A Letter to the Prime Minister

Sabir

Where is the letter?

Friends, it is to be written by all of you. Every day we are discussing here how to protect our nation from the enemies. But what about those invisible enemies which are living among us (may be within us) and eating our beautiful country from inside. It is different what world thinks about us- a leader in IT, a future super power or building blocks of some other nation...No, it is about how we see our country...what we want our country to be like. And deciding how to go ahead for that.

Do you want us kill each other by name of religion or cast...do you want criminals do be in the Assembly to decide the future of country....Do you want to see our people living (or dieing while still surviving) on roads without basic needs...Do you want to see your country to be a center of sex-trafficking.......You want to see progress of our country to be stopped because of corruption and work culture...

Please come out if you want to bring the change and write what changes you want to see......

I propose to keep this thread open for two weeks. We will sum up the posts and give a deputation to the prime minister. May be nothing will happen but somewhere you have to start, sorry, we have to start. It is two week. You have to act fast. After all it is matter of our motherland.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
I have a Suggestion, We should not let any person with Criminal Cases against them from contesting elections. We have laws against this, but something more powerful should be brought forward. We have Leaders fighting elections from behind bars after commiting huge scams and being involved in Murders.

Another thing is that, Religion should be completely kept out of Elections. No Religious symbols or anything of that sort should not be displayed during elections, and Politicians giving Hate speeches and whipping up emotions should be debarred immediately.

first of all parties should give up their parties based on religion ,caste etc and think as guardians of indian,people should ignore parties with religion name and people should not fall prey to it,then people with criminal case against them should not be allowed to contest is a good idea but still our politicians may misuse like imposing pota on opposition leaders etc so we need to check his criminal records keenly before barring him from elections,we can impose heavy fines on companies which delays infra projects and we need to refine our strategies in both foreign policy and defence

Member of The Month SEPTEMBER 2009
Will India truly be effective as a global power in the 21st century when so much of our administration does not function?The ever present red-tape ,absence of accountability,an antiquated criminal justice system that can actually favour the corrupt offenders,politicians who don't give one hoot after elections but go on self-pleasing spending sprees.
To be able to address the internal challenges we must be ready to take drastic changes in the administration itself like increasing transparency,downsizing the adminstration to increase efficiency,increasing accountability,stronger anti-corruption laws, strengthening income tax laws to tackle 'black money'.
The administration needs to be reworked to address deficiencies and grievances by restructuring the system to provide effective governance and effective enforcement.

NSG_Blackcats

Member of The Month OCTOBER 2009
Dear Prime Minister,

From the day we started learning and started feeling proud of being an Indian we were always told India is a sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic. Now my question is we have so many riots in India why there is no conviction till date? It is 25 years since the heart breaking anti-Sikh riot on the national capital of India. But till date no conviction and the victims of the riot is still to be compensated. Now Gujarat riot is a national shame for all of us. It has been 7 years since the riot and no conviction. When our governments will stop appointing these commissions after each riot? We all know these commissions have no power. They will only submit its report to the government. The government can accept the report or reject it. We have a commission called Librahan Commision which is looking at the Barbri Masjid demolition case for last 17 years and yet to submit its full report. So why don’t setup a fast track court for these types of crimes with a 3 or 5 judge bench? The fast tract court must have daily hearing. The convicts should only be allowed to appeal in the Supreme Court. These riots are putting a big question mark on our secular credentials.

Now I want to bring to your notice some serious issues about land reforms in this country. As we all know 70% of Indian population lives on agriculture. We have some individuals holding on to 500/600 acres of land on the other hand we have a huge population without their own cultivable land. Some states have passed laws that a single person cannot hold more than 25 acres of land. But is the law being implemented on ground level? I do not know whether it is a state subject or not. If it is a state subject than please call a meeting of all the state chief ministers and ask them to pass a new law where each family will not be allowed to hold on to more than 10 acres of land. The central government should fund a project to make computerized registration of land owned by individuals. So that it can be cross checked.

I will try to bring to your notice some other issues in my next letter.

Pintu

Thanks to Sabir, to start a very nice thread to highlight the problem we are facing today and to lay before the cause of the roots of the problem before The Hon'ble Prime Minister, Union of India.

First I am to state that I fully agree with Ahmedji, we have the law barring the criminal contesting in the election , but more powers must be given to the law , by strengthening it and barring the person having criminal record having against him or her , forever from election, also religion shall be kept out from the election process, I fully agree with Ahmedji.

Sabir

Dear Sir,

Has anyone told you about the kid who was punished in his school as he could not tell the name of Indian Prime Minister. The poor kid thought the local goon Bablu was the Prime Minister. Because, it is he who rules the whole area where the kid lives. You can’t move even a stone without his permission. If you run a business or shop or a small factory you must have to pay weekly protection money (they say it ‘hapta’) to Bablu. If you want to buy or sell a property you have to pay “Gunda Tax” first. Else forget about occupying your own property. If anyone dares to protest you will definitely find him one day lying cold in a dark lane with few bullet marks in body. Don’t go to police to complain as Bablu regularly sent a part of his ‘Tax’ to police station. Don’t try to notify the politicians about it. It was Bablu who campaigned for local MLA in last election and made sure the suspected voters can’t cast vote. Yes, it is a evil triangle of goons, local politicians and corrupt policemen which is running ( a parallel) law and order not you and your highly educated policy makers. There is no end of this story. These goons target local youths and school dropouts (aged about 15-16) to expand their gang. So even if some teenagers stone your glass window don’t make fuss, if they tease your sister or daughter just keep your mouth shut. Because you don’t know they have there god father to back them.

Sir, we read in books that we are members of largest democracy in world and nobody can takes our right away from us. Can not you make it true in reality asking your department to crack-down on these axes of evils which are running autocracy within our so called democracy. If you think it is too tough to do then of course you can do the simple thing. Just pass the resolution that no school teacher should punish a kid if he/she fails to remember the name of Prime Minister.

NSG_Blackcats

Dear Prime Minister,

I want to bring to your notice a very important issue about reform of state police forces. I know Law and order is a state subject so center can not intervene much. But I will request you to take initiative for reforming state police force in consultation with various state governments. Each and every political party in India is misusing Police force to gain political mileage. Whenever there is a change of guard at the highest political level in different states, we see a huge number of transfers of top police officials being carried out. It hampers the investigation in lot of cases. These transfers are carried out to serve the political interest of the party in Power.

The Indian Police Act is some 145 years old. On September 2006 the Supreme Court of India, in a historical judgment had ordered to reform existing criminal justice system to establish better rule of law in the country. The bench of Chief Justice Y.K. Sabharwal, Justice C.K. Thakker and Justice P.K. Balasubramanyan ordered to implement the Basing the order on the recommendations of the National Police Commission (1977) recommendations. We are in 2009. I am afraid not much has been done till now.

We frequently come across instances of rampant misuse of power by the police officers. Our print and electronic media have highlighted custodial deaths many times. Police brutality is not new in this country. Everyone knows how our state police force armed to face situations like 26/11. So I am requesting you kindly give a thought to my bellow given points.

•The station in charge must be held accountable for any unnatural custodial death. Now to check whether the death is unnatural or not, the help of a team of 3 medical professional outside the district must be taken. The station in charge must be suspended from service immediately. Every state must have a 5 member inquiry committee headed by a retired High Court Judge. They must have all to powers to prosecute the station in charge. If the station in charge is convicted he should only be given a chance to appeal in the Supreme Court.

•A law must be passed by all the state government for fix tenure (4 /5 years) of Police officers in a particular location. The police officer can only be transferred from that area if some grave charges are leveled against him. The Police officers must be transferred only after the charges against him/her are found true. The police officer can be tried in the same committee that looks after custodial death.

•An expert committee of army and paramilitary force should be formed. They should prepare the training methods of state police force. The Police force must be provided sophisticated weapons and armored vehicles with immediate effect.

•Motivation is a very important aspect of police force. So we need to bring much needed transparency in promotion of Police officers. Performance must be given priority (not age or number of years in service) while promoting officers.

•Police officers working in Naxal affected areas must be compensated financially.

•Police brutality must not be tolerated. Any officers found in these crimes must be suspended immediately and legal action should be taken against him.

regards

problems aplenty, for solutions we look to you Mr Prime Minister.

1 sir, please stop dividing the country in the name of caste, tribe, religion, region, say NO to all sorts of quotas, and please now stop dividing the country in the name of gender! make excellence a criteria as our HRD minister so keenly likes to boast, if anything, its the poor who needs your help who has no caste, religion, tribe, gender, region!
2 sir, make way for technocrats wherever possible, do away with excess bureaucracy, you are creating a blockage to country's progress yourself.
3 sir, why does it take ages for a file to move from one table to another in a govt deptt, STOP corruption, its eating us through, mere lip service wont help.
4 sir, make development, education, health, job creation, social security, your election campaigns!
5 sir, what is the government doing with running of hotels, chemical plants, airlines, etc, is that what a government is for?
6 sir, give girl child a life and a tomorrow!
7 sir, why do we wait for a 26/11 to wake us up to national security, why has the then minister of home affairs, bureaucracy of MHA and top cops not been prosecuted, are they above the law or is the govt too week to take stern actions against them, or does stern action just mean some transfers. are they not as much a culprit for had they not been sleeping away there would have been no 26/11. stop shielding the incompetent.
8 sir, make way for top notch global universities to set shop in india, make india a hub for “global education”, don't force children to leave the country shores for education, its a loss to the country, we are loosing our .
9 sir, make the NRIs and POIs a stakeholder in india's progress, make them your ambassadors, and an investment opportunity!
10 sir, we still have one of the highest figures for malnutrition, no accessibility to basic health care or good quality health care, high mortality rate, etc, when are we to get rid of this?
11 sir, why does a politician of this country not retire till he dies a natural death. when we have an upper ager limit for all jobs then why the political class be an exception. we look to our political class to lead us, then why do we not have a minimum qualification for all the contestants of elections in the country.
12 sir, why is it when an army officer is martyred and rewards in cash or/and kind are announced, their relatives are harassed to even get those. its not about a reward, its about respect. are they a son of any less mother.

sir,

we have faith in you and we owe it to you for had it not been you we would not have been where we are today, a leading economic power where the g8 is and the rest are forced to include india in the g20, or there would have been no indo-us nuke deal, which ended our isolation to nuclear technology.

to you we come with great hope for the visionary you are and we hope you lend a ear to our concerns and once we are through with these problems, success would not be an exception but a rule for all us indians and that is what being an INDIAN is all about!

Sabir

Sir,

The story I am going to tell you about a little girl named ‘Mayna’. She used to live with her mother and little brother in a remote village in some dark corner in this country. Her father left them and lived with another woman in next village. Her mother used to work as maid to arrange for three of them. When Mayna was about 13, she also started helping her mothers. But in that poor village scope of work was very less. So many girls used to go to cities, even as far as Mumbai for work where they could earn more. So oneday Mayna took the train to the city with some more girls and the ‘Mousi” who promised them to find work in city. Mayna never returned. Today she lives in a red light area in Mumbai and every day sell her own body to some animals. She was sold there along with three more girls of her village. She tried to escape several times but failed. Now she has succumbed to her fate and she understood nobody is going to take her back. Now every day she stands by the ill-lit lane in that red light area where she was first bought.

Sir, it is not a story of single Mayna. There are thousands of them caged in many red light area satisfying last of some people. Not only India, girls are being trafficked from Nepal and Bangladesh too. Today India is ranked number one in sex trafficking.I heard some human right activists are fighting to earn them the title ‘Sex Worker”. I was shocked. Don’t these educated people know how many of their fancied sex worker are actually slaves and were shoved to this profession.

Sir, I request you to break this shackle of these traffickers and do everything possible to release them. It is important to prohibit prostitution in the country if we have to uproot the problem totally and the prohibition must be implemented sincerely. The human activists may come on road in protest. Please tell them that nobody comes to this profession intentionally and it is duty of the nation to arrange for alternatives. There are many countries in the world where prostitution is totally banned and they are going well with it. And I hope in reality also you will think out of alternatives for them. I trust you, because I trusted you when you promised about ‘work for all’. It is just time to fulfill your promise.

Sabir

Say NO to liquor

Slum dwellers in Adilabad, Andhra Pradesh are campaigning against liquor. So is Catholic organization in state of Kerala. Many women groups in Bihar, Orissa, Hariyana took street to close liquors shops. Sir , we all know they have not come to protest for no reason. Even Father of our nation Mahatma Gandhi used to consider it single most evil that ruins family and people. He was in favour of prohibiting liquor in the country. We keep photographs of this great man in government offices but what we have done to walk the way he had shown to us. People may argue it is only a problem of lower class of society, but what about the drunken son of a big father or the drunken film star (he is still not behind the bar) who ran their cars over sleeping men on footpath. Or those spoilt sons of rich parents who molested the German tourist beside a pub. Thousands of such instances can be put forward where people got involved in unthinkable acts (as much as father molesting his own daughter). Still we have not moved a bit to recognize this evil and eliminate it. Yes, economical and social impact is much more on the poor part than in higher class but in a democratic country Rule can not be different for different people. In developed countries liquor is not forbidden thing but why should we always imitate the West. We have to decide our policies which suit our situation best. There are many countries (almost all Islamic nations) where drinking liquors is strictly forbidden ( Even in some parts of our country like Gandhi Nagar) then why this can not be implemented through out the country. Yes, there will be illegal production, black marketing etc, but I don’t believe if the administration is honest enough in its attempt, those can not be stopped. Please if necessary force people to say ‘ No to Liquor’.

(I request our respected members to give opinions about this matter)Regards,

respected pm,
A request from a commomman from tamil nadu and i hope you know the situation of srilanka and situation of (genocide of )tamils there and we cant do more as it is a sovereign nation but we can save our fishermen who venture into high seas for their livelihood as they are attacked,looted and sometimes even they are tortured by making them nude but in the past srilanka used Ltte as tool to attack these fishermen but LTTE is no more but still srilanka is going ahead with his aggressive approach against fishermen who fish in katchatheevu(which is a indian island donated to srilanka by nehru) so i request you to revoke katchatheevu island back to tamil nadu and a warning to srilanka government and all srilankan origin tamils can return to their home land as war on LTTE is over and i hope you look into this issues

S.A.T.A

Say NO to liquor
This would indeed tantamount to imitating a lopsided western moral crusade,remember USA's dry years.

Drinks is not the problem,drunkards who are.

Say NO to liquor

Slum dwellers in Adilabad, Andhra Pradesh are campaigning against liquor. So is Catholic organization in state of Kerala. Many women groups in Bihar, Orissa, Hariyana took street to close liquors shops. Sir , we all know they have not come to protest for no reason. Even Father of our nation Mahatma Gandhi used to consider it single most evil that ruins family and people. He was in favour of prohibiting liquor in the country. We keep photographs of this great man in government offices but what we have done to walk the way he had shown to us. People may argue it is only a problem of lower class of society, but what about the drunken son of a big father or the drunken film star (he is still not behind the bar) who ran their cars over sleeping men on footpath. Or those spoilt sons of rich parents who molested the German tourist beside a pub. Thousands of such instances can be put forward where people got involved in unthinkable acts (as much as father molesting his own daughter). Still we have not moved a bit to recognize this evil and eliminate it. Yes, economical and social impact is much more on the poor part than in higher class but in a democratic country Rule can not be different for different people. In developed countries liquor is not forbidden thing but why should we always imitate the West. We have to decide our policies which suit our situation best. There are many countries (almost all Islamic nations) where drinking liquors is strictly forbidden ( Even in some parts of our country like Gandhi Nagar) then why this can not be implemented through out the country. Yes, there will be illegal production, black marketing etc, but I don’t believe if the administration is honest enough in its attempt, those can not be stopped. Please if necessary force people to say ‘ No to Liquor’.

(I request our respected members to give opinions about this matter)Regards,
we can ban local liquor shops and also methanol drinks but we can allow quality liquors as there are lots of brewing industries generating jobs and also wines and alcohol are good for heart so those who are interested can go to bar or pub but we can very well ban local liquor shops amidst crowded residential areas

Sabir

illegal liquor production actually makes more employment than brewing induatries

NSG_Blackcats

Dear Prime Minister,

I want to take you back to 1990-1991. India was in serious economic crisis. The Central bank had refused new credit. Our foreign Exchange reserve was reduced to a point that we could manage only 3 weeks of import. India had to deposit its gold with IMF for a loan. The Crisis was due to over valuation and current account deficit. The Gross fiscal deficit of government (center and states) was 12.7% of GDP in 1990-1991. Congress Party won the Central election in 1991 and you were made the Finance Minister of India. We stated Economic liberalisation under your able leadership. Now in 2009 we are in a much better position as a country and as an economy. I want to pay my gratitude to you for leading the turnaround in Indian economy.

We are in 2009 and we are facing another challenging issue. It is a very important issue for our growth. This issue is about SEZs (Special Economic Zones) and EPZs (Export Processing Zone). The purpose of SEZs and EPZs was to encourage manufacturing and export oriented industries to setup their units in these zones. GOI and many state governments provide tax holidays to companies setting up their units in these SEZs and EPZs. SEZs and EPZs were able to attract many foreign MNC and we see an increase in our FDI. Many Indian companies also setup their units in these zones. So it helped a lot in increasing our exports, creates more job opportunities.

But recently we are facing many violent protests related to land accusation for new SEZs. Many Political parties are trying to gain political mileage by directly or indirectly exploiting the innocent farmers and land owners. I am requesting you to kindly intervene in solving this problem. If these problems are not solved quickly we will face problems in many fronts.

•It will send a bad impression to potential foreign investors. So we may see a downward trend in our FDI.

•Many Indian corporate houses will be reluctant to set up their units in the respective states. They might look for foreign destination for investment.

•These violent protests may lead to Law and Order problem as many political parties back these protests to gain political mileage.

Now we have to see why there are violent protest against land acquisition for SEZs and EPZs. I am not an expert in this field. But I want to share my views with you.

•The companies allowed to set up SEZs are violating the law. Instead of encouraging industries the companies are diverting this land for real estate development. This is a violation of SEZ and EPZ law. Companies which are violating SEZ and EPZ laws should be heavily penalized and must be black listed by government.

•Land provides social security for many farmers as this is their only source of income. So many farmers don’t want to give up their land for SEZs even if they are compensated. But there are some reports of goons of many companies threatening farmers to give up their land. This is making the farmers more agitated. Farmers who are reluctant to give up their land even after compensated must not be forced to do so.

•There is also report of authorities adopting wrong methods while performing valuation of lands to be acquired. So farmers are reluctant to give up their land. Corrective measures should be taken for proper valuation of land to be acquired.

•Government should try to use barren land for SEZs and EPZs instead of cultivatable land. Reliance Industries Jamnagar Refinery is a great example.

•Where ever it is possible government must try to provide land under its control for setting up of SEZs and EPZs. Recently majority of the land given by Gujarat government to TATA for NANO project was under its control.

•If there is any problem arise while acquisition of land for SEZ the government can setup a committee of experts and the committee should be asked to see farmers are properly compensated. They should also be given the responsibility to take the farmers into confidence and resolve the issue in a peaceful manner.

•Strict action must be taken against anyone (Politicians, Farmers, unsocial elements, industrialist) who is violating the Law.

It is my humble request please looks into this matter as soon as possible. Otherwise things might get out of control like Nadigram, Singur (WB), KalingNagar, Posco site (Orissa), Reilance SEZ (Maharashtra).

Sabir

Thanks Nsg....We can take a lesson from China too (afterall we are discussing so much about them). They are building up infrastructure even in no man's land for future prospect. If we select such areas today and start building necessary infrastructure like road, power, water etc tomorrow private players would not have any problem to come in.

mehwish92

Founding Member
We are a secular nation. Our constitution states that the caste system is illegal. Why, then, do we give reservations based on caste? Why are we, by doing this, allowing the caste system to exist? Rather than dividing us up based on caste, and giving us welfare benefits/reservation based on what caste we come from, how about we give welfare and reservation based on our class/income range?

There are many instances where people may be from low caste, but are from high income families. These people abuse these rights, while the average low-income individual (from any caste) suffers, and loses out.

If we really want to abolish the caste system, we need to get rid of reservations based on caste system.

Recently the UN claimed caste discrimination to be a form of racism. Why are we opposing this? Are we trying to defend the caste system?

A Patriotic Indian.

Sabir

Bulls Eye...Mehwish.

Basically it is people from low caste but well placed in society who are lapping the cream up of the milk. But those, who were actually aimed are where they were several decades ago. If Govt is careful in implementing free education, different projects to generate employment of unskilled workers...the scenario will be changed within few generations.....But Govt. is bent on an unproved shortcut and that is without evaluation. I heard these reservation were suposed to be for a definite period but today Politics of votebank is making it a permanent one....a longstanding joke in our democratic system.

prahladh

Strikes

One more problem that has the potential of creating obstacles in our progress are strikes.

Now-a-days we get to see these just like we see our neighbouring kids fighting for chocolate. Strikes especially by Govt.Organisations like Road Transport Corporations, Junior doctors cause a great deal of problems to public and also to Govt in tunes of crores. Recent strikes by airline industry which resulted in crores of loss to the company, put people in a quandary, took the P.M involvement to resolve.

Govt should draw up better ways of dealing with these issues beforehand they start holding our country for their demands. This might look like small issues that happen frequently but I see patterns where it can be used as a tool to put us in a fix. They should be more duty conscious than right conscious.