Background Work on New Defence/DFI Wiki website

Bhairav

Ya'll Nibbiars big missiles hundered of may be around 350 plus.
it means if we go with the json based database system the json file will be just 362kb. it means we can ditch mysql altogether and go with this system

Ya'll Nibbiars there would be atleast 80 lakhs characters information.

Bhairav

Ya'll Nibbiars there would be atleast 80 lakhs characters information.
if you store it as table of info or in normal english then yes it will be lengthy, but we store it as a json file we can strip it down at almost 1-1.5kb per missile test. I have done the maths.

Ya'll Nibbiars it's actually in thousands. The pre 2000s were that's. We also posses the user trails and drills for the smaller missiles also like the ATGM's.

Bhairav

Info about a test when converted into json is about 650 characters. a character in Javascript occupies 16bit (2 bytes). so 650 × 16 = 10400 bits (or 1300 bytes or 1.3 kilobytes). so 350 tests × 1.3kb = 455 kb

Bhairav

even if the tests are in thousands and the space occupied by them are around 2kb the total size of the json file will not exceed 2-2.5 megabytes. that's peanuts considering that we now have access to fast internet and higher ram devices and better processors.

Bhairav

if size is the concern we can split the file into multiple smaller files and fetch them only when needed

Bhairav

as you can see the json string when converted into bytes is around 1.3kb. that too when I havent removed unnecessary whitespaces

Screenshot_20210915-014153_Chrome.jpg

Bhairav

Excellent mate we will add some texture and javascript modules later.
I have a meeting at noon so I will help u out in the night.
No problem Sir ji. Best of Luck for the meeting

How do we categorise the missiles?

Land to air, air to air, air to land, land to land

What else can anyone give in the proper list.

@Karthi @gslv markIII @Chinmoy @porky_kicker .
Missile category would be like:

Surface to Surface
Surface to Air
Air to Air
Air to Surface

Surface to Surface would have two sub categories. Ballistic & Cruise.
Ballistic would have subcategory of SRBM, MRBM, IRBM, ICBM & SLBM.

Air to Air would have two sub categories. WVRAAM & BVRAAM. BVRAAM could be further categorised into Medium range & Long range.

Air to Surface launch would have two sub categories for Air to Land & Air to Sea or Anti ship missile.

Surface to Air would have three subcategories of SRSAM, MRSAM, LRSAM.
SRSAM would have subcategory of Man portable & Vehicle launched.

Apart from this, ATGM would be special purpose missile.

Hope I covered all.