DRDO 155mm Artillery Program

Can DRDO design Artillery able to pass into mass production?

H.A.

New Delhi: That the Indian Army's artillery regiments are in desperate need of a makeover is well known. But the process of modernisation and upgrade has moved at a glacial pace. The only new weapon in sight is the M777 light howitzer which has been cleared for procurement from BAE Systems in the US. The DRDO has now stepped in, reviving an old artillery project that had been shut down some years ago owing to the Army's lack of interest in an indigenous project.

Working this time with the Army's full backing, the DRDO has begun work on a new 155mm 45-calibre gun that could take a decade to develop and field. Dr S Sundaresh, head of the team for the new artillery project, said in an exclusive interview to CNN-IBN that the gun would comprise certain high-end technologies that could require a foreign collaborator.

We are proposing to develop a futuristic gun in consultation with the Army. We are in dialogue with the Army for some of the new technologies we are proposing to introduce into this gun, for example a special coating for the barrel to enhance its life, the smart recoil system with rheological fluid or an electrical drive to elevate and traverse the gun. We are in dialogue with the Army to finalise the Preliminary Staff Qualitative Requirements (PSQR) hopefully in the next couple of months. We have already started design work and will modify the design to suit the PSQR.

Since these are new technologies, we expect in about four to five years time we should be ready with a prototype for user trials, followed by summer and winter trials. Production could commence in about nine to 10 years' time. So the development cycle is 5-7 years including evaluation by the Army.

ON NEW TECHNOLOGIES

We want to try new technology in the area of recoil. The standard recoil systems are hydro-pneumatic but we are looking at an electro rheological liquid which has adaptive viscosity characteristics. So it will have adaptive damping, you will get a smooth consistent recoil no matter what the weight of the shell and what range you are firing at. That makes for a more reliable recoil system. The PSQRs demand new technology such as barrel coating. So the plan is to first build the barrel using current technologies and then try coating. Once that barrel development technology has matured, we can add new technologies and improve its performance. A number of foreign firms are willing to offer the coating technology. We are in dialogue but nothing has been firmed up yet. In order to cut down on time, we may get the technology from abroad, especially about the barrel coating and the recoilless system.

ON TANK GUNS VS ARTILLERY GUNS

Basically, both tanks and non-rocket artillery have rifled guns but when you look at the length of the barrel, the artillery gun barrels are much longer than tank barrels. The artillery shell is heavier, so the force of recoil is heavier. Accordingly, you require a proper recoil mechanism and a muzzle brake system.

ON LONE RANGER EFFORT

Nobody else in the world is developing a new gun. BAE Systems Bofors, Denel and Singapore Technologies have developed technologies for the guns they built. Nexter of France has also done the same but no serious development is taking place in terms of new guns. All guns are being produced with existing technology, so we will be the only country taking up this development. We have a large requirement and even if we take up development today, we can meet our requirements 10 years from now for a state-of-the-art gun system.

The Ordnance Factory Board is working on a gun based on the ToT documents received from Bofors. So they will be building a 155mm 39-calibre gun as well as a 155mm 45-calibre one. DRDO is helping them with the 45-calibre barrel design and external ballistics.

ON SELF PROPELLED GUNS

Self propelled guns are now at the RFP stage and we have teamed up with BEML for the Army tender. BEML is taking the turret from the Czech firm Zusana and the same will be integrated on the Arjun tank chassis. Hopefully trials will commence within a year

DRDO, Army working on futuristic artillery gun - India News - IBNLive

Re: DRDO, Army working on futuristic artillery gun

Since these are new technologies, we expect in about four to five years time we should be ready with a prototype for user trials, followed by summer and winter trials. Production could commence in about nine to 10 years' time. So the development cycle is 5-7 years including evaluation by the Army.
5 to 7 years is hell of a time they are going to take & by that time this technology might get obsolete & irrelevant for Indian Army . It will be better to develop a futuristic gun of long range along with the development of high precision intelligent ammunition which can strike at longer ranges with more devastation power.

What were they doing for last twenty years if not working on gun ?? What lies?

And what will artillary do for next ten years till DODOs develop their super guns?

Fire from the gun which is meant for fun??? Ha Ha ha..........

Good Luck and God speed.

Hopefully it will not get obsolescent by the time it is produced as is the case always.

It is not that Indians are chumps and dunderheads. It is the question of will to achieve.

Here is an example:

Taiwan's SYM eyes Mahindra & Mahindra's tech

Nandini Sengupta, TNN | Jul 9, 2012, 04.32AM IST

CHENNAI: Indian auto companies have usually tied up with foreign partners to source technology from them. But in a first for the industry, a foreign player may source technology from its Indian partner.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...indra-Mahindras-tech/articleshow/14758688.cms

Good Luck and God speed.

Hopefully it will not get obsolescent by the time it is produced as is the case always.

It is not that Indians are chumps and dunderheads. It is the question of will to achieve.

Here is an example:
Sir the problem with Indians is accountability ! and accountability !

What were they doing for last twenty years if not working on gun ?? What lies?

And what will artillary do for next ten years till DODOs develop their super guns?

Fire from the gun which is meant for fun??? Ha Ha ha..........

Army only recently issued DRDO to make a 52cal gun, Before this we all are busy with issuing RFI for last 30 years..

We have wasted 30 years behind foreign companies, tax payer money wasted so does time..

5 to 7 years is hell of a time they are going to take & by that time this technology might get obsolete & irrelevant for Indian Army
Its better to wait 7 years rather than next 30 years issuing RFIs..

52 cal guns are not going to be obsolete for next 50-70 years..

[
ON SELF PROPELLED GUNS

Self propelled guns are now at the RFP stage and we have teamed up with BEML for the Army tender. BEML is taking the turret from the Czech firm Zusana and the same will be integrated on the Arjun tank chassis. Hopefully trials will commence within a year

DRDO, Army working on futuristic artillery gun - India News - IBNLive

Hopefully we will have these 52cals in time, though doubt its from infamous BEML..

You mean to say India will have a sixty plus ton SPGs ? Difficult proposal from the beginning itself !

its somewhat 50-55 tons, Arjun Tank is 60+ coz of its 20+ ton turret..

These are suppose to be operated in western part of country ( Punjab, Gujrat, Rajasthan etc ) the wheeled once are meant for eastern sector..

-----------------------------

The mounted guns are meant for mountains..

H.A.

Its better to wait 7 years rather than next 30 years issuing RFIs..

52 cal guns are not going to be obsolete for next 50-70 years..
What about the Rail Gun technology....what if it is perfected and comes to be put on tanks, what about Lasers?

Army only recently issued DRDO to make a 52cal gun, Before this we all are busy with issuing RFI for last 30 years..

We have wasted 30 years behind foreign companies, tax payer money wasted so does time..
GIven the great expertise of the DRDO of having delivered on time fabulous world beating equipment, what do you expect to be done otherwise?

i figured out the problem with india and drdo and army- ATTITUDE

Wrong.

It is RESULT.

Pritivi is not Foreign and it is in service.

INSAS is not foreign but it is in service,

Food preservation is not only in service, but is being used commercially!

Give a product that works and who cares about foreign stuff?

Sadly, most of the time the DRDO is worse than snake oil salesmen!

Our lives are also as precious as yours.

Do you decry that?

We are dispensable and not you?

We have no right to live with equipment that gives us a hope in hell, just to be swadeshi?

DRDO has not delivered. Attitude has no place in military modernization.

If Army buys most of DRDO's equipment we will only be a big army, not a modern army.

Technologically we won't be better than Iran or North Korea. We won't even be able to beat Pakistan with DRDO around.

You haven't figured out anything.

its somewhat 50-55 tons, Arjun Tank is 60+ coz of its 20+ ton turret..

These are suppose to be operated in western part of country ( Punjab, Gujrat, Rajasthan etc ) the wheeled once are meant for eastern sector..

-----------------------------

The mounted guns are meant for mountains..
Have you ever crossed Patna towards East? Wheeled SP guns for Eastern Sector !! You mean Bangladesh ??

Bhadra Ji, New eastern front is China and north east..

Mounted Arty System wheeled..

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Wheeled SPGH..

Wrong.

It is RESULT.

Pritivi is not Foreign and it is in service.

INSAS is not foreign but it is in service,

Food preservation is not only in service, but is being used commercially!

Give a product that works and who cares about foreign stuff?

Sadly, most of the time the DRDO is worse than snake oil salesmen!

Our lives are also as precious as yours.

Do you decry that?

We are dispensable and not you?

We have no right to live with equipment that gives us a hope in hell, just to be swadeshi?
sir you might be familiar with a term called urgency. in this one needs to act swiftly in an organized manner to take down the emergency. here our forces are out of getting out of guns every other day because of old and almost expired guns. we need one gun in short term. and these people are wooing to develop on in next decade. what they want to prove? what are they thinking of? a new gun that india will eventually buy will be there for next 2 decades. in the meantime why army will even think of buying drdo gun which will be for sure an underperformer than a foreign gun. we got prithvi because no one is out there to sell a ballistic missile. if one can buy one then boom army wouldnt have looked upon drdo.

moreover drdo duty is to tackle all such emergency and in this thing it fails completly

DRDO to develop 155 mm field gun

Indian defence scientists have embarked on developing an indigenous 155 mm field gun. The project involves an investment of Rs 300-400 crore. The Ordnance Factories and private industry would be involved in the development and production, according to V.K. Saraswat, Director-General of the Defence Research and Development Organisation .

The indigenous gun will have better firepower, higher penetration capabilities and autonomous features. It will take a couple of years to demonstrate the first prototype version. At present the development and production partners as well as automation requirements have been identified and work is in progress, he said.

In the last 25 years, India has not produced its own field gun. The last field gun, the Bofors Howitzer, bought from the Swedish firm in the mid-1980's, raised a big controversy. While the gun performed well in the Kargil conflict in the late 1990's, off the battlefield it took a heavy political toll. It also resulted in no import and indigenous effort.

Further, several global vendors were blacklisted for various reasons. There are just one or two options to buy, hence it is imperative to make our own gun argues V.K. Saraswat.

[email protected]

Source : Business Line : Industry & Economy / Economy : DRDO to develop 155 mm field gun

Actually we have started very late... we could have build the Bofers 155 / 39 Cal whose design is laying with us for 20 years or so...at least it would have saved the army on the much needed guns for the time being... If I am not wrong OFB have planes to deliver the 155 / 39 Cal guns in next 6 months or so... not sure of its status right now... Moreover we should encourage private sector more & more such initiative I can think of one Kalyani Forge comming out with its own 155 / 45 Cal guns in 2 years time...