ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

tejas warrior

DRDO DG (Aero) C P Ramanarayanan said LCA with Kaveri engine might fly in 2018. He said DRDO is already in consultation with Snecma. Already Rs 2,105 crore has been spent on the project. Another Rs 600 crore is likely to be needed for the testing phase.
:shock:

Looking like baseless comments started by DRDO.

Filtercoffee

But the trillion dollar question is

can we produce tejas in numbers to keep up with exports and domestic needs
AF has given firm orders of 80 tejas and suppose if we get order for 20-50 LCA's then
HAL will be doomed as they can produce 4 to maximum 8 every year
No I wouldn't think the Indian Gov is that cruel.

Sent from my 2014818 using Tapatalk

No I wouldn't think the Indian Gov is that cruel.

Sent from my 2014818 using Tapatalk
???
Indian government already is going to ramp the production up from 2019, with 16 Tejas per annum.
How's your Redmi 2 working though ? :biggrin2:
???
Indian government already is going to ramp the production up from 2019, with 16 Tejas per annum.
How's your Redmi 2 working though ? :biggrin2:
Only time will tell..........................................

I seriously doubt, Its Vietnam`s demand that Kaveri should be mated with Tejas or RD-33-3, Not IAF`s ..

The report is probably misquoted, IAF`s specific requirement for GE-414 ..

I seriously doubt, Its Vietnam`s demand that Kaveri should be mated with Tejas or RD-33-3, Not IAF`s ..

RD-33-3 that was never in the picture or was it??
It doesn't seem logical as Vietnam has no way to know if Kaveri would succeed in coming years also ??

IAF might have insisted upon GE engines but in medium term upgrade they can be replaced by improved Kaveri .

republic_roi97

LCA MK1 / MK1A will not have kaveri, 123 cleared Tejas will have GE404, Kaveri is being developed and upgraded for MK2 and would be used in place of GE414.

square

Strategic Issues
I hope we stick with our own design, after flying, training, and manufacturing foreign engines it should be done by GTRE and DRDO only, and without foreign inputs.
as per the report snecma will only help drdo to put a kaveri engine on one of the prototype of tejas and fix gaps in its performance, address safety concerns, certify .
so , by 2018 kaveri will be equivalent to f404 and can be put on tejas mk1....

for enhance thrust equal to f414 for the tejas mk2....drdo has set a timeline till 2025/, that they will do by their own..

republic_roi97

I hope we stick with our own design, after flying, training, and manufacturing foreign engines it should be done by GTRE and DRDO only, and without foreign inputs.
French have reviewed Kaveri and have remarked that it is 75% complete and that they can help India to complete it and start flight testing within 18 months.
They are not going to change the design, they are going to just help DRDO to comolete it and in some sorts, improve it.

But the trillion dollar question is

can we produce tejas in numbers to keep up with exports and domestic needs
AF has given firm orders of 80 tejas and suppose if we get order for 20-50 LCA's then
HAL will be doomed as they can produce 4 to maximum 8 every year
The question is whether we can trust HAL or not. Well if you give orders in volume HAL can churn out products in larger number as evident by SU-30MKI and ALH Dhruv examples. That's how things works. You don't expect HAL to set production capability for 26 Tejas per year and close the line in just 2 years as total numbers ordered so far is just 20+20 (that was before 83 Tejas was formally ordered). And now when HAL has received substantial order the rate of production is gonna get better than present of 4-8. As a matter of fact HAL is working on increasing rate up and beyond 16 per year. Also given the fact that RM has authorized HAL in particular to sell 10 percent of its production capability to export customers in any case, and if required HAL shall set up extra capacity.

I have reasons to believe in Acche Din Aane Wale Hai than not.:biggrin2: