Aircraft Crash Notification

Despite it's 1971 bravado,MIG 21 is the worst fighter jet to enter Indian service, having killed over 200 pilots and a loss of nearly 500 airframes.

It takes crores of Rupees and years of training to make a fighter pilot and all that talent going to dust because the Sarkari Babus and the import-loving top brass cannot replace this antique piece.
We still have 138 Mig 21 BiS as of 2021.

Tejas MK 1A will replace these by late 2020s.

Until then we have to bear witness to such tragedy.

Angel of War

Both pilots dead.... Rip... 🙏
And FK U to higher authorities at IAF who are forcing young pilots to use these vintage widow makers.... 🤬🤬🤬
why only IAF ? Why not blame the buraeucrats who $hit around with their files in MoD ?

Angel of War

For every such utterly inexcusable tragedy one senior babu of the IAF and one MP should be made to fly MiG-21 or resign - chosen by lottery. How an $80B annual defence budget leads to this?
We have a 72 Bil budget which covers not only the expenses of Armed Forces but also DRDO , Defence Civillians and some PSUs, defence civillians draw huge sums of money from the budget . Most of the budget is spent on Salaries , pensions , maintainence of existing equipment , replenishment of stocks , building up War Wastage Reserves and fulfiling due payment obligations of past contracts. By the end of the day We are left with very little money to buy new equipment. Our budget should ideally be 3% of GDP if we want to see any meaningful upgrade in our equipment profile. In a nutshell - our army is underfunded , we have very little money.

Snowcat

After coming across a few disturbing videos, looks like the pilots were trapped inside the aircraft, ejection seat failure maybe, also the lack of zero zero ejection seat in these older MIGs. Nevertheless, the fleet should be grounded, when will they say enough is enough ?

vishnugupt

The only significance Mig-21 is that every crash help IAF to make their case strong to import more foreign fighter.

IAF believe, crashing Mig-21 send message in public that IAF is suffering because of political indecisiveness.

Sorry for lost lives. Om Shanti.

tribendra bisoi..

The only significance Mig-21 is that every crash help IAF to make their case strong to import more foreign fighter.

IAF believe, crashing Mig-21 send message in public that IAF is suffering because of political indecisiveness.

Sorry for lost lives. Om Shanti.
mig21 crash is nothing new . There has been 400 plus crashes killing 200 plus pilots till now . There are 138 mig 21 . If someone wants early retirement . Only cheap single engine fighter jets with low maintenance cost and reliable engine of GE can replace it . And that is tejas .

pipebomb

Both pilots dead.... Rip... 🙏
And FK U to higher authorities at IAF who are forcing young pilots to use these vintage widow makers.... 🤬🤬🤬
IAF deserves an air chief who would value the lives of his pilots more than 'uper ki kamai' from foreign OEM's

vishnugupt

mig21 crash is nothing new . There has been 400 plus crashes killing 200 plus pilots till now . There are 138 mig 21 . If someone wants early retirement . Only cheap single engine fighter jets with low maintenance cost and reliable engine of GE can replace it . And that is tejas .
MMRCA or MWFA or MRFA are also not new.

Tejas has been dancing in IAF chest since 2010 but all IAF was not only ignoring Tejas but also tried to kill it.

So who to be blamed for lack of insight, lack of vision.

Once upon a time Great general of IAF called Tejas Mig-21 ++ (++ means less crash prone )

armortec

We have a 72 Bil budget which covers not only the expenses of Armed Forces but also DRDO , Defence Civillians and some PSUs, defence civillians draw huge sums of money from the budget . Most of the budget is spent on Salaries , pensions , maintainence of existing equipment , replenishment of stocks , building up War Wastage Reserves and fulfiling due payment obligations of past contracts. By the end of the day We are left with very little money to buy new equipment. Our budget should ideally be 3% of GDP if we want to see any meaningful upgrade in our equipment profile. In a nutshell - our army is underfunded , we have very little money.
Considering the threat level India faces from certain idiots for neighbours that can definitely be argued for. Just from Wiki (so not exactly reliable source) it seems China spends 1.7% (I assume that's excluding research), Israel 5.5% which considering their surroundings makes sense. UK and France with similar GDP but smaller population, landmass and threat level around 2%.
But do other countries do more with less? Any that do less with more? Given the size of the landmass increasing total size of economy must keep growing. Agnipath is partly to help reduce pensions bill, right? I hope it's just the start of more reforms to come. But for this specific case of still flying MiG-21s when you have your own plane at last ready and waiting? All within the system should accept responsibility and sort this debacle out.

angryIndian

It’s just a very old. Even anyway, that’s kind of a myth, there have been others including even MiG27s with a higher crash rate per year.View attachment 165684
Even if the above Chart is empirically accurate, still at least all those other aircraft are no longer in service

MIG 21 should have been phased out 30 years ago. This is an aircraft of the Vietnam war era,not 21st century.
At this point it's not the airframe but the loss of pilots that's a serious cause of worry.We have lost too many combat pilots in just the past few years.

Angel of War

I thought imported AF had changed since it had been a while since their last crash. Guess not
This dosen't make sense , what do you expect them to change ? They've certainly improved their capabilities but the platforms they use are still the same. So what was the change that you expected ?

karn

Isn't 2023 a hard deadline for retiring all mig 21 airframes ? I remember this was reported when the mig23 was being retired.

Kumaoni

Even if the above Chart is empirically accurate, still at least all those other aircraft are no longer in service

MIG 21 should have been phased out 30 years ago. This is an aircraft of the Vietnam war era,not 21st century.
At this point it's not the airframe but the loss of pilots that's a serious cause of worry.We have lost too many combat pilots in just the past few years.
I totally agree. It’s museum worthy aircraft. I mean this was used in 1971 ffs. Why hasn’t IAF retired MiG21?

If only our geniuses had planned to make and induct an "actual" replacement of Mig-21 itself instead of stretching things beyond their capabilities with muh multirole muh this that...

something like homegrown F-5E Tiger II, mass produced as fighter-inceptor, also to sustain numbers

1659081756680.png

1659081902420.png

1659082337978.png

All that LCA muh multirole this that could've been done at later stages