China protests PM's visit to Arunachal, India says its an integral part.

Pintu

http://www.ptinews.com/news/331278_US-confident-of-peaceful-settlement-of-Arunachal-issue

US confident of peaceful settlement of Arunachal issue

STAFF WRITER 19:22 HRS IST

Kolkata, Oct 14 (PTI) The United States today termed China's claim on Arunachal Pradesh as a bilateral issue with India and expressed confidence that the two countries would peacefully resolve the matter.

"The issue between India and China is a bilateral issue.

The US is confident that they will peacefully resolve this issue," US Ambassador Timothy Roemer told reporters here.

Stating that the US respected elections and their outcome, he said, "we saw the people of India turning out in thousands at polling places yesterday. We respect the outcome of those elections and we look forward to working with the leaders that the region elects."

Asked whether the US had any plan to include the CPI (Maoist) in its list of terrorist organisations, Roemer evaded a direct reply saying, "the US will continue to work with India on the overall threat posed by a host of groups throughout the world.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
Mr. Ahmed, the aggression isn't sufficient and as certain people pointed out, is clearly not affecting the Chinese. Diplomats don't actually use words like "strongly dissatisfied". The more appropriate term in diplomatic languages (from what I have heard) is "concerned regarding".

As from my observation, considering that the Chinese won't attack India "being fearful of endangering their economic growth" is a myth. Chinese economy has reached a saturation point from where it will only need a literal disintegration of China to make it collapse similar to the USSR. A small, swift and aggressive conflict won't stop their economy or Indian and Chinese businessmen from making money. This is often the kind of assurance we tend to give ourselves.

Our government is taking steps and there is no denial of it. However the steps are not enough and this is clearly showing. India is not Sudan or Mozambique that it can be bullied. However, Chinese military is successful in doing that by having the nerve to infiltrate Indian territory at will. Have you even thought what would be PLA's response if the we do something similar near the Tibetian borders? PLA would immediately surround our troops escort them back or even shoot them on the spot and the Indian side would only protest, just as they had protested Bangladesh Border security forces when the latter killed 12 BSF soldiers in a small clash, rather than using full force on the aggressive enemy.

I don't consider surgical strikes as a response to PLA's incursions however once they are within Indian territories, they should be swiftly and aggressively dealt with even if this indicates another Chola incident. Why are we so fearful of our economic relations with them when they can do the same? I might have to accept the fact that our side of eastern border isn't as developed as the Chinese side, however it requires will and dedication to counter an intruding enemy more than these material things. And I assure you that our boys are capable of handling anything provided they are given reasonable autonomy to do so.
The Chinese are not some small fry, as you know well. There isnt another scope for a Chola Incident, like you said, What if the Chinese are trying to provoke us into taking the first aggressive step, then a firefight and then WAR??

You pointed out our borders with China is not as developed as Chinese side. Will you risk a escalation with the chinese, knowing fully we are only Half Prepared?

We Dont know what GOI has in Mind, But rest assured, they wont give AP on a platter to China. I can surely say that they are playing it in a Very Shrewd manner. When our Areas are developed and we are confident and not in a half baked manner like we are now, I am sure GOI, will take a Bold Step, like you hope for.

You are right in saying, China is on a saturated path, economically, and might even risk Disintegration. So they might try to provoke us into a War and try to Unite their Folks. We should not fall for this Trap. We should Fight at our Own Terms and at Our Own Time

We Dont know what GOI has in Mind

You pointed out our borders with China is not as developed as Chinese side. Will you risk a escalation with the chinese, knowing fully we are only Half Prepared?

We Dont know what GOI has in Mind,
we sure dont

and i wonder what kind of system it is that after 1962 and many decades later is still HALF PREPARED ??

ahmedsid

Top Gun
we sure dont

and i wonder what kind of system it is that after 1962 and many decades later is still HALF PREPARED ??
Yes, its the problem with the successive governments lack of resolution to invest heavily in these areas like China Did. But we are catching up. If you look at India and China Military Equipment wise, we are no Pushover, we can give them a bloody nose if they try something. But surely, now is not the time to take them on, when we fight them, we shouldnt try for a stalemate, we should grab a little territory in the bargain. Thats what will make a Point.

When dealing with china never forget one detail- in the four thousand years of recorded human history there have been only 250(during the opium wars& subsequent Japanese occupation)when the rulers of Beijing have not been among the first three military powers in the world; china is no small fry for every chanakian move we can make they will try to flummox us with a Confucian riddle, the current incident i feel is much in the same vein.

amitkriit

When dealing with china never forget one detail- in the four thousand years of recorded human history there have been only 250(during the opium wars& subsequent Japanese occupation)when the rulers of Beijing have not been among the first three military powers in the world; china is no small fry for every chanakian move we can make they will try to flummox us with a Confucian riddle, the current incident i feel is much in the same vein.
I must add into it, China has managed to preserve it's culture, and is more closely knit society when compared with India. Military power has always been derived from society/culture, and India lacks by miles on this front, even if we are proud of our vibrant democracy / open society and tend to show it off.

prabhuksnp

I would defer most of you guys , please respect people who are living in this border. Every day tension holding life in their hands thinking and having sleepless nights. If China consider they are part of china , come forward sit discuss that settles there. No need these kind of words. After so may years why to raise this pitch ,as people of AP accepted India , voting their voices selecting government they wish to form. Why make fuss chiense friends , do we meedle and give support to tibet uprising , when whole world knows how tibet was occupied by china , every where there was protest in world during olympics , Have some sympthay towards people , do not be land eaters and man eaters. If you see in india there was not much of movement against olympic tourch relay , china had lot of fears in india , but where in US, UK there were lot of issues In india it was peaceful , we want to see one china , but china wants to disintegrate India , Please look in to US , UK etc , we are small fish before you leave us alone!

amitkriit

I would defer most of you guys , please respect people who are living in this border. Every day tension holding life in their hands thinking and having sleepless nights. If China consider they are part of china , come forward sit discuss that settles there. No need these kind of words. After so may years why to raise this pitch ,as people of AP accepted India , voting their voices selecting government they wish to form. Why make fuss chiense friends , do we meedle and give support to tibet uprising , when whole world knows how tibet was occupied by china , every where there was protest in world during olympics , Have some sympthay towards people , do not be land eaters and man eaters. If you see in india there was not much of movement against olympic tourch relay , china had lot of fears in india , but where in US, UK there were lot of issues In india it was peaceful , we want to see one china , but china wants to disintegrate India , Please look in to US , UK etc , we are small fish before you leave us alone!
Unfortunately world isn't run on emotions, there are hard targets which need to be hit hard. India needs to show a little bit more resolve and commitment if it wants to make a better future for it's citizens. China won't spare only because India is a great and peaceful country which wants and preaches peace, they will do whats best for their national interest, even if it proves costly for others.

‘Vote for India’ rebuff to China

NISHIT DHOLABHAI

Namsai/Mechukha, Oct. 13: The day China cried foul, people flocked in droves to polling booths in Arunachal Pradesh, clocking a 74 per cent turnout.

Digyi, a voter, spent a week travelling from Mussoorie to hometown Mechukha, around 530km from Arunachal capital Itanagar, to exercise her franchise.

Seng Singpho reached home in nearby Miao from another part of Arunachal in 30 hours, including a boat ride on the Brahmaputra near Dibrugarh in neighbouring Assam.

Digyi will suffer a loss in her garments business near Mussoorie. Seng will be unable to distribute air-dropped food packets to officials near Manigong on the India-China border, where he is posted as an Arunachal government employee.

But both felt that the journey was worth it. “Voting to karna padega na, har baar jaisa (like every election, one has to vote),” said Digyi, trekking 2km of mountainous road as the vehicle she was travelling in broke down on way to Mechukha from Itanagar.

Asked about the outrage in Beijing, Seng laughed: “Kya China, China, this is India yaar.”

Octogenarian Yape Komi remembers the day Chinese troops trapped Indian soldiers between Mechukha and Tato on the banks of the Yargetchu. “Their soldiers were good to us as they took shelter in our homes, but we were ignorant then. Not any more, I won’t allow them in again,” Komi said in native tongue Bokar through an interpreter.

There is little rhetoric or jingoism among the Arunachalese — they consider it silly to assume they are anything but Indians. All this despite Delhi’s neglect of the region’s development for more than six decades.

“Vote for India,” giggled septuagenarian Yejap Ridda, combing her hair to pose for a photograph with her sister. Yejap was newly married in 1962 when Chinese troops occupied her husband’s village Tato for a week. Since then, it has been peaceful.

RAM

The southern Man
[mod]this is not mallu forum. English please.[/mod]

Quickgun Murugan

‘Vote for India’ rebuff to China

NISHIT DHOLABHAI

Namsai/Mechukha, Oct. 13: The day China cried foul, people flocked in droves to polling booths in Arunachal Pradesh, clocking a 74 per cent turnout.

Digyi, a voter, spent a week travelling from Mussoorie to hometown Mechukha, around 530km from Arunachal capital Itanagar, to exercise her franchise.

Seng Singpho reached home in nearby Miao from another part of Arunachal in 30 hours, including a boat ride on the Brahmaputra near Dibrugarh in neighbouring Assam.

Digyi will suffer a loss in her garments business near Mussoorie. Seng will be unable to distribute air-dropped food packets to officials near Manigong on the India-China border, where he is posted as an Arunachal government employee.

But both felt that the journey was worth it. “Voting to karna padega na, har baar jaisa (like every election, one has to vote),” said Digyi, trekking 2km of mountainous road as the vehicle she was travelling in broke down on way to Mechukha from Itanagar.

Asked about the outrage in Beijing, Seng laughed: “Kya China, China, this is India yaar.”:icon_salut: :goodstuff:

Octogenarian Yape Komi remembers the day Chinese troops trapped Indian soldiers between Mechukha and Tato on the banks of the Yargetchu. “Their soldiers were good to us as they took shelter in our homes, but we were ignorant then. Not any more, I won’t allow them in again,” Komi said in native tongue Bokar through an interpreter.

There is little rhetoric or jingoism among the Arunachalese — they consider it silly to assume they are anything but Indians. All this despite Delhi’s neglect of the region’s development for more than six decades.

“Vote for India,” giggled septuagenarian Yejap Ridda, combing her hair to pose for a photograph with her sister. Yejap was newly married in 1962 when Chinese troops occupied her husband’s village Tato for a week. Since then, it has been peaceful.

We should propose a plebiscite option to the Chinese. But am afraid, Chinese will never agree to this option. Taiwanese for years had been voting for a govt which was for pro-independence. What was Chinese reply to them? Surrounded them with 1500 missile sites.

China will never let its stake go off Arunachal, as it just needs a reason to counter India and help Pakistan. Lets hope this govt does something to solve this problem once and for all and close this chapter of bitterness.

It is high time that this iissue of Arunachal does not get carried forward to future generations politicians.

gokulakannan

pranab's statement

PM can visit Arunachal Pradesh for any purpose: Pranab - Yahoo! India News

Kolkata, Oct 14 (IANS) Reiterating India's stand, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee Wednesday said that Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's visit to Arunachal Pradesh was a constitutional right as the state was an 'integral part' of India.

Asked for his reaction to China's objection over the prime minister's visit to Arunachal Pradesh, Mukherjee said: 'The prime minister can definitely visit the state for campaigning or any other purpose.'

'I too visited Arunachal Pradesh for campaigning and considered it as a legitimate right. It's a proper action on our part,' he added.

Replying to a question, he pointed out that in May, the people of Arunachal Pradesh had sent their representative to parliament under the Indian constitution.

'The just-concluded (assembly) polls in Arunachal Pradesh have proved that they were held in accordance with the Indian constitution,' the veteran member of the union cabinet maintained.
:india:

BLACK_COBRA

War of words between China and India continues

BEIJING: The war of words between China and India intensified on Wednesday with China’s ruling Communist Party accusing India of harbouring “hegemonic” ambitions in South Asia and “provoking” China on the border issue.

In what is possibly the strongest diatribe China’s ruling party has directed at India in recent memory, the Communist Party in two editorials in its official newspapers accused the Indian government of “recklessness and arrogance” and “turning a blind eye” to China’s “concessions” in resolving the long-running boundary dispute.

The remarks come a day after China said it was “strongly dissatisfied” with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s recent visit to Arunachal Pradesh, parts of which China still has claims on.

On Wednesday, the People’s Daily, the Communist Party’s official newspaper, and the Global Times, an English-language paper run by its information department, launched a verbal onslaught on India in their editorial pages. The People’s Daily said India was “obsessed” with a “hegemonic mentality” and “refused to drop the pretentious airs when dealing with neighbours like Pakistan.” Pakistan’s Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, incidentally, is currently in Beijing and on Tuesday discussed a highway project in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir with Chinese President Hu Jintao, raising concerns in New Delhi.

Wednesday’s statements underscore how the atmosphere between the two neighbours has fast soured in recent months, and are a stark contrast from the conciliatory positions the two governments had seemed to adopt over the border dispute following the thirteenth round of talks in August. Officials in Beijing and New Delhi spoke of positive progress then.

The People’s Daily, a nationalistic newspaper run by the Communist Party’s propaganda wing, often articulates the party’s positions on foreign affairs in more strident tones than the official positions stated by the Chinese government’s Foreign Ministry.

Alluding to India’s strategic relationship with the United States, the paper said India followed a policy of “befriend the far and attack the near.” It said “resentment still simmered” from India’s wars with China and Pakistan. “If India really wants to be a superpower, such a policy is short-sighted and immature,” it said in the editorial.

The Global Times, an English-language newspaper which often reflects the party’s views on foreign policy and is directed towards an international audience, said India would make “a fatal error” if it mistook “China’s approach for weakness.The Chinese government and public regard territorial integrity as a core national interest, one that must be defended with every means,” the paper said. “The disputed border area is of strategic importance, and hence, India’s recent moves including Singh’s trip and approving past visits to the region by the Dalai Lama send the wrong signal. That could have dangerous consequences.”

The papers also accused India of “ignoring” China’s “concessions” on the border issue, but did not specify what the concessions were.

Indian analysts say China’s positions on the boundary issue have hardened in recent months, with Chinese objections to visits by Indian leaders to Arunachal Pradesh becoming more frequent and strong.

The Global Times also claimed that 96 per cent of the over 6,000 respondents of an online poll on its Chinese-language website said they felt “agitated” by the frequent visits by Indian leaders to the disputed area.

The Hindu : Front Page : War of words between China and India continues

Sridhar

House keeper
IAF slams Chinese objections to airstrips in Ladakh, Arunchal

BY : TOI
A day after China let loose a heat-seeking missile at Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, the Indian armed forces launched a sharp

counter-offensive on Wednesday. China, they said, has no business complaining about reactivation or upgradation of airstrips and helipads in eastern Ladakh and Arunachal Pradesh.
For one, they fall in what is unquestionably Indian territory. For another, India has not objected to China’s massive build-up of military infrastructure in Tibet. “I don’t know why the Chinese are talking about it,” said IAF vice-chief Air Marshal P K Barbora.
“We have never said anything about China opening airbases in Tibet…and they are definitely expanding their airfields. I don’t think they should say anything about our ALGs (advanced landing grounds) on our side,” he said.
After reactivating western sector ALGs like Daulat Beg Oldi, Fukche and Nyama in eastern Ladakh, IAF is now concentrating on upgrading eastern sector ALGs like Pasighat, Mechuka, Walong, Tuting, Ziro and Vijaynagar as well as several helipads in Arunachal.
Though India woke up rather late to China’s rapid enhancement of operational logistics all along the unresolved 4,056-km Line of Actual Control, the armed forces are now fast-tracking measures to strategically counter the People’s Liberation Army under a Rs 5,000-crore plan approved by the UPA government.
These range from raising two new specialised infantry mountain divisions (over 30,000 soldiers) and an artillery brigade for Arunachal to procuring 17 armed speed-boats for Pangong Tso lake (Ladakh) and deploying Sukhoi-30MKI fighters in the North-East.
IAF, incidentally, is also going to deploy surface-to-air Akash missile systems, with an interception range of 25 km, as also other air defence missiles, to guard against hostile fighters and drones in the North-East.
Holding that Indian armed forces did not “fear” the 2.25-million strong People’s Liberation Army, even though it may be double in size, Air Marshal Barbora said the PM’s mandate was to develop infrastructure in the entire North-East, especially Arunachal Pradesh, which had been left out of the mainstream for many years.
He was, however, quick to stress that the “creation of assets” was not directed against China. “It’s not country or adversary-specific. We are just building capabilities in tune with our requirements. These ALGs, for instance, will help to make air maintenance operations more effective as well as also boost tourism,” he said.
While this is certainly true, it is primarily aimed at countering China, which has upgraded as many as 14 airfields in Tibet, of which at least half are fully-operational. Its Linzi airbase, for instance, is not even 30 km away from the LAC in Arunachal.
To counter some of this, IAF has been allocated around Rs 2,000 crore to upgrade the ALGs and airbases like Tezpur, Chabua, Hashimara and other airbases in the North-East. After the first two Sukhoi-30MKI squadrons become operational at Tezpur, Chabua will be the next in line.

IAF slams Chinese objections to airstrips in Ladakh, Arunchal IDRW.ORG

PoK punch to China after Arunachal salvo

OUR SPECIAL CORRESPONDENT

New Delhi, Oct. 14: New Delhi today raised the pitch of the ongoing diplomatic row with Beijing, sending a strong message against China’s involvement in the Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK).

“The Chinese side is fully aware of India’s position and our concerns about Chinese activities,” external affairs ministry spokesperson Vishnu Prakash said in response to a statement, reported in official news agency Xinuha, from Chinese President Hu Jintao that his country would remain engaged in Pakistan.

“We hope the Chinese side will take a long-term view of the India-China relations and cease such activities in areas illegally occupied by Pakistan,” Prakash said.

The PoK pitch came a day after tit-for-tat responses sparked by Beijing’s objections to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s October 3 visit to Arunanchal Pradesh.

“We have seen the Xinhua report quoting the President of China as stating that China will continue to engage in projects with Pakistan inside Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir. Pakistan has been in illegal occupation of parts of the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir since 1947,” Prakash said.

The Chinese President, during a meeting with Pakistan Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani yesterday, had outlined a major project to upgrade the Karakoram highway connecting the two countries.

The President also promised help in the $1.5-billion (Pakistani rupees 12,450 crore) Neelam-Jhelum hydroelectric project in PoK despite India’s stated concerns.

A consortium consisting of China’s Gezhouba Water and Power Company and China National Machinery and Equipment Import and Export Corporation was awarded contracts by Pakistan last December to build the project in eight years.“Howsoever, the international situation may change, the people of China and Pakistan are always joined in hearts and hands,” Jintao had said.

As New Delhi raised the pitch by bringing PoK into the picture, Vice Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal P.K. Barbora, said the Indian Air Force was upgrading airfields in Ladakh and Arunachal Pradesh, and that the Chinese shouldn’t have objections.

“We do not say anything about Chinese airfields in Tibet or on their activity. Why should they?” Barbora asked.

India this year re-activated three advanced landing grounds in Ladakh, near the border with China.

A fourth strip, at Chushul, was to be reopened too. But the plan is being shelved as the site is too close to a point where Indian and Chinese armies hold border meetings.

In Srinagar, home minister P. Chidambaram touched on another prickly issue. He said no visas would be given to Chinese semi-skilled and unskilled workers. “We have made it very clear that Chinese workers should come to India only on employment visas. There will be no more business visas. The employment visas will be given only to highly skilled workers of China. We do not need semi-skilled or unskilled workers from China. We have enough (such) workers in India,” Chidambaram said.

The minister also said the Centre had taken up with Beijing its practice of issuing stapled visas — instead of the usual visas stamped on passports — to Indian citizens from Jammu and Kashmir.

Army chief General Deepak Kapoor is now visiting Myanmar, a country with which India has kept military-to-military ties, despite sanctions against Yangon’s army junta, largely to cut into China’s strategic space.
The Telegraph - Calcutta (Kolkata) | Nation | PoK punch to China after Arunachal salvo

We should propose a plebiscite option to the Chinese. But am afraid, Chinese will never agree to this option. Taiwanese for years had been voting for a govt which was for pro-independence. What was Chinese reply to them? Surrounded them with 1500 missile sites.
It is not understood as to why we must offer a plebiscite to the Chinese, when it is our territory.

I am sure that if China one day claims Assam to be Southern most Tibet, we would not propose a plebiscite or would we?

It is China's contention that Arunachal is disputed, not ours. Therefore, it is her problem and not our and we take no cognisance of such wild claims.

Taiwan is a small state and so China can pose a threat in being and anyway so long as the US is there, China can stay in a limbo and deploy whatever it wants on its territory. India cannot be compared to Taiwan.

China will never let its stake go off Arunachal, as it just needs a reason to counter India and help Pakistan. Lets hope this govt does something to solve this problem once and for all and close this chapter of bitterness.
It is not material what China does with her claim. She can claim the world as theirs if they want. It would make no difference to anyone or any nation.

What bitterness? Why must India have to appease China?

It is high time that this iissue of Arunachal does not get carried forward to future generations politicians.
If we don't take China's claim or protest seriously and maintain a measured silence, they will realise their impotence.

China has had a bloody nose in Vietnam and they are aware that going to war can also ruin their prestige, more so, when they are pretending to becoming a superpower. If they attack India and fail to achieve anything as they could not do anything against Vietnam, they will be the biggest laughing stock of the world and the Chinese are very sensitive to 'losing face'!

RPK

Indyakudimahan
<i>Hindi-Chini bhai bhai?</i>

Once again, China has tried to provoke India. As soon as it was revealed that the Chinese embassy in New Delhi had been issuing irregular visas to Kashmiri Indians, the Indian administration was left in shock. The embassy was reportedly stapling a handwritten document to the passports of Kashmiri Indians rather than pasting printed copies, which is the norm with other Indians. And Delhi had just no clue about it.

Notably, people from Arunachal Pradesh, a state which China lays claim on, are also being issued ‘stapled visas’ from the Chinese embassy.

As soon as the Indian administration got the news, it quickly issued a statement saying, “It is our considered view and position that there should be no discrimination against visa applicants of Indian nationality on the grounds of domicile or ethnicity.”

Later, Defence Minister AK Antony said, "Whether it is Jammu and Kashmir or Arunachal Pradesh, all are integral parts of India. For us, every inch of India is one. There are channels of dealing with our neighbours whenever any issue arises and we always use them to raise our point of view."

For a change, India not only gave statements, but responded to China with atypical quickness by issuing a directive stopping all such visa holders from getting on China-bound planes.

Why China issued stapled visas to Kashmiri Indians?

Since nothing official has been said about it, one can infer that this act of China indicates that Beijing neither accepts Kashmiris as Indian citizens nor recognises Kashmir as an integral part of India – in a sense recognises it as disputed. One can say that China, Pakistan’s all weather ally, wanted to tell Kashmiris that they are not entitled to a larger pluralistic identity. Or has China done it to please Pakistan?

This is not the first time China has tried to pinch India. Earlier this year, China tried to block Asian Development Bank’s funding for a USD 2.9 billion Indian development project, which included a project in ‘disputed’ Arunachal Pradesh.

Of late, Chinese helicopters violated Indian airspace in Leh area of north Jammu and Kashmir.

According to reports in the Indian media, Chinese troops crossed over into India's territory in Jammu and Kashmir’s Ladakh region. Reports further claimed that the Chinese troops marked boulders and rocks as deep as 1.5 km inside India’s border with red spray paint in Mandarin.

It is not for the first time that reports of Chinese incursions into Indian territory have emerged. As per reports, the Indian Army logged 270 border violations and about 2,300 cases of “aggressive border patrolling” by Chinese soldiers in 2008.

However, the Defence Ministry in New Delhi rejected the threat posed by incursions as nothing but media-manufactured hype. The government continued to downplay China’s ‘confrontational’ activities on the border. No doubt, India is failing to acknowledge that Delhi has a bone to pick with Beijing.

China is not missing out a single opportunity to embarrass India. In fact, one of the mouthpieces of the Chinese Communist Party's recently warned India against escalating its troop levels in Arunachal Pradesh, advising New Delhi to mull “whether or not it can afford the consequences of a potential confrontation with China”.

It seems that India still wants to live up to five-decade old ‘Hindi-Chini bhai bhai’ slogan. Disappointingly, distrust has overshadowed the ties between the two sides since the 1962 war fought by India and China over a border dispute that has still not been resolved.

China has gained significant military might after the war. Albeit India has made progress in the ‘military’ direction, yet much more needs to be done to catch up the Dragon.

Why does India need to express anger?

Well, always bowing down to Chinese pressure is not an option. India has already acceded to China’s demands to bar political activities of the Dalai Lama, stirring debate on its stand on the issue of Tibet sovereignty. There is no possibility of the repetition of the 1962 episode, but China’s provocations cannot be ignored. India truly needs to strengthen its deterrence power.

India further needs to increase its diplomatic as well as economic ties with its neighbours, so that it can contain China in the future. Notably, Beijing is increasing its presence in the Indian neighbourhood, such as Nepal, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, and Maldives.

Furthermore, India needs to tighten its border security in order to avoid any incursion. It is significant to pay heed that India cannot afford to have any lapse in analysing China’s activities.

At a time when the US’ superpower status is in danger due to the economic rise of China and India, Delhi and Beijing should bury the hatchet and make efforts to build trust between them. Resolving border issue between them should be the first priority of the two sides.

The friendship of India and China can shift the balance of power to the East in the near future. It is not in any of the two countries’ interest to scuffle with each other. The distrust between India and China will not only aggravate tension in the region, but also help countries like the US and Pakistan to get unnecessary advantage.

India is not a weak country. With its democracy intact, India’s economic growth will catch up with China’s in the near future. But what India needs to do is to rehash its China strategy. It is imperative for India to have a policy which is a blend of both - diplomatic as well as military manoeuvres. The two sides should make efforts to use their borders as bridges not barriers.

Sridhar

House keeper
  • Arunachal very much part of India: Rahul

STAFF WRITER 11:39 HRS ISTRanchi, Oct 15 (PTI) Amid China's objection to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's visit to Arunachal Pradesh, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi today said the state is very much part of India.

"Arunachal Pradesh is an Indian state, Tamil Nadu is an Indian state, Jharkhand is an Indian state. My attitude towards all the states is the same and it will not be changed.

For me Arunachal Pradesh is like any other state. It does'nt make any difference," he told reporters here.

He was asked how he would strengthen the Youth Congess in Arunachal when China was raising objections to the Prime Minister's visit there.

Gandhi did not reply to another question on how ties with China would improve when Beijing was raising such an objection.

India had yesterday objected to China's engagement in projects in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) and asked it to stop such activities taking a "long-term view" of Sino-India relations.

fullstory

RPK

Indyakudimahan
Arunachal Cong wants more surveillance on China

As the war of words between India and China over the border issue escalates, the Congress in Arunachal Pradesh demanded "improved infrastructure" in the state to ensure better surveillance over Chinese activities.

"No forces on earth can alienate Arunachal Pradesh from India," Congress MP from the state Takam Sanjoy said, also seeking a review of India's "defence strategy" for the eastern sector.

"The Chinese forces have made several incursions into the state in the recent months and we request the Centre to strengthen the existing infrastructure in the forward locations to ensure better surveillance and preparedness," he said.

China's objection to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's recent visit to Arunachal led to a war of words between the two countries.

Angry over Chinese objection on Singh's visit, India objected to China's engagement in projects in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) and asked it to stop such activities taking a "long-term view" of India-China relations.

The Arunachal West MP said Chief Minister Darjee Khandoo and parliamentarians from the state will meet the Prime Minister on Monday to demand better infrastructure in the bordering state.

"The people of the state must feel secured. For strategic reasons, we need better surveillance," Sanjay said.

Quickgun Murugan

It is not understood as to why we must offer a plebiscite to the Chinese, when it is our territory.

I am sure that if China one day claims Assam to be Southern most Tibet, we would not propose a plebiscite or would we?

It is China's contention that Arunachal is disputed, not ours. Therefore, it is her problem and not our and we take no cognisance of such wild claims.
Just by closing eyes to a problem, does not solve the problem. I agree that India does not have to offer Plebiscite, but what will it loose if it offers? It will only ascertain to the world that Arunachal is integral part of India and will put an end once and for all to this Chinese drama.

Taiwan is a small state and so China can pose a threat in being and anyway so long as the US is there, China can stay in a limbo and deploy whatever it wants on its territory. India cannot be compared to Taiwan.
No one is comparing India with Taiwan. All I was trying to prove is China will not agree for a plebiscite even if offered as Chinese never care about people's sentiments.

What bitterness? Why must India have to appease China?
[/QUOTE]

If you don't acknowledge the bitterness in Sino-Indian relationship, then I can't help it. India does not have to appease China, but take measures to solve it. There has been 13 rounds of failed talks between India and China over Arunachal issue, isn't that reason enough to solve the problem? Silence is definitely not the answer to all the mind-games which Chinese play, you need to give them something to think about too. That is why I am happy India has raised the POK issue.