ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter

jai jaganath

Hum Soviet Union hai Bhai, Soviet Union.
Hum shuruat me haarenge lekin bad me apna khud bagration karenge.
Cheen nazi Germany hai, aur Pakistan Poland hai
No bro a nation with peacetime mentality with 0 accountability with nearly 0 procurement with 0 mic can't be Soviet Union
Poland is most suitable for us
Porkies can't be Poland as their military is prompt unlike ours they take threat seriously
Just look they have kept themselves in such positions where living is like hell and dying is costly but still the amount of threat they mount on us
Either they are damn prompt or we are lethargic to even deal with a baseless country
I think both options are viable
Anyway we are derailing we can't take it to personal

Hum Soviet Union hai Bhai, Soviet Union.
Hum shuruat me haarenge lekin bad me apna khud bagration karenge.
Cheen nazi Germany hai, aur Pakistan Poland hai
I mean i love the optimism but c'mon?

Soviet union at its peak had the capability to invade and capture the entire European continent in a few months.

So refined were their tactics that the western block had specific plans drawn up to nuke Poland and Germany their own allies to not stop but just slow down the Soviet advance.

We are talking a country that refined the doctrine of deep battle warfare and went on to completely annihilate werchmart which was arguably one of the most battle-hardened disciplined force on the planet. They then went on to annihilate Germany of the map and had a good debate on the existence of Germany as a country.

India never really had any capabilities close to to this at any point of time.

That's because of our mentality. The Russians had this inherited mentality from the Mongols through the Tartars which became the Muscovites and then Russians. This mentality is basically "if you fuck with us, you and your entire family and the village/town/city you reside in will die."

Whereas we have this mentality, "Let live and rest in peace"

DumbPilot

That's because of our mentality. The Russians had this inherited mentality from the Mongols through the Tartars which became the Muscovites and then Russians. This mentality is basically "if you fuck with us, you and your entire family and the village/town/city you reside in will die."

Whereas we have this mentality, "Let live and rest in peace"
It's more of "man, if I start some shit my economy is also going to shit"

maximus777

It's more of "man, if I start some shit my economy is also going to shit"
We somehow have this backwards, possibly due to dhoti shivering and/or chalta hai attitude. Both economy and security needs to work in lockstep.

Vijayanagar empire, arguably the richest empire in the world at its peak, was very well known for it's trade/economy/business/culture/art. The focus of the administration largely shifted towards commerce and look how well it worked out for them. They literally just ended up being footnotes in some NCERT history text books. If they had spent the requisite amount of wealth on their army/navy/security apparatus, they could have probably spared us the ignominy of mughalistan and British raj. But then we are like this only! :notsure:

silverghost

It is NOT MAGIC!

It is engineering, which requires designers, structural analysts, CFD guys, etc. to do a whole lot of studies and designs.

If you're worried about the Tejas Mk2 timelines, then what makes you think that a Tejas Mk1B which doesn't even exist on paper, will ever see light of day before a Tejas Mk2 prototype does? And to save what? 1-2 years? And HAL can't do major structural or FCS changes without ADA, the agency that is responsible for the Tejas design overall. HAL is a manufacturing partner that took the initiative to change some avionics on the Tejas Mk1 to create the Mk1A.

Structural changes to accommodate a bigger engine and payload and fuel, like on the Tejas Mk2, will require nearly as much work as on the Tejas Mk2. So, what's the point of it at all?
Didn't the Mk1A come to fruition after IAF rejected Mk1?

MirageBlue

No the air intakes,fuel pumps etc would need changing just from top of mt head
So would a lot of the electricals. Just because dimensions are the same doesn't imply the weight is the same. So it would affect the CG and require additional ballast up front to counter the heavier weight of the F-414 at the back so that the CG isn't impacted.

johnj

GE also moving forward with 99 engine deal for mk2
GE Seeks US Nod For Joint Jet Engine Production In India
US aircraft engine maker GE has sought approval from Biden Administration for joint production of jet engines in India, according to the White House.
for new readers-
ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter engine
ADA is procuring 99 GE-F414-INS6 engines to power the Tejas Mk-2 and LCA Navy. The contract has been finalized and is awaiting approval.
Under the contract, the first lot of the engines will come by 2014-15 and the rest would be manufactured in India under transfer of technology

Trololo

Will the LCA Mk2 carry the following weapons:

1> R-73 missile
2> Python 5 missile
3> R-77 missile
4> R-27 missile

We somehow have this backwards, possibly due to dhoti shivering and/or chalta hai attitude. Both economy and security needs to work in lockstep.

Vijayanagar empire, arguably the richest empire in the world at its peak, was very well known for it's trade/economy/business/culture/art. The focus of the administration largely shifted towards commerce and look how well it worked out for them. They literally just ended up being footnotes in some NCERT history text books. If they had spent the requisite amount of wealth on their army/navy/security apparatus, they could have probably spared us the ignominy of mughalistan and British raj. But then we are like this only! :notsure:
The fact that , we were always unlucky .
Look at japan, they too traded with dutch and Portuguese .
They acquired western weapons and ship building techniques and through just right mixture of beneficial xenophobia they survived .
Yes xenophobia is bad to those who have been always walked upon by others .
The portugese were stopped at Okinawa and dutch at kagosima
Which is in satsuma or chosu prefecture of japan , see when you read their history .
They bayed for each other blood but they knew " gaijin " evil , so " gaijin" be exterminated .And they did .
Always.

They never allowed spread of christianity , were so far away that islam never reached them so that was one thing less .
The rapid modernization of japan was driven by fear of gaijin domination
They would have been a world superpower today , had the IJA prevailed in 30s on which route to take for invasion .
They advocated the westward push , they lost at khal khin gol to sovets but did control china to a very large part .
The IJN again this time failed at pearl harbor and midway , had they won there, then world history would have been very very different.

atomDFI

Vijaynagara ended up on the footnotes of NCERT due to NCERTs own lethargy and lack of interest in anything outside the indo-gangetic plains. Empire like the Chalukyas and Rashtrakutas were the most powerful realms of the subcontinent at their peaks and even stopped the Arab invasion of India, the same invading power that Arabicized Egypt, Mesopotamia, North Africa and Islamicized Persia. Yet they're missing from our textbooks too.

Vijaynagara lost not because of a lack of military might. They lost because of two generals who defected to the other side (a coalition of four Deccan sultanate kingdoms) and more importantly, their incorrect method of using artillery.

Vijaynagara ended up on the footnotes of NCERT due to NCERTs own lethargy and lack of interest in anything outside the indo-gangetic plains. Empire like the Chalukyas and Rashtrakutas were the most powerful realms of the subcontinent at their peaks and even stopped the Arab invasion of India, the same invading power that Arabicized Egypt, Mesopotamia, North Africa and Islamicized Persia. Yet they're missing from our textbooks too.

Vijaynagara lost not because of a lack of military might. They lost because of two generals who defected to the other side (a coalition of four Deccan sultanate kingdoms) and more importantly, their incorrect method of using artillery.
Two defected... That again shows neglect for warfare.

Why would a sane mind put two muslims as their generals while fighting the muslims?

We never discussed that ... That is why Indira Gandhi had Sikh bodyguard , who she employed for her protection and they murdered her.

Vijaynagar empire lacked behind in military prowess in later years that's why it ended. Now one can try to blind themselves and give excuses won't change that fact .

prateikf

Two defected... That again shows neglect for warfare.

Why would a sane mind put two muslims as their generals while fighting the muslims?

We never discussed that ... That is why Indira Gandhi had Sikh bodyguard , who she employed for her protection and they murdered her.

Vijaynagar empire lacked behind in military prowess in later years that's why it ended. Now one can try to blind themselves and give excuses won't change that fact .
True. Aliya Rama Raya was too busy in grabbing power and failed to realise the fast changing trends in global warfare just as we can see in the recent wars in between Armenia-Azerbaijan and the Russian invasion of Ukraine. The Sultanate artillery proved to be far superior and won the day with Rama Raya loosing both his head and his kingdom.

skunk works

Rama Raya was a rude idiot drunk on power and hubris. It's not about Muslim generals because there is plenty of record of Vijaynagara teaming up with one Muslim sultan to defeat another, and vice versa. Alliances were very fluid and changed all the time. This theory of 'Vijaynagara standing against all local sultanates' is bunk. No empire becomes powerful like that.
True. Aliya Rama Raya was too busy in grabbing power and failed to realise the fast changing trends in global warfare just as we can see in the recent wars in between Armenia-Azerbaijan and the Russian invasion of Ukraine. The Sultanate artillery proved to be far superior and won the day with Rama Raya loosing both his head and his kingdom.