ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Ripples

Its a silly thing to watch that people out here keep talking a lot about physics while never show a single mathematical proof of any kind in support to their conjectures. Fluid mechanics is a specialized branch of physics and much more complicated than bachelor level understanding of the subject.There is no damn meaning in talking about physics and its laws without mentioning them clearly. Clearly state which law of physics is broken by what conjecture that you think makes the conjecture impossible.
@ p2prada
When you are making a claim regarding a parameter say "wing loading" you must substantiate it with meaningful mathematics. Please do it and let us have a look at it otherwise there will be no much difference left in the quality of posting between PDF & IDF .

@All 1.Even now a number of single engine jets are in production. Some of them are even being inducted by our enemies (including those who are superior to us therefore LCA is inferior and not worthy of induction is no obvious thing. Even if this claim is true it will need proper reasoning to prove it with citations. Just head shaking,how ever wise does not prove a thing. DRDO until recently was mostly filled with 2nd/3rd class class brains but things are changing with the increasing salary and saturation in Europe and USA. Particularly projects like LCA can not go in vain due to their intrinsic nature and vast scale.Better brains, if given a chance may find out excellent solutions to the existing problems.

Re: Mig 29 AESA upgrade for IAF on the way:Jane's

first buy things from other countries ( spend huge money ) then spend more money for upgradation

dont you think we should just and only just look for our lca

forget all thing only work on lca version and advance drone.

Indian Government never have taken National Defense Industry seriously, It is well shown in the budget allocated every year for National Defense Industry for research and development and the way they take care of Internal affairs within these systems.

Right now our system depend heavily on Foreign supplies and tech, And to survive one need to update them..

Indian Government never have taken National Defense Industry seriously, It is well shown in the budget allocated every year for National Defense Industry for research and development and the way they take care of Internal affairs within these systems.

Right now our system depend heavily on Foreign supplies and tech, And to survive one need to update them..

well its so easy to blame other dont you think our force is equally responsible for that

There is school, there is principal, there are teachers and there are Students..

Whom you are referring to..

well its so easy to blame other dont you think our force is equally responsible for that

There is school, there is principal, there are teachers and there are Students..

Whom you are referring to..
few peoples think and say we are equal but we cant be equal .

our officer , plotician,babus made very good money in the corruption.

do you think lca delay is real brother its just because they want to make money ,drdo blaming airforce , air force blaming drdo

You didn't answer the question..

Defcon 1

LCA is better in many aspects compare to Most - Most so call forth-gen fighters..

1. Low operating cost

2. Low maintenance cost

3. Its performance in Leh is impressive where most other 4.5gen fighter failed, Credit goes to design and Engines..

4. LCA is lot stealthy coz of its most of airframe made of composite and further it is coated with special material to absorb and deflect radar waves, Its turbine blades are also hidden..

5. Radar and avionics is same as other most 4th gen fighters..
LCA's radar range is very less. Stealth will not play a vital role in combat so it isn't worth talking about it. Rest of your points are not related to aircraft capability.

Its "made in India" !!!! you got it? The Russians are sucking us, the English have done it and hope the French will start soon. I am fully with sakthivel and I understand his anguish and angst!!!
I was talking only about the capability of the aircraft.

For the point defence roles it can do as well as grippen or j-10 or f-16 according to it's design specs.
Please post what are the advantages held by other single egined 4th gens that cant be had on lca mk-II
When did I talk about MKII? First read my post properly before replying.

The AESA for LCA mk 2 will take time

Today there is a news that it will take 3 more years then there will be trials

So it is quite likely that GE 414 will be used and same ELTA 2032 MMR will be used initially
in the LCA mk 2

We can wait for AESA the most important thing is the GE 414

As per US generation terminology :
Aircraft classified by the United States government as fourth-generation jet fighters are those in service approximately from 1980 to 2010, representing the design concepts of the 1970s.
What capablity you are refering to ? So that my answer will be more to the point..

LCA's radar range is very less. Stealth will not play a vital role in combat so it isn't worth talking about it. Rest of your points are not related to aircraft capability..
LCA radar can track up to 150kms, 300kms for Naval targets its very good for such a gen fighter..

And Stealth is important in combat for locking and engaging targets, Its very valuable, If no why so ?

Defcon 1

As per US generation terminology :

What capablity you are refering to ? So that my answer will be more to the point..

LCA radar can track up to 150kms, 300kms for Naval targets its very good for such a gen fighter..

And Stealth is important in combat for locking and engaging targets, Its very valuable, If no why so ?
I meant combat capability of the aircraft. Not things like maintenance cost and operational cost.

300km is good. 150 tracking range not so good. Compare with MKI and you will understand what I mean. We need to understand that MKIs will start going out service starting 2030 or even before. Tejas will stay with us till 2060.

A low RCS would basically reduce the distance from the aircraft can be detected. If the radar of the aircraft itself not good enough, such low detection range wouldn't do it much good.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
I meant combat capability of the aircraft. Not things like maintenance cost and operational cost.

300km is good. 150 tracking range not so good. Compare with MKI and you will understand what I mean. We need to understand that MKIs will start going out service starting 2030 or even before. Tejas will stay with us till 2060.

A low RCS would basically reduce the distance from the aircraft can be detected. If the radar of the aircraft itself not good enough, such low detection range wouldn't do it much good.
Incidently the rafale's tracking range is about 150 kms only.If you ask the french why is this? They smile and reply that there is no use in shining the torch much farther than you can see

What they mean is most bvrs are effective only within 150 km range.The tracking radar waves of any RADAR travels twice the the tracking distance if it doesn't hit on the enemy fighter. SO an enemy fighter 300 km away will identify the RAFALE's radar 300 kms before he becomes a target on the RAFALE's MFD. That is enough warning to him to take counter measures to evade .

But this inconvienience should be bourne by RAFALE bacause for RAFALE radar to obtain a BVR lock at 150 km it has to send a signal with twice the strength and they will travel 300 km for sure.

The RAFALE makers say if we extend the tracking range to 250 km .The rafale will be seen before 500 km from the enemy. Even if the rafale sees enemy fighter at 200 km , there is no point in it,because if you fire a BVR at 250 km range against modern fighters the chances of the BVR shot succeding is next to nill,because for evasive action taking fighters equiped with radar warning recievers and missile approach warning systems the effective kill range of 200 km BVR shrinks to just 50.
So the french say there is no practical use in mounting power guzzling ,position advertising big radars in modern fighters,

Because there are separate AWACS and EW crafts with long range radars for the purpose. The job of RAFALE is to fly DISCREETLY in front of them .That's why they call their RAFALE as DISCREET STEALTH. The IAF chose RAFALE over 300 km RADAR range EUROFIGHTER is testimony to this fact.

SO if a sukhoi tracks a target at 350 km ,bear in mind it will be found 700 km away by the enemy fighters flying in radio silent mode.Not a comforting thought for a SUKHOI PILOT.
Incidently the LCA too will have about the same 150 tracking range.
RADAR is a double edged sword.
With modern ESM equiped fighters enemy's radar signal will provide a BVR lock to their misslies even if they remain radio silent.SUch is the level of technology today.
So please dont equate higher RADAR range with superior performance as it doesn't easily translate into that way.

SU-30MKI is not a 4th gen fighter but a 4.5gen, MKI is a heavy fighter also..

More than 150km is scan also track so does 300km for naval targets..

Bars in MKI can scan 400km but track in interception mode is 140km..

Defcon 1

SU-30MKI is not a 4th gen fighter but a 4.5gen, MKI is a heavy fighter also..

More than 150km is scan also track so does 300km for naval targets..

Bars in MKI can scan 400km but track in interception mode is 140km..
4th gen or 4.5 gen, it came before Tejas and will retire before it. MKI being a heavy fighter is no excuse. IAF cannot have a light fighter reservation quota. Do not get me wrong. I am not one of detractors of Tejas. My point is just that we should stop lying to ourselves. Tejas is not being inducted because it is a great aircraft. Tejas is being inducted because its Indian, its cheap and most importantly, unlike Rafale, there is no gap of 8 years between request of procurement and actual induction.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
Not to me. Any wrong information can be corrected. Any wrong information which the person does not want to correct and continues claiming even more outrageous,

Your thoughts are only based on one simple psychological trait, you want him to be right and me wrong. It does not matter if his claims defy physics or aerodynamic laws. Anything is fine as long as you keep believing his nonsense.

If that is so, then let us get some facts straight.

1) AWACS will provide BVR locks. False. The example I gave in Rahul Singh's post shows that. The AWACS could see the target but the F-16s had to struggle to find the Mig that was only 35 miles away. Mig as we know can be a -29, 27, 21 or 23. All 4 aircraft have a very large RCS even when clean let alone with weapons. LCA's radar = F-16s radar, fact. In a combat environment the airspace to be searched is very large, a small fighter's radar is useless when up against 5th generation aircraft. It does not matter what you put in that small radar, it is still a small radar. Physics laws cannot be defied.

Meteor - Beyond Visual Range Air to Air Missile (BVRAAM)

A single fighter, equipped with an operational load of BVRAAM missiles, has the potential to destroy even the most maneuvrable of fighters well before they reach combat range, and simultaneously engage bombers at long range. Targets are prioritised prior to launch, and the missiles are fired towards the predicted interception points. Meanwhile target information can be updated, via the data-link, throughout the initial flight - either from the launch aircraft or from a third party such as AWACs. Tactical information on the missile can also be received by the controlling aircraft. At the appropriate time, BVRAAM's active radar seeker autonomously searches for and locks onto the target. The missile is now fully autonomous, making its own decisions to home in on the target, despite any evasive manoeuvres, or decoys or sophisticated electronic countermeasures.
SO IT FINALLY NAILS YOUR STATEMENT THAT AWACS CANNOT PROVIDE BVR LOCKS TO MISSILE.THE SOURCE IS AS AUTHENTIC AS IT CAN GET.Not your funny flight global 2009 piece by AUSTIN from where most of your dubious specs on LCA comes.
Flying Magazine - Google Books

Read page 69, you will understand how difficult it is to get radar lock or even detection on large RCS aircraft like Migs, let alone small RCS aircraft like F-22.

2) LCA was designed as a fighter meant to be between a Mig-21 and a Mirage-2000. A very very very very very proven fact. When the ACM said the LCA was a Mig-21++ aircraft, he wasn't joking. He was being serious. It was only in 2009 that LCA was elevated to air superiority status and a new Mirage-2000 equivalent ASR was handed over. This is for the LCA Mk2, not LCA Mk1. Indisputable fact.

That is as usual from your deep reading of AUSTIN's epic spurious article.A very very proven lieIThen why his geniuos self ACM naik did mumbo jumbo later and retracted his statement with a quote that once LCAA gets FOC it will be as good as any 4th gen?Any source for this new ASR? or as usual we all have to believe your words.
You once said iin this forum that one F-22 can fire the BVR and another F-22 can guide it. Now saying that only BVr firing LCA should guide it's missile.WHich of your two statements are true? The LCA even within the partial flight envelope exceeds mirages performance with just 83 kn engine.Just think about where it will be when it gets 92 kn engine for serial production MK-I and 100 kn fro MK-II
3) IRST that will provide locks for missiles. This is the most outrageous claim he made. This crosses Zaid Hamid's claim of landing on the moon. Why? Because I know the limitations of IRST.

Ok. Let me explain in such a way that a layman can understand. Take a human eye(which works like IRST but in the visual spectrum). Now tell me what you can determine using the eye. Can you accurately provide the distance between two objects down to the last cm? If there is a bird flying in the sky, can you tell me the exact altitude, angle and speed of the bird with respect to your position? Can you provide consistent vision even if the object is blocked by a wall or a cloud? Now, you see the limitations of IRST. Radar can do all the above, the human eye or IRST cannot.

Now do you find his claim outrageous?

can you please enlighten the forum about the seeker tech of IRST MICA missile on the mirage and RAFALE and can you also explain the rationale behind the term dual seeker missiles.Then why are the RUSSIANs mounting IRST payload on the PAKFA? So are you condradicting the STATEMENT OF DR CARLO KOPP when he says the IRST technology can provide depedable BVR locks in ALL WEATHER situations within 4o kms range and it will improve further with evolution.

Are you also saying that modern infra red imaging seekers caan store a cctv type of heat signature map of the target and no amount of flares are flying into the sun will help? and I suppose no one is going to build a great wall of china on the air.
4) UCAV will carry IRST to provide seeker capability to LCA. This crosses beyond Zaid Hamid's random claims. No one in their right mind will even do it. IRST on UCAVs are meant for only one thing. Finding targets on the ground for a good pounding, nothing else.

Then what will be the passive tracking technology of the stealth UCAVs of the future, can you post any decent quality link to substantiate your claim that no future stealth UCAVs will carry IRST payloads.If an IRST on UCAV which can detect a tank 15 km away will shut it eyes if it finds a jet blast of 5th gen fighter 60 km away?INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hell, I have even forgotten what claims he has made to date. It is beyond funny. So, I am only posting about the claims I remember he made.

5) LCA with low wing loading will beat any aircraft in the sky!

:dude: :facepalm:

This is another point that goes beyond How can an aircraft that is only a Mirage-2000 equivalent beat aircraft which are claimed to be far superior to the Mirage-2000, namely Rafale, EF-2000, F-22, F-35, Su-30, Su-35, PAKFA and Gripen. This is considering I am talking about Mk2 and not Mk1.

Yeah, even F-35 is superior to the LCA. As an example we know that the F-16 has a very high T/W ratio and hence a lot of thrust. During exercises F-35 pilots could accelerate using dry thrust so fast that chase F-16s had to use After Burner in order to keep up. LCA is not expected to have a thrust capability that is even remotely close to the F-16.
So you are ultimately discrediting all the basic aeordynamic facts that the agility of an aircraft is a combination of it's
1.TWR
2.WING LOADING.
3.AOA.
I have already posted a detailed piece regarding this .I will post more in the future.So for a change you can learn something basic and useful from this forum instead of quoting spurious claims by AUSTIN of FLIGHT global,which I have shreddde into pieces in my previous posts. Of course your majesty wouldnt have read it and as usual maintain radio silence.
So, no chance. The heavier aircraft have far too many lifting surfaces for the LCA to match it let alone exceed it. He is hung up on only one point, that of wing loading forgetting that the FCS limited capabilities of the above aircraft far exceed the non-FCS limited capabilities of LCA. LCA Mk1 won't do beyond 30 or 35deg in AoA without FCS limitations while Rafale can reach 100 deg, 35 deg with FCS limitations. Beyond that the Rafale will have much superior corner speeds and vertical speed capability compared to LCA, even LCA Mk2. LCA in a dog fight with aircraft claimed to be 4.5th gen and above will be eaten alive.

At these fancy 100 degrees the RAFALE pilot will be grappling his controls to stop the aircraft from stalling and going into spin. AS usual you will never state it. For your info LCA will remain controlable even beyond 35 degree ,I will post links in the comming posts.The SU-35 is much more capable than canard sukhois.But you will never admit it.
6) Aircraft like MKI can provide targeting coordinates to LCA. While it is true that the MKI can do that with the right upgrade, which it currently does not have, it is also true that doing this will degrade the capability of the MKI. Pilots work as a team with other pilots flying similar aircraft. MKIs, or any other aircraft, fly in formations of 2, 4, 6 and 8. They practice these formations day in and day out with each other. During this, there is no LCA or Rafale involved, these actually come in DACT, which are much rarer. So, all the time spent flying is done with aircraft of a similar type, so all MKIs only. Now in a high threat scenario the squadron leader will need to lead his team with very high precision. If you bring in LCAs, an aircraft he is not familiar with along with the pilot, he is going to have problems deciding where to employ the LCA. Considering LCA's inferior endurance and missile load, it is obvious the MKI commander will use the aircraft under his command to do the needful, that is taking out enemy aircraft.
Once again you are posting your wishes here,PILOts TRAIN FOR YEARS HONIG GROUP OPERATIONS NOT TO DEGRADE THEIR ABILITY. tHE SUKHOI PILOT DOESNOT HAVE TO DIAL A LAND LINE TO LCA PILOT.The datalink will give this BVR lock to LCA even without the sukhoi pilot is aware of,of course you are asoftware dummy to not even realize this.
There is only one place where MKIs work in tandem with LCAs(or Mig-21s) and that's during escort. But the MKIs do not provide targeting information to LCAs during the time. What the MKIs do is play their own game while the LCAs are escorting strike aircraft like Mig-27s and Jags. When the opportunity presents itself the LCAs break formation, merge with enemy aircraft that are fighting MKIs and fire their BVRs using the missiles seeker to obtain radar locks at 10 odd Km. During CI-2004, this is how Mig-21s were used against F-15s.

A direct engagement with an aircraft like F-15 is near certain death for the LCA. Exercises don't count because they mostly come with scripts or inconvenient RoEs that inhibit the advantages of superior aircraft to level the playing field. Always happened.
In apoint defence role the bomb truck called F-15 with higer RCs will fly right into the BVr range of LCA group with ew and AWACs .It is not a james bond movie so that one man destroys the entire submarine at sea like die another day plot. You will never lear that you are parroting false scenarios,totally forgetting LCA 's primary purpose is point defence.BTW it will be the LCA with lesser RCs which will fire the BVr first. How will F-15 escape with it's full combat load.You know no bigger radar can detect an LCA before 120 kms.
7) LCA will carry long range AAMs. Well, for starters he does not know the difference between short, medium and long range missiles. While I claimed MKIs will take out AWACs using 300-400Km K-100s, he assumes LCA can also do the same while receiving targeting info from AWACS,( :dude: ), which was countered and killed. Beyond that, as I have repeated many times before, LCA will only carry missiles that it can use based on radar limitations. LCA can detect small aircraft at over 100Km nearing 150Km. Tracking while scan may happen at 70-100Km depending on the aircraft. Radar locks will happen at ranges of 40 or 50Km, which is why the LCA is designed to carry 70Km missile like Astra Mk1 or the 50Km Derby.
A pylon rate d for the weight of the missile will cary the BVr.NOT p2 prada or sakthivel flyikg along with LCA.Once again you will deny long rage BVrs to LCA.CAn you also claim that GRIPPEN with a smaller RADOM dia won't carry METEOR.BUT the SAAB says exactly the opposite.Who is right you are SAAB or AUTIN from flight global..
8) LCA has low RCS. This statement is a Zaid Hamid equivalent claim. LCA does not have "low" RCS, it merely has "lower" RCS than older aircraft. Give it weapons and RCS will increase by 10 to 100 times. So, a 0.3m[SUP]2[/SUP] figure would become 3m[SUP]2[/SUP] to 30m[SUP]2[/SUP] depending on what's carried, drop tanks, missiles, bombs, pods etc. I am being very modest, in reality the figures would be even larger. For a fighter aircraft, RCS figures with external weapons is anywhere between 10m[SUP]2[/SUP] and 100m[SUP]2[/SUP]. RCS figure for bombers, AWACS etc are 1000m[SUP]2[/SUP].

So, these are the 8 points I remember he claimed and all of them are wrong. So, remove AWACS, IRST, dog fight, long range AAM, MKI for seeking and low RCS as none of these are advantages for LCA.

So, what do we have left? Nothing. That's the point.

You dont have any thing truly left that I can always understand posting bizarre claims with next to nothin source.

Some terminologies are wrongly used here,

LCA's detection range is in the 100-150Km bracket. Tracking is in the 70-100Km bracket.

MKI's detection range is in the 180-250Km bracket. Next upgrade will push it in the 300-400Km bracket. Tracking range is in the 130-200Km bracket. Next upgrade will see it being pushed to ~250Km bracket.

Ships are extremely large targets, not an equivalent value for comparison. That's because of the curvature of the Earth where ranges beyond 400Km are impossible without over the horizon capability. Hypothetically, MKI's radar, or Su-35s radar, will be able to detect ships at 1000Km+ if the Earth was flat.

Aircraft like Mirage-2000, LCA, F-16 need to be supported by AEWCS in order to equal MKIs detection capabilities.

@ p2prada
When you are making a claim regarding a parameter say "wing loading" you must substantiate it with meaningful mathematics. Please do it and let us have a look at it otherwise there will be no much difference left in the quality of posting between PDF & IDF .
Easy to say, difficult or impossible to bring in numbers over the internet. Especially military hardware.

There are people here who are desperately trying to prove that the LCA will kill aircraft like J-20, PAKFA and F-22 simply because there is AWACS support. Math will not help here when even simple common sense is missing.

LM, HAL, Sukhoi and Chengdu are fools for spending Billions on heavy fighters after all.

@All 1.Even now a number of single engine jets are in production. Some of them are even being inducted by our enemies (including those who are superior to us therefore LCA is inferior and not worthy of induction is no obvious thing.
The only equivalents to the LCA Mk1 are the old American F-5, Soviet union Mig-33. LCA Mk2s equivalents are F-16, Mirage-2000, J-10 and Gripen. There are a few others but don't need to be named due to its insignificance in their own forces.

Nobody is inducting small single engine aircraft. Even J-10 is more in the F-16 B-52 category with an empty weight of 8.8 tons and fuel load of ~3.3 tons.

F-35 may be single engined, but it is bigger and more powerful than both Rafale and EF-2000. So, it is in a different category.

China is the only odd one out. But they have 250+ now. That was the plan for IAF too. Get LCA in the force by 2006 as compared to J-10s 2006 induction. It made sense then, now it is just a waste of time considering first proper induction of a fully combat capable LCA is only in 2020. By then, China may end up starting to replace J-10s with a new fifth gen aircraft.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
Some terminologies are wrongly used here,

LCA's detection range is in the 100-150Km bracket. Tracking is in the 70-100Km bracket.

MKI's detection range is in the 180-250Km bracket. Next upgrade will push it in the 300-400Km bracket. Tracking range is in the 130-200Km bracket. Next upgrade will see it being pushed to ~250Km bracket.

Ships are extremely large targets, not an equivalent value for comparison. That's because of the curvature of the Earth where ranges beyond 400Km are impossible without over the horizon capability. Hypothetically, MKI's radar, or Su-35s radar, will be able to detect ships at 1000Km+ if the Earth was flat.

Aircraft like Mirage-2000, LCA, F-16 need to be supported by AEWCS in order to equal MKIs detection capabilities.
So you have alreday determined the LCA mk_II's asea radar's tracking range.Please give us some source.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
Easy to say, difficult or impossible to bring in numbers over the internet. Especially military hardware.

There are people here who are desperately trying to prove that the LCA will kill aircraft like J-20, PAKFA and F-22 simply because there is AWACS support. Math will not help here when even simple common sense is missing.

LM, HAL, Sukhoi and Chengdu are fools for spending Billions on heavy fighters after all.

The only equivalents to the LCA Mk1 are the old American F-5, Soviet union Mig-33. LCA Mk2s equivalents are F-16, Mirage-2000, J-10 and Gripen. There are a few others but don't need to be named due to its insignificance in their own forces.

Nobody is inducting small single engine aircraft. Even J-10 is more in the F-16 B-52 category with an empty weight of 8.8 tons and fuel load of ~3.3 tons.

F-35 may be single engined, but it is bigger and more powerful than both Rafale and EF-2000. So, it is in a different category.

China is the only odd one out. But they have 250+ now. That was the plan for IAF too. Get LCA in the force by 2006 as compared to J-10s 2006 induction. It made sense then, now it is just a waste of time considering first proper induction of a fully combat capable LCA is only in 2020. By then, China may end up starting to replace J-10s with a new fifth gen aircraft.
Because no one teaches the importance of wing loading in pamphlets dished out by manufacturers.

You can take your time google around and if you find any thing remotely interesting you can oblige the forum.BTW I will give detailed postings later on the topic.If you have any doubt please ask the four super duper twin engined MMRCA contenders who failed the IAF specs in the himalayan heights of LEH.

YOUR super duper F-18s and F-16s and J-10s can have a good STR at gound leve airshows but it doesnt matter a shit in high himalayan theater of combat.Where the lower wing loading cranked delta will excell..(no one knows the LCA's at this point.But the cranked delta and lower wing loding will help it to match them .But since you dont know wing loading what is the point in discussing it.)

but they can barely be agile with any decent loads in himalayan heights,where LCA's wing loading will allow it to excell ofcourse FLIGHT GLOBAL AUSTIN and you are blithely ignorant of this fact with a purpose ofcourse,i.e not to concede superiority of LCA design even in one are.for starters it determine the agility in vertical plane, not for climbing like a rocket in a perpendicular straight line, but do usefull combat maneuvers with meaningful load