13 out of world's top 20 polluted cities in India, only three in China

Raja.pakistani

India may be lagging behind China on several economic indicators but when it comes to environmental degradation, the country has definitely outsmarted its giant neighbour.

Of the world’s top 20 polluted cities, 13 are in India compared to just three in China. Air pollution slashes life expectancy by 3.2 years for the 660 million Indians who live in cities, including Delhi. In China, the corresponding dip is marginally lower at three years.

The Ganga and Yamuna are ranked among the world’s 10 most polluted rivers. China has just one. An evaluation in February ranked Vapi in Gujarat and Sukinda in Odisha among the 10 most environmentally-degraded zones in the world. China had no entries on the list.

The two nations have seen furious economic growth in the past decade fuelling a rapid rise in pollution. China leads the world in carbon emissions and India is in third position. But one important difference between the two emerging economies lies in China’s ability to manage the impact of breakneck economic growth on its environment much better than India. The effect of China’s success is most visible in its air and water, both of which have a direct bearing on public health.

Both countries were saddled with almost identical environmental concerns a decade ago, but China cleaned many of its polluted rivers and managed to check the spiralling urban air pollution through stringent rules.

The results are showing. “Beijing's air pollution has dipped 40% since 2000 as we have taken steps to phase out polluting vehicles and put checks on building heating systems,” said Beijing municipal officer Li Kunsheng at an event in Delhi earlier this year.

In contrast, Delhi’s air pollution has steadily climbed by 20% in the same period with successive governments reluctant to act. The story is the same in cities across the country. Coimbatore is the only exception as the air there was found to be fit for breathing.

The impact of rising toxins in the air is clearly visible on an average Indian's life, as proved by a Lancet study in 2012 that ranked air pollution as the sixth biggest killer with an annual estimated toll of 66 million.

A 2015 report by the Centre for Science and Environment, a Delhi-based NGO, says the decline in the country's overall environmental standards was because of river pollution, which is worse now than it was three decades ago, piling garbage in cities and increasingly toxic urban air.

"In India, environment degradation is a runaway problem impinging on public health an exacerbating poverty," says Sunita Narain, the NGO's director general. “We need to act and act fast ... otherwise the health cost would be enormous,” she added.

A three-year analysis of the water quality in 290 rivers by the Central Pollution Control Board said about 66% of the stretches monitored had high organic pollution. It means 8,400 km of these rivers are badly polluted and not fit for supporting aquatic life. "Increasing flow of untreated waste water from cities into these rivers is the reason for our rivers getting polluted," says Shashi Shekhar, CPCB chairman and special secretary in the environment ministry.

But not all news is bad with innovative green initiatives sprouting all over the country. The bicycling clubs in Bengaluru act as one of the biggest networks of bikers in the country, a group of people have generated organic fertilizer from waste in Kolkata and Bungroo and a programme of the Gujarat Ecological Commission has turned wasteland into a good agri-production zone.

And then, there are a new band of young environment activists such as Ritwick Dutta who took authorities to court for violating environmental laws and protect people's right to a clean environment. As a result, the National Green Tribunal has compensated locals for pollution and one such case is in Tamil Nadu.

Union environment minister Prakash Javadekar is also hopeful of people's participation pushing governments to improve the environment, saying a policy of "development without destruction" is in place.

In the coming years, his ministry plans to introduce a new environmental regime that will focus on "self-regulation" and strengthen the "polluter-pay principle" with higher penalties for violation of environmental laws.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...but-there-is-still-hope/article1-1355013.aspx

The pollution of India can be controlled but what about Paki Terrorism Pollution which is a headache for the world?

These Pakis have contaminated our earth with Terrorism.

Raja.pakistani

The pollution of India can be controlled but what about Paki Terrorism Pollution which is a headache for the world?

We are the ones who sacrificed most in this war on terrorism and still doing military operation against them and we will eliminate them inshallah..just ask raw to stay away from sponsoring these terrorists...

why you always divert the topic with irrelevant post?

SADAKHUSH

We are the ones who sacrificed most in this war on terrorism and still doing military operation against them and we will eliminate them inshallah..just ask raw to stay away from sponsoring these terrorists...

why you always divert the topic with irrelevant post?
He is only giving you the facts. Your country did not sacrifice but paying the price for ill conceived polocies of your military and political leadership. Your General Raheel only woke up after the children massacre in Peshawar and I hope he finishes what he has started.

In general Asian countries have pollution problem starting from villages due to use of cow dung fuel patties used in cooking in enclosed kitchens with out ventilation. The second part is industrial and rise in ownership of motor vehicles where the emission standard is not to the same standard as in developed nations. Our previous Government's were not proactive to deal with the pollution menace but new leadership is going to introduce remedial steps to lower it if not eliminate for which awareness campaign plays a major role.

This link tells you about situation in Pakistan. Three out of ten as per the latest study.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCEQFjAAahUKEwizrKOqyc_HAhUGGpIKHV0gA4w&url=http://tribune.com.pk/story/926245/three-pakistani-cities-among-most-polluted-cities-in-the-world/&ei=UFHiVbPEN4a0yATdwIzgCA&usg=AFQjCNFsCs72RaKIg5HyTsqgr7VaEJoqHA

The pollution scene is as bad as in some of other neighbouring nations as well.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CC8QFjABahUKEwjl0ZThzc_HAhXCi5IKHSYPCC8&url=http://www.theguardian.com/cities/2015/may/22/baoding-china-most-polluted-city-air-pollution-beijing-hebei&ei=9VXiVaWDLsKXygSmnqD4Ag&usg=AFQjCNEJwyrH7L9md6Vo9uJQ9lmxFMFsLQ

The following link gives you colour coded pollution level flags in China and three other neighbouring countries. The information is from sources in China instead of U.N.O.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...nqD4Ag&usg=AFQjCNHNEvEXOIMBpJRNnXE2nmsk-o2XGQ

Instead of tit for tat response that I see often between the members it would be be better if we can share ways and means to solve the problem that is facing the humanity all over the world.

Raja.pakistani

He is only giving you the facts. Your country did not sacrifice but paying the price for ill conceived polocies of your military and political leadership. Your General Raheel only woke up after the children massacre in Peshawar and I hope he finishes what he has started.
Pakistan actually suffered because of terrorism and suicide blasts after joining this war on terror with USA/NATO in 2001 and after doing this military operation against mullah of lal mosque. our army sent two delegations to Mullah Omar in September 2001 asking them to expel the Al qaida leadership from Afghanistan but they refused to listen. India was willing to offer security related cooperation to US after 9/11 So Pakistan did not let India exploiting the situation in the region to pursue its agenda against Pakistan so they joined this war on terror. There were operation going on against militants before this children massacre in peshawar school and this attack on army school was result of those military operation

In general Asian countries have pollution problem starting from villages due to use of cow dung fuel patties used in cooking in enclosed kitchens with out ventilation. The second part is industrial and rise in ownership of motor vehicles where the emission standard is not to the same standard as in developed nations. Our previous Government's were not proactive to deal with the pollution menace but new leadership is going to introduce remedial steps to lower it if not eliminate for which awareness campaign plays a major role.

This link tells you about situation in Pakistan. Three out of ten as per the latest study.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCEQFjAAahUKEwizrKOqyc_HAhUGGpIKHV0gA4w&url=http://tribune.com.pk/story/926245/three-pakistani-cities-among-most-polluted-cities-in-the-world/&ei=UFHiVbPEN4a0yATdwIzgCA&usg=AFQjCNFsCs72RaKIg5HyTsqgr7VaEJoqHA

The pollution scene is as bad as in some of other neighbouring nations as well.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CC8QFjABahUKEwjl0ZThzc_HAhXCi5IKHSYPCC8&url=http://www.theguardian.com/cities/2015/may/22/baoding-china-most-polluted-city-air-pollution-beijing-hebei&ei=9VXiVaWDLsKXygSmnqD4Ag&usg=AFQjCNEJwyrH7L9md6Vo9uJQ9lmxFMFsLQ

The following link gives you colour coded pollution level flags in China and three other neighbouring countries. The information is from sources in China instead of U.N.O.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=9&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CGUQFjAIahUKEwjl0ZThzc_HAhXCi5IKHSYPCC8&url=http://brilliantmaps.com/air-pollution/&ei=9VXiVaWDLsKXygSmnqD4Ag&usg=AFQjCNHNEvEXOIMBpJRNnXE2nmsk-o2XGQ

Instead of tit for tat response that I see often between the members it would be be better if we can share ways and means to solve the problem that is facing the humanity all over the world.
I agree with you . what are reasons of these pollution and how to control it are good question for debate

nimo_cn

that is most unexpected, isn't it?

来自我的 HUAWEI P7-L07 上的 Tapatalk

CrYsIs

I know this troll called Raja Pakistani posted this solely for the purpose of infuriating the members but what he posted is a real challenge that cannot be taken lightly.

Raja.pakistani

I know this troll called Raja Pakistani posted this solely for the purpose of infuriating the members but what he posted is a real challenge that cannot be taken lightly.
How its trolling if its serious challenge which India is facing? If same topic was posted by Indian member then you still consider it trolling? I only troll in response of trolling otherwise i personally like constructive debate

CrYsIs

How its trolling if its serious challenge which India is facing? If same topic was posted by Indian member then you still consider it trolling? I only troll in response of trolling otherwise i personally like constructive debate
Your purpose of posting is to provoke people here.You and a few of your pals have been doing it here for the past few days.

Things you have posted has been posted before manytimes and people of the forum are well aware about it.So there is no point is bringing old stuffs here again and again.

since we share air/borders/water so its not bagani shadi lol
Well please speak about your country. And worry about it. We would not like to entertain such thread from a Baigairat brigade like Pakistanis. :)

Raja.pakistani

Well please speak about your country. And worry about it. We would not like to entertain such thread from a Baigairat brigade like Pakistanis. :)
Why you shameless creature dont follow your advice when you poke your nose in thread related to Pakistan/Pakistani?

Raja.pakistani

Your purpose of posting is to provoke people here.You and a few of your pals have been doing it here for the past few days.

Things you have posted has been posted before manytimes and people of the forum are well aware about it.So there is no point is bringing old stuffs here again and again.
then tell us ur purpose of posting shit about Pakistan again and again on this forum..why being hypocrite and having double standard?

Why you shameless creature dont follow your advice when you poke your nose in thread related to Pakistan/Pakistani?
You are forgetting that where you are. You are a guest for us, behave like a guest don't become a Beigairat Intruder , the mosquito of monsoon! :nono:

then tell us ur purpose of posting shit about Pakistan again and again on this forum..why being hypocrite and having double standard?
Actually, every reality of Pakistan is shit so, can't help it buddy.

Raja.pakistani

You are forgetting that where you are. You are a guest for us, behave like a guest don't become a Beigairat Intruder , the mosquito of monsoon! :nono:
Actually, every reality of Pakistan is shit so, can't help it buddy.
I am not guest of any one but i am member of defence forum. Its not your personal home that i should post according to your wishes. Be ready for criticism if you criticise others and its you who is two faced begiraut

This is not a Pakistani forum where there is no rule and absurdity is discussed. If you can help in some productive discussion then contribute. Otherwise Fuck off!!

Raja.pakistani

This is not a Pakistani forum where there is no rule and absurdity is discussed. If you can help in some productive discussion then contribute. Otherwise Fuck off!!
Stop barking and getting personal and contribute towards topic. You diverted the topic

Not interested to discuss about India and China with a Baigairat Pakistani , first get yourself in the leagues of trillion dollar economy then we will speak. Aukaad nahi hai teri ..

Chal Bhag yahan se ab :)