China cracks down on its sex partying, Ferrari-driving, money-burning 'fuerdai'

China cracks down on its sex partying, Ferrari-driving, money-burning 'fuerdai' second generation of super-rich, shallow and very spoiled brats

• Public has grown sick of the Chinese 'fuerdai' - or 'second rich generation'
  • China's president ordered a crackdown to teach them the value of money
  • Seventy were sent to 'social responsibility' retreat where they were fined a meager £103 for turning up late
  • They post pictures of their multi-million bank accounts, fast cars and pets wearing gold Apple Watches on social media
  • One shared image of £500,000-worth of casino chips after being accused of selling sex for £62,000
  • But an author who wrote about 'fuerdai' phenomenon says they show off because they all had 'lonely childhoods'

Their dogs wear gold Apple Watches. They smash up supercars like they are toys. They boastfully post pictures of their bank statements online. They hide behind their parents' clout when they get in trouble with the law. And they make the Rich Kids Of Instagram look like penny-pinchers.

They are China's young 'fuerdai', which translates as 'rich second generation'. And many in the country – including Chinese President Xi Jinping – fear that their money-burning lifestyles are getting dangerously out of control.

And after a massive public backlash against the fuerdai, Xi demanded that they be taught the value of money - so 70 of the billionaires' children were sent to a 'social responsibility' retreat where the fine for turning up late was £103.

Scroll down for video

+23
Burning issue: China's president has ordered a crackdown on the super-rich and unemployed children of the of wealthy businessmen who post images of their decadent lifestyles on social media

+23
Live fast: Many of them are part of the elusive 'Sports Car Club' where they send images of themselves - standing by their extravagant supercars - to other spoiled children doing the same

+23
Anger: There has been a massive public backlash against them for flaunting their wealth on Weibo - China's version of Twitter - and hide behind their parent's wealth when they get in trouble with the law
They often work as casual business investors or are unemployed, and are the immensely wealthy sons and daughters of Chinese businesspeople and government officials.

This year, mainly due to the rise of social media in China, public scorn for them has reached fever pitch.

One of the biggest previous backlashes against them came in 2013, when a series of fuerdai scandals shone a light on the generation's shocking and excessive behaviour.

In April that year Shanghai Daily reported on rumours of a fuerdai sex and drug party in Sanya, Hainan province.

Officials investigated a yacht show bash there after hearing reports of a model selling sex at the party for 600,000 Yuan (£62,000).

A woman named Guo Meimei, who is now 23 and was considered to be the queen of the fuerdais, was accused by a male rival, Chen Junyu, of selling sex in Sanya.

She responded by posting a picture of 5 million Yuan's-worth (£516,000) of casino chips online along with the caption: 'Too rich to need to sell sex.'

Scandal: The Chinese people were outraged when Guo Meimei (pictured)- considered the Queen of the fuerdai - was accused of selling sex for £62,000 at a 'drug party' in Sanya, Hainan province

Comeback: Meimei replied to her accuser by posting a picture of 5 million Yuan's-worth (£516,000) of casino chips online along with the caption: 'To rich to need to sell sex'

• SHARE PICTURE
  • +23
    Full house: He saw Guo's £500,000 in casino chips, and raised her a screenshot of a £382million bank balance
Wang Sicong runs a Weibo account for the dog, which is named Wang Keke. Alongside the pictures of the hound wearing the watches he posted the message: 'Haha I have new watches! I should actually be wearing four, seeing as I have four legs, but felt it was a bit much so I just put on two, but I cannot wear any less than two otherwise it will not be befitting my status.'

He added: 'Suddenly I want to ask you all a question: "Do any of you have these?"'

This year he hired an entire resort in Sanya, where the rumoured sex parties took place in 2013, for his 27th birthday party.

He hired T-ara, a famous girl band from South Korea, to perform a private concert at the bash.

Last month China's President Xi Jinping decided that enough was enough. He told the United Front Work Department, which is in charge of managing the relations of China's non-political elite, to 'guide private-sector businessmen, especially the younger generation, to help them think about the source of their wealth and how to behave after becoming affluent.'

The department said: 'Some rich young people know only that they are rich, but have no idea where the money comes from. They know only how to show off their wealth, but don't know how to create wealth'.

Also last month Beijing Youth Daily reported that 70 offspring of Chinese billionaires were sent on a training session for social responsibility and patriotism in the eastern Fujian province.

The average age of attendees was 27, with the China Daily newspaper identifying them as 'so-called fuerdai'. Rules for the session were strict, with a 1,000 Yuan (£103) fine for those who turned up late.

Session leader You Xiaoming said: 'Although it is not a large sum for the wealthy, the rule aims to build a sense of responsibility.'

• SHARE PICTURE
  • +23
    Barking mad: The extravagant Wang Sicong, the son of China's richest man, shared images of his dog Keke (pictured) wearing not one, but two, gold-plated Apple Watches

+23
    Arrogant: The images of Wang Keke (pictured) were shared alongside the message: 'I should actually be wearing four, seeing as I have four legs, but felt it was a bit much so I just put on two'

More pics at source
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...eration-super-rich-shallow-spoiled-brats.html
@badguy2000 @blueblood @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @Mad Indian @Rashna @OneGrimPilgrim @Khagesh @Alien

blueblood

They need this and will have long term positive effects for society in general and CCP in particular. Such unabashed show of power and money can result in major discord between populace and the decision makers.

Having known some rich assholes and political brats in my city and state I realize that desi brats don't even come close to their levels. Mostly rich rids get away doing such stupid shit but not so much if they belong to a political family.

I know/knew (not personally, not anymore) grandsons of two former CMs. Both groups are polite but many assholes who are related to them are not. I have found this to be the case for many political families.

They need this and will have long term positive effects for society in general and CCP in particular. Such unabashed show of power and money can result in major discord between populace and the decision makers.

Having known some rich assholes and political brats in my city and state I realize that desi brats don't even come close to their levels. Mostly rich rids get away doing such stupid shit but not so much if they belong to a political family.

I know/knew (not personally, not anymore) grandsons of two former CMs. Both groups are polite but many assholes who are related to them are not. I have found this to be the case for many political families.
I think the one child policy has shattered society in China... Hypothetically speaking, If one Child was to be applied in India, We'd lose out on Rakhi , Kanya pooja etc etc.....Not to mention the parents spoiling the kids . Suddenly our festivals would be empty :( ......
The one Child policy has forever ruined china by atomizing it's society like the west.

nimo_cn

on the bright side, more Chinese are getting rich and China is a free country. In mao's era, people got jailed for doing such thing.

来自我的 HUAWEI P7-L07 上的 Tapatalk

jouni

These things have always been....the difference is the social media which show them to all in real time. In the good old days of 80s Leningrad I saw a thing or two but what happened in Leningrad stays in Leningrad. Oh, those were the days...

blueblood

on the bright side, more Chinese are getting rich and China is a free country. In mao's era, people got jailed for doing such thing.

来自我的 HUAWEI P7-L07 上的 Tapatalk
I guess you can count this as a silver lining if you want to but it looks to me that these people were always rich (relatively) and that freedom is only for the rich.

a friend had some interesting things to tell regards this when studying at Singha Pura and USA.

Please do share here.

30 characters of curiosity
Lol I would've in my earlier post itself if not for a flailing memory (now where have i kept my bottle of Baidyanath Shankhapushpi!).

[It were some accounts of Chinese richboy extra-curricular activities; for instance, the brother of one of his classmates had AFAIR probably sold his kidney once/attempted to do so or seriously contemplating doing it, when papa Pan Cho refused to give him more Yuan to buy the latest iPhone; and he already possessed a lot of dazzling tech-toys. One other thing he told me was that these chaps were/are very driven & studious like the usual kitaabi-keedas we have in every class, and would haggle for even a fraction of marks lost in an exam with the professor like a typical gujju or baniya out for shopping. That's quike unike our typical desi raeeszaada, whose Naani leaves for Vaikunth on the mention of 'padhaai-likhaai'!).