ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter

LakshmanPST7

83 tejas delivery will be complete near 2028...after that another 97 tejas mark 1a in order. that will take 4-5 year to deliver, if we suppose near 20-24 fighter per year delivery. so even if tejas mark 2 will ready for production near 2030. our current facility only free after 2032-33 for tejas mark 2 production. thats why i think government isnt in hurry for tejas mark 2. i think air force also make decision to go for MRFA with any private player in india or direct GTG order (if they r not going for 114 fighters, due to high cost). we hv 32-33 squadron right now. 15 squad (su 30 mki), 2 squad (tejas), 2 squad (rafale), 3 squad (mirage 2000), 3 squad (mig 29), 6 squad (jaguar) nd 1-2 squad (mig 21).
now reasons why IAF nd government isnt hurry:-
1:- IAF total 220 tejas mark 1 nd 1a order replace our mig 21 nd jaguar fleet untill 2032.
2:- MRFA will replace mig 29 nd mirage 2000, which going to retire after 2032-35. thats why IAF nd government isnt in hurry for MRFA also.
3:- 120 or 200 tejas mark 2 will add additional squadron in airforce. that will make 38 squad (if we buy 120 tejas mark 2) or 42 squad (if we buy 200 tejas mark 2).
That was broadly the idea...
Originally 12 squadrons of Mk2 were supposed to replace MIG29, Mirage2000 and Jaguars...
Due to change in Mk2 timelines, 5 squadrons of Mk1A are being ordered to replace Jaguars by 2032...
Current plans are that 6 squadrons of Tejas Mk2 will replace 6 squadrons of MIG29 and Mirage2000 starting from 2034-35 onwards...
Additional Mk2 may be ordered but that is not yet confirmed... I guess 4-6 additional squadrons of Mk2 may be ordered depending on MRFA numbers...

Also, few corrections...
Su30s will be limited to 13 Operational squadrons only... No new squadrons will be raised...
Currently, we have 31 squadrons... Will increase to 32 after all Mk1A deliveries are completed in 2032... If additional Rafales are ordered, it will increase to 34 or 35 depending on the numbers... My hope is MRFA won't come and we close the circus by ordering 4 Rafale squadrons off the shelf...

raju1982

Even turkey runs a better fighter programme than DRDO Babus. The time line for Tejas MK2 is rollout in end 2024 or early 2025 and flight an year after that in 2026. I am not going to post links. Anyone can just check Wikipedia which has even worse projections than my memory. An open source website like Wikipedia has more quality and audit controls than our entire military bureaucracy. At least I see the timeline delays in one page instead of different files with different babudom.

TAI has taken 10 months to fly KAAN since rolling out the jet in March this year. Why does DRDO need more time than TAI to fly a 4th gen jet whose technologies and airframe are pretty similar to tejas mk1?

DRDO as a system has no levers of control. Dr Grish Dhore who boasted they'll run 3 aircraft development programs in parallel has retired before one of them is even rolled out. These Babus masquerading as scientists just engage in naval gazing and self-praise instead of retrospection.
Congrats to Turkey. There is something seriously wrong with ADE and ADA. Forget AMCA, India will not have first flight of mk2 before 2027. This is serious setback for IAF and great news for dalals.

Satish Sharma

No! Not like that. HAL is going to reduce the weight of mk1 by 1000 kg in MK1A by changes in ballast and landing gear. So the same is not going to be problem in MWF also. Second, the dimensions of GE 404 and GE414 are same and GE414 is only 74 kg heavier than Ge404. IRST is hardly 40 50 kg. Rest of your calculations are correct but considering the weight of mk1 6.6 ton is not correct because it is already reduced significantly in MK1A.
Does Tejas mk1 or mk1A weights 6.56 tons
Because I have seen empty weight of MK1 around 7.07 tons..
And reduced weight to 6.56 tons is of mk1a

Screenshot_2023-12-19-13-48-01-05_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

SilentlAssassin265

"Government officials wonder if the US can meet the demand of South Korea for the same engines for their supersonic trainer T-50 Golden Eagle, why not to India. The delay, if prolonged, in supply of F404-GE-IN20 engines can impact the Tejas-Mk IAs production timelines. The HAL, as per the 2021 contractual obligation, has to supply 83 LCA Mk IAs to Indian Air Force by 2029 but the handing over has been preponed due to its enhanced production capacity. "

SilentlAssassin265

"Government officials wonder if the US can meet the demand of South Korea for the same engines for their supersonic trainer T-50 Golden Eagle, why not to India. The delay, if prolonged, in supply of F404-GE-IN20 engines can impact the Tejas-Mk IAs production timelines. The HAL, as per the 2021 contractual obligation, has to supply 83 LCA Mk IAs to Indian Air Force by 2029 but the handing over has been preponed due to its enhanced production capacity. "
News before 2+2 dialogue from November, any updates sience then?

NutCracker

There has to be a delay penalty clause in the 99 engine deal. And current supply might be within the timeframe.

GE has shipped 75 engines in just 2 years , they might've have pre delivered plenty of engines, that's why G.E. is not in a hurry.

SilentlAssassin265

There has to be a delay penalty clause in the 99 engine deal. And current supply might be within the timeframe.

GE has shipped 75 engines in just 2 years , they might've have pre delivered plenty of engines, that's why G.E. is not in a hurry.
Those 75 were not the in20 varient. Mk1a has to be powered by in20 varient due to use of advance radar and electronics.
Unfortunately we don't have engines the order was placed for 99 in20 engines in 2021 only and delivery was supposed to start this August.

Satish Sharma

JF17 specs latest from wiki

View attachment 110300
The block 1&2 had no composites nothing only scrap metal sourced from 'Karachi bhangar walye'
anyways
those initial 150 jf17 block 1&2 produced weights 7950kg has fuel of 2268kg, block 2 has 2330kg and mtow of only 12.47 for block 1 & for block 2- 12.75 tons..
this is of block-2
7950kg+ 2330kg+2450=12.7 tons
life of this aircraft is considered very less..
you can understand from specs in what condition paf was they were ready to induct anything..they did not got there 30 f16s for which they paid same with ah1z helicopter. They also wanted f16 upgrade but usa did not have. There 18 or less(crashed) f16s are Of block52, whereas rest all are outdated block 15...

Because of this achievement those porkis are saying jf17 is succes & Tejas is failure..

block 3 is quite impressive you know it's empty weight has reduced to some say 6.4 tons some say 6.8 tons but it's is below 7 tons now. Due to use of composites and mtow has increased to 13.5 tons now. Fuel is 2450kg..
I follow jf17 more than porkis do...

shiphone

The block 1&2 had no composites nothing only scrap metal sourced from 'Karachi bhangar walye'
anyways
those initial 150 jf17 block 1&2 produced weights 7950kg has fuel of 2268kg, block 2 has 2330kg and mtow of only 12.47 for block 1 & for block 2- 12.75 tons..
this is of block-2
7950kg+ 2330kg+2450=12.7 tons
life of this aircraft is considered very less..
you can understand from specs in what condition paf was they were ready to induct anything..they did not got there 30 f16s for which they paid same with ah1z helicopter. They also wanted f16 upgrade but usa did not have. There 18 or less(crashed) f16s are Of block52, whereas rest all are outdated block 15...

Because of this achievement those porkis are saying jf17 is succes & Tejas is failure..

block 3 is quite impressive you know it's empty weight has reduced to some say 6.4 tons some say 6.8 tons but it's is below 7 tons now. Due to use of composites and mtow has increased to 13.5 tons now. Fuel is 2450kg..
I follow jf17 more than porkis do...
it is going to be year 2024, but we still can read such BS on DFI...LOL

check the so called 'figures' , the official one are everywhere...

Satish Sharma

it is going to be year 2024, but we still can read such BS on DFI...LOL

check the so called 'figures' , the official one are everywhere...
What do you want to say? I found this figures from airshow boards, articles etc.
Yeah this can't be 100% trusted..
But gives some basic idea where it stands...

Satish Sharma

FOOL, Empty weight IS 7900kg..
and good if they've increased MTOW to 13.5T.

ITS LITERALLY ON Porky-Aero-Complex WEBSITE.
View attachment 234411
FOOL, Empty weight IS 7900kg..
and good if they've increased MTOW to 13.5T.

ITS LITERALLY ON Porky-Aero-Complex WEBSITE.
View attachment 234411
Well block 1 & 2 weights 7965kg whereas there have been use of composites in block 3. Empty weight can't be sure but it is significantly less than earlier version. some also say mtow is 14.2tons something like that. It has increased.
They might have not updated it.
Even hal has not updated mtow from 13.5 tons to 14.7tons on its website..

NutCracker

Well block 1 & 2 weights 7965kg whereas there have been use of composites in block 3. Empty weight can't be sure but it is significantly less than earlier version. some also say mtow is 14.2tons something like that. It has increased.
They might have not updated it.
Even hal has not updated mtow from 13.5 tons to 14.7tons on its website..
Can you provide source of 14.7 T mtow of Tejas.
Also Pakis can't afford making large proportion of it from composite material,
They don't have expertise, hence they will lose more money by importing wing/fuselage from China.

Satish Sharma

Can you provide source of 14.7 T mtow of Tejas.
Also Pakis can't afford making large proportion of it from composite material,
They don't have expertise, hence they will lose more money by importing wing/fuselage from China.

Reading Wikipedia is not enough buddy..
Pakis have showed boards of 6.8 tons in air show boards.. there are many other numbers in news as well..

Screenshot_2023-12-19-13-34-10-82_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

View attachment 234424

NutCracker

Reading Wikipedia is not enough buddy..
Pakis have showed boards of 6.8 tons in air show boards.. there are many other numbers in news as well..

View attachment 234423

View attachment 234424
Arre brozzer, me pooch Raha hu ki Tejas mk1 ka 14.7T weight ka koi official confirmation hai kya ?? Ye 75 aur 92kN wale konse engines hai ?

Btw mene Wikipedia nahi .Official website se hi quote Kiya.
Tumhari pic me FC1 ka mtow 12.7 hai , website me 13.5 hai.
To batao latest wala konsa hai ??

Satish Sharma

Arre brozzer, me pooch Raha hu ki Tejas mk1 ka 14.7T weight ka koi official confirmation hai kya ?? Ye 75 aur 92kN wale konse engines hai ?

Btw mene Wikipedia nahi .Official website se hi quote Kiya.
Tumhari pic me FC1 ka mtow 12.7 hai , website me 13.5 hai.
To batao latest wala konsa hai ??
Bhai initial Tejas main 75kn wala hi ge f404 lga tha
Ab ye alag variants hai jo 90-92kn wala thrust hai .
Initially Tejas mk1a was designated as mk2 .
And Tejas mk2 as mwf...
You should know that iaf initially said it is underpowered because those were the 75kn engines

Look in that mtow column of Tejas mk2 there it is written 14.7 tons mtow. Or you can just do add payload empty weight fuel it will be 14.5 tons +200kg ldp..
That fc1 with 12.7 tons is block 2 , okay .block 3 has 13.5+ ton payload..

NutCracker

Bhai initial Tejas main 75kn wala hi ge f404 lga tha
Ab ye alag variants hai jo 90-92kn wala thrust hai .
Initially Tejas mk1a was designated as mk2 .
And Tejas mk2 as mwf...
You should know that iaf initially said it is underpowered because those were the 75kn engines

Look in that mtow column of Tejas mk2 there it is written 14.7 tons mtow. Or you can just do add payload empty weight fuel it will be 14.5 tons +200kg ldp..
why are you adding LDP weight separately ?

from which video have you picked up above that screenshot. send link.

That fc1 is block 2 , okay .block 3 has 13.5+ ton payload..
also same website says empty weight is 7900kg. For higher MTOW, They might have increased the structural strength at the cost of empty weight coming out same as older variants.

Satish Sharma

why are you adding LDP weight separately ?

from which video have you picked up above that screenshot. send link.

also same website says empty weight is 7900kg. For higher MTOW, They might have increased the structural strength at the cost of empty weight coming out same as older variants.
mk1A has 14.7 mtow that's it..
However the kind of armaments it carries in most of the mission it will never fly with mtow..

That is not from any YouTube video it is very old picture I had with me forgot where I got this...
Porkis are not opening up the empty weight. But there are some Eurasian reports of 6.8 tons for block 3..
Some others say 6.41 tons its around that figure..

You see this..

Screenshot_2023-12-29-19-56-27-57_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg