ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

chex3009

Does someone know the designation of the LCA Tejas once it is inducted into the IAF, i have found it to be named HF-XX but the value of XX is not known yet? If somebody knows......

sneha_sharma

@France and Advance Electronics:
I never said that we should go for obsolete technology. Do you know whats France global position, who are there neighbors? Germany spain and England and not like Terrorists Pakistan and communist china. our global position is different than theirs, so our need. they need superior technology coz there probable enemy(if their neighbors turn hostile) have it, we don't.

@ Lack of Pilots:
Lot of Indian guys dream to fly plane, and IAF has started mass recruitment. Recently I heard that they eliminated written test (NDA) and they were taking Direct interview for IAF pilot position. that can be filled , kindly don worry bout that... once we get plane, parallaly we can plan to have pilots as well...

Having more planes is well and good but we should also have pilots of fly them.

As it is even now we dont have sufficient no of pilots in air force according to IAF.
I second that. According to a recent report, the IAF claimed it was short of 600 pilots. Here is the news article:

IAF short of around 600 pilots

DNA; Published: Monday, Oct 4, 2010, 17:31 IST

The IAF today said it was short of around 600 pilots and over 5,000 personnel below officer rank while maintaining that several steps were being taken to fill up the manpower gaps.

"We are short of about 550 to 600 pilots," IAF's Air Officer Personnel (AOP) Air Marshal K J Mathews told reporters at the annual Air Force Day press conference here.

AOP is the in-charge of all the personnel in the IAF including both officers and airmen.

The officer said since 2009, the attrition rate of pilots in the force has been positive and the number of pilots joining the force was more than the number of officers quitting it.

"We believe that this (positive attrition rate) would continue for the next three to four years and this may be due to economic downturn and may be because aspirations have changed and the emoluments at a certain level have improved drastically," he added.

Mathews said the the IAF will also open its fighter pilots stream for short service commission officers and in the long run aims to have around 30 per cent of its pilots from this stream only.

When asked if the IAF would be able to recover the money it invests in training fighter pilots at different stages in their service span, the AOP said, "that is why we have kept the short service commission at ten years. There are a lot of intricacies that go into these calculations".

The IAF spends over Rs 10 crore on the training of a fighter pilot who has to fly various type of aircraft at different stages of his training.

Commenting on the shortage of the airmen, he said the force was short of around 5,000 PBORs (personnel below officer rank) and was taking a number of steps which would help it to fill up the vacancies by December 2011.

Mathews said with the IAF going in for major hardware purchases in the near future, the service would need to recruit additional 38,000 airmen by the year 2022.

Source: http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_iaf-short-of-around-600-pilots_1447566

blade

@France and Advance Electronics:
I never said that we should go for obsolete technology. Do you know whats France global position, who are there neighbors? Germany spain and England and not like Terrorists Pakistan and communist china. our global position is different than theirs, so our need. they need superior technology coz there probable enemy(if their neighbors turn hostile) have it, we don't.--- was it in response to my post ?

http://idrw.org/?p=882

India currently is working on Indigenous AESA again with inputs from a international partner. Officials close to the program have told www.lca-tejas.org that major avionics will be ready for the aircraft within next two or three years, Tejas Mk-2 will have lot of key elements which will find its way into AMCA and FGFA later.

Tejas MK-2 will also have a newly laid out cockpit layout with better computing power since it also be housing new mission control computer, Samtel Display Systems (SDS) is also working on touch based Multi Function Displays (MFD) for Tejas Mk-2 , which will later find its way in AMCA too .

Tejas Mk-2 will also see structural changes in the aircraft which will be noticeable in wider wing span to carry extra weapons load along with extra fuel, aircraft will also have large air intakes to let the high thrust engine generate additional power for the aircraft, engine change for Tejas Mk-2 will result in the rear fuselage being changed too .

Commonality between Tejas Mk-1 and Tejas MK-2 will be digital Fly by Wire (FBW) Flight Control System (FCS) along with some avionics which both aircraft will share, but sources also told us that FBW Software will require some modification in them to support structural changes which Tejas MK-2 will have.

Now the picture is getting clear and beautiful !! :)

Tejas Mk-2 will incorporate 5 gen fighter elements

BY ADMIN AT 16 OCTOBER, 2010, 3:09 AM

BY:Vinayak shetty for www.lca-tejas.org / idrw.org

Tejas MK-1 is fast approaching its IOC which will happen in December 2010 , but ADA officials have already done their premilanary design of Tejas Mk-2 , and to avoid further delays , Two Tejas MK-2 were designed keeping in mind the dimensions provided by two Engine manufactures who were in race to provide 100 + plus engines to the Tejas Mk-2 program .

Ge's F414IN engines were logically chosen for the Tejas Mk-2, since they had same dimensions and length of F-404 engines which were powering Tejas MK-1 .but Tejas Mk-2 as per sources will incorporate advance technology developed keeping in mind MCA over a decade has a parallel in house development now officially known has AMCA.

India currently is working on Indigenous AESA again with inputs from a international partner. Officials close to the program have told www.lca-tejas.org that major avionics will be ready for the aircraft within next two or three years, Tejas Mk-2 will have lot of key elements which will find its way into AMCA and FGFA later.

Tejas MK-2 will also have a newly laid out cockpit layout with better computing power since it also be housing new mission control computer, Samtel Display Systems (SDS) is also working on touch based Multi Function Displays (MFD) for Tejas Mk-2 , which will later find its way in AMCA too .

Tejas Mk-2 will also see structural changes in the aircraft which will be noticeable in wider wing span to carry extra weapons load along with extra fuel, aircraft will also have large air intakes to let the high thrust engine generate additional power for the aircraft, engine change for Tejas Mk-2 will result in the rear fuselage being changed too .

Commonality between Tejas Mk-1 and Tejas MK-2 will be digital Fly by Wire (FBW) Flight Control System (FCS) along with some avionics which both aircraft will share, but sources also told us that FBW Software will require some modification in them to support structural changes which Tejas MK-2 will have.

When asked about development of Tejas MK-3 sources told us that it all depends how Tejas Mk-2 develops and how IAF responds to it , further development can happen but AMCA will be logical choice if it comes out in time for IAF rather then Tejas MK-3 .

So with HF-XX MK-2 ADA is actually developing a new fighter jet. Well to me it sounds logical. If even an engine change with modified air inlets will need re-certification then why not add other feature and enhance existing so that there are no compromise on part of IAF.

Second part of the article is heart soothing. DRDO will develop technologies for MK-2 and use its refined and improved versions in AMCA.Then we will get technologies from M-MRCA ToT and FGFA and DRDO will customise it to put in HF-XX MK-2, MK-3 and AMCA. This in Hindi is perfect "Aam Ke Aam Guthlio Ke Bhi Daam" situation.

Parthy

Air Warrior
Guys, any news about LCA getting FOC at what time???
Scheduled at Dec'2010 end... As per last update more no of technicians are there in Goa for validating the regression flight and weapon load test at sea level...

nirmal

The IOC is scheduled for 27th Dec'10.Will the IOC be given without the entire LSP series A/C's ie., from LSP1 to LSP-8 flying at the same time? At present if I am correct only LSP1,2,3 and 4 are flying with LSP-5 carrying out ground runs.Any news about LSP-6,7 and 8 and possible dates for test flights?

vijay jagannathan

the vayu article on LCA ----- felt like an air drill being driven thru my brain whilst reading it. even if there is 50% truth it has been rationalised. hard to dismiss the contents of the article.

Re: Vayu Article On ADA's LCA

Like a perfect "i will dry your engine" dogfight this article undertakes maneuver after maneuver of 9g class till the time you get your hands on head and your legs starts crying for a good stretch. Now i am getting tired too by seeing impression of this writer in my post. Straight to point. What point author wanted to raise remained unclear? What message he is giving remained unclear too? First he talks about a fighter which was called a prototype even after getting +150 examples into service. Then he lists score of flaws which indeed was furious to read at once and was sounding like HUNTER was nothing more than a useless piece of metal. Now you started to feel like getting the idea, just like a pilot feels when he gets behind his opponent's 6 o'clock, but bang! The author pulls left turn-hard right by adding "But Ah! The Handling and The Performance!". Now you are feeling up side down because you are getting the idea that contrary to what one jet may look like on ground you never know how well in can perform where it matters most that in air. Beeeeeeep! Beeeeeeep! Author suddenly realises, by pulling left turn-hard right he has only provided life to stall warning beepers. There he goes again, this time undertakes an enery, speed and safety increasing "Barrel Roll". LCA scores 100% if it is at such weight and dimension. LCA score 60% if it is at such weight and dimension. Ultimately! LCA score Grade-F(22%) because LCA is 1400 Kg over weight. Interesting is that all data is in relative to Gripen-D. Here comes few questions. Did Gripen-D was designed for similar role LCA was designed for during initial years? How much requirements were altered(favouring weight gain) during entire development period of Gripen-D than it was and is being in case of LCA MK-1? If developing LCA MK-2 is all about getting rid of poorly designed MK-1 but certainly not an incremental style(regularly practised worldwide by even most reputed ones) of developing military hardware, then why did SAAB (instead of being light years ahead of ADA) took the painful path of "first D then NG"? And last not the least. What if LCA MK-1 excels just like HUNTER in air in spite having all those mathematically calculated flaws, can author say for sure MK-1 can't, does author has all the data to say how MK-1 is performing now?

Anyway this article was worth reading, considering i enjoy articles on LCA with more pages irrespective of what it says. Criticizing LCA (ADA's LCA is more noun than adjective) is no biting iron now a days. You just need to keep few things in mind like time-line, dead-line, over-weight, over-budget and you can produce a hell of article for more to enjoy than to produce a sense of seriousness. And this article is no different from all those stereotypes except having more number of pages ( i must say thanks to Professor Prodyut Das to take so much pain in writing what me and like enjoy most) and glimpse of history.

The funny part is that the article is ridiculing weight gains because of avionics which is modern day must. Don't think this is serious criticism, more like taking potshots

Mustang

A good article but have to mention a few contradictions in his article.

* He mentioned that entire world moved to 5.56 calibre in the beginning. But cannot go back as it would be costly. The advantages of 5.56 calibre over bigger calibre rounds is well known, mainly in range and ease in terms of logistics as it would be ligter in weight.

* And in page 3 he mentioned confidently that we re-invented the wheel by designing the LCA. But in the end he mentioned about a rumour where only the airframe was designed by us. He wasn't very confident in telling this.

however, I do find his assesment on weight quite logical. But we dont know or will ever know as to what is the actual weight of the LCA is. One more thing known or spoken about is the fact that LCA inlet efficiency is not upto the mark. That is why inlets of super hornet are rectangular when compared with semi circular one in earlier hornets. SOmehow he didnt mention this.

perhaps the only issue We can fully agree with him is the time overrun and the need for higher power engine. If there is higher payload, or increase in range, or even better performance in turns with higher thrust engine, then it is justified to go for a better engine, something which we dont know as to how LCA mk2 is going to shape up in these parameters.

the vayu article on LCA ----- felt like an air drill being driven thru my brain whilst reading it. even if there is 50% truth it has been rationalised. hard to dismiss the contents of the article.
What is hard to dismiss can you please be specific