China to US: India a 'lesser power', not an equal

China told US that India is lesser power, USA isn thinking right, but it (India) is only power which can stop china's rise to number one if China mess up with India.

tony4562

It is another piece of rumor, nothing more. First of them all, China with her timid government on top (CCP only cares about staying in power, thus often bending backwards to please foreigners at cost of China's own interests) would never say something like that. You can comb through all the official media of the world, you still won't find any reference to that. You think a country that is adamant that they are only a 3rd world country, would ask to be treated as equal to the US? Absolute crap! Maybe China was refering to India as a first world power, and themselves a 3rd world power, thus they were not equal8)8).

Also, why all the sensitivity given to what China thinks. India, which is buying more arms than the whole western Europe put together, is already a great power, at least in military terms. No one can dispute that, india is truely a scary power that is looming over the whole indian ocean.

China is allowing U.S. to enter South and South-East Asia.

1> Singapore, Philippines, Japan, S.K. can't face China alone. Hence, they are with U.S. and It's U.S. responsibility.

2> Nepal, Burma, Mongolia, Indonesia can't face anger of China. Hence, they taking neutral relation with China and next big neighbours like India, Russia and U.S. too.

3> India is moving towards U.S. as we have real threat that China might start a war in nervous time as authoritarian Government can do anything to win war. They can't face defeat in front of public after ruling for 50 years. Although we are capable enough now but we do need west support on international stage.

4> Vietnam started working for nuke, Started buying military equipment from Russia, training, commercial and upgradation from India and asking help from U.S. too.

China can't lead the world as big mammoth Russia is there on north side. They are known for fighting till last chance.

So, China is left with Pakistan and N.K. - 1/3rd moneys goes in defence and rest to run country. Isolated countries.

China is creating problem for herself which will be cause of downfall of Communist in china like Soviet in 90's.

I think China is just uncomfortable because India is getting the same attention China received from the US in the later 70s. This attention was good for China in the long run and India may reap these benefits as well.
Well, I think you guys just look at things in a emotional way.
The truth is: india is less powerful than China, not mention US.
If add india into the talk between US and China, it is more likely US would be the one benefited while india will get more rewards than its power level currently. So China has every reason to exclude india as what india is trying to play is exactly what China played in the 1980s--being a third weaker point between 2 bigger powers.

sukhish

no smoking,
very fine being less powerful than china. we actually don't want to exercise the level of power china exercises. may be U.S also should not include china either and just talk to itself.

Energon

DFI stars
Chinese leaderships lacks maturity, sensibility and diplomacy.
Actually it's the other way round. The Chinese leadership is extremely mature, sensible and has a terrific diplomatic cadre. The Indian establishment on the other hand is highly immature, lethargic and incoherent. And this is exactly why India isn't really comparable to China in terms of global power.

No, you got it all wrong,

The reason India isn't YET comparable to China in terms of global power is, India started its reforms and opened up its economy in 1991, 13 years after China did.

There is nothing inherently better or superior in China, otherwise. Let us stop pretending otherwise.

pi314159

The reason India isn't YET comparable to China in terms of global power is, India started its reforms and opened up its economy in 1991, 13 years after China did.
Sir, your reasoning is not very solid. Here you assume that when China started reform, she was on the same level as India, therefore China enjoys 13 years advantage. What if China actually spent that 13 years to catch up with India, so that at 1991 we are at the same starting line? There are many things debatable here, IMHO your saying difference is because of 13 years delay is perhaps over-simplified.

The other interesting question is why reform first started in China rather than in India? Is it just coincident?

It is another piece of rumor, nothing more. First of them all, China with her timid government on top (CCP only cares about staying in power, thus often bending backwards to please foreigners at cost of China's own interests) would never say something like that. You can comb through all the official media of the world, you still won't find any reference to that. You think a country that is adamant that they are only a 3rd world country, would ask to be treated as equal to the US? Absolute crap! Maybe China was refering to India as a first world power, and themselves a 3rd world power, thus they were not equal8)8).

Also, why all the sensitivity given to what China thinks. India, which is buying more arms than the whole western Europe put together, is already a great power, at least in military terms. No one can dispute that, india is truely a scary power that is looming over the whole indian ocean.
Absolutely right.

China is a domesticated cat slurping a plate of warm milk in front of a fireplace and purring, right?

Sir, your reasoning is not very solid. Here you assume that when China starts reform, she is on the same level as India, therefore China enjoys 13 years advantage. What if China actually spent that 13 years to catch up with India, so that at 1991 we are at the same starting line? There are many things debatable here, IMHO your saying difference is because of 13 years delay is perhaps over-simplified.

The other interesting question is why reform first started in China rather than in India? Is it just coincident?
It started earlier in China is because the people were fed up living in miserable condition and being fed, not with food, but with Communist homilies.

Deng saw the vision and was thrown out but when he was rehabilitated by Chou, he threw of the false Communist yoke.

He had travelled abroad and studied. He married an industrialist's daughter Zhuo Lin. So, he knew how China was being taken for a ride with hollow Communist slogans.

That's why.

pi314159

It started earlier in China is because the people were fed up living in miserable condition and being fed, not with food, but with Communist homilies.

Deng saw the vision and was thrown out but when he was rehabilitated by Chou, he threw of the false Communist yoke.

He had travelled abroad and studied. He married an industrialist's daughter Zhuo Lin. So, he knew how China was being taken for a ride with hollow Communist slogans.

That's why.
You may have explained why China started reform, but seems not saying anything about why it is earlier than India.

pi314159

^^^ Continue comment above: did India start reform because she saw China was catching up?

You may have explained why China started reform, but seems not saying anything about why it is earlier than India.
India embraced socialism and was not willing to change.

Womb to the Tomb!

It is now that they have realised that if they don't change, then it is Tomb from the Womb! :pound:

^^^ Continue comment above: did India start reform because she saw China was catching up?
These are very silly questions. :tsk:

Lets just say, the NehruGandhis of that era were stuck-up morons. And they spawned a similar moronic class of sycophantic officials around them. Reform and stuff like that was last on their minds, and I don't think they even comprehended it well.

China was lucky to get a leader like Deng Xiaoping, who replaced that mass-murdering bloodthirsty Mao chap.

What more do you want to know? I don't understand why Chinese keep asking "WHY INDIA STARTED LATE"! That is a fact of life, and that fact has shaped how the nations have shaped up today. We have to live with it.

Repeatedly hearing Indians saying they had a self styled socialism? What socialism is it? So many in the world brand theirs as socialism? Did 'Womb to Tomb' ever happen in India? If really that could have been fabulous :lol:

I think it causes unnecessary confusion to call it "self styled socialism" or any kind of "socialism". It was a weird combination of socialism, capitalism, communism, statism, liberalism, and a hodepodge of other things. I think it would be best to call it "NehruGandhism". Or, you could just say license-permit raj.

Adux

I wonder if it would really matter if India is a militarily a lesser power, when Bejing and Shang Hai is made into nuclear assisted glass bowls.......

pi314159

These are very silly questions. :tsk:

Lets just say, the NehruGandhis of that era were stuck-up morons. And they spawned a similar moronic class of sycophantic officials around them. Reform and stuff like that was last on their minds, and I don't think they even comprehended it well.

China was lucky to get a leader like Deng Xiaoping, who replaced that mass-murdering bloodthirsty Mao chap.

What more do you want to know? I don't understand why Chinese keep asking "WHY INDIA STARTED LATE"! That is a fact of life, and that fact has shaped how the nations have shaped up today. We have to live with it.
Hey, my friend, you managed to find answers to very silly questions, aren't you silly?:)

Your answer can be summarized as one word: luck. You got Nehru Gandhis is a fact of life, just like an apple drop from a tree, why reason it, fair enough.

Instead of asking "WHY INDIA STARTED LATE", asking "What had triggered India's reform" would make you feel more comfortable, I guess.

amitkriit

Did China say anything wrong?
Did not Hilary Clinton say something similar?

Nobody will gift you power and status, you have to grab it.

Koi kisi ko raaj nade hai jo le hai nij bal se le hai