru tech gives US, Israeli weapons eyes
Tonboโs computer vision technology sits on seekers at the tips of precision missiles and lightweight thermal weapons.Tonbo set up an R&D centre in Lithuania to develop autonomous vehicles, adding to its presence in India, US and Singaporewww.livemint.com
Yep. Which is why I said Tonbo should do a JV with TASL to get a completely desi ENVG-B/FWS-I comparable to the American one. See:-Tonbo's one is Day (colour) + Thermal (IR) vs the (white?) Phosphorus image intensification + Thermal for the US one right?
Tonbo should do a JV with TASL (who had entered into a JV with Exelis of USA for manufacturing Gen III NVG). Tonbo has already demonstrated fusion technology similar to the new American ENVG-B and FWS-I sights, but Tonbo did it by combining normal optical sight with thermal. If they do it with Gen III and thermal, we'll have desi-ENVG-B and FWS-I.
Pakis have PANTER of Turkish origin.No in pak and china
What about the bactrian double hummed camels which drdo is supplying to the army ?View attachment 109135First Look At Indian Army's New Cargo Drones For Ladakh - Livefist
An Raphe MPhibr MR-20 drone during trials in Leh, Ladakh What you're looking at is the first public image of the Indian Army's new cargo drone type, an MR-20, developed by Indian firm Raphe Mphibr. Last week the company was awarded an emergency procurement contract for 48 MR-20 hexacopter dronesโฆwww.livefistdefence.com
RajasthanIf drones are inducted where will camel go?
This is their Photon for vehicles, from 7 years ago.Tonbo's one is Day (colour) + Thermal (IR) vs the (white?) Phosphorus image intensification + Thermal for the US one right?
Oh I am not saying they haven't done it themselves. But if you read the interview, you can sorta see their origins. Originally they were part of a Stanford group working in India on military vision equipments. They failed because of business knowhow and the current founder who was already a researcher in the group, bought the entity with another investor.Bruh. This is the same thing I posted: ENVG-B with FWS-I.
Thank! This is it. This is the ENVG-B/FWS-I of Tonbo. This is what that document was saying that Tonbo has supplied to NSG.
But I would be surprised if their was some cooperation between the American firms and Tonbo for this tech. I think Tonbo has done this one themselves.
Yes. Northern Command buys their stuff. Even Para SF do I think. But Para SF haven't adopted the ENVG-B/FWS-I while the NSG has.
Yep. Which is why I said Tonbo should do a JV with TASL to get a completely desi ENVG-B/FWS-I comparable to the American one. See:-
Bhai those camel cannot go to raj , they will die from heat there .Rajasthan
Joke apart, we haven't inducted drones for supplying in large numbers and also camel's can deliver much more goods compared to drones
(source - https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...ation-patrolling-in-ladakh-1723246-2020-09-19).
And camel's can be hired from civilian population for short term depending on situation so all in all we have good probability of not retiring them as of now.
It was just a joke nothing more .Bhai those camel cannot go to raj , they will die from heat there .
There is no cool and dry air in Rajasthan.
Plus these bactrian in ladkh are few remaining populations of bactrians .
These once traversed whole silk road. In Mongolia Tibet and ladkah they are found probably.
May be in other central asian republic.
Funny thing is DRDO has also developed a high altitude murgi for soldiers.It was just a joke nothing more .
But thanks for info.
I think this also a Colour (CMOS) + thermal fusion, and not white Phosphorus image intensifier.This is their Photon for vehicles, from 7 years ago.
The guys were working on thermal enhanced vision with white phosphorus for a while.
Phosphorus image intensification is already there as you can see in the video.
I think this also a Colour (CMOS) + thermal fusion, and not white Phosphorus image intensifier.
In fact I skimmed through their site, all their "fusion" products are thermal + CCD/CMOS, no mention of phosphorus image intensification. Maybe someone more knowledgeable can shed more light.
Duvi - Tonbo Imaging
tonboimaging.com
White phosphorous will have no tint which means you wont get that greenish tint prevalent in older night vision equipment. Thats it. Tonbo here is just using white colour to show objects like many others who use white phosphorous.I think this also a Colour (CMOS) + thermal fusion, and not white Phosphorus image intensifier.
In fact I skimmed through their site, all their "fusion" products are thermal + CCD/CMOS, no mention of phosphorus image intensification. Maybe someone more knowledgeable can shed more light.
Duvi - Tonbo Imaging
tonboimaging.com