California text book issue about Indian (now they call South Asian) History

New Updates and link embedded in inside wikipedia

Guys, remember that petition shown by @Illusive for rejection of terminating our name India with South Asia.
Means just for reason, PK and BD do not feel inferiority complex, we drop our identity. :mad:
We lost that finally.

@Blackwater @Panjab47 @abingdonboy
Congratulations to Sikh community. :frusty:
Now, Sikh culture will no more be called Indian.
Congrats. :doh:

And best thing is left:

@Navnit Kundu @spikey360
Indus valley civilization and all historical Indian spots or people now located in pakistan are pakistani.

Do you know, now, Guru Nanak Ji would be called a paki.
:frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty:

https://www.colorlines.com/articles...er-how-california-teaches-south-asian-history

Navnit Kundu

Pika Hu Akbarrr!!
What this makes us vulnerable is because we ourselves have failed to teach the right history to our generations. It's not the superficial edits in California text books that threaten us. We are a nation of 1.3 Billion and what history do we teach our kids? It's some Marxist wet dream about how we got independence through non-violence and how we got independence in 1947 and everyone lived happily ever after. All real revolutionaries like Tilak, Bose and Savarkar who actually fought and won us our independence are shown as extremists. This is done with great foresight to intellectually disarm us. They can do whatever they want in their country, it's the American influence on Indian curriculum that should bother us. Unfortunately BJP hasn't taken any steps to amend our faulty syllabus so whenever a foreign power tries to twist our history, it makes our people more vulnerable to subterfuge.

Hindu groups always protest against foreign narrative, but they also have some blame to share because they have failed to come up with their own narrative. They just oppose what they think is wrong, while not spelling out what they think is right. Imagine, if the US as a nation, and the evangelists as a religious group have so much tenacity to spend time and money and allot research scholars to create a narrative about India (which is suitable to them) then why weren't we able to do it for ourselves even 7 decades after independence? Those who don't have a legitimate cause to research about India are going ahead with it and those who do, are simply satisfied with signing online petitions and writing angry tweets. How come Russia, China, Saudi Arabia never faced this problem which India so frequently faces? It has been in our cultural DNA to not document historic facts and weave them into a coherent narrative. We are happy with the "sabh chalta hai" attitude so someone else comes and messes it up. We have been colonized once for the same reason, but we still didn't learn anything.

This is not just about ancient history, this complacency is a cultural trait that transcends all fabric of time. We did that even for our recent history. Compare the number of books, documentaries and movies that Hollywood made about world war, holocaust? compare that to how many movies we made about the wars we fought even after independence 1948, 1965, 1971, 1999? It is in our nature to no document facts and to not propagate our own narrative. This is why foreigners take the liberty to do it for us, and when they do, they do it in a manner which suits their agenda. Why are we surprised?

There's still time, we should build a coherent narrative about civilizational nationalism (no 'unity in diversity' bullshit). Trash the nation-state narrative and build a civilizational narrative and include it in our school curriculum such that the historic narrative is not lost. India wasn't born on 1947, we are a civilization. The unity in diversity narrative implies that we are essentially different people who have come together in a confederation loosely bound by a political idea, and not by common civilizational values. By corollary this implies that if a certain group were to lose faith in this idea then they can walk out of the alliance anytime. This introduces a fault line right in the core 'idea of India' and makes us perpetually vulnerable to needling from hostile forces. These core facts should be added to the constitution itself and frozen in time so that no future government can dare to fiddle with our syllabus in the future, for political gains. Once this is done, we don't have to worry about what foreign schools teach about us.

@Indx TechStyle Dont need to worry what US calls indus valley civilization. There is prof named Witzel (linguistic scholar) who peedles AIT (hatred towards indian civilization) which has no archaelogical/genetic backing. We need to create research based environment in all our education system to create counter narrative to all such ideas and also teach our kids about it.

Or let us catch up with league of US, Russia and China in 10-15 years.
Claim Akhand Bharat like South China Sea was claimed by China and make a great issue out of it.
US will also remember. :D
Chinese did an awesome job in similar way.

Anyway, @Panjab47 @Blackwater @abingdonboy Tagging you guys third time.
Americans will no more call you guys Indian Origin for pleasing khalistani activists there.
Would you guys not give any thank you speech from here? :biggrin2:
At least tell about your sentiments.

fooLIam

In PDF one chinese wrote " The importance of a country is not defined by other country's textbook. "
very simple thing but it hit the home.
we need to first taught unbiased history to our people first, Americans will automatically fall in line ,like the way they did in regards to japan and china.This begging/petition (dharna mentality of gandhi needs to go away)to others to write true history is really shameful and shows laziness IMHO,this is something one have to earn.China is the example to follow in this regard.

british/american distorting history is nothing new they have been doing this for ages and already have done unrepairable damage , i think we indian know the best.

New Updates and link embedded in inside wikipedia

Guys, remember that petition shown by @Illusive for rejection of terminating our name India with South Asia.
Means just for reason, PK and BD do not feel inferiority complex, we drop our identity. :mad:
We lost that finally.

@Blackwater @Panjab47 @abingdonboy
Congratulations to Sikh community. :frusty:
Now, Sikh culture will no more be called Indian.
Congrats. :doh:

And best thing is left:

@Navnit Kundu @spikey360
Indus valley civilization and all historical Indian spots or people now located in pakistan are pakistani.

Do you know, now, Guru Nanak Ji would be called a paki.
:frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty:

https://www.colorlines.com/articles...er-how-california-teaches-south-asian-history
Dude, even in the article it says Sikhs are opposing this but f*ck it I'm made- who do these Americans think they are? I thought the Brits were bad but these psuedo-liberals in America with a huge superiorty complex who are entirely ignorant of reality make me sick.

Sikh are an "oppressd minority" in India apparently :doh::doh::doh::doh::doh:

Motherf*ckers, I have no words.......

:bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs::bs:

fooLIam

Dude, even in the article it says Sikhs are opposing this but f*ck it I'm made- who do these Americans think they are? I thought the Brits were bad but these psuedo-liberals in America with a huge superiorty complex who are entirely ignorant of reality make me sick.

These people are so narrow minded that their worldview is limited to "majority and minority" since their history is that of opperessing "minority"(derivatives of christian mentality of heathens ,non-believers) then they superimpose this all over the world.

Navnit Kundu

Pika Hu Akbarrr!!

PS : Even the French are doing the exact same thing motivated by their national interest and funded behind the scenes by their Christian community. I read several such articles basically portraying the Indian state as an oppressive Hindu entity and every community is portrayed as an oppressed minority, but I never bookmarked them as I never thought I'd ever have to present them in an online argument. The French are doing the exact same thing the US is doing. This was the reason the dedicated tread was created on this forum, but you derailed it with your hyperventilating self-flagellation.

Twisting history, sending evangelists to save Indians from themselves, setting up NGOs to teach Indians how to live. Portraying India as a land of naked, hungry slumdogs, rapists (check the youtube header of France24 on their homepage) these are not monopolized by the US alone. But you seem to believe that all criticism of France is unwarranted. Here are some gems from their media, they have gone one step ahead and taken up even our domestic issues and put them on an international pedestal :

Especially request you to hear the keywords used in this report (muslim martyrs, Indian occupation, brutal repression, abusive Indian troops, rapist Hindu army)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWZGbi9dBrc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kWrwCBXmWk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pV0VB9nGGo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfdUR5cogcc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=id1Uk9G2mas

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoLUAZiK70U

Germans are doing the same with backing form Protestants

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A91idibgT0

This was what @AnantS was talking about, but you refused to listen. Go through their channel, see what they are telling their population about India. Are they talking about Mars Mission? are they telling about innovation? IT? digital India? Bangalore? Nope. They are showing Rapes, murders, terror, Love Jihad, Hindu-Muslim tensions, they are calling Kashmir a 'muslim province occupied by Hindu nation'. These are supposed to be our best buddies by your definition?

This is what your great partner and ally was peddling when the Rafale deal was facing turbulence.

Btw, check out their header showing the greatness of your motherland by showing hungry, slum kids with ragged clothes. What an accurate representation of India. Cool na?

Panjab47

सर्वाग्रेक्षत्रियाजट्टादेवकल्पादृढ़व्रता|੧੫|
We will destroy Pakistan, America & Europe then what?

California teaches kids that being homosexual drug addicts is cool do you think textbook will be reason kids get corrupted? Do you think more than 1/10 kids in class even know how to read the textbook?

Listen, they consider nigerian africans as human beings here. The seeds of the west's destruction are already planted, doesn't matter what bullshit they write.

That's why the bigger concern is gaining geopolitical power & getting ready to trash these melechas. They will never heed words of advice,

SrNair

PS : Even the French are doing the exact same thing motivated by their national interest and funded behind the scenes by their Christian community. I read several such articles basically portraying the Indian state as an oppressive Hindu entity and every community is portrayed as an oppressed minority, but I never bookmarked them as I never thought I'd ever have to present them in an online argument. The French are doing the exact same thing the US is doing. This was the reason the dedicated tread was created on this forum, but you derailed it with your hyperventilating self-flagellation.

Twisting history, sending evangelists to save Indians from themselves, setting up NGOs to teach Indians how to live. Portraying India as a land of naked, hungry slumdogs, rapists (check the youtube header of France24 on their homepage) these are not monopolized by the US alone. But you seem to believe that all criticism of France is unwarranted. Here are some gems from their media, they have gone one step ahead and taken up even our domestic issues and put them on an international pedestal :

Especially request you to hear the keywords used in this report (muslim martyrs, Indian occupation, brutal repression, abusive Indian troops, rapist Hindu army)

This was what @AnantS was talking about, but you refused to listen. Go through their channel, see what they are telling their population about India. Are they talking about Mars Mission? are they telling about innovation? IT? digital India? Bangalore? Nope. They are showing Rapes, murders, terror, Love Jihad, Hindu-Muslim tensions, they are calling Kashmir a 'muslim province occupied by Hindu nation'. These are supposed to be our best buddies by your definition?

This is what your great partner and ally was peddling when the Rafale deal was facing turbulence.

Btw, check out their header showing the greatness of your motherland by showing hungry, slum kids with ragged clothes. What an accurate representation of India. Cool na?

And entire word saw their real ugly racist face when those refugees flock in to Europe.
We dont need some foreigners certificate,we will decide the history of our nation.Not others.

French media have got nothing on BBC, the Guardian, Telegraph UK and the Daily Mail.

Seriosuly, to see how these media outlets shape the viewsof the typical Brit vis a vis India go check out ARRSE.com forum section.

+ The UK's parliament is also the only legislative body that has debated India's intenral security (Naxals, Kashmir etc) in the house.

A combination of pandering to the huge Paki population and generally being white imperialist snobs.

Navnit Kundu

Pika Hu Akbarrr!!
French media have got nothing on BBC, the Guardian, Telegraph UK and the Daily Mail.

Seriosuly, to see how these media outlets shape the viewsof the typical Brit vis a vis India go check out ARRSE.com forum section.

+ The UK's parliament is also the only legislative body that has debated India's intenral security (Naxals, Kashmir etc) in the house.

A combination of pandering to the huge Paki population and generally being white imperialist snobs.
This is slightly unrelated to the thread but too important to gloss over so I'm adding it as a spoiler.

Yes, but Indophobia isn't a zero sum game. We can admit that they can both be Indophobic nations without negating the douchebaggery of the other. We know about the antics of UK, and they get flak from Indians. When it comes to French, we are surprisingly uninitiated. The general perception about France is still that of cheese and wine and boobs and all other squishy things. They're all the same, they all deserve flak, France is nothing special. We can't give a free pass to France for simply being relatively less vile. They're vile enough to take some potshots on an online forum. It's not like we are flying off the handle calling for cancellation of diplomatic ties, or burning French flags or shouting 'death to France'. They also supplied sophisticated military hardware to our foe, and one could ignore it if it were 'just business, nothing personal' but in fact the use of Pakistan as a blackmailing tool to get India to buy their weapons has become a mainstay in the toolkit of weapons dealers. They simply tell you, if you don't buy from us, we will sell to Pakistan.

Remember during Kargil war, we begged them to provide tech but they refused, even then those with sympathies with French gave them the benefit of doubt by assuming that US might have pressurized them. Later, Israel helped us modify the hardware and software of Mirage planes, and this pissed off the French to no end. So this argument of 'they're selling weapons to Pakistan because it's just business' is a bad excuse. They aren't doing it just for the money, they are doing it to keep India contained. In that sense, France fairs no better than US or UK.

France isn't some great free thinker with an independent foreign policy that Francophiles purport them to be. US pressurized them to stop the sale of Mistral ships to Russia and they complied like loyal dogs, despite Russian threats to take them to international court and sue them for 3 $Billion. If this is their reality then does it really behoove us to build a special relationship with them based on the assumption of a supposedly independent policy? they are never going to defy the US line.

Why not just treat them like we treat any other non-strategic nation like Indonesia? They're giving us weapons, we are paying the full price, no one is bestowing any favor on us. This isn't a strategic relation, it's a transactional relation. We have a deeper strategic understanding with Iran than with France. They're simply being prudent by not selling to Pakistan now, but it's just good business sense, and good ol' threat of boycott from India, still not a strategic relationship.

This is slightly unrelated to the thread but too important to gloss over so I'm adding it as a spoiler.

Yes, but Indophobia isn't a zero sum game. We can admit that they can both be Indophobic nations without negating the douchebaggery of the other. We know about the antics of UK, and they get flak from Indians. When it comes to French, we are surprisingly uninitiated. The general perception about France is still that of cheese and wine and boobs and all other squishy things. They're all the same, they all deserve flak, France is nothing special. We can't give a free pass to France for simply being relatively less vile. They're vile enough to take some potshots on an online forum. It's not like we are flying off the handle calling for cancellation of diplomatic ties, or burning French flags or shouting 'death to France'. They also supplied sophisticated military hardware to our foe, and one could ignore it if it were 'just business, nothing personal' but in fact the use of Pakistan as a blackmailing tool to get India to buy their weapons has become a mainstay in the toolkit of weapons dealers. They simply tell you, if you don't buy from us, we will sell to Pakistan.

Remember during Kargil war, we begged them to provide tech but they refused, even then those with sympathies with French gave them the benefit of doubt by assuming that US might have pressurized them. Later, Israel helped us modify the hardware and software of Mirage planes, and this pissed off the French to no end. So this argument of 'they're selling weapons to Pakistan because it's just business' is a bad excuse. They aren't doing it just for the money, they are doing it to keep India contained. In that sense, France fairs no better than US or UK.

France isn't some great free thinker with an independent foreign policy that Francophiles purport them to be. US pressurized them to stop the sale of Mistral ships to Russia and they complied like loyal dogs, despite Russian threats to take them to international court and sue them for 3 $Billion. If this is their reality then does it really behoove us to build a special relationship with them based on the assumption of a supposedly independent policy? they are never going to defy the US line.

Why not just treat them like we treat any other non-strategic nation like Indonesia? They're giving us weapons, we are paying the full price, no one is bestowing any favor on us. This isn't a strategic relation, it's a transactional relation. We have a deeper strategic understanding with Iran than with France. They're simply being prudent by not selling to Pakistan now, but it's just good business sense, and good ol' threat of boycott from India, still not a strategic relationship.
France is more a strategic partner than the UK and is overtaking Russia in the regard, I think you are massively underestimating this Govt's strategic shift towards France. The Indo-French relationship is perhaps the most important relationship for India in the next 3 decades.

What's the heartburn here? Let them call whatever the fcuk they want to call - the fact won't change. For the matter, they call Chiense 'Asians'. That doesn't hamper Chinese self-esteem or stature of China. In fact China has overshadowed others. Why should Indians care what some yankee-doodles wants to call them? Fact is India does over-shadow all others in the region and this is an opportunity to make India and South-asia synonymous in everything that is positive. Follow closely how the nomenclature works when comes to positive and negatives. Whenever anything positive is peddled about USA, it generally is termed American. But in case of negatives 'South' Americans are specifically mentioned.

When someone throws lemon at you, it is wiser to catch it and make Lemon Pickle than throwing tantrum. We cannot decide what those pricks can do at there sphere. What we can do is minimise the damage at the worst case and use it to for our own gain at the best case.

As long as Indians don't start being taught 'south asian' studies in our own educational systems, those morons' efforts will go down the drain anyways.

SrNair

Wait!!! What Race... IS islam a 'Race' for you?

Mainly Kerala&WB muzzies are 30% (entire India 15%)called as Minority:lol::lol: but not other religions. Now you call European anti-islamists as Racists.

These words 'Minority/Racism/Islamophobe' etc typically used by Muzzies&their secular friends to silence anti-islamists. Please avoid these words as soon as possible.
Comprehension problem ???
I was talking about hypocrisy of west .

Actually from American perspective, the social engineering of us Injuns has been a continuous process, for quite many years.

They just took the mantle from British and did it more effectively with modern communication tools such that without physical occupation of India, educated Indians were mentally attuned to consider anything published by CNN,Discovery, Britannica, Oxford, Harvard, etc as gospel truth.

Injuns cry in happiness when normal India gets some random neutral reporting in American mainstream. Injuns weep when some rubbish gets published in America. Some of the Injuns try to portray every anti India act of America as God given gift. Some of the Injuns fall head over heals to get clicked with anti Indian Baiters, just because they attended some random injun festival, wore injun dress, or can cuss in Injun language. Injuns think if America does something wrong to us, it was because Injuns who sinned. And try to atone by winning American approvals when in Power, forgetting personal insult, or insult to India. Some of those injuns become leaders of India.

Oh Injuns!, American textbooks couldnt stop Soviet or China from accomplishing what they wanted, they cant stop our nation to teach what we want to our kids or achieve what we want.

The root of the problem is Elephant thinks being with Mahout, guarantees its security, freedom and self discovery.

Dark Soul

sadly Indians are now nothing more than Peace loving cowards, with conquered slave mentality (- Martial casts) so nobody is going to take any Action.

I really thankful to god that we still have Brave Rajputs, Maratha and Punjabi warriors with some warrior Brahman people in India.