Why India Wins So Few Olympic Medals?

Ok lets actually think from that angle - what does sucess in Olympics give a nation ..in tangible or material returns ?
Just like ugly girls wear makeup to make themselves appear in a better light...countries concentrate on olympics to get over there image insecurity.

Ok lets actually think from that angle - what does sucess in Olympics give a nation ..in tangible or material returns ?
Then why all nation then try for gold in Olympics ?

I think we are too much like Cricket, What Cricket brings or return to us ?

Money bhai....money...to the tune of tens of thousands of crores.
True but what for people ?

US & Chinese and other who put effort behind there Sports men and woman for Olympics for National Glory..

True but what for people ?

US & Chinese and other who put effort behind there Sports men and woman for Olympics for National Glory..
It comes into our economy and hence in a way affects us all.

Tell me what will a gold medal get the nation, except that concept of glory ?

Cricket money in our County economy ?

--------------------------------------------------

National Image to the rest of the World, Glory & Pride to people & National Moral....

Glory, Moral & Pride cannot be compared to Money..

These are beyond money..

Money value is nothing but when compare to these it just piece of paper..

Many of these you cannot earn by Money and even so it just remain for a brief period of time..

chase

India's win few medals because indian bureacracy is corrupt,slow and trash.

Chinese wins lots of medals because they are serious about olympics,their system is efficient and they want to create a good image of them around the world because of bad publicity of CPC in foreign medias

One important note is this, If you want to get Gold as Indian, You have to pay for yourself ( train yourself from your own money )..

In India we should have someone who is willing to provide such complex in cheap for specific people in there best category for Olympic, Not every one..

A Medal would bring inspiration to lotta people whose dream is to excel in sports... recent medals in boxing/wrestling/shooting etc have given VIjendra/Sushil/Mari/Gagan etc not just glory but money too.Money has poured down to them plus jobs.

This has given inspiration to lotta others who now have a Indian to look upon to as a role model and not just firangi posters.

This can gradually give result to sports economy which is hijacked by Cricket played by hardly 10-12 nations :facepalm:

Jim Street

Economic Benefits of winning in Olympics and other major sporting events.

If winning medals in Olympics and other major sports event results in more sportsmen then I think its worth it. imagine the FDI by companies like Nike, Adidas,etc which are already here and they will see increase in production due to increase in Market potential. Domestic industries will also flourish.

Other companies related to our major and new sports, will invest in our country. There are many other benefits too.

Think from economic POV and also consider employment provided by these companies.

Youth from section of the population which don't have money to go to college etc, will have another field where they can earn money and raise their standard of living . Sports scholarship should also be introduced in our country.

Is it so hard to understand the economic benefits ? Leave aside the pride and glory stated by Kunal Biswas.(I agree with his post). But lets just keep this post based on economics.

But we have to see investment by govt. should result in significant profit more than what they invested keeping in mind of short term and longer run.benefits.

average american

I can tell you why exactly why India Wins so few Olympic Metals..... Its as clear as the nose on your face, and its not complicated.

average american

Winners focus on solutions.
Losers focus on problems an make excuses. Britians fault, US fault, Gods Fault

Winners take responsibility. Losers blame others.

Winners find opportunities in crisis they see problems as opportunities, Losers complain about problems.

Winners enjoy being in the present and learn from the past. Losers live in the past. how often have I heard of Indias glorious past.

Winners think about how they can achieve. Losers give excuses.

Winners try different strategies when they are not getting the results they want. Losers do the same thing over and over again expecting different results. Like planes from Russia.

Winners believe there are always things to be learn. Losers consider themselves as an expert even though they know little.

^^^ Though I might not agree with you completely and I do believe reasons are far more complex, but yes, that's an excellent comparison between a successful mind and a mind looking for escapes and excuses.

Are Indians like that?

No, not everyone, but then, it is also extremely rare to find people across the world who are not in denial about one thing or the other. We all somewhere have a soft underbelly that we don't want exposed, and most of the times we don't want to admit it either.

By and large, Indians by virtue of the democracy, and a very vibrant one, also happen to be quite self critical, and introspective.

Then there is also the point, what you see as right the other might not, and because we all have an utopian view about our abilities, our ideas, our actions, it becomes extremely difficult to accept the other is right , and it happens again with pretty much everyone across the globe. So what might seem wrong to you, might be right for the other, and likewise, what might seem wrong to the other about you, would be right as per you.

Difference of opinion, personal experiences? Indeed. And what would be the fun if everyone was to think the same!

average american

It does not take every one on a team to make the differance between being winners or losers, just enought, 70 percent of Indians wanting to go to Canada, if its true, (escape) or the desire to depend on Russia for defense, losers prefer to associate with losers. ( another characteristic)

70 percent of Indians wanting to go to Canada, if its true, (escape) or the desire to depend on Russia for defense, losers prefer to associate with losers. ( another characteristic)
Provide link...

It does not take every one on a team to make the differance between being winners or losers, just enought, 70 percent of Indians wanting to go to Canada, if its true, (escape) or the desire to depend on Russia for defense, losers prefer to associate with losers. ( another characteristic)
I assure you 70% of Indians doesn't even know what Canada is let alone where is Canada. Don't go by surveys, they can misrepresent facts by simple extrapolations.

average american

One important note is this, If you want to get Gold as Indian, You have to pay for yourself ( train yourself from your own money )..

In India we should have someone who is willing to provide such complex in cheap for specific people in there best category for Olympic, Not every one..
Think I would start here....

Recently, Hindutva party leader and Karnataka tourism minister Gali Janardhan Reddy gifted the Balaji Lord with a 16-kg diamond-studded crown priced at Rs 45 crore!. In the last 5 years, Bellary Reddy brothers generated 4,000 crore of profit before tax from the iron-ore business in Bellary and delivered 1 % commission to their favourite God! This is the eighth and the largest crown presented to the Hindu God.. The current estimate of gold ornaments with this Hindu Temple exceed 15 tons and valued at more than $7 billion. Lately, one Hindu priest of this temple was arrested by police for mortgaging jewellery of worth Rs nine lakh. How much in dollars is a crorel and lakh.

drkrn

India's win few medals because indian bureacracy is corrupt,slow and trash.

Chinese wins lots of medals because they are serious about olympics,their system is efficient and they want to create a good image of them around the world because of bad publicity of CPC in foreign medias
wrong.its all because we don't take sports as a profession.
how many of parents in our country will accept their kids to be sportsman??we here give importance only to education and money

china wins many medals as cpc sees pride and glory in medals they recieve, so they are spending heavily

average american

wrong.its all because we don't take sports as a profession.
how many of parents in our country will accept their kids to be sportsman??we here give importance only to education and money

china wins many medals as cpc sees pride and glory in medals they recieve, so they are spending heavily
So you think every one is at the Olympics because they are professions. Winners think about how they can achieve.

Losers give excuses.