On updates on indigenous Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas which is now inducted into armed forces, he said DRDO desires to take the total orders to 123 after meeting the placement of an additional 83 aircraft for the Indian Air Force (IAF). The 83 aircraft will see improvements made in avionics and weaponry capability and this include the next version of LCA Mk2.
http://indianexpress.com/article/in...-10-unmanned-aircraft-like-rustom-ii-4386000/While the first 20 LCAs for IAF will go as per the initial operational configuration, all efforts are being made to incorporate other changes mandated for the final operational clearance for the second 20 aircraft.
Dr Christopher said Sri Lanka, Turkmenistan, and Bangladesh were interested in buying Tejas combat aircraft.
http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...-future-uavs-ucavs.28859/page-15#post-1234710In fact, Turkmenistan’s Chief of Air Staff had a hands-on experience flying the Indian military jet to become the second Chief of Air Staff to pilot Tejas. In May, Chief of the Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha, flew Tejas during a 40 minute sortie over Bengaluru and neighbouring areas of Tamil Nadu.
It's a bad idea to sell the series to these countries.
I don't guess pakis have such relations with Bangladesh or Turkmenistan.Paki sleuths will send some pilots to fly them, what is the matter then to upgrade them. We should just call some here to train them on the whole line at TACDE.
Then, let's see, may our political pressure cease it, at least with LCA. Otherwise, government isn't stupid.They do sir, that's the problem.
Sir, I think this discussion on exports is for a later stage. Right now, Order for 83 aircraft has come in. Let us focus on delivering that. By the time we deliver any export order, it will be quite some time later.Then, let's see, may our political pressure cease it, at least with LCA. Otherwise, government isn't stupid.
Not necessarily. It's not our flagship fighter.In principle, we should export 1 level lower than anything our airforce will have
That's will be an ideal case. However I have serious doubts.Once kaveri is certified with Snecma JV IAF cant say no to Mig-29 flying bed request.
A 90 Kn kaveri will be a good candidate for mig-29 engine as well
If govt is serious it could buy these platforms for DRDO / HAL separately.That's will be an ideal case. However I have serious doubts.
Ideally IAF should part with atleast two IL-76 to DRDO; one for conversion into an engine test bed and another as test bed for specialist role aircrafts like Tanker, MPA, ELIENT and AWACS. Needless to say how availability of these test beds will expedite development of said equipments. But do you see it happening?
IAF simply doesn't have a nose for desi.
In case of testing radars I heard a Dornier is being usedThat's will be an ideal case. However I have serious doubts.
Ideally IAF should part with atleast two IL-76 to DRDO; one for conversion into an engine test bed and another as test bed for specialist role aircrafts like Tanker, MPA, ELIENT and AWACS. Needless to say how availability of these test beds will expedite development of said equipments. But do you see it happening?
IAF simply doesn't have a nose for desi.
Of course it can be. But I don't see IAF accepting it untill it matures. Say after having spent some good uneventful hours on a Tejas LSP. That's is why I had said lets ready Kaveri K-10/XX for time when Tejas MK-1A gets due for engine change or MLU.IAF tejas mk1As can easily be reengined with GTRE SNECMA kaveri version,
You shoud note that the present 70 plus Kn wet thrust , 52 kn dry thrust is being derived from non SCB kaveri versions
With production tech for SCBs transferred to HAL by DRML we can expect an uprated kaveri
Of course GOI can but IAF can also. Today almost entire fleet of IL-76s are due for upgradation and sometime later replacement by C-17s. So it is a much better option if IAF chooses for more C-17s and spare equal number of IL-76s for DRDO.If govt is serious it could buy these platforms for DRDO / HAL separately.
Bypassing the IAF.
Dornier 228 is good enough for smaller radars and electronic systems such as jammers etc. It's engine can't provide enough power for testing larger radars like AEW radars. So good development but not enough.In case of testing radars I heard a Dornier is being used
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
AERO INDIA 2021 | Science and Technology | 308 | ||
ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter | Knowledge Repository | 6 | ||
ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter | Indian Air Force | 8939 | ||
P | ADA DRDO and HAL Delays a threat to National Security | Internal Security | 20 |