Arjun Main Battle Tank (MBT)

ersakthivel

Brilliance

Tu rahen de budhao, tere se na ho payega. Kaheko is umar mein insab cheeso mein waqt barbaad kar raha hain?? Jaakey bhajan kirtan kar, man ko shanti milegi.

Yeah, best decision of your life (unless this one's been preceded by the one where you took the decision to get yourself a vasectomy, preferably before procreating, in which case, this one will be considered your second-best). Congratulations.
If I go by your "sterling standards"

I too will be tempted to speculate

,whether you are born from the secretions of your father's back hole or front.

I won't be doing that , since I know the answer

And don't want to go down to that level☺

ersakthivel

Brilliance
It was made heavy by giving such requirements. We can make an excellent tank writhing 5 years if we manage project well and involve private sectors in a big way. Let TATA make a 1500 HP engine, Let reliance defense/L & T make the chassis and Kalyani make the gun. Rest of the stuff can be managed by DODO. Take inputs from ARMATA. DRDO is already working on a system like Trophy. It has an excellent battlefield management system of Israel origin. More atomization can help a compact design even with 2 crews or at the most three. We can make that happen if we professionally manage this project. A compact tank of 50 ton weight is possible. One Israeli Expert had said that 5ton weight reduction is possible in Arjun Mk2.
You can never make a lighter tank than Arjun and expect it to be a hunter killer in cold start mode.

Just look at the number of Armata road wheels and get an idea of its weight.

The spurious IA claim of "Arjun can't operate in 40 ton punjab border bridges"
Instantly disqualifies T90 and Armata in that theater.

Still IA is buying tons of T90s and looking at Armata(totally unproven stuff, and going by the T90 troubles if IA)

There are only two choices fr IA either they go fr Arjun evolutions if they are serious abt hunter killer cold start goals
Or
Adopt Russian waiting in ambush with T90 types.

Asking for weight reduction on Arjun after giving more weight increasing specs is a spurious initiative to stall arjun.

RajnathSingh is a physics professor (unlike a few crap head trolls here)

Hope he sees through this game.

Placing tanks on "no import" list is a definite indication he has seen through this wicked game of discrediting Arjun.

Let's hope fr the best

ArgonPrime

RajnathSingh is a physics professor
Arey han ji han, issi liye fighter planes ke upar tilak laga rahe thhe, hai na?? Ab physics ki kaunsi kitab mein ye likha hai batane ki takleef karenge, Maharaj?? :D
(unlike a few crap head trolls here)
Khud ko itna bhi na koso aab, humko bura lagega.
No games being played here, Arjun, in its current iteration, just sucks bollocks in most of the attributes one can judge a tank by.
Placing tanks on "no import" list is a definite indication he has seen through this wicked game of discrediting Arjun.
Nope, the only thing he will achieve with his decision is to doom the tankers of the Indian Army to a very crispy fate.
Let's hope fr the best
Nope. Abandon all hopes he who enters that misfortune on tracks known as Arjun (at least the MkI version).

You can never make a lighter tank than Arjun and expect it to be a hunter killer in cold start mode.

Still IA is buying tons of T90s and looking at Armata(totally unproven stuff, and going by the T90 troubles if IA)

There are only two choices fr IA either they go fr Arjun evolutions if they are serious abt hunter killer cold start goals
Or

Asking for weight reduction on Arjun after giving more weight increasing specs is a spurious initiative to stall arjun.

Let's hope fr the best

Excellently Explained Bro. Thumbs up for you.

Tang

This Arjun 1A has become a killer tank with high protection, fire power and speed. It is the only one in the world which can face up to US Abraham tank.
Really, do Arjun1A have a good APFSDS?
MK2 is good enough for Abrams?

Or

Goodness man!.. None of that bullshit is anyone's issue.

Kabhi parh vi liya karo reply karne se pahle.

Lost user

Arey han ji han, issi liye fighter planes ke upar tilak laga rahe thhe, hai na?? Ab physics ki kaunsi kitab mein ye likha hai batane ki takleef karenge, Maharaj?? :D
Dude.. so do ISRO scientists perform puja before important ISRO missions.. One can be a physics professor while holding onto one's religious customs.. Whether Rajnath Singh is qualified to judge tanks is another matter..
Also, coming to making crisp fries of tankmen.. T-72s and successor T-90s (excluding the latest iterations) are legendary in making crisp fries of tank men.. Looks like IA does not bother much about soldiers' lives anyway..

Or

Let's hope fr the best
Siriji, why can't lighter tanks than arjun cannot be made ?
Its different issue that fauj changed its requirement often but still the weight of arjun mk1a is way more than, other mbts .
Plus it has no aps either.

ArgonPrime

Dude.. so do ISRO scientists perform puja before important ISRO missions.. One can be a physics professor while holding onto one's religious customs..
First of all, my comment was made in jest.

Second of all, now that you mentioned it, to think that for a so-called scientist, who is widely acknoledged to be among the creame-de-la-creame of a Nation, to clutch on to his/her religious dogmas like a bloody peasant is kinda rediculous to say the least. But what the fucken' hell, to each his own I guess.

Whether Rajnath Singh is qualified to judge tanks is another matter..
He obviously ain't.

Also, coming to making crisp fries of tankmen.. T-72s and successor T-90s (excluding the latest iterations) are legendary in making crisp fries of tank men.. Looks like IA does not bother much about soldiers' lives anyway..
You got this portion bang on.

Dude.. so do ISRO scientists perform puja before important ISRO missions.. One can be a physics professor while holding onto one's religious customs.. Whether Rajnath Singh is qualified to judge tanks is another matter..
Since when have indians botherd about lives of men in battle ?
1 will die , 100 will replace him.
Its simple demand and supply , since supply is humongous , the product is cheap .
Product here is human life .

ArgonPrime

Since when have indians botherd about lives of men in battle ?
1 will die , 100 will replace him.
Its simple demand and supply , since supply is humongous , the product is cheap .
Product here is human life .
Until one of their own kids gets blown up or gets shot down behind enemy lines that is.

In a war sacrifice is necessary... we may build the best tank but soldiers will die.

Problem with Indian tanks is neither they are economically sound nor provide ample protection or user friendly.

We are just flushing our money on substandard designs and imports. The tech develop for arjun itself can help us build tanks better than T-90s we import. The situation is same everywhere whether tanks artillery rifles or even Tejas.

If it wasn't for some one like Manohar Parrikar who definitely interfered to improve on with mk2 variant and naval version etc we would have been left with a substandard Tejas forced on IAF.

Arjun project needs to be shelved right away and the tech developed so far be used to upgrade T-90s and T 72s

The focus should be on FMBT.

ArgonPrime

In a war sacrifice is necessary... we may build the best tank but soldiers will die.

Problem with Indian tanks is neither they are economically sound nor provide ample protection or user friendly.

We are just flushing our money on substandard designs and imports. The tech develop for arjun itself can help us build tanks better than T-90s we import. The situation is same everywhere whether tanks artillery rifles or even Tejas.

If it wasn't for some one like Manohar Parrikar who definitely interfered to improve on with mk2 variant and naval version etc we would have been left with a substandard Tejas forced on IAF.

Arjun project needs to be shelved right away and the tech developed so far be used to upgrade T-90s and T 72s

The focus should be on FMBT.
Couldn't have summed it up any better myself.

MonaLazy

focus on FMBT
& DRDO's proposed light tank..
What is the USP of DRDO’s proposed light tank for the Indian Army and especially for the mountain corps? Any acceptance and delivery timeline if you could tell us?

The need of light weight tank is felt in today’s scenario especially for the mountainous regions. The configuration is worked out.

The USP of DRDO’s proposed light tank for the Indian Army is that it will be fitted with High Altitude Operable Power pack (Engine + Transmission) of 1000hp and will be capable of firing multiple ammunition. This tank may be called as “highest altitude operable tank in the globe”. The design work has commenced and we will bring out the timelines.