ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Kyubi

No news on flight testing since 2 month.https://www.ada.gov.in/ [2983]

I every thing ok with Tejas
Two quartz radome have been despatched by Cobham of which one is already integrated and d other one will arrive by October end , also I believe they postponed the IFRP integration as dey have come across certain glitch. Landing gear problem shud have been solved by now

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

Two quartz radome have been despatched by Cobham of which one is already integrated and d other one will arrive by October end , also I believe they postponed the IFRP integration as dey have come across certain glitch. Landing gear problem shud have been solved by now

Great..
So do we some test result of RADOM after integration test..

Writer calls LCA the worst ever fighter project and that it will be obsolete when it enters service and that JF-17 will be a better fighter than Tejas

The Obama Administration is gearing up to sell eight new Lockheed Martin F-16 Fighting Falcon jets to Pakistan, the New York Times reports. Those jets will add to Pakistan’s fleet of seventy-six existing “Vipers” as the type is colloquially known. Meanwhile, its arch-nemesis India’s air force shrinks by the day as planes age out and squadron are disbanded.

Assuming Pakistan completes the sale, the eight F-16s would help boost that country’s fleet of eighteen existing advanced Block 52+ Vipers. The rest of the Pakistani F-16 fleet consists of modified A-model jets that have been upgraded to Block 15 MLU standard, which bring those aircraft nearly up to the same capability as the newest Block 52+ jets.

Pakistan is also buying more than 150 Pakistan Aeronautical Complex/Chengdu JF-17 Thunder fighters. According to Flight International’s World Air Forces Directory 2015—Pakistan currently has forty-nine of the aircraft in service with 100 more on order. The JF-17 ultimately originates as an extensive redesign of the Chendu F7, which was originally a license-built MiG-21 derivative. Powered by a Russian-made Klimov RD-93—which is a version of the MiG-29’s engine—the JF-17 provides decent capability at low prices. It is likely that the JF-17 will replace Pakistan’s geriatric fleet of Chengdu F-7s, Mirage IIIs and Mirage Vs.

The rest of Pakistan’s fleet is composed of 140 Chinese-made F-7P and F-7PG fighters, which are a Chinese copy of the Mikoyan MiG-21. The aircraft have been upgraded with Italian-built Grifo-Mk-II radars, but are now obsolete. There are also roughly 157 French-built Dassault Mirage IIIs and Mirage Vs in service with the Pakistani air force. But while the F-7 will eventually be replaced by the JF-17, it’s not clear what Pakistan’s intentions are to replace the Mirage fighters.

The bottom line for Pakistan is that while its air force can’t compete with the Indian air force in terms of numbers, it is upgrading its forces and potentially even growing. Meanwhile, India’s air force is shrinking.
[\QUOTE]

http://www.nationalinterest.org/blo...the-slow-painful-death-indias-air-force-14149

Kharavela

Writer calls LCA the worst ever fighter project and that it will be obsolete when it enters service and that JF-17 will be a better fighter than Tejas
When I checked profile of the author, I found this:
"Dave Majumdar is the Defense Editor of The National Interest."
I laughed to the content of my heart. "Defence Editor" :bs:

Abhishek Verma

Though I hate "Undie TV" to the fullest extent possible, but by breaking the news of LCA-Tejas induction, it forced me to read the entire story.
At last, my heart is filled with satisfaction that the dream of every patriot will come true... LCA-Tejas will fly in numbers over the Indian sky...
Thank you #ModiSarkar. :balleballe::india::balleballe:
Great news !! Tejas is equivalent to JF 17 of China , whereas China is going for JF20 and other upgraded versions , We need to quickly develope Tejas II asap.

Abhishek Verma

The India Pak ratio is now down to 1.3:1. It will get worse if we dont act quickly. The SU- 35 is currently the worlds best 4th Gen plus fighter. If we are not getting Rafale in the quantities we needed, we will need a stop gap urgently. China is also going to get SU-35 so lets preempt it.The USA has already supplied Pak with F-16Cs and we need some better fighters and QUICKLY.We should kill the Paki deal before it happens and delay the Chinese deal for SU-35s. The essence now is speed. we cannot afford bureaucratic inertia anymore.

Kharavela

The SU- 35 is currently the worlds best 4th Gen plus fighter.
Some Pak and Chinese media also says that Tejas is a failure , is this true ??
One who doesn't know about his own fighter program is proclaiming Su-35 as best fighter. :blah::blah:
You need to read through this thread to understand Tejas & its implications.

Abhishek Verma

One who doesn't know about his own fighter program is proclaiming Su-35 as best fighter. :blah::blah:
You need to read through this thread to understand Tejas & its implications.
If i said any thing wrong ,, plz correct me ... If u r so "super expert" of everything ...

Kyubi

If i said any thing wrong ,, plz correct me ... If u r so "super expert" of everything ...
It's not about being super expert, it is an honest request to go through this thread thoroughly it might take few days to completely read it. But to get perturbed over PaK and Chinese media's report is just not correct. Bear in Mind PAC Kamra is just 1 such industry . HAL is a mammoth. So do not get perturbed over media

piKacHHu

hat said, if there is a fear, it is the sacrifice they might have to make at a time when almost no one has the courage to say that the Indian-made fighter jet Tejas is a disaster and probably ranks as the worst experiment in modern jet fighter history. The aircraft has over 50 recognised flaws and is already obsolete.

Scrap it.

If we put these women to the test in this aircraft — perish the thought, I shudder to imagine the fallout from that scenario.

Even if we put them in MiG 21s, perish the thought.

Even our Su-30 Flankers number only 200 instead of the slated 272. Six have been lost, with the main suspect being poor trainer aircraft and questionable maintenance.

The Indian Air force has a reputation for having one of the most rigorous training schedules once you graduate to the real thing. That puts immense pressure on the pilots, on the aircraft and the maintenance process.

Ironically, we don’t have the wherewithal for this impractical schedule. We whip the system.

And the governments — whether Congress or BJP — have little concept of how weak our Air Force is. We have only 34 squadrons instead of the required 42, and much of our fleet is beaten to death. The 36 Rafale jets from France is a deal that yo-yos pathetically between yes, maybe, yes, no, yes, no, we will, we won’t until everyone gives up and no one knows what is happening.

All we do know is that our Air Force is behind the curve.

I once asked Serge Dassault why anyone should buy a Rafale at over three times the price of an F16 Block 60 Fighting Falcon of which Pakistan has just received eight from the US. Dassault said quite seriously that it was four times more efficient than the most upgraded Lockheed manufactured fighter ever.

I don’t quite know how true that boast is. In an age when drones are taking over the air battles and delivery systems for missiles have become as high a priority as Patriot-type defence systems, the heroic dogfight imagery is becoming passé.

Conventional wars are not on the agenda. Besides, the upgraded version (the F16 is the poster child for the success of navigating obsolescence) of even the Sukhois and the Gripen has given them a great lease on life. The Gripen, for example, is the only lightweight fighter of the top-line contenders. Boeing's F/A-18E/F, Dassault's Rafale, the Eurofighter Typhoon, Lockheed Martin's F22 and F16 Block 60, Mitsubishi/ Lockheed Martin's F2 and Sukhoi's Su-30/35 all have a maximum takeoff weights (MTOW) in excess of 45,000 lb, with commensurate price tags and maintenance costs.

Meanwhile Pakistan keeps building its frontline strike force. We keep waffling. Are we vulnerable? Most certainly.

Can we keep depending on the skill of pilots while we delay upgrading our fleets? The risk is magnified several fold.

Are we handicapping our pilots? Yes, we are.

Whether for men or women, we need to recreate our Air Force in a 21st century mould... Or face the consequences.

http://www.firstpost.com/india/iaf-...for-our-rickety-old-trainer-jets-2481584.html

Another Master piece article from a self-proclaimed Expert on Aviation technology !!

aero_sp

Some Pak and Chinese media also says that Tejas is a failure , is this true ??
I really don't understand why with same weight and load also same maximum thrust and slightly better internal fuel load, LCA have 400 Km combat redius and JF-17 have 1250 km combat redius.

Did Pakis manage to assemble super efficient engine from Chinese junk yards????

Sent from my SM-G7102 using Tapatalk

I really don't understand why with same weight and load also same maximum thrust and slightly better internal fuel load, LCA have 400 Km combat redius and JF-17 have 1250 km combat redius.

It is not chinese engine but Pakistani keyboard which managed to get 1250 km combat radious out of JF17. They first has to understand what combat range means.

Verma Ji, Chinese JF17 is a 3G figher Plane and Tejas is 4++G. Aur rahi baat Pak & Chinese Media ki, Har hawai apna mithaai dusrey se achha batate hain..
Even our import lobby also tells the same. There are many threads on Tejas available in this forum. You can check them out for your satisfaction.

rohit b3

"Combat Radius" is a very dubious topic.
It depends on what kind of mission is being undertaken. Lo-Lo-Lo Ground attack / Hi-Lo-Hi Ground attack/ Air defence /Offense etc.
Tejas mk1's Radius is stated at 500 kms(not 400) , but its unclear as to what kind of mission they are talking about. With or without Drop tanks?

Now one thing we no for certain is that" The Tejas can fly non stop for over 1700 kms". Im assuming that is on internal fuel and minimum external stores (Ferry range).

On Wikipedia , Tejas's Range is given as 3000 kms. Now obviously that would be with 3 x Drop tanks + Weapons load (possibly 2 x Bombs and 2 x Air to Air missiles)
Logically , the fact that an Aircraft with a range of 1700 kms can go up to over 3000 kms with about 3100 liters of External fuel(2 x 1200 ltrs and 1 x 700 ltrs) completely makes sense.

Now lets verify if our assumption is right.
Lets talk about a comparable sized fighter, the Jas Gripen C variant.
Its stated that the Gripen has a Range of 3200 kms , with drop tanks, - that is clearly mentioned. So with 3 x Drop tanks and weapons load it can cover 3200 kms, comparable to Tejas in a similar configuration.
It has a combat radius of 800 kms again with drop tanks.

Assuming that Tejas's combat radius is 500kms without Drop tanks, if i add 2 x 1200 ltrs drops tanks, it can pretty much be increased to over 650 kms possibly, or even upto 700 kms with the 3rd drop tank.

Though many things are still unclear, this logic somewhat fits in.
However if Tejas's range of 1700 kms and combat radius of 500 kms is with Drop tanks, then the project is doomed.
However that is unlikely.

Talking about JF-17, Pakis are known to give bogus info. I remember at the Paris Air show,how a Paki pilot was saying that its Power To Weight Ratio is over 1, whereas its 0.95.
He was also saying that JF-17 could be a replacement for Mig29s as a future fighter. Lol, i cracked up there.