US Will Aid India’s Defense Whether Or Not It Chooses To Operate With Us: US

http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2016/07/us-will-aid-indias-defense-whether-or.html

US Will Aid India’s Defense Whether Or Not It Chooses To Operate With Us: US
Sunday, July 10, 2016 by Indiandefense News

Washington:
The US is "committed" to help India build its defense capabilities until it can be the "net provider of security" in the Asia-Pacific region, a senior Obama administration official has said.

"There is a recognition that as India grows and develops the capacity to protect its interests, not just in immediate region, but also broadly throughout Asia Pacific particularly in the Indian Ocean region. It is in the US interest to build India that capacity until it can truly be the net provider of security," the official told PTI.

"Whether India decides to operate with us or not, we are committed to help India develop that capacity to protect its own interest and to ensure that the Indian Ocean region is free from the kind of threats to maritime transport, shipping, the way it is being in the South China Sea," he said.

Enhanced global co-operation with greater role for India, strengthening of defence and security relationship and initiating steps to boost bilateral trade are believed to be on top of the agenda for US President Barack Obama and Prime Minister Narendra Modi when they meet at the White House on Tuesday.

The official said the India-US relationship has now "emerged at the world stage" and is no longer a "restricted to narrow" South Asia or subcontinental set of issues.

"This level of engagement between an American President and an Indian Prime Minister is absolutely unprecedented," the official said.

India recognises that it now has a tangible and active role to play in protecting its interest, the official said moments after Modi landed at the Andrews Air Force Base for his three-day visit to Washington. So "it drifted away" from previous governments insisting on values and ideals like disarmament, non-discrimination to being "much more practical" in really reaching out protecting that interest.

The first manifestation of this was at the Paris Climate Change Summit last November.

The summit was successful largely because "Modi made a personal decision" to shift away from the integrated north-south narrative to one of really joining in with other world leaders to solving these problems, the official said.

"I think the President and the Prime Minister are likely to talk about how they continue their co-operation on world problems. That would come up in the meeting on different issues. And that would be reflected in the joint statement as well," said the official.

"Secondly the other major convergence that has taken place in recent years is in the realm of security. Again you have a country that historically was non-aligned, probably more closely aligned to the Soviets than with any other country. The US on the other hand was a major cold war protagonist and preferred operating with close alliances," the official said.

"What we have seen from the joint strategic vision from last year is that there is really a strong convergence of perspectives on security matters including regional security matters," the official added.

At the same time, the officials conceded that the convergence is not complete yet.

"There are areas where US still prefers to operate with partners and do operations together as we do elsewhere in the world. India is still hesitant to operate with any other country. It prefers to be autonomous and truly non-aligned," the official said.

"There was a statement made by one of our military commanders that created kind of push back, blow back inside India. But that is the kind of issue where we are on the edge where our co-operation is today. But I think in the years to come, we would look back at this period and say well we managed to get that through as well," observed the official, who is privy to the discussions between the two countries.

The official also conceded that America’s security partnership with Pakistan over the years still poses challenge to India-US relationship.

"But even there you would see there is going to be a much greater convergence again that no country should allow territory to use to launch terrorist attack against neighbours. And I think that is a very strong point of convergence between these two," said the senior administration official.

Economic front is one area, where there is less convergence as compared to security and global issues, the official said.

"On economic front, historically we had a socialist command economy in India and US promoting global liberalised trade. This is an area where convergence is far from complete," the official said.

"I think, as US is working with other countries in the Asia Pacific region, trans-pacific partnership, we have envisioned of a liberalised high standard trade and investment system in the Asia Pacific region. And India is not yet comfortable with that," the official said.

"It (India) still has an approach that is more protectionist which is internally oriented to advance its own industry and make its own industry more competitive. Of course, we understand that. But we are working and we are intensifying discussions including in the Oval Office on Wednesday between the President and the Prime Minister, how we can come on board and find areas to c-operate on in the trade investment area," said the official.

Source>>

This issue raises serious questions also.

1) BJP and RSS, they both are also communist too .........?......!

2) If not then what are ideological difference among all the different political parties and all the such organisations in India ....?....!

3) Is that true that entire India is on verge of becoming a Marxists communist totalitarian regime ..............?

Bahamut

@Zebra
Indian Express has very poor research team .The have publish a article on how movement of 1 company was a practice of military coup.Times of India,The Hindu and Hindustan Times are far better.

2) If not then what are ideological difference among all the different political parties and all the such organisations in India ....?....!

3) Is that true that entire India is on verge of becoming a Marxists communist totalitarian regime ..............?
1) BJP /NDA is a right wing organisation ,the have some socialist element but are not communist ,most of them support free trade.RSS is not a party but voluntary group and most of BJP members are or were a part of it.
2)Congress/UPA are the liberals ,Left is well left and there is right wing NDA/BJP.
3) We have more liberal trade then EU and some extend even more then US.The author seems to on LSD otherwise no one can write such things.

@Zebra
Indian Express has very poor research team .The have publish a article on how movement of 1 company was a practice of military coup.Times of India,The Hindu and Hindustan Times are far better.

1) BJP /NDA is a right wing organisation ,the have some socialist element but are not communist ,most of them support free trade.RSS is not a party but voluntary group and most of BJP members are or were a part of it.
Totally wrong.
They just fool people. Let's them declare themselves as right wing party then.
Just after idiot Modi become PM, there was a video on net about discussion of right wing parties in India.
And Rajdeep Sardesai said in it that there are no right wing party in India.
That video has been already posted on DFI.

(A request to other DFI members please help me to find that video again.)

RSS is not a party , that is why I used organisations in my second question.
Btw, an organisation can be communist too.
RSS has very good working relations with Indian left parties.

2)Congress/UPA are the liberals , ....
Then who are the god parents of kejriwal.

....Left is well left and there is right wing NDA/BJP.
Lie and don't spread it.

3) We have more liberal trade then EU and some extend even more then US.The author seems to on LSD otherwise no one can write such things.
Are you on afghan weeds...!
Even CCP ruled China is better, when we talk about trade and business.

Bahamut

Totally wrong.
Just after idiot Modi become PM, there was a video on net about discussion of right wing parties in India.

How is BJP not a right wing party please tell me on facts.
RSS is the ideological father of BJP ,with many of BJP leader groomed by RSS.
Kejriwal is not groomed by Congress,yes they are liberal ,but they have no effect on national politics.
CCP has very liberal Trade policy .Did u even see our Trade policy.We have major FDI reform and red tape has been eliminated even more.Regulation are less and we have signed FTA with a lot of country.

How is BJP not a right wing party please tell me on facts.
RSS is the ideological father of BJP ,with many of BJP leader groomed by RSS.
Tell idiot Modi to announce his own party as right wing

On other hand he preferred to join SCO in the name of NSG.

And now after it, he is reluctant to fulfil his own wards.

Kejriwal is not groomed by Congress,
Ha ha.

Why and how they managed to stay in Delhi for so long, even having a central govt job ....!

Did AK ever gone to Germany.....?
If yes, them with whom and when ....!

All these are on DFI already. Help your self.

yes they are liberal ,but they have no effect on national politics.
Congress also is pro left political party. They are not liberal.

And they do have tremendous effect on national politics, even today.

CCP has very liberal Trade policy .Did u even see our Trade policy.We have major FDI reform and red tape has been eliminated even more.Regulation are less and we have signed FTA with a lot of country.
There are no major reforms in Indian defence in recent days.

Even people trashed it on twitter, when govt tried to fool people.

Bahamut

Sir we jioned NSG because of its economic and infrastructure agreement which allow more acess to cash for infrastructure.It is good for the economy .NSG and SCO are 2 different things
There are no major reforms in Indian defence in recent days.

Even people trashed it on twitter, when govt tried to fool people
Heard about the FDI in defense sector .Plus there is huge make in India for defense product.There are talks of Unified command and Super general head all branches of Armed force but it take some changes in the constitution.
Congress also is pro left political party. They are not liberal .And they do have tremendous effect on national politics, even today.
Sir I said liberal left .Thing of them SJWs.
Why and how they managed to stay in Delhi for so long, even having a central govt job ....!
He was in IAS ,so he had a central Govt. job .

Yeh to wohi baat hui

"MAAN NA MAAN MAIN TERA MEHAMAAN"

If they really are concerned they should share their high end restricted technologies like jet engine, spying and reconnaissance, and other military hardwares without any conditions or treaties so that we can use as per our needs with no end user inspection.

:clap2: Whoever even disobeys US is a communist.
Your statements can help you to get H1B visa, believe me. :D

Totally wrong.

Lie and don't spread it.

If you're so concerned why don't come back in India and do something?
Hey, look Aussie, you've no right to call my PM idiot, we know very well that how strong entity Australia is.
Preferred? LOL.
India is going to join all.
It's the history. We have been in bed with west and commies at same time. :love:
He is fulfilling what Indian citizens want, not what some US paid NRIs want.
Ha ha.

Did AK ever gone to Germany.....?
If yes, them with whom and when ....!

All these are on DFI already. Help your self.
Kejru managed it by free kit of few months.
Mark my words. He'll be wiped out in next elections.
Congress also is pro left political party. They are not liberal.

And they do have tremendous effect on national politics, even today.
At what extent that does matter.
BTW,

Other Indians are concerned about interests (no matter with commies or Yankees), you are trying to make sure that India bows to your western masters.
RrThere are no major reforms in Indian defence in recent days.

Even people trashed it on twitter, when govt tried to fool people.
Are you sleeping?
http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/74433/page-7

@Bahamut - BJP actually is not truly a RW entity 'nationally', but right-of-center (or should I say, 'center-of-right'), and tends to be centrist, one reason why it earns flak from the right-leaning people.

Bahamut

@Bahamut - BJP actually is not truly a RW entity 'nationally', but right-of-center (or should I say, 'center-of-right'), and tends to be centrist, one reason why it earns flak from the right-leaning people.
It is the closest to complete right wing party but nower days the it matter less. A complete right wing party should place nation above every thing, even religion

am contemplating getting membership of Swamy's VHS. :rolleyes:

hardip

dekh o bhai..
American india ko bina baat ke kuchh nai dene wale..
( pak.....pe ab bharosa nai raha. nahi.. rus ab Super power raha)

America ko ab China ka darr hai..to india ke pass aa gaya hai.. ( China bhi india se darta hai isliye pak.... ke har Kadam pe uske sath khada hai,)

China us ko sidha challenge nai kar sakega isliye..
usne (do- u Korea ko safira banaya hua hai.
taki vakt Ane par.. America ko jatka de paye..balestic missile, sub marine jaisi help also, nuclear technology via pak......)

so... in short..
india not move quickly to us.. as us needs..
(also Russia meter for india buy s400 and new technology)

If America help india... to killed
hafiz sayid, and other like this...
tab india.. American se.. Najdiki badha sak ta hai....

india than help us to.. control pak nuclear weapons