What are you reading/learning right now?

Haldiram

Also, what do you think is the most desirable skill in today's world, both civilian life and the military? (Appreciate input from all but especially someone who works or has worked as HR)
Saying this as a friend of a friend of a friend who runs an HR consultancy. In house HRs lack the ability to make a qualitative judgment call. Most of them are lakeer ke fakir. They don't even care about the pedigree of your alma matter. If they are told to get a STEM graduate with X years of experience, they go about sending mass requests like a horny teen sends Facebook requests to random users. If someone from IIT gets a gap before employment, the HR community will not differentiate such person from any other person with a gap.

All HRs are from the humanities stream and they are the first interface in any hiring process (unfortunately). No matter how much you shine in the technical round, you first need to get your foot in past these lakeer ke fakeer. Have 2 CVs, one for the dimwit HR with the bare minimum sticking points, another for the technical round, with your Github profile and everything. No point putting Github on your first application, the HR can't differentiate between Java and Javascript. Make the first CV "stupid proof". Keep the qualification, certification and experience in bold, that's the only thing the HR is competent to understand. Your extra curriculars like IEEE papers published, patents, competitive coding badges don't hold water on the HR's empty vessel.

Even after the technical lead clears you and agrees to your compensation demands, the HR will again play a googly while giving you the offer letter and give you a lowball offer which does not match the terms agreed during salary negotiations. It's their last ditch attempt to see if you blink on your demands. They pretend like they don't care about interviewees and many are in the queue, but in reality scouting, filtering, interviewing and hiring is a very monetarily expensive exercise for a firm. They spend big $ on their hiring and there's a risk of losing a good catch to a rival firm. If you put your foot down, you'll get what was agreed to you.

Also be careful about bond clauses. It's illegal to have super long bond periods like 5+ years. The company has to show that they spent X$ on the employee to justify holding on to an employee for that long to extract their investment in training. To circumvent this, they will keep some sort of "training costs" in your CTC every year so that they can indefinitely keep extending your bond period by 2 years from the date of said training (i.e every year).

Pro tip : The inhouse HRs have very limited reach. They have a quota to show their superiors that they sifted through X profiles to hunt for candidates, so scout off LinkedIn and social media just to meet their quota. Most good firms are shifting to using third party staffing firms to scout for talent. This is a more favorable entry door. The firm will tell you what positions are open, and they'll tell you which certifications to get to fit the bill and then plug your CV in those gaps. Most of these are technically qualified ex-employees of the firms that one is trying to get into. They'll circumvent the humanities wali inhouse HR and plant you straight into the technical round. Baaki tumhara talent aur Allah ki rehem.

Why so serious?

IDK if this is OT, but i think its under self improvement so here it goes.

I recently watched a YT video by Salil Jamdar (Asli mard chapter 3 ) it's part of 3 video series. Here is the chapter 3 video.

If you want you can watch all three videos.

But what's interesting is , in the 3 rd video , this guy challenges the viewers for a 150 day challenge. 150 days of no porn and no masturbation. Now he has not mentioned anything about actual sex.

The guy promises you a different you at the end of the challenge.

Now i am not interested in the guy or his videos but want to know your views on this challenge and bhramacharya concept.

Berkut

I recently watched a YT video by Salil Jamdar (Asli mard chapter 3 ) it's part of 3 video series. Here is the chapter 3 video.

But what's interesting is , in the 3 rd video , this guy challenges the viewers for a 150 day challenge. 150 days of no porn and no masturbation. Now he has not mentioned anything about actual sex.

Now i am not interested in the guy or his videos but want to know your views on this challenge and bhramacharya concept.
Extremely powerful...

90 days is minimum if you want to start seeing effects.

But include no alchohol, no non-veg in your list of abstinence too.

Haldiram

Extremely powerful...

..so I think even the Chinese have this concept that semen consists of life force (chi) and conserving it somehow gives you higher consciousness, more concentration and grip on life or something like that. Wasting it is seen as leaking a part of your soul itself.

Ayurveda has something similar saying that controlling the Mul chakra (colloquially speaking, base tendencies), allows one to focus on higher chakras and move their behavior from from base tendencies to higher tendencies.

But these be spiritual thingies, and have to do with emotions and how one feels/behaves, so not sure how one can objectively measure the effect and that it is real cause-effect and not mere placebo.

Berkut

..so I think even the Chinese have this concept that semen consists of life force (chi) and conserving it somehow gives you higher consciousness, more concentration and grip on life or something like that. Wasting it is seen as leaking a part of your soul itself.

Ayurveda has something similar saying that controlling the Mul chakra (colloquially speaking, base tendencies), allows one to focus on higher chakras and move their behavior from from base tendencies to higher tendencies.

But these be spiritual thingies, and have to do with emotions and how one feels/behaves, so not sure how one can objectively measure the effect and that it is real cause-effect and not mere placebo.
I guess the only way you could really find out is by trying out yourself

Extremely powerful...

no alcohol..no non veg and I was absent during most of my college days..
What effect!???

Berkut

no alcohol..no non veg and I was absent during most of my college days..
What effect!???
I don't think I could put the impacts in words. Also, I believe its different for different people. My humble observation is that it works if done in a stretch of atleast 90 days.... no breaks. No cheat days.

I Recommend it but this thing is fuckin hard fo follow i tried it for 30 days results were amazing sleep quality better mind fog clear.
But urges are difficult to control.

Roshan

Extremely powerful...

just go to sabarimala. 90 days or 42 days is about just rewiring and renewing your body. the number is a common one in both yoga and now modern nutrition and fitness.

Berkut

just go to sabarimala. 90 days or 42 days is about just rewiring and renewing your body. the number is a common one in both yoga and now modern nutrition and fitness.
Agreed, Sabrimala is a very powerful centre. But those who can't go there due to whatever reason can also enjoy benefits of celibacy.
I do not prescribe to any new age, western philosophy/ trend.
I am too uneducated to know much about our dharma but I know a little n strive to learn more.
Sure celibacy can usher in renewal, fitness, rewiring etc. as you say. But in my humble opinion these are very limited, small goals to aspire to.
I got the 90 days from Aghori Vimalandaji as narrated by Dr. Robert Svoboda ji.
Those 3 books, I keep going back to.

fyodor

I have researched on these Chinese techniques, even read a book called "Multi orgasmic man" by Mantak Chia. Ignoring the cheeky title, it is quite an informative book which goes deep into Taoist rational and practices behind this technique.

Basically, the "chi" (yogic equivalent of prana?) is a life giving force and present in all entities. The Taoists go one step further. Instead of saying abstain, they say that you can increase your chi by being sexually active in a particular way. Its about visualizing the energy entering your naval center and then following the pathway(yogic nadas?) to the top of your head(saharsara chakra?). Then repeat in a loop.

The theory is that sex can be used as a regenerative process which leaves both partners fulfilled instead of making them tired.Their is a great deal of emphasis on not ejaculating and thus becoming the multi orgasmic man.

Haldiram

Their is a great deal of emphasis on not ejaculating and thus becoming the multi orgasmic man.
Matlab khana bhi khana hai aur dakaar bhi ni lagani hai.

Meanwhile nunnu be like..ye kaise dharm sankat me daal diya mereko

fyodor

Matlab khana bhi khana hai aur dakaar bhi ni lagani hai.

Meanwhile nunnu be like..ye kaise dharm sankat me daal diya mereko

Its actually quite interesting and has a long history(1000's of years) of being an established Taoist practise. I haven't tried it much because I don't have a "regular" partner. But the few times I did, it seemed to be effective but I may need some more training :D

All of fapping (or lack thereof) aside, has anybody learnt to play the piano or any experience in that particular niche?

Would like to learn it but as of yet, pretty lost on how to start.

Upar wale bande keval chhota shakeel bajane ka baat kar rahe hain.:creepy:

Roshan

Agreed, Sabrimala is a very powerful centre. But those who can't go there due to whatever reason can also enjoy benefits of celibacy.
I do not prescribe to any new age, western philosophy/ trend.
I am too uneducated to know much about our dharma but I know a little n strive to learn more.
Sure celibacy can usher in renewal, fitness, rewiring etc. as you say. But in my humble opinion these are very limited, small goals to aspire to.
I got the 90 days from Aghori Vimalandaji as narrated by Dr. Robert Svoboda ji.
Those 3 books, I keep going back to.
abstinence and moderation in sexual activity is advisable if you want to spiritually grow, yes. You can't and shouldn't outright deny it though or you turn into a pervert like Gandhi or those Catholic padres. SD doesn't actually ask for complete celibacy as it considers it unnatural, which is why even many of the maharishis in our puranas are married.

Haldiram

All of fapping (or lack thereof) aside, has anybody learnt to play the piano or any experience in that particular niche?

We thought that is what you had in mind when you started this thread to learn new skills?

इति ते ज्ञानमाख्यातं गुह्याद्गुह्यतरं मया |
विमृश्यैतदशेषेण यथेच्छसि तथा कुरु

Thus, I have explained to you this knowledge that is more secret than all secrets. Ponder over it deeply, and then do as you wish.

Our bad. Bhalai ka zamana hi nahi raha.

Roshan

yep have been playing it since i was 8. I sold my old one and now want to buy a larger 8 octave piano to replace the synthesizer keyboard i have. Like most kids i was forced into it by my parents who probably like telling others that their kid is doing something other than studying or watching cartoons but ab lifetime investment ho gai hai.

The chicks do dig if you are into music or something offbeat, reason why a lot of standup comedians also think their weekly gig gives them a license to ask for nudes on social media.:biggrin2: