Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
No purley Indian. Only their Ammunition manufacturing is a JV with CBC worlds largest ammunition manufacturer.
Then why are we getting AK 203?!!

I still don't understand the concept of arming the army AK 203 when battle rifle and carbines are AR.

Then why are we getting AK 203?!!

I still don't understand the concept of arming the army AK 203 when battle rifle and carbines are AR.
AK-203 is to replace the INSAS as a whole along with various AK iteration in our arsenal. Now remember that it's not just IA we are talking here. It's for across the forces from infantry to a home gaurd.

Indian manufacture of the AK version of Russian rifle at Amethi does not seem to take off. Excuses are being given for not beginning the factory operation. I could be wrong but the deal has hit a rough weather on price. Hence it is unlikely to materialize at all. The factory infrastructure, whatever has been planned or built will be useful for any other deal, when made. Israelis are standing by. Also Sig Saiger will be delighted to make 700,000 rifles in India. So why wait for Russian deal to come thru. Enough waiting has been done. Bulk of the Sig Saiger could be made in India and Amethi.

abhay rajput

Indian manufacture of the AK version of Russian rifle at Amethi does not seem to take off. Excuses are being given for not beginning the factory operation. I could be wrong but the deal has hit a rough weather on price. Hence it is unlikely to materialize at all. The factory infrastructure, whatever has been planned or built will be useful for any other deal, when made. Israelis are standing by. Also Sig Saiger will be delighted to make 700,000 rifles in India. So why wait for Russian deal to come thru. Enough waiting has been done. Bulk of the Sig Saiger could be made in India and Amethi.
You really think that Sig saucer ones going to be cheap..? It will be way more expensive than ak definitively. The question is what is the budget ? How much money MOD is willing to spent on guns. Maybe after that we can think about probable contenders.

We have bought 76,000 rifles already at a price, why would additional 700,000 will be pricier.

WARREN SS

Because we can't afford more than 76,000 . And can you tell me the price of 1 gun ?
India has recently approved the purchase of 73,000 SIG716-G2 rifles from the US in a deal valued at $97 million (INR 700 Crore) to replace the aging INSAS rifles.

Lets assume 100 Million At base Price

For 550 Million $ We can get around 4 Lakh Units Enough For Whole Infantry regiments
Add 300 Million $ for Add ons

India has recently approved the purchase of 73,000 SIG716-G2 rifles from the US in a deal valued at $97 million (INR 700 Crore) to replace the aging INSAS rifles.

Lets assume 100 Million At base Price

For 550 Million $ We can get around 4 Lakh Units Enough For Whole Infantry regiments
can you find any army in history which didn't build it's own swords and imported them?.

WARREN SS

You ever found a big mighty army fighting with imported swords? Every single sword just imported?
It does Not Matter If u kill the enemy effectively

Indigenous Indigenous Karte Rah jao ge or China Ladakh Le Jayega

FanBoys after LAC episode Wishing For Apache's And Javelin or M777 And Smerch's or Rafale's

When Enemy Is knocking at Our doors

Its Better To swallow False Pride Our Enemy's Will Not Let us Take a moment of breath Are Corrupt PSU's Will not Make War Scale Production standards

Jung to ladni hai Ki Haar Maan Li jaye ab

We fought are All previous wars With Imported Weapons and Won