Bangladesh wants more access to Air Force training in India

JAYRAM

2 STRIKE CORPS
By (FINN) Frontier India News Network | March 20th, 2012 |

Dhaka: Bangladesh has requested enhanced access to Indian Air Force training facilities for its air wing. Indian Air Force Chief Air Marshal NAK Browne is currently on a visit to the country and the need was communicated to him as he called on the country's top political leadership and military brass here.

During his interaction with his Bangladeshi counterpart Air Marshal SM Ziaur Rahman, Air marshal Browne exchanged views and discussed matters of professional interest.

Indian Air Chief called on President Zillur Rahman and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

President Md Zillur Rahman laid emphasis on exchange of training facilities for the officers of Bangladesh and Indian Air Forces. The President laid emphasis on the matter when the Chief of Air Staff of Indian Air Force Air Chief Marshal NAK Browne called on him at Bangabhaban. Welcoming the Indian Air Chief in Bangabhaban, the President said excellent relation is existing between the two neighbouring countries. Air Chief Marshal expressed his gratitude to the President for giving him time. He said the exchange of training and experience-sharing between the air force officers of India and Bangladesh would continue in the future

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina said her that her government always values friendship and cooperation with neighbouring countries and is against all sorts of terrorism. Wife of the Indian Air Chief Kiran Browne and Indian High Commissioner in Dhaka Pankaj Saran were among others present on the occasion.

Bangladesh wants more access to Air Force training in India - Indian Defence

We should thoroughly engage BD, especially their military. More exercises and common activity, less likely will they be to fall for PRC or susceptible to misunderstanding which might be attempted by Pakistan or PRC.

devgupt

We should increase military - military corporation to ensure that that we gauge their mind and gain their trust. Encouraging a professional Bangladeshi Army will ensure that they don't become jihadi backers.

From what I understand, BD Army is quite friendly with India. The problem is with BDR. They already have internal issues with BD Army w.r.t. pay, and coupled with that, this discontent is being exploited by pro-Pakistan elements to foment trouble.

GUNS-N- ROSES

BD Air force officers are being regularly trained in india. i think the vacancies and periodicity of training should be increased so that BD officers get fair idea that we dont present any kind of danger to them.

Procede with caution their you can trust Sheikh Hasina but not the people she is representating. And as far as my understanding goes their forces are duel faced you can't trust them either no matter BDR or BDA or just BDAF.

indian_sukhoi

They are buying 10 Yak-130 advanced traines, Thats explains their future prospects and expanding

devgupt

Procede with caution their you can trust Sheikh Hasina but not the people she is representating. And as far as my understanding goes their forces are duel faced you can't trust them either no matter BDR or BDA or just BDAF.
Actually what pmaitra said is true - Bangladeshi Army is friendly towards India- not BDR (though it doesn't exist now).
BA had its origins in Mukti Bahini and hence they are not pro Pakistani. Their seniors had fought with Indian Army.There are a few bad apples though

JAYRAM

2 STRIKE CORPS
Bangladesh is buying everything including military stuffs from China...

Yes, because we haven't yet obtained/developed enough of merketable technology. We haven't yet started producing international standard military hardware nor we have the required production capacity.
All this will come in time provided our ministers and babus stop looking for brokerages in buyout deals and start encouraging indigenous R & D.
Till then we cannot make faces if someone buys from others.

We should thoroughly engage BD, especially their military. More exercises and common activity, less likely will they be to fall for PRC or susceptible to misunderstanding which might be attempted by Pakistan or PRC.
Maitra bhai, while we can do that with Hasina in power, it is difficult to say what will be the climate when that Pakistani pet Khaleda will come to power. She's the worst PM Bangladesh has ever had. That's what stops us from militarily engaging too deeply with BN.

That is exactly what should prompt us to deeply engage with BD army.

Have you thought why? Here:

- We don't have enough production capacity to induct our own stuff in time
- We don't have the smooth acquisition procedure that China has.
- Our defense ministry is a thousand times more corrupt than Chinese.
- Our equipment design and development phase is always saddled with delays despite their modern capability.
- ZERO MARKETING of potent weapons abroad.

OTOH China has:

- Rapid producing capabilities.
- Has no obstacles to induct weapons fast.
- Has taken marketing initiative across the globe for its products.
- Has a very fast evolving and well funded R&D base (even if all it does is reverse engineering). Here, it takes decades to clear R&D funds by corrupt MOD.

That's why Bangladesh buys from China.

The day we are able:

- To produce 60-80 tanks a year
- 50 Tejas, 40 IJT-36, 50 FGFA, 10 MRTA and 50 LCH per year
- 10 corvettes, 6 frigates and 5 destroyer class battle ships per year
- 4 submarines a year
etc

Will be when half the south Asian and Sotheast Asian countries would be interested to buy our products.

We had ONE golden chance to prove this when Vietnam asked for BrahMos but our cowardly and anti-national MOD won't be able to provide due to slow production rate for our forces itself. :mad2:

That is exactly what should prompt us to deeply engage with BD army.
Yes but this would mean us to extend our tentacles into BD politics deeply to remove Islamist and anti-Indian elements in their politics. I doubt our MEA has that level of depth when its government cannot even handle our own country.

The day we are able:

- 4 submarines a year
etc
A small nitpick here. We are currently producing 100 T-90s and 20-30 Arjuns every year. The T-90s will be increase to 150 by this year.

well we have to increase our local product in our force

more local production is good for us

one genuine doubt! arent we ourself not self sufficient in training! we have many trainers grounded and many outdated and retired. our fighters are going down and pilots are dying because of poor training. and now additional burden of training bangladesh air force personnel. wont it strain limited training assets of IAF

the same question army chief asked from govt

mahesh

Have you thought why? Here:

- We don't have enough production capacity to induct our own stuff in time
- We don't have the smooth acquisition procedure that China has.
- Our defense ministry is a thousand times more corrupt than Chinese.
- Our equipment design and development phase is always saddled with delays despite their modern capability.
- ZERO MARKETING of potent weapons abroad.

OTOH China has:

- Rapid producing capabilities.
- Has no obstacles to induct weapons fast.
- Has taken marketing initiative across the globe for its products.
- Has a very fast evolving and well funded R&D base (even if all it does is reverse engineering). Here, it takes decades to clear R&D funds by corrupt MOD.

That's why Bangladesh buys from China.

The day we are able:

- 4 submarines a year
etc

Will be when half the south Asian and Sotheast Asian countries would be interested to buy our products.

We had ONE golden chance to prove this when Vietnam asked for BrahMos but our cowardly and anti-national MOD won't be able to provide due to slow production rate for our forces itself. :mad2:

i guess we don't even have a proper infra structure or the plan to build those infra structure, importantly our babus don't have the vision of future about this. no matter which government comes to power the story will be the same but just with other type of twists the the story.

what if our government gives all the powers and monopoly to the concerned division of army and R&D feilds. may be private sector should enter into the R&D, but even if it happens there is more possibilities of the private venter demanding lot of money with profit motive.

in this case we are at the same place of Bangladesh
but with more capacity.