Beautiful Indian Temples - Feats of architecture

Bhoga Nandishwara Temple near Bangalore

1643457129457.png

It really is very beautiful.

1643457165217.png

Sadly, they block entry to pushkarini because of the turtles there. I presume people just can't lay their hands off those turtles.

But, if you are in Bangalore, you must take half a day off to visit this temple!

View attachment 61414

Somnaath Mandir. Destroyed 17 times, rebuilt 18 times
Mandir has huge income. A parvati temple is proposed to be built in the premises. Narendra Modi and Lala krishna Advani are trustees here. No need to say that temple has big chunk of money in the bank. Now the Temple is covered with gold from inside and outside.

1643709232407.png

1643709247539.png

1643709265781.png

1643709303631.png

View of Temple in the night after gold plating.

1643709381787.png

1643710019401.png

Here is a temple unique in a way that so much of donation comes there that trustees have strictly prohibited the donation. Boards are fixed requesting people not to donate anything. Yet, unnamed trucks with truck load of food and money comes to temple. Nobody knows who has sent it. They just come, offloads and go. Sometimes, when temple is opened in the morning, crores of rupees notes put in rice bags are found on the door of the temple. Here, 24 hours food, breakfast and tea is served for many years. If you go there, they will request you only two things. 1. Do not go back without taking Prasad (Food)2. Do not donate anything to temple.

1643710443073.png

My state Tamilnadu is ranked 1 in tourism in India, and there is a reason for it.
Tamilnadu is truly a Living Museum for Indian Architecture

One of the reasons why we have such a high bar for art is because of what our ancestors had done with stone in temples!
When people say some oil painting is xyz, we have already seen some carved stone which was much more beautiful than paint.

Hindu Nationalist

One of the reasons why we have such a high bar for art is because of what our ancestors had done with stone in temples!
When people say some oil painting is xyz, we have already seen some carved stone which was much more beautiful than paint.
Some also say that TN didn't face any invasions so so many beautiful temples have survived.

TN is a treasure house of temples ... grand and majestic... must visit for all indians.
I fully agree. However, in recent time, Gujatis have made most gorgeous temples, biger and beautiful. Akshardham is ranked 3rd biggest Hindu temple.