Violence in Karachi

At least 39 people have been killed in three days of violence between rival political groups in the Pakistani city of Karachi, security officials say.

The authorities said they had detained several suspects and were trying to take control of situation.

The killings started on Tuesday evening in western neighbourhoods of Karachi.

The city is plagued by extortion rackets, mafia-run land-grabs and turf wars waged by armed groups linked to rival political parties.

Residents say they are terrified to go out as intense gunfire is still going on.
BBC News - Pakistan: Karachi violence 'kills 39' in three days

hope this does not go towards Libiya and Syria revolution.......

Pakistani Troops Ordered to Use Bullets to Quell Karachi Turmoil

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/09/world/asia/09karachi.html

KARACHI, Pakistan — The federal government gave paramilitary and other security forces shoot-on-sight orders against gunmen who have plunged this sprawling southern port city into four days of ethnic and political violence that has left more than 70 dead, including 18 people on Friday.

More than 1,100 people have been shot dead in what are known as targeted killings in battles between ethnic groups in Karachi since the start of the year, according to the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan. But this week's violence has been the most sustained, said Zohra Yusuf, the chairwoman of the commission.

"It is extremely disturbing," Ms. Yusuf said. "The absence of law enforcement agencies is very clear. It seems to be a poor response from the government."

After four days of intense bloodletting, the federal government on Friday finally called in 1,000 soldiers from the Frontier Constabulary, a paramilitary force, to supplement the forces already deployed in the city: the police and the Sindh Rangers, a force governed by the Pakistan Army. The new forces and the Rangers were given orders to shoot on sight.

"Let me make it very clear that there is no operation planned," Interior Minister Rehman Malik told reporters as he arrived in Karachi late Thursday night. "But definitely there will be targeted actions in the affected areas."

Karachi, a city of immigrants, has a long history of political and ethnic violence. The city's political fault lines mirror ethnic lines, and the violence has been confined to low-income areas dominated by two groups, the Pashtuns and the Muhajirs, which are aligned with competing parties.

The Pashtuns tend to support the Awami National Party, or A.N.P., and the Muhajirs, Urdu-speaking people who immigrated from India in 1947, are aligned with Karachi's strongest political party, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement, or M.Q.M. Karachi has been a traditional stronghold of the M.Q.M.

But a wave of Pashtun migrants in recent years has challenged the city's demographic and political balance as the Pashtuns demand their share of political representation. The main political groups also frequently have links to criminal gangs who control lucrative smuggling and black-market syndicates.

"This is a bloody turf war," said Cyril Almeida, a columnist with Dawn, a leading English daily newspaper in Pakistan. "On the one side you have the M.Q.M., who believe they own the city, and on the other side you have the A.N.P."

Pockets of Pashtuns and Muhajirs often reside right next to each other, and it is at those intersections that the worst violence has broken out.

"We are taking all possible measures," said Karachi's police chief, Saud Mirza. "Wherever there are ethnic interfaces in the city, we are deploying precautionary forces."

On Thursday, the M.Q.M. called a protest strike of workers, as politicians criticized the government response as inadequate. Since then, shops have pulled down their shutters, public transportation workers have parked their vehicles and gas stations have closed across the city.

"Despite all our efforts of peace and tolerance, it is very apparent that the enforcement agencies and the Rangers, who operate under instructions from provincial and federal government, have decided not to provide protection to Karachites," an M.Q.M. politician, Mustafa Kamal, said in a statement. "As a result, dozens of innocent citizens lost their lives in open attacks and targeted killings."

The Pakistani news media reported that a 6-year-old girl had been killed after being caught in a "hail of bullets" as she walked home from school and that two public buses had been sprayed with bullets that killed at least 12 people and wounded 30.

The attacks on the buses were aimed mainly at Muhajir passengers and appeared to be in retaliation for the killing of five Pashtuns on Thursday, Dawn reported.

Ms. Yusuf, the Human Rights Commission's chairwoman, is not confident that the additional security forces will dampen the underlying causes of the violence.

A leading national politician, Imran Khan, said it was up to the three ruling parties in Karachi — the A.N.P., the M.Q.M. and the Pakistan Peoples Party, which leads the federal government — to take responsibility and arrest the people from their parties who are behind the violence.

"Can Rehman Malik cure cancer with an aspirin?" Mr. Khan said in a televised news conference.

Shoot-at-sight as Karachi burns, toll mounts to 88

KARACHI: Pakistani authorities on Friday issued shoot-at-sight orders and ordered the deployment of 1,000 additional paramilitary troops in Karachi as vicious violence continued to paralyse the country's financial capital, leaving nearly 90 people dead in last four days.

Rockets were fired and grenades lobbed as violence wracked the city with thousands of people stranded in their home in fear of flying bullets. Police and rescue officials said that in the last four days, 88 people had been killed with some 200 wounded in target killings and indiscriminate firing in many parts of the city, owing to political as well as ethnic clashes.

Struck by the magnitude of incidents in Karachi, the US Embassy in Islamabad said it is deeply concerned about the escalating violence. "We call on all parties to refrain from further violence and work toward a peaceful resolution of differences," US ambassador Cameron Munter said.

"The loss of over 60 lives, including women and children, in the last three days is a tragedy."
Karachi has been rocked by violence despite the presence of Pakistan's President Asif Zardari in the city where he is stationed at the Bilawal house and has held meetings with his aides to discuss the situation. Interior minister Rehman Malik, who rushed to Karachi on Thursday, said that 1,000 additional militia force will be deployed and "targeted action" will be taken against the miscreants.

Shoot-at-sight as Karachi burns, toll mounts to 88 - The Times of India

Watch and enjoy....bare in mind that these are pakistani residential areas, such gangsterizations are never seen anywhere in the world.....anyone can imagine what wretched ISI and PA has made pakistan into, and the astonishing part is that they have managed to produce a whole generation of demented and deluded conspiracy theorist/ blame others citizens....the ideal condition for pakistanis is the disintegration of pakistan so that punjabi stranglehold could be removed from Balcoh, Mujahirs, Pashtuns Saraikis etc!!

09 July 2011 Karachi violence continues

Arunpillai

This is no news. This happens regularly.. But yes and end to punjabi dominance and break up of pakistan would augur well for subjugated pakistani people and india

Scores killed in Karachi violence.

Violence & Attacks on Passenger Buses in Karachi, MQM Leaders visit Hospitals

ejazr

BBC News - Pakistan: Karachi violence 'kills 39' in three days

hope this does not go towards Libiya and Syria revolution.......

This problem is happening since 2009. There was a situation like this in 1990s when the army came in to do an operation and clear out weapons and militant groups. But now its considered to be worse than that time.

IT seems to be a 3-4 way fight with PPP-sindhi nationalists, MQM-Muhajirs and ANP-Pathans fighting it out amongst themselves. The sad thing is all the innocent people dying including kids

Pakistani Nationalist

Watch and enjoy....bare in mind that these are pakistani residential areas, such gangsterizations are never seen anywhere in the world.....anyone can imagine what wretched ISI and PA has made pakistan into, and the astonishing part is that they have managed to produce a whole generation of demented and deluded conspiracy theorist/ blame others citizens....the ideal condition for pakistanis is the disintegration of pakistan so that punjabi stranglehold could be removed from Balcoh, Mujahirs, Pashtuns Saraikis etc!!
Either ur trolling or plain ignorant!

This is happening in Orangi a low class neighbourhood which has majority biharis who came after 71... and the fight is going on between criminals...... who is PA and ISI involved ?

Abt example.. all developing countries suffer frm these kinds of issues...

Also u seem to have some real issues with our punjabi brothers... and suffer with Dellusions.

This is no news. This happens regularly.. But yes and end to punjabi dominance and break up of pakistan would augur well for subjugated pakistani people and india
Yeah right .. but can u highness tell me how punjabis r involved in a majority urdu speaking city and tussle of ANP vs MQM?

This is happening in Orangi a low class neighbourhood which has majority biharis who came after 71... and the fight is going on between criminals...... who is PA and ISI involved ?

Also u seem to have some real issues with our punjabi brothers... and suffer with Dellusions.

Yeah right .. but can u highness tell me how punjabis r involved in a majority urdu speaking city and tussle of ANP vs MQM?

we dont have probelm. u got probelm with ur balochi,pathan, aur pata nahi kya kya. will u survive as country in near few months kaka ???

Pakistani Nationalist

we dont have probelm. u got probelm with ur balochi,pathan, aur pata nahi kya kya. will u survive as country in near few months kaka ???
Dude im a baloch... infact even zardari is a sindhi baloch............ Abt pashtun well we had most pashtun army chiefs even presidents... Yahya,Ayub,Tika......... Go ask any Pakistani pashtun........ we dont need any certificate of loyality from others.............

Criminals? Tu sathiya gaya hai. The majority of these Muhajirs may be Biharis, but they comprise the single most radically successful ethnic group in your country.

The Biharis will work for a pittance until they drop dead. They may have a low class culture, but they will work hard at any job. Which is why they swamp cities such as Mumbai and Kolkatta, and even though the Mumbaikars will complain about their habits, they cannot do without them. Understood?

Now these Bihari Muslims, that came from Bihar in 1947 and post-East Pakistan Bangladesh in 1971 have coalesced themselves into omething of the lines of Balasaheb under a man named Altaf Hussain, with external help. That has made them a political force to reckon with. And their culture of settling arguments, with gang fights under the barrel of a gun is something that comes from the inner regions of Bihar and Uttar Pradesh. Except it happens in your largest city.

The Pukhtoons have a violent gun culture of their own. What happens when you put two bunches of uncouth morons in the same city? These are not criminals. This is the general political culture, that you as a middle-class, upwardly mobile Pakistani are not exposed to.

Besides, the criminals are not plain criminals. The orders, the weapons, the extortion, the black money and the dens all have political sanction. And the political sanction needs even higher sanction. Which is where your Army comes in. Which has tolerated two groups at it as long as things don't boil over, and has attempted to balance one group against the other. Try imposing your military rule without a former sanction from the two parties, or without consulting them and arriving at a deal. Try taking your rangers and rounding up people without a prior political deal in the hinterland of Orangi. Your rangers will get f * c k e d.

Aur ek baath sunneka hai, to sun. Your state has been compounded by the fact that you house one of the topmost criminals in the world. This m********r from Mumbai, who fled after Salaskar and the rest set his ass on fire, after the 1993 riots has and will f*** your country so bad you will never be able to recognize it again. You know why Haji Mastan, Chota Rajan and Vardha Rajan hated him? Because he introduced drugs into the country, actually turned the city into an arms depot and used it to fund everything from hawala channels in the middle east to smuggling to east Asia. You think he is your asset. You keep a bomb to use against your neighbor long enough and it will set your own house on fire.

Common in developing countries? I always tell people, in the 1980s and 1990s when a Yank friend of mine visited your country and stayed at different times at the Mehran in Shahra e Faisal and the Gulf hotel in Saddar, he woke up every morning to the sound of bullets and to donkey carts at 4am pulling dead bodies on the streets. That history is repeating itself. And that don't happen in most developing countries, except the worst of 'em.

You probably don't realize this, but up to 70% of your central Government's revenues come from the city of Karachi. Put the port-city on fire long enough, and your government is paralysed. How do you expect your Government to function? The problem with this part of the world is that we like to talk too much. But we grow de-sensitized to emotion and complacency thru constant exposure. At least, in India the youth don't take it any more. And because the call centres and rest have exposed the nation to Western living, the standards and expectations have changed. In Pakistan, all I see from the youth is shittalk on the net.

Well said !! Over 102 dead is no way a petty clash of some low lives in a poor neighborhood. This order may bring temporary peace but for long term I think they need someone like Nitish Kumar in Karachi.

Dude im a baloch... infact even zardari is a sindhi baloch............ Abt pashtun well we had most pashtun army chiefs even presidents... Yahya,Ayub,Tika......... Go ask any Pakistani pashtun........ we dont need any certificate of loyality from others.............
You are a Sindhi from Baluch and even that i suspect! Either way there is a freedom struggle in Baluchistan, there is no freedom struggle in Bihar. You need to give up Baluchistan if we are to give up Kashmir.