Did the surgical strikes actually end up harming India's interests?

Zarvan

The fraying of the LoC ceasefire will severely hamper India's efforts to stop militants from crossing over into the Kashmir Valley.

Image credit: PTI
Shoaib Daniyal

On September 29, the Narendra Modi government announced that the Indian Army had attacked what it described as terror launchpads along the Line of Control, in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir. These so-called surgical strikes were widely seen as a response to the September 18 attack on an Indian Army facility in Uri, Kashmir, in which militants had killed 19 soldiers.

The announcement was a political success for the Bharatiya Janata Party. However, its impact on India’s security might not be as beneficial. Since the strikes, there has been a significant intensification of hostilities on the Line of Control and the international border. On Monday, an Indian soldier was killed in Pakistani firing from across the Line of Control. On Friday, militants crossed over from Pakistan-occupied Kashmir and gruesomely beheaded an Indian soldier. Between September 29 and October 31, Pakistani firing has killedeight Indian military personnel. In effect, this means that the 2003 ceasefire on the Line of Control is almost dead, a development that could end up greatly harming India’s security interests in Kashmir.

Done that
While this is the first time the Union government has announced such an attack publicly, it is clear that the Indian Army has crossed the LoC to strike Pakistani targets on at least nine previous occasions. The current Union defence minister, however, sought to play down this history using semantics: Parrikar claimed the earlier attacks were "covert” strikes, not surgical strikes. While the minister did not explain the difference, it seems the government’s use of the term “surgical strike” was itself non-standard. A surgical strike refers to an aerial attack with precision-guided weapons or the airdropping of special forces deep inside enemy territory. The September 29 action, on the other hand, was a ground assault.

Even while inaccurate, it is not difficult to see why the Union government chose the term “surgical strikes”: its mass appeal and muscular connotations makes it politically attractive. Given its constant criticism of the Manmohan Singh government’s policy of strategic restraint from 2004 to 2014, the Modi government’s passivity in the face of numerous cross-border attacks on security installations was making its supporters restless. Additionally, the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections provide a platform for the BJP to utilise the political capital from these strikes.

Military politics
Indeed, post the strikes, the BJP has made skilful use of military rhetoric in its politics, even blending it in with its Hindutva agenda. Modi made a reference to the surgical strikes on the festival of Vijay Dashami, celebrated by Hindus as the victory of good over evil. On Diwali, the Union government introduced a programme to help Indians express gratitude to the Army for its services. The Modi government has stoked anti-Pakistan sentiment by targeting popular activities such as filmsand cricket. But other less-popular instances of India-Pakistan interaction – such as cross-border trade and even the sport of hockey – have been left untouched, given that there is no political capital to be earned by disrupting them.

However, the strategic advantage of the raids in the context of Kashmir remains unclear. In fact, India's bellicose reaction might actually end up benefitting Pakistan’s army and deep state, which operates independent of civilian control. Given that Pakistan’s bloated military justifies its existence by using India as a bogey, tensions between Delhi and Islamabad actually act as a support for the Pakistani Army.

Increased hostilities harm India
While the Indian Army’s September 29 raids were ostensibly meant to make the Line of Control safer, they have actually given Pakistan an excuse to ratchet up hostilities. Just four days after the surgical strikes, militants attacked Rashtriya Rifles and Border Security Force camps outside Kashmir’s Baramulla town, killing an officer. On October 13, one Indian soldier was killed and seven others were injured after militants attacked an army convoy on the outskirts of Srinagar. Pakistani troops also began to regularly violate the ceasefire, firing on Indian troops across the LoC. The beheading of an Indian soldier on Friday recounted the events of 2012-'13, when Indian and Pakistani soldiers had crossed the Line of Control, killed soldiers and then beheaded them.

In the one month since the surgical strikes on September 29, Pakistan committed 57 ceasefire violations. To understand just how high this is, the number of ceasefire violations in the nine months leading to September 29 was 58. These hostilities have meant that three civilians and eight military personnel have been killed in Indian Kashmir. This large spike indicates that the 2003 ceasefire is near-dead – an alarming development for India. Regular firing on the LoC means the Pakistani Army can provide cover to militants trying to cross over into India. It can also destroy India’s LoC fence, which hasplayed a key role in reducing infiltration.

Post the surgical strikes, it was clear that India’s options were limited. Even for the September 29 attack, the Union government made it clear in its statement that this was a one-off event and it did “not have any plans for further continuation”. While Pakistan has kept up a constant stream of provocation after September 29, the Indian government has restrained itself.

The lack of options for the Modi government after the bravado of the surgical strikes is exactly why the Manmohan Singh government adopted a course of strategic restraint. While tension at the LoC helps Pakistan’s Army, it bogs down India, which would rather focus on the development of its people.

We welcome your comments at [email protected].

http://scroll.in/article/820348/did-the-surgical-strikes-actually-end-up-harming-indias-interests

Silly article. This idiot needs to see a shrink, pronto!

Does this clown imply that India should just lie down and enjoy the shenanigans and provocations by Porkistan which is waging a proxy war against India that is part of the overall doctrine of the Paki Army? We need to incur costs on Pakistan. Of what use is the billions of dollars we're spending on defence? Is it just for show? We need to use our resources to the fullest and not be cowed down by Pak's nuclear bluff and bluster.

Dark Sorrow

I wouldn't say surgical strikes actually ended up harming India's interests but unnecessary propaganda, chest thumping and humiliating Pakistan is actually hurting India's interests.

1971ftw

Saving Indian citizen lives by killing terrorists who were preparing to attack is definitely is in Indias intrest .

tharikiran

There will always be naysayers. There will always be people who will have doubts. No point lying down to paki threats. You want to be a respected nation, then show that you are willing to take action and escalate if necessary.Only strength respects strength. Lives will be lost. But then freedom has a price. We will pay and pakis will have to pay with interest.
Agar, ghus kar mara hai.. toh seena..taan ke bolo.." Haan mara hai".
kis liye sharmana...
we are the world's biggest importer of weapon systems, then god damn use it. It's not for display purpose or to be kept in army depos.
If someone here is in any disillusionment, let me be clear. If Indians cannot sustain it, paki's are in no position either.
Our economy can take it. Pakistan's cannot. That's the ground reality. Let writer's write fancy stuff. The facts scream otherwise. The gulf will only increase. The paki's had it coming. No amount of fancy writing by paki or Indian authors will change this writing on the wall.

Dark Sorrow

how/why does 'humiliating' packistan hurt India? too late already but better late than never.
Humiliating another country in international forum is quite immature and people tend to get offended by such acts.
Just like an anti-Indian population in Pakistan and foreign countries their is a significant population that has soft corner for India and help Indian interest, such people get offended by unnecessary humiliation and may not help us when their help is needed.
Just answer the simple question : What did we gained by humiliating Pakistan and against what cost?
I am not against surgical strike but I am against chest thumping, propaganda and unnecessary humiliation.
In past cross LOC strike had been carried out but we never involved media in it. Their is just no gain by involving media.

tharikiran

18 Indian soldiers died and people here want the army response to be hidden. They don't want the Indian citizens to know that army has taken action. Do people here understand the concept of nation state and sentiments of the people.

Humiliating another country in international forum is quite immature and people tend to get offended by such acts.
Just like an anti-Indian population in Pakistan and foreign countries their is a significant population that has soft corner for India and help Indian interest, such people get offended by unnecessary humiliation and may not help us when their help is needed.
Just answer the simple question : What did we gained by humiliating Pakistan and against what cost?
I am not against surgical strike but I am against chest thumping, propaganda and unnecessary humiliation.
In past cross LOC strike had been carried out but we never involved media in it. Their is just no gain by involving media.
India didn't 'humiliate' packistan on any int'l forum...the population you are referring to, having a soft-corner for India, don't mind it, but OTOH have time-&-again expressed their dissatisfaction with India for always having punched much below its weight. I follow a few such gents.

P.S. - even for humiliation, you recall the UN incident about Kashmir and Rishi Kashyap? that was a proper rebuttal. packis still don't acknowledge it, & call it a 'bazaari lateefa'. packi is one kabila either immune to humiliation or habituated to it, beyond any correction.

Dark Sorrow

18 Indian soldiers died and people here want the army response to be hidden. They don't want the Indian citizens to know that army has taken action. Do people here understand the concept of nation state and sentiments of the people.
Geo-Politics is not practiced with emotion and sentiments. Its a cold calculating affair with no place for emotion and sentiments.

curiously, Israel and Russia have a way to do 'chest-thumping' & then get away with it...

humiliation is what I would deem what duterte did to sam chaudhary

Dark Sorrow

curiously, Israel and Russia have a way to do 'chest-thumping' & then get away with it w/o any cost...

humiliation is what I would deem what duterte did to sam chaudhary
Please don't compare Israeli adversaries with our. Palestine no nothing compare to Pakistan. Our is a very unique scenario.
Our adversary is educated, motivated and well financed as compared to Palestine.
One must not forget Israel has unconditional US and Western world's backing. We are on our own.
All I say conduct this operation covertly.

Akshay_Fenix

source for that.

We called out their nuclear bluff. Post URI, articles would pop up telling Indians that we need to show restraint cause pakistan is a nuclear power (suicidal).

Daily comments from their defence minsiter warning India of a nuclear attack.
Daily comments from terrorist Hafiz, masood and salahuddin boasting about URI strike and telling Indian Army that they should act in bollywood flims rather than guard the borders. all that has stopped.

My question to you:
What did we lose by humiliating Pakistan?

tharikiran

Geo-Politics is not practiced with emotion and sentiments. Its a cold calculating affair with no place for emotion and sentiments.
Go and tell the Israelis the same. All the wars India fought with Pakistan..according to you were based upon only cold and calculated moves.Will agree on 71 though.
When 18 of your soldiers die, you have to respond. Not sit on it for years. We did give a calculated response at a time and place of our choosing though.
Now, that a new norm has been set. Will keep doing it, till pakistan becomes palestine.

Chor.in??

:rofl::rofl:

Nuff said..

But it's good to see the burn in the backsides of the likes of Shoaib Danyal..must be frustrating to helplessly see your whole world crumbling around you and all you can do is poop on the e-pages of chor.in..

Would'nt waste any burnol on him..jalti hai to jalne do.

Abhijat

"Humiliation" is also an expression of emotion , so cold geo-politics actors wouldn't mind , if we are fullfilling the role in their geo-strategy.

You are also ignoring the importance of propoganda in achieving geo-political goals.

Sent from my SM-A700FD using Tapatalk

Dark Sorrow

"Humiliation" is also an expression of emotion , so cold geo-politics actors wouldn't mind , if we are fullfilling the role in their geo-strategy.
Geo-politics actors wouldn't mind but most of general population would mind and get offended.
You are also ignoring the importance of propoganda in achieving geo-political goals.
What did we gain from this propaganda?

tharikiran

Someone go and watch paki channels. Their own news anchors are saying," Yeh Man Mohan ki sarkar nahi hai, wahan Modi bhaita huya hai, Modi" . Every few years, culling operation has to be carried out. See, there are problems in our lives for which we can have a solution, And there are some you live with. You deal with it from time to time. Pakistan is the same. Like an overgrown bush/grass, you cut it from time to time. You learn to live with it. Permanent solution may come at a later time. In the mean time develop capabilities. Slowing but steadily, break it into manageable pieces.

Dark Sorrow

Go and tell the Israelis the same. All the wars India fought with Pakistan..according to you were based upon only cold and calculated moves.Will agree on 71 though.
Again don't compare India with Israel and Pakistan with Palestine. Our situation is unique.
When 18 of your soldiers die, you have to respond. Not sit on it for years. We did give a calculated response at a time and place of our choosing though.
Now, that a new norm has been set. Will keep doing it, till pakistan becomes palestine.
No one is asking not to conduct cross LOC strikes but keep it covert.
Converting Pakistan to become Palestine is every Indian's wet dream.
Pakistan has financial backing of China and major western powers. Do you know that every time we buy a major weapon system from West or from Russia, these defense companies offer an unofficial cut to Pakistani generals.
Destroying few terrorist and army infrastructure won't make Pakistan into Palestine.