ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Pictures speaks for themselves ....

=========================================

Fully agreed, don’t think PM will be permitted by SPG but there’s no reason the DM should not fly, it’s diappointing she chose MKI to fly in first. As a symbolic move would’ve been great to fly the LCA first but alas...

In these 12 months LCA would’ve flown:

IAF ACM
SWAC commander

DRDO chief

French AF chief

USAF chief

Singapore DM

what a list! This goes beyond optics, this is a real testament to the maturity of the platform and is only adding more weight to the LCA’s credibility.

She has finally arrived.

Sancho

What bigger endorsement of Tejas and what bigger display display of confidence in the safety and utility of Tejas
"Confidence and safety" doesn't equate to capability and performance. You can do sight seeing flights with as many VIPs as you want, all that counts for orders from IAF or any reasonable export customer, is capability and performance!
That's why achieving FOC is a real key for the Tejas programme and not these PR shows, that mainly pushed by foreigners, to show support to India as a country, or as a potential ally, but not in support of the fighter.

Sancho

US AF chief flew the Tejas as well. I think HAL should throw in the Tejas for the US LIFT trainer program. Would certainly the best in the line up.
Instead of looking at requirements with already available competition, we should try to find a niche for Tejas, or maybe NLCA.
Developing NLCA to a CATOBAR capable trainer, would put it in a unique place, that could get orders from Indian and US navy, especially if we could team up with Boeing.

No.45 Squadron "Flying Daggers". From that video that Ananth Krishna shot, there are 8 pilots and 4 technical officers in the squadron, and none below a Squadron Leader's rank. 3 Squadron Leaders, 4 Wing Commanders and 1 Group Captain comprise the pilot pool, and all with varied experience. MiG-21, Jaguar, MiG-29 and Mirage-2000 pilots, so pilots with experience on a variety of jets. I remember seeing Squadron Leader Kartikeya Singh in another video on MiG-21 operations. @Archer

From Ananth Krishna's Twitter feed. This was a pic of Sqn Ldr Arjun Patel going on his first solo on the Tejas. Below is a quote from one of the pilots, Wing Cmdr Tolani

Tejas is a designer’s marvel. The Test Pilots and the designers have brought in the best of all fleets across the world. It is an intelligent combination of the best systems in the world.

"Confidence and safety" doesn't equate to capability and performance. You can do sight seeing flights with as many VIPs as you want, all that counts for orders from IAF or any reasonable export customer, is capability and performance!
That's why achieving FOC is a real key for the Tejas programme and not these PR shows, that mainly pushed by foreigners, to show support to India as a country, or as a potential ally, but not in support of the fighter.
We are going around in circles here. Confidence and safety is equivalent to capabilities and performance because of the faith in the machine being safe enough and capable enough hat such flights do not cause concern. The amount of checks and re-checks that would have gone in before even one of the VIPs would have stepped in the plane would have been extremely thorough.

FOC will come in due course as it has for most platforms that were inducted by the countries of their origin in a spiralling manner, so to speak. When we inducted Mirage 2000 in 1980s, they came with nary but a gun. Mig 21s in 1960s were even worse.

Tejas MKII is the stepping stone to the development and further maturation of the Indian aerospace ecosystem. IAF is fully happy with the capabilities and performance of the aircraft despite what presstitutes "quoting" "an unnamed senior airforce official" have to say.

Tejas will be inducted into the IAF in increasing numbers and that's the way it should be. Once the infra is established, these initial planes will be replaced by MK1A and MKII and hopefully more iterations.

As the nobel laureate Serge Horche in his recent visit to India said,

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-says-nobel-laureate/articleshow/62762289.cms

"You cannot Make in India if you do not Invent in India."

Neither F-16 nor the Gripen E (FOC in 2026!!!) will help in that way.

Having said that, the system needs to buckle up bit more, ramp up the production and hand down more firm orders and show an outright commitment to AMCA.

patriots

Defense lover
opposition s are questioning govt on Rafael deal ,I don't think more sef..will come
if it will come It would follow that long procedure... .........

this will clear the path for more tejas...

hal should take this as an opportunity..

We are going around in circles here. Confidence and safety is equivalent to capabilities and performance because of the faith in the machine being safe enough and capable enough hat such flights do not cause concern. The amount of checks and re-checks that would have gone in before even one of the VIPs would have stepped in the plane would have been extremely thorough.
Yes true and as there has been not even a single incident reported of any issues while Tejas was in air. The standard/benchmark for any VIP is no greater than any other pilot taking this bird in air. The protocol followed by the defense forces is thorough and does not treat any pilot lesser than any VIP.
FOC will come in due course as it has for most platforms that were inducted by the countries of their origin in a spiralling manner, so to speak. When we inducted Mirage 2000 in 1980s, they came with nary but a gun. Mig 21s in 1960s were even worse.
if that's the scenario when why was Tejas not inducted say 5 years back. Those were foreign birds they don't need FOC to be inducted, only local birds need to. Though you missed Su 30 in the list . when it was inducted initially not no firepower.
Tejas MKII is the stepping stone to the development and further maturation of the Indian aerospace ecosystem. IAF is fully happy with the capabilities and performance of the aircraft despite what presstitutes "quoting" "an unnamed senior airforce official" have to say.
There is no Information official that Tejas MkII has moved ahead leave alone what ever promises are being made. Are the requirements Finalised for MKII? "an unnamed senior airforce official" where there is smoke there is fire. They are not happy or happy does not match up with the numbers and based on the history I know they are gonna keep pushing the finish line until govt gets into their knees and orders Foran Maal
Tejas will be inducted into the IAF in increasing numbers and that's the way it should be. Once the infra is established, these initial planes will be replaced by MK1A and MKII and hopefully more iterations.
I am not very optimistic about this. Tejas MkI then MK1A then MKII. IAF will be pushing to place maximum orders by 2022 so that they can have a decent numbers by 2030 and MKII is not where near and I donot believe even MK1A will be on time. They will go for a Foran aircraft
As the nobel laureate Serge Horche in his recent visit to India said,

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-says-nobel-laureate/articleshow/62762289.cms

"You cannot Make in India if you do not Invent in India."

Neither F-16 nor the Gripen E (FOC in 2026!!!) will help in that way.
Are these Indian? No so they do not need FOC. Foran tag hi kaafi hai
Having said that, the system needs to buckle up bit more, ramp up the production and hand down more firm orders and show an outright commitment to AMCA.
AMCA is another term I have been hearing for a decade now and I do believe it still decade away.
IAF will not be supporting Tejas they will keep pushing and ADA HAL are definitely not doing sufficient to neutralize that.

Questions:
1) In the current version or MK1A (not MKII) will IAF increase orders?
2) Are they actually happy with the firepower and performance? As last I learned the changes suggested in MK1A were also not completely met.
3) Based on HAL ADA history will MK1A or MKII be on time ? even if I put +/- 3 years they wont be meeting that.
4) Current depreciation will bring us into 20's squad in next 5 years apart from Rafale 36 and Tejas MKI how many aircrafts are getting inducted. I have not even taken into account the loss due to incidents.
5) Does IAF has enough cash to Make another big order?

Sorry if I appear to be angry or annoyed. I had stopped writing anything here just came and read but this sorties by VIPs to show case it as potential export really annoyed me. You don't need these sorties you need your IAF to back you up place a good order. Setup INFRA another assembly line fulfill domestic requirements and if bandwidth prevails think of export.

opposition s are questioning govt on Rafael deal ,I don't think more sef..will come
if it will come It would follow that long procedure... .........

this will clear the path for more tejas...

hal should take this as an opportunity..
How will it clear path for more Tejas Please elaborate?

patriots

Defense lover
How will it clear path for more Tejas Please elaborate?
Bhai ....hal will produce 16 aircraft per year from 2019...if we won't go for sef.... definitely iaf will go for more tejas ..as it is necessary to maintain squadron strength and no other options are available........hope we will see tejas mk2 too

Bhai just switch on ur...TV u will see how congress is asking questions......
congress is trying their best ...to remove Bofors stain ......

just take Bofors example...

after Bofors scam ..we were unable to buy artillery from foreign manufacturer s......but army needs artillery

now we have 2 artillery program s
..dhanush..and DRDO atag

this is the case ...and another interesting thing is that in this year defence budget (as its..not a bigger than previous year) no money is allocated for sef (according to brf) also I think so......

Bhai ....hal will produce 16 aircraft per year from 2019...
No chance of them producing 16. Currently they have only IOC on order and I do not see Mk1A ready by 2019. on the other hand FOC is one thing I have stopped hoping will ever be achieved. The line they have has the maximum capacity of 16 per year which does not mean they will deliver that.
if we won't go for sef.... definitely iaf will go for more tejas ..as it is necessary to maintain squadron strength and no other options are available........hope we will see tejas mk2 too
IAF will not place more orders for Tejas. They will delay it till the point no Govt even thinks about asking them to trust HAL ADA. Tejas MK2 I can only laugh. Gimme a timeline you see all this will happen.
Bhai just switch on ur...TV u will see how congress is asking questions......
congress is trying their best ...to remove Bofors stain ......
HAHA politics blame game. Bofors stain can never be removed.

patriots

Defense lover
No chance of them producing 16. Currently they have only IOC on order and I do not see Mk1A ready by 2019. on the other hand FOC is one thing I have stopped hoping will ever be achieved. The line they have has the maximum capacity of 16 per year which does not mean they will deliver that. IAF will not place more orders for Tejas. They will delay it till the point no Govt even thinks about asking them to trust HAL ADA. Tejas MK2 I can only laugh. Gimme a timeline you see all this will happen.
HAHA politics blame game. Bofors stain can never be removed.
Bhai I m not an expert but iaf chief also said that they are hoping to induct mk2 in 2027
again no doubt they have maximum capacity of 16 but now hal is outsourcing parts ...so it is achievable....
and u must not forget that America is also using 4 th generation fighter s as it is cost effective and Russia will only induct some su57
so I see more tejas ... please correct me if I am wrong....

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...r-performer/articleshow/62796155.cms?from=mdr
guys another vilification campaign against tejas started by siting "IAF officials said" who is writer of this article? and see how false info in this article is given....
I won't directly blame IAF as some of the Competitors got their asses burned due to US and French chiefs flying in Tejas.

Paid stooges were asked to write articles criticize Tejas was happening from almost a decade.

These articles mean that Tejas is working fine and giving sleepless nights for it's competitors.

As for IAF, it is praising Tejas for it's ease of maintenance, flight characteristics.

SJha did tweet that the dalals will go into overdrive with the new developments. It is happening indeed.

This is not to say that Tejas is a finished product. Far from it. But we'll never get to the next stage in innovation and development with imported maal.

The ToT thingy turned out to be the biggest flop show ever conceived. All it served to do is increase the price of stuff, while keeping the truly sought after tech, still completely off limits.

SJha did tweet that the dalals will go into overdrive with the new developments. It is happening indeed.

This is not to say that Tejas is a finished product. Far from it. But we'll never get to the next stage in innovation and development with imported maal.

The ToT thingy turned out to be the biggest flop show ever conceived. All it served to do is increase the price of stuff, while keeping the truly sought after tech, still completely off limits.
exactly !

Since the details of ToT are not mentioned clearly in the agreements, also the ToT do not include sensitive technologies.