ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Kyubi

I think these are stop-gap measures for Tejas till the indigenous Uttam AESA becomes ready after various field tests. Whichever way leads to faster induction of Tejas in IAF is the right way !! At the same time, it would be better to create obsolesce management department right from the beginning.
My concern is what will be the combat effectiveness of Tejas beyond 2025 era when 5th generation planes of various countries dominate the sky like Chinese JF-31, Japan ATX-D, Korean KF-X, et. al. Even Turkey is developing with their own 5th gen fighter. It is a very precarious situation when we are bringing our 4++ gen plane into our arsenal, our eastern adversary has already got 5th gen plane with them. Now when we start inducting our 5th gen AMCA post 2025, God knows what they would be having...!!
100 aircrafts with Israeli AESA radar ain't a stop gap measure mate.. MK2 is still few yrs away if at all it is still on cards. Haggling with GOI must've led IAF to this deal, earlier they were still playing the tune of more Rafale's but if they are junking Mk2 for the supposed stop-gap deal of 100 SoP 18 fighters then i still feel down the line they will ask for more rafale's. AMCA and FGFA future is still a mystery , all the talk of IAF being fully behind AMCA right from the drawing board stages may be true but looking at IAF's history of procurement's i still feel they will start a co-ordinated effort to paint a forlorn picture of AMCA and F35 will be promoted along with our Lutyen's Media- Retd Air Marshals, Dalals , Govt Bureaucracy.

blue marlin

It helps if members read threads and past discussions.

If we have a circular discussion with the same arguments again and again, then it becomes noise. If members continue to add new information, then the discussion remains interesting and engaging.
going through 500 pages is going to take a long time. and the info may be outdated.

piKacHHu

100 aircrafts with Israeli AESA radar ain't a stop gap measure mate.. MK2 is still few yrs away if at all it is still on cards. Haggling with GOI must've led IAF to this deal, earlier they were still playing the tune of more Rafale's but if they are junking Mk2 for the supposed stop-gap deal of 100 SoP 18 fighters then i still feel down the line they will ask for more rafale's. AMCA and FGFA future is still a mystery , all the talk of IAF being fully behind AMCA right from the drawing board stages may be true but looking at IAF's history of procurement's i still feel they will start a co-ordinated effort to paint a forlorn picture of AMCA and F35 will be promoted along with our Lutyen's Media- Retd Air Marshals, Dalals , Govt Bureaucracy.
In my opinion, HAL should go for Block production (May be they are following it, Experts can throw light on that). Each Block should consist of aircraft equivalent to 2 fighter squadrons. A road map should be laid where the performance enhancement and incremental changes are introduced with each upcoming Block (of course, those must be achievable within the fixed time frame). May be in this way we can introduce various enhancements in the aircraft. My suggestion is to incorporate let say,
Block I: ELTA AESA, with typical Mk1A config
Block II: Uttam AESA, IRST, and higher level of indigenous content
Block III: GTRE turbofan engine,
and so on..

Abhishek Verma

Verma Ji, Chinese JF17 is a 3G figher Plane and Tejas is 4++G. Aur rahi baat Pak & Chinese Media ki, Har hawai apna mithaai dusrey se achha batate hain..
Even our import lobby also tells the same. There are many threads on Tejas available in this forum. You can check them out for your satisfaction.
Thanks dost !! ! Thoda confusion tha , sab details alag alag hai ...

LCA landing gear issue has been solved , currently high taxi trials are going on , supposedly tests are being conducted during night times

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk
What was the issue? Considering the number of test flights that have happened without this, how come it cropped up now?

nitish.sarangi

Dear Senior members, please shed some light on how the tactics for Tejas will be developed in IAF squadron service. I suppose it will be pitted against Su 30s, Migs, Mirages and even Rafale at later point of time to refine its combat strategies and work with its strengths and mitigate the risks associated with its weaknesses.
If IAF develops tactics so solid to counter all these fighters in Indian inventory, I think it will be extremely confident to use Tejas in combat.. What do you guys think?

tejas warrior

I think HAL was supposed to hand over 4 Tejas by this year, any news if they have been produced ?

silicon3

Like @nitish.sarangi asked my question here is simlar . does IAF have a dedicated TOP GUN school where REB Vs BLUE scenario are played out here REd aircraft flying use tactics and flying profile of aircraft the Blues will actually face?.

I understand this type of schools have proved very useful that even CHINA has seen its beneft andestablished one.

Like @nitish.sarangi asked my question here is simlar . does IAF have a dedicated TOP GUN school where REB Vs BLUE scenario are played out here REd aircraft flying use tactics and flying profile of aircraft the Blues will actually face?.

I understand this type of schools have proved very useful that even CHINA has seen its beneft andestablished one.
Now this is the best approach to evaluate when you are pitching your own aircraft. But lets have a look at our inventory of fighter aircraft. We do have Mig-21 which is primarily a interceptor. It has been purchased as an interceptor against the likes of Mirage and F-14s or F-16s. We do have Mirage and Jaguar for reconnaissance and ground attack role and you could add Mig-27 to this lot too. Then comes the Air superiority fighter like Su-30MKI and Mig-29 for air supremacy role.
Now all these do have a different role to play. Mig-21 being an interceptor could not be pitted against a Mig-29. The result is known here. And sending a Su-30 for close ground support role is a devastating idea in itself. So till now having a TOP GUN school would have been an overkill of budget. The lack of same has been compensated by IAF with joint exercises. But yeah, with introduction of Tejas in the lot, India could look upto schools and practices like this and as far as my knowledge goes, something like that is taking place (although I can't be so sure).
When you are purchasing a plane with a specific role in mind, there is no need to arrange classes like these. But when you start pitching your own systems in the lot, then you do need these to evaluate your system and to optimize it.

sathya

Hi ,

Whenever an aircraft type is grounded , can we update it ?
Saves time ?

sathya

Do we know naval tejas will use F414 long back?

In that case why didn't we design naval tejas for F414 from the beginning ?

Or atleast during the 4 years from. Roll out.