Big boost to infrastructure development, UAE to invest Rs 4.5 lakh crore in India

blueblood

Dubai: In a big boost to India’s infrastructure development, United Arab Emirates has decided to invest Rs 4.5 lakh crore in India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi told a packed cricket stadium in Dubai.

“Crown Prince has promised an investment of 4.5 lakh crores in India,” said PM Modi, inviting loud cheers from the crowd.

"If there is no trust, no one will invest Rs. 10 in you. It is the respect that India has earned for itself that it is being accepted world-wide," Modi said while thanking his hosts for hospitality, affection and trust shown to him.

Earlier in the day, both the countries, in a joint statement laid down the roadmap for infrastructure development in India.

“Recognising India as an emerging frontier of business opportunities, it was decided that UAE would step up its investment in India including through the establishment of UAE-India Infrastructure Investment Fund, with the aim of reaching a target of USD 75 billion,” said the statement.

The sectors identified for UAE's investment include railways, ports, roads, airports and industrial corridors and parks.

The two leaders agreed to elevate India-UAE relationship to a "comprehensive strategic partnership" and chart out a new course for cooperation in key areas like defence, security, trade, maritime security and intelligence sharing.

The statement said the leaders agreed to promote strategic partnership in the energy sector, including through UAE's participation in India in the development of strategic petroleum reserves, upstream and downstream petroleum sectors, and collaboration in third countries.

http://www.indiatvnews.com/news/world/uae-to-invest-rs-and-half-lakh-crore-in-india-25969.html

@Zarvan

So, at $75 billion dollars UAE investment in India will surpass China's investment in Pak by a huge margin. Huh!!!

Pakistan -UAE trade last year was around US $ 9 Billion while Indian trade with UAS was almost US $ 60 Billion last year.

While the comparative figure for trade with China is US $ 12 billion to US $ 70 Billion.

@blueblood making any comparison would be foolhardy and unfair to our friends.

blueblood

@blueblood making any comparison would be foolhardy and unfair to our friends.
I respectfully disagree.

Ask Zarvan and he will tell you that blood is thicker than water. You know as in both Arab countries UAE and Bakistan has the same bloodline. :pound:

Sylex21

It seems more and more that the other Muslim countries are abandoning support for Pakistan and hedging their bets as they deepen ties with India. Honestly it makes a lot of strategic sense. When India wasn't much of a power, the cost of following the whole "Muslim Muslim bhai bhai" angle was very little. These days it seems Muslim nations are more concerned with the world around them and more interested in following national over ideological interests.

This trip to U.A.E is pure business, no matter what spin people would like to give. This roughly 70 Billion USD is sovereign fund, the real meat is in Pvt funds which will follow sovereign fund's lead. Point to be noted is that there is no mention of a time line, there is no point in getting excited about it until we hear something concrete within next six months.

le BC .. ho gayi Pakistan ki ___ ki ____ .. were beating chest over cpec.. inki aisi ki tesi .. more over there are many such projects and investments already running.
@Zarvan

It seems more and more that the other Muslim countries are abandoning support for Pakistan and hedging their bets as they deepen ties with India. Honestly it makes a lot of strategic sense. When India wasn't much of a power, the cost of following the whole "Muslim Muslim bhai bhai" angle was very little. These days it seems Muslim nations are more concerned with the world around them and more interested in following national over ideological interests.
Well, there is difference between economic relationship and political relationship. Trying to increase her share in a profitable market doesn't mean this country is going to abandon her relationship with another one.

Arabians are looking for commercial opportunities in India, but they don't stop paying Pakistan's military purchase;
Americans have been working hard to sell weapons to India, but they are still giving huge amount of military aid to Pakistan at the mean time;
Chinese have been one of India top traders for years, but you all know her attitude to Pakistan.

Pakistan is the only obstacle in front of India's dominance in South Asia, no one will let them fall easily.

Well, there is difference between economic relationship and political relationship. Trying to increase her share in a profitable market doesn't mean this country is going to abandon her relationship with another one.

Arabians are looking for commercial opportunities in India, but they don't stop paying Pakistan's military purchase;
Americans have been working hard to sell weapons to India, but they are still giving huge amount of military aid to Pakistan at the mean time;
Chinese have been one of India top traders for years, but you all know her attitude to Pakistan.
This is a good point, something our public and media needs to understand. The hyper focus on sentiments should have no relevance in diplomatic relationships.

Bheeshma

Pakis are in severe shock, so many bad news coming together. Modi in UAE getting 75 billion investment, Temple in dubai, HamIED gul sent to hell and his chella blown to bits in punjab.

Zarvan

le BC .. ho gayi Pakistan ki ___ ki ____ .. were beating chest over cpec.. inki aisi ki tesi .. more over there are many such projects and investments already running.
@Zarvan
Pakistani establishment is laughing on your childish media and PM and what you are making of this UAE visit. You guys are biggest fools on face of the earth with no idea about our relations with UAE and Gulf states one visit and you start acting like complete fools.

Pakistan is the only obstacle in front of India's dominance in South Asia, no one will let them fall easily.
Economics trumps virtually everything else,particularly in tough times.

Indians are business men - we believe in transactional relationships, very rarely do 'strategic partnerships' mean anything. We want money to flow in for infrastructure in India - we welcome almost anyone even the Chinese. Pak can even give it a try if they can manage to scrape a few billion together.

China and Arabs are irrelevant from a military stand point as we are not involved in that context. US can sell to whom they want, so can Russians, we will react to different sales adequately. We have hard cash unlike some beggars and we have plenty of options; ultimately in the long run, self reliance.

Pak is no obstacle at all. It is too puny to play any role in SA apart from crying nukes. Its China that's problem as is Sri Lanka and the Maldives.

As Modi said, Pak is an irritant like an itch that acts up at times. Anyway, Pak's balkanization is inevitable - it's going to be hilarious to see the Chinese scurry to protect their investment, though 45B is nothing really.

Pakistani establishment is laughing on your childish media and PM and what you are making of this UAE visit. You guys are biggest fools on face of the earth with no idea about our relations with UAE and Gulf states one visit and you start acting like complete fools.
yes we are biggets fools that's why we are building more infra than you, have 10 times better economy than you, have better R&D profile than you, better educational institutions than yours, have more influence than Pakkistan. Now don't cry after this :D

Yes, your relations with UAE is, they fund your madrassa to produce jehadis so that Pakistan remains Sunni state.. lol
This is your relation with them.

Zarvan

yes we are biggets fools that's why we are building more infra than you, have 10 times better economy than you, have better R&D profile than you, better educational institutions than yours, have more influence than Pakkistan. Now don't cry after this :D

Yes, your relations with UAE is, they fund your madrassa to produce jehadis so that Pakistan remains Sunni state.. lol
This is your relation with them.
Kid grow up you are pathetically hilarious

paki establishment is mental and they laughing because pakis gonna mad,
did pakis got such a investment for nation building from uae besides money for jihad,
no matter how many times your paki prime ministers and generals been to uae.

China may or may not fulfil it's investment commitment, but mark my words this UAE money may come in for real if we handle it well. Most of the money will come in form of Sovereign Funds.

Let me tell the forum members, my limited knowledge says that, UAE and several other Arab countries have been extremely eager to invest in India for a long time, it was India's lethargic and incompetent UPA government which was not allowing the funds to flow in (Wahhabi angle?).

UAE wants to diversify it's economy and investments before the oil wells dry up, and India is the best bet in the immediate neighbourhood. Besides a strong India may have stabilizing effect over the whole region because with emergence of India, space for "global" players will shrink. Been geographically stuck in this particular region, it is crucial for a rising India to use her influence to fight off the renegades and the militiamen to stabilize the whole region.

In long term this is a bad news for the P5. Good news for the ME. So yes, there is a Political Angle as well.

I_PLAY_BAD

Yes, we know the Wahabi relationship between UAE and Pakistan.
Having said that you yourself decide who the real fool is.

This post is ageing very well