TV sting claims spot-fixing, black money rife in Indian cricket IPL players

ajtr

TV sting claims spot-fixing, black money rife in Indian cricket
IPL players TP Sudhindra, Shalabh Srivastava, Amit Yadav and Mohnish Mishra have been caught on tape making sensational claims about the IPL.

A news channel today claimed to have blown the lid off a spot-fixing racket in domestic cricket in India. India TV said it had conducted a sting operation on many cricketers, who confessed on camera to their indiscretions: spot-fixing, negotiating terms for IPL team transfers and revealing details of payments made to them by IPL teams, which violate BCCI's salary grade rules.

The channel claimed that at the insistence of one of its reporters, pace bowler TP Sudhindra had spot-fixed a no-ball in a domestic match. Sudhindra is playing for Deccan Chargers in IPL5.

Sudhindra is shown agreeing to bowl a no-ball second ball of his first over in a domestic one-day match for Rs 20,000. The match was broadcast on Doordarshan. Sudhindra's no-ball was a massive one — he was so far out of his crease, his back-foot was close to the popping crease. It took the commentators by surprise.

India TV also claimed that Shalabh Srivastava demanded Rs 10 lakh for fixing a no-ball in an IPL match. Srivastava had played for Kings XI Punjab last in 2011.

The grainy footage shot with hidden cameras showed Sudhindra and KXIP all-rounder Amit Yadav speaking with shocking candour about spot-fixes and under-performing for cash.

Both Sudhindra and Srivastava had played in the now-defunct Indian Cricket League before being given amnesty by the BCCI.

India TV's investigation revealed that IPL players are being paid more than the payment slabs prescribed by the BCCI.

Pune Warriors' Mohnish Mishra said he had been paid Rs 1.45 crore as opposed to the Rs. 30 lakh he should have got. Mishra said Rs 45 lakh was paid to him through legitimate means, while Rs 1 crore was given to him in 'black'.

A reporter posed to be a representative of Mumbai Indians and approached Mishra. The reporter proposed a move to Mumbai for the young cricketer and asked him how much was to be paid to him in 'black' if his total price were to be Rs 2 crore.

Mishra is seen discussing the modalities of the payments made to him by Sahara, who own Pune Warriors. Sahara called India TV to deny making any illegitimate payments to Mishra.

It has been an open secret that some cricketers are paid more by their IPL franchises than what they claim publicly. On paper, Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni's income is said to be USD 1.8 million. But there's no limit to what Chennai can additionally pay him in order to retain him.

BCCI president and Chennai Super Kings owner N. Srinivasan has reacted along expected lines by insisting that "the IPL is clean". The IPL governing council is set for an emergency meeting on Tuesday morning.

Srinivasan said: "We will ensure that the integrity of the game is protected. BCCI believes in the integrity of the game. We will take the strictest possible action. We will have to have the tapes and the moment we see it, whoever is the player, we will take very very strict action."

"If there is any truth in it... It is a fact that we will take strictest action. Even if it means suspending the player immediately. But (that has to be) based on some evidence and fact, for which I have asked the COO of IPL Sundar Raman to request for the tape."

"IPL, we believe is clean. We have got the Anti- Corruption Unit covering it. They are the in-chanrge of the security. We have got Ravi Swami, who was heading BCCI's Anti-Corruption Unit to take it up for us."

"People can make allegations. But if there is any shred of evidence, we will take action."

More to follow.

Get rid of the bloody circus. We have lost our competitive edge on our pitches because of this monstrosity.

Make betting legal..If there is more money in fair betting, people would not resort to illegal betting.

It is not just IPL, match fixing is common in cricket on the whole. Given that betting is illegal in India, it creates a lot of opportunities for illegal entry and match fixing.

ejazr

Legalise betting and gambling and then go after the illegal betting seriously.

IPL itself is a corporate venture and now that the tax breaks are over (why did GoI give it tax breaks in the first place, I don't understand), it will bring in good revenue for the government along with the legalised betting.

Five uncapped Indian players were on Tuesday suspended with immediate effect pending completion of an inquiry, as the BCCI took action against the tainted cricketers in the wake of a television sting operation which claimed to have exposed corruption in the cash—rich IPL.

The decision to suspend Mohnish Mishra, Shalabh Srivastava, T.P. Sudhindra, Amit Yadav and Abhinav Bali was taken after a lengthy tele—conference of top BCCI officials and members of the IPL's Governing Council.

The BCCI also decided to conduct a preliminary inquiry headed by Ravi Sawani, the former chief of the ICC's Anti—Corruption Unit, who is now heading the BCCI's newly set—up Anti—Corruption Unit.

"The IPL Governing Council met on teleconference today at 2:30pm, and they recommended to the BCCI President strict action against those players who were found guilty, and found suspicious based on the television footage shown on India TV," IPL Chairman Rajiv Shukla told reporters here.

"Since it also involved matters relating to other matches and previous IPLs, it was referred to the President. The President, after due consideration, has decided to have a preliminary inquiry for which a commissioner has been appointed. Mr. Ravi Sawani, who was the ICC ACSU chief and now advisor, will conduct the inquiry, and he will submit a report to the Disciplinary Committee," he said.

"Pending inquiry, the five players have been suspended from all cricket activities with immediate effect. We will await the report of the preliminary inquiry and proper action will be taken only after that," he added.

Television channel India TV on Monday claimed to have blown the lid off 'murky deals' in the IPL among players, organisers, owners and big guns of Indian cricket.

BCCI N. Srinivasan has earlier admitted that he was taken by surprise by the sting operation, and reiterated the BCCI's zero tolerance towards corruption in cricket.

"We will not tolerate this nonsense. We have zero tolerance on corruption, and you will not be disappointed by the action we take," he said.

"Some evidence has been found against some players," he added.

The TV sting operation, which was aired at prime time on Monday, created a flutter in the Indian cricket establishment, prompting the BCCI to react quickly.

The channel had claimed it had done a sting operation in which many players confessed on hidden camera they get much more than their prescribed auction.

According to the channel, its operation also revealed that spot—fixing is not only prevalent in the IPL, but also in first class matches. The cahnnel also added that women play an important role in fixing.

The IPL's Governing Council had sought video footage from the TV channel, and is understood to have scrutinised the tapes before taking the decision of suspending the players.

Four of the five players suspended had played in the rebel Indian Cricket League.

Medium pacer Sudhindra, who had played for the Delhi Giants in the ICL, helped Madhya Pradesh gain promotion to Ranji Trophy's Elite Division in the 2010—11 season. He surprised everyone in his first season in the big league, ending the 2011—12 season as its highest wicket—taker and earning himself a contract with the Deccan Chargers in the IPL.

Madhya Pradesh middle—order batsman Mishra too played for the Delhi Giants in the rebel Indian Cricket League before gaining amnesty form the BCCI. Signed by the Deccan Chargers in 2010, 28—year—old Mishra moved to the newly—formed Pune Warriors in 2011.

Uttar Pradesh left—arm seamer Srivastava was India's highest wicket—taker at the victorious Under—19 World Cup in Sri Lanka in 2000. After severing ties with ICL team Delhi Giants, Srivastava was signed up by Kings XI Punjab in 2011.

22—year—old Yadav, an all—rounder, bats right—handed and bowls off—spin for Goa. He has played 14 first—class matches, scoring three half centuries and taking 41 wickets at 23.75.

Yadav is on Kings XI Punjab's roster but hasn't made his IPL debut yet.

Left—arm spinner Bali, who was with the Delhi Giants in the ICL, had played 13 first class matches and he is currently not in any IPL team.

Srivastava claimed that he was innocent and would put forward his side of story before the inquiry commissioner.

"I deny the charges, but don't want to say anything more as of now. I will put forward my views before the inquiry commissioner. I will wait for that. I respect the BCCI," he said.

The Editor—in—Chief and Chairman of India TV, Rajat Sharma stood by the story and said they had offered money to over a dozen cricketers after which they had aired the clips of cricketers, who had offered to take money to either switch teams or for spot-fixing in matches.

He denied claims that the big players had sought money from the channel's reporters who had posed as agents.

"As far as I know the big players in IPL are clean. This is possible since they have already made enough money. To me, it's not a system failure, but seems some individual players are corrupt," he said.

While conducting the sting operation, Sharma said they had come across three cricketers who had refused to take money from the reporters.

The BCCI later issued a release, expressing concern at the incident.

"An emergent meeting of the IPL Governing Council took place on teleconference today. The Governing Council discussed the video footage shown on India TV since last evening of a 'Sting' operation in connection with the IPL," the release said.

"The members felt that the areas covered by the footage warranted immediate action by the President BCCI under the 'Memorandum and Rules and Regulations' of the BCCI against the players alleged to be involved," it said.
The link: The Hindu : Sport / Cricket : IPL sting: BCCI suspends five cricketers

Atleast there is some reason for me to love IndiaTV. No matter whatever bullshit they broadcast, whatever grudges Mr. Katju might have against them, time and again they come up with great stuff. It is time for people to see the WWF face of IPL and leave it for the kids to watch.

Even IF this exists in IPL, i think the wrong guys were approached. That is if this is true.

I hope someday, cricketers will be paid illegally to overperform. Bring the magic back to the game.

There is no guarantee to overperform(whether paid illegally or not), while under-performing is always an option. Nothing can revive the magic of the game!!

You never approach the top most guys. There are always dealers in between the negotiating parties.
no one would want to bet on a small player. If he does anything, it will raise eyebrows instantly. The big names get big money. That is why we saw the Paki captain and two strike bowlers being approached and money being made.