ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

tejas warrior

Insight of HAL Tejas Production Lines by IR@BR

Line 1: full capacity = 8 aircraft per year: 5 at "LCA division" and 3 "Kiran hangar".
Line 2: full capacity = 8 aircraft per year at "Aircraft division" which is basically the erstwhile Hawk production line.

SP5 was supposed to be the first aircraft from Line 2. It was completely ready but kept failing at the HSTT. So it was assigned to Line 1 to figure out what was going wrong. In the meanwhile, SP8 which was in the equipping phase at Line 1 was moved to Line 2 to finish. That's how Sp5 was officially delivered from Line 1 and SP8 from Line 2.

SP-8 is first aircraft from the Hawk hangar.

Max capacity of:
(1) LCA division - 5 p.a.
(2) Kiran Hangar - 3 p.a.
(3) Aircraft division (old HAWK line) - 8 p.a.

darshan978

Darth Vader
Insight of HAL Tejas Production Lines by IR@BR

Line 1: full capacity = 8 aircraft per year: 5 at "LCA division" and 3 "Kiran hangar".
Line 2: full capacity = 8 aircraft per year at "Aircraft division" which is basically the erstwhile Hawk production line.

SP5 was supposed to be the first aircraft from Line 2. It was completely ready but kept failing at the HSTT. So it was assigned to Line 1 to figure out what was going wrong. In the meanwhile, SP8 which was in the equipping phase at Line 1 was moved to Line 2 to finish. That's how Sp5 was officially delivered from Line 1 and SP8 from Line 2.

SP-8 is first aircraft from the Hawk hangar.

Max capacity of:
(1) LCA division - 5 p.a.
(2) Kiran Hangar - 3 p.a.
(3) Aircraft division (old HAWK line) - 8 p.a.
so production capcity already 16??/ then arent we building another production line which will start in 2019??

Current capacity is around 8/year, will be 12/year in FY2018-19 and 16/year from there on. The second line is supposedly the converted Hawk line so it looks like HAL have already set it up for LCA even though I too had thought this would only be possible by 2019.

With a third line and >80% outsourcing of LRU production HAL will easily be able to deliver >32 LCA/year from 2025/6 (if given the orders in one go) for MK.2 so it could take only 6-7 years to get all 201 of them in service. `(I'll ask again, where is the SQN shortage? Where is this urgent need for imported fighters?)

If anyone had any doubt this really is the way to go, not only is LCA India's baby but it is cost effective and India controls the production and can ramp it up as it needs to. Literally no other fighter on earth will give India the numbers LCA can provide in such a short time, the eco system being in India is just an added bonus (to IAF).

And some people doubt AMCA because of supposed "failures" of LCA, by the time AMCA comes India will be a >$10TN USD economy and will have produced >300 LCAs.

Thank god for this govt and their support of LCA, had it been any other no doubt we'd still be hearing paid news against the project and an excuse given to cut the line after MK.1.

Something that is worrying me

Rough calulations:

Delivered
FY2017-18 8/9

Expected:
FY 2018-19 12
FY 2019-20 16
--------------------

So by the middle of FY2020-21 all 40 MK.1 will be delivered but the MK.1A will only be ready for production come late 2021/2022 (at best). Unless interim orders are placed (soon) for more MK.1s the LCA production line is going to be idle for quite a number of months (if not over a year) just as they have hit their stride.

IAF should at least order another SQN of MK.1 just to cover any delays that may occur with MK.1A and given that MK.1 can be converted to 1A at a later date there isn't too much of a risk in this move and it will help them boost their SQN strength (and we know how they like to complain about that) even further.

Rough calulations:

Delivered
FY2017-18 8/9

Expected:
FY 2018-19 12
FY 2019-20 16
--------------------

So by the middle of FY2020-21 all 40 MK.1 will be delivered but the MK.1A will only be ready for production come late 2021/2022 (at best). Unless interim orders are placed (soon) for more MK.1s the LCA production line is going to be idle for quite a number of months (if not over a year) just as they have hit their stride.

IAF should at least order another SQN of MK.1 just to cover any delays that may occur with MK.1A and given that MK.1 can be converted to 1A at a later date there isn't too much of a risk in this move and it will help them boost their SQN strength (and we know how they like to complain about that) even further.
IMHO, that should be avoided until the last minute so that the pressure on Mk1A team remains.

Sure but the lead-in time for producing a fighter is 2-3 years? All the suppliers need to know well in advance and the production managers need to know how to plan their output, by the time you realise you need an interim solution it will be too late...

I imagined it would be lesser. Maybe I mistook the lead time with the time required to assemble the fighter. I did not account for the time required to form the inventory and make the LRUs.
Do we have a figure for the actual lead time for manufacture of Tejas?

I imagined it would be lesser. Maybe I mistook the lead time with the time required to assemble the fighter. I did not account for the time required to form the inventory and make the LRUs.
Do we have a figure for the actual lead time for manufacture of Tejas?
Yes I believe the actual production time for LCA is 11 months (9 months is the target) and I think I've heard 2-3 years lead-in time for sub-asembly orders from suppliers but I could be wrong.

darshan978

Darth Vader
No, not 16 at the moment.

Line 2 will reach max capacity pa only next year. It's the same 2nd line.

FY 18-19 production planned target is 12.
im still confused few years ago govt. released around 1300 crores for second line! was that sum for just converting hawk line to lca 2nd line??

Shashwat

^^ There are orders for 8 trainers in those 40 orders. There will be 16 single-seat fighters and 4 trainers in both Mk1 squadron. It's just that IOC/FOC of trainers are yet to be ascertained, I think it'll be streamlined once FOC for the single seat is attained.

Don't just blatantly plagiarise BRF..

Acknowledging the manufacturing delay in Parliament on Wednesday, the defence ministry stated: “Out of total 20 IOC aircraft (16 fighters and 4 trainers), 5 fighters have been delivered by HAL to IAF till date. The production of remaining 15 IOC aircraft (11 fighters + 4 trainers) are taken up at HAL.

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...-buy-of-83-tejas-fighters-117122100050_1.html

Rough calulations:

Delivered
FY2017-18 8/9

Expected:
FY 2018-19 12
FY 2019-20 16
--------------------

So you think that Mk1A will not be ready by 2021!?

May I know what made you think like that!?

This is 2018 March. If I am not wrong FOC target is 2018 June.

MK1A is nothing but FOC MK1 with ELTA 2052 radar and external SPJ. (Please correct me if I've missed anything).

The way I see it, we'll still keep producing LCA Mk1 version even after MK1A is ready just because the earlier order of MK1.

tejas warrior

Bhai mein toh apni barat mein tejas mein baith ke jaunga...
safe to hai na? BC ADA mein Mallu aur madrasi engineers walo ki koi wire ya kuch hilega to nai na?

The Chinese media thinks with the integration of advanced AESA radar (RBE 2) ,EW Suits and other proposed modifications, the future versions of Tejas will be "A Single Engine Rafale"!

Don't be exited yet, conditions , when all the proposed modifications are implemented , only then future Tejas will be what can be called a perfect advanced fourth generation aircraft capable to complement Rafales in IAF.

In several interviews or analysis by experts etc many experts have said that Tejas Mk 2 in terms of payload will be something like Mirage-2000 and capability like Gripen.
https://www.facebook.com/pg/TeamINDRA/photos/?ref=page_internal