Tracking Indian Economy till general elections 2019

YagamiLight

Kindly explain further, what you want to say. Thanks
What's there to explain. No of people who pay taxes has increased is what increasing the tax bracket does. Just because more people now pay taxes doesn't actually mean more people are prosperous, when you essentially force the previous non tax payers into paying taxes.

YagamiLight

Demonitization was not perfect. But it was not disastrous for the economy. I have not forgotten the doomsday predictions many experts made regarding how it will cause untold harm to our economy. None of that came true. That was with a flawed implementation
Yes, lost of 2 lakh crore worth of GDP growth per year through period of 3-4years is not disastrous at all, nor is the loss of millions of jobs and lakh of small businesses which scrapped by before demonization . Not at all :rolleyes:

YagamiLight

Inconvenienced sure...
Since you brought up bad idea and suffering, what about the suffering that we go through day in and day out because of the existing system.
I have to buy my own water, security, electricity, education, medicine even after paying hell lot of tax.
Over that, I have to be submissive to get any work done in any stupid govt. office.
I had to run pillar and post to get a stupid gas connection. Had to pay a bribe for a land line connection.

We have had so many years for poverty alleviation and development, fu*k we don't have governance thanks to the clueless idiots who ruled till all these year. But you want to highlight one bad execution because the govt. is not of your liking?
You may have liked the previous dispensation, but I hated it and I continue to hate it.
This is not about Modi screwing up the economy. This is about the blind bhakti the retards here displayed when very few people like us showed demonization for what it was from the very beginning. If nothing else, the bhakth clowns should atleast now be cautious about supporting the govt policies than supporting the govt blindly. But if this thread is anything to go by, that is too much to ask for here and bhakths haven't learnt anything so far from the demonization episode

And what is the literacy rate(proper literacy rate and not the read or write kind of literacy rate as followed by india) of Scandinavian countries as against that of India?

And again, going cashless is no solution to the fundamental problems in the economy. If Indian businessses are run by the Indian law 100%, there wouldn't be any successful Indian business . That's how screwed up Indian business laws are
And how much cashless(% of cashless transactions to the total transactions) did our country go!?

I think you're going off topic.....If you want to discuss about Literacy and going 100% cashless, then I'd like to discuss on the same, perhaps at some other time.

But for now, let's get back to this one i.e rupee devaluation and appreciation based on the number of currency denominations

In the post #1129, you've said

:rofl:too much of currency actually keeps the currency devalued. Demonization will cause rupee appreciation. Dont write something just to show that you too can write something
To which I responded in #1131

In layman terms you can say that.....

But it's actually the RBI that controls value of rupee by increasing and decreasing base points to currency controls the value.

Would explain the same case with Scandinavian countries. If I remember correctly, in Sweden only 3% of the transactions happen with cash. Denmark aims to go cashless by 2030.
So, YagamiLight I am asking you again....

If the number of currency denominations directly proportional to the value of any currency, then why didn't Scandinavian countries currency value is not high.

Oh and by the way, before I forget, can you please respond to my other post as well.

Please do answer these questions as well.

1. Due to Demonetization, we've lost 2 lakh crores of GDP for 3-4 yrs!!?? As you said in the post #1142. I remember that we've got out of demo side effects by 6 quarters Do you have source to back up your claims!!??

2. Is 2 lakh crores worth of GDP loss hurts our economy or increase in 2.5 lakh crores of tax collected by GOI helps our economy!?

What's there to explain. No of people who pay taxes has increased is what increasing the tax bracket does. Just because more people now pay taxes doesn't actually mean more people are prosperous, when you essentially force the previous non tax payers into paying taxes.
Thanks for your explanation even when you think there is nothing to explain.

To be honest your previous post and this post is quite counter intuitive to me. Can you please suggest some reading or particular theory that explains it further.

Maybe it's too simplistic but according to you people shouldn't pay tax. In my experience many of my rich relatives who have all the best things in their lives don't pay tax.

Yes, lost of 2 lakh crore worth of GDP growth per year through period of 3-4years is not disastrous at all, nor is the loss of millions of jobs and lakh of small businesses which scrapped by before demonization . Not at all :rolleyes:
The loss of millions of jobs has been proven false based on the increase in the PF contributions. Get this, there was actually an increase in number of PF accounts opening through. Not losses.... gains!!!

Did you seriously pick up that 2 lakh crore worth GDP from a possible growth number??? Can I do that too please starting with the Hindu growth rate.

This is not about Modi screwing up the economy. This is about the blind bhakti the retards here displayed when very few people like us showed demonization for what it was from the very beginning. If nothing else, the bhakth clowns should atleast now be cautious about supporting the govt policies than supporting the govt blindly. But if this thread is anything to go by, that is too much to ask for here and bhakths haven't learnt anything so far from the demonization episode
You have not shown anything. Your dire predictions are as grand as Modi's expectations with demonitization. When you start attacking your target audience with abuses, you should really look at your own data and tactics. Seriously get better arguments and data to show the disaster. Don't expect us to lap it up just because you are biased.

Craigs

As opposed to your blind hatred devoid of any facts?

armyofhind

too much of currency actually keeps the currency devalued.
Too much currency keeps a currency devalued? By that logic the US Dollar should've been the most devalued currency in the world.

Demonization will cause rupee appreciation.
Baseless point. Demonetisation has nothing to do with currency value. It was done for reasons far removed from economics. Political mostly.

Dont write something just to show that you too can write something
Don't vomit on the thread to try and appear a smartass. Your posts show you know zilch concerning economics.

Must've been playing truant from school when economics was being taught.

IMF pegs India growth at 7.4 per cent for FY19

India’s economic growth will accelerate in the current and next fiscal years, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) said in its latest forecast, consolidating the country’s position as the world’s fastest-growing major economy and opening a wider gap with China, which is projected to slow.

India’s economy is forecast to grow 7.4% in the current fiscal from 6.7% in FY18 and accelerate further in FY20 to 7.8%, shows the IMF’s latest forecast, which is unchanged from its October outlook.

There will be a gradual increase in India’s growth rate as structural reforms raise potential output, the IMF said in its flagship World Economic Outlook released on Tuesday. China is forecast to slow from 6.9% in 2017 to 6.6% in 2018 and further to 6.4% in 2019.

//economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/63801741.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

ManMaun Singh and the belly-aching shouting brigade in the Cong hauled Modi over the coals after demonetization and said that the Indian economy will crash, and the GDP will come down to less than 4% in the coming years with no hope of a revival in the near future.

There should be some way to make them eat their words, what?

MSP of Kharif crops raised 1.5 times.

From Yusuf
GST collection for July 2018 at 96,483 Cr. Which is higher than the avg of last fiscal when the taxes were high on many items. GST collection increasing even after reduction in tax rates. And “pandits” say reduction in tax rate will mean revenue loss

https://www.techinasia.com/india-threatening-madeinchina-industry

C. Custer · 5d ago · 5 min read
India is threatening the made-in-China industry

Samsung’s new plant in India is the largest smartphone factory in the world.

The following article is an adapted translation of this article, written by Wang Xinxi and published by Sina Tech.

The signs of a shift are everywhere. China, the world’s mobile phone manufacturing hub, is swiftly losing ground to India.

Consider: Not long ago, Samsung built a new mobile phone manufacturing plant in Noida, India. It’s Samsung’s second factory in the country, and is slated to become the world’s largest such plant, producing a whopping 120 million mobile phones per year.

Prior to that, Samsung had invested quite a bit in the Chinese manufacturing market. But as domestic economic growth slows, Samsung’s strategic vision has pivoted toward India.

Apple, Foxconn, and a host of other domestic mobile phone manufacturers have also invested in India-based manufacturing over the past couple of years. For example, last year, Apple began manufacturing some iPhones in India, and approached the Indian government about tax breaks to facilitate its suppliers manufacturing phones there.

And the list goes on. Acer’s spin-off manufacturing arm Wistron and Foxconn have both announced agreements with Indian government officials to rent land for local manufacturing purposes.

It’s not just the global players that are moving away. Virtually all of China’s phone manufacturers have established manufacturing in India. Vivo, Oppo, Xiaomi, and more all have factories there. Xiaomi, in fact, already has two, and earlier this year announced plans to open a third.

Vivo’s new 30,000 square meter manufacturing plant in India is its largest outside of China.

Even component makers like chipmaker Mediatek have announced plans to slow manufacturing programs in China as they shift toward India and other Southeast Asian locales.

One of the reasons for this is simple saturation; manufacturing growth and smartphone sales in China are slowing, while the comparatively unsaturated Indian market is heating up. With smartphone penetration in India is still only 30 percent, some phone manufacturers see the soon-to-be massive market as crucial to their future success and want to set up there before their competitors do.

Another reason: India’s government has incentivized local production through a variety of policies, including raising import duties on critical parts to make direct investment in India more financially compelling to manufacturers.

The biggest reason, of course, is money. Rent, equipment, and labor costs are all typically lower in India than China, meaning that manufacturers can produce phones more affordably there. And with costs in China being driven continuously upward by rising living standards even as local demand for smartphones slows, Chinese phone makers are finding themselves in a position where they need to make phones more cheaply even as all of their costs are rising.

The movement toward India, with its lower costs and far less saturated market, could thus prove very difficult to reverse.

Xiaomi’s manufacturing plants in Vizag, India.

China’s manufacturing industry worries
A mobile phone manufacturing shift away from China could cause serious problems. China’s manufacturing industry is an important part of the country’s economic power. And like India, China is a populous country. Without the stability provided by the manufacturing industry, China’s economy could experience a massive capital outflow.

India does have a comparative shortage of skilled laborers, but the movement of Chinese phone manufacturers to India will provide an opportunity for the country to both attract and train more skilled workers, speeding the development of the entire Indian mobile phone industry, including related sectors like R&D.

We have seen this effect before in China. When Foxconn established a massive presence in Zhengzhou, an entire vertical mobile phone supply chain took shape in the region. As mobile phone manufacturing becomes more established in India, the country will have a chance to become a more influential player in the global mobile phone industry as related businesses spring up around manufacturing hubs.

The current global climate, with America shouting about the return of domestic manufacturing and firms like Foxconn, Apple, and Samsung moving manufacturing to India, is a serious warning to the “made in China” industry.

Growing problems for China, with no obvious solutions

Narendra Modi launches Make in India campaign (Photo credit: Wikimedia Commons)

India’s Modi government has been touting the “make in India” plan since 2014, with the ultimate goal of making India the center of the global manufacturing industry. That strategy appears to be gradually coming to fruition.

India’s smartphone market is dominated by low-cost Android phones from domestic players like Lava, Intex, and Micromax, as well as Chinese firms like Xiaomi, Oppo, Lenovo, and Vivo. In the past, the Indian firms had trouble competing with Chinese companies on quality because they lacked access to a strong local supply chain, and many local factories like Micromax’s depended on Shenzhen subcontractors to meet their numbers. But as India’s domestic manufacturing industry grows, that’s becoming less true.

As far as the giants Apple and Samsung go, the Chinese consumer market remains crucially important. But their changes in supply chain strategy pose a definite risk to the Chinese manufacturing industry.

Finding a solution may be difficult. While America’s manufacturing industry dropped off naturally along with a corresponding boom in technology, research, and R&D, China’s manufacturing industry may not be as easily replaced, as the economic sectors needed to replace it are still developing.

And the mobile phone industry is but one signal of the broader trend that is Chinese manufacturing moving abroad. Electronics makers like Samsung, Toshiba, Panasonic, and Sony, are all considering cutting investments in Chinese manufacturing, setting their sights on countries like India. Even domestic manufacturers are moving more of their operations abroad in a bid to become more globally relevant and competitive.

At the same time, the “made in America” movement isn’t just a political slogan – data from the last few years shows that some manufacturing has indeed moved back to US shores.

The movement of low-cost manufacturing is probably an unstoppable trend. But at the same time, China’s technological development and local talent pool is not yet sufficient to support a large enough high-end manufacturing industry to replace all the departing low-cost players. So what’s good news for the development of manufacturing in Southeast Asian countries like India has all the makings of an impending concern, or perhaps even a crisis, for China.

https://www.techinasia.com/india-threatening-madeinchina-industry

C. Custer · 5d ago · 5 min read
India is threatening the made-in-China industry

Samsung’s new plant in India is the largest smartphone factory in the world.

The following article is an adapted translation of this article, written by Wang Xinxi and published by Sina Tech.

The signs of a shift are everywhere. China, the world’s mobile phone manufacturing hub, is swiftly losing ground to India.

Consider: Not long ago, Samsung built a new mobile phone manufacturing plant in Noida, India. It’s Samsung’s second factory in the country, and is slated to become the world’s largest such plant, producing a whopping 120 million mobile phones per year.

Prior to that, Samsung had invested quite a bit in the Chinese manufacturing market. But as domestic economic growth slows, Samsung’s strategic vision has pivoted toward India.

Apple, Foxconn, and a host of other domestic mobile phone manufacturers have also invested in India-based manufacturing over the past couple of years. For example, last year, Apple began manufacturing some iPhones in India, and approached the Indian government about tax breaks to facilitate its suppliers manufacturing phones there.

And the list goes on. Acer’s spin-off manufacturing arm Wistron and Foxconn have both announced agreements with Indian government officials to rent land for local manufacturing purposes.

It’s not just the global players that are moving away. Virtually all of China’s phone manufacturers have established manufacturing in India. Vivo, Oppo, Xiaomi, and more all have factories there. Xiaomi, in fact, already has two, and earlier this year announced plans to open a third.

Vivo’s new 30,000 square meter manufacturing plant in India is its largest outside of China.

Even component makers like chipmaker Mediatek have announced plans to slow manufacturing programs in China as they shift toward India and other Southeast Asian locales.

One of the reasons for this is simple saturation; manufacturing growth and smartphone sales in China are slowing, while the comparatively unsaturated Indian market is heating up. With smartphone penetration in India is still only 30 percent, some phone manufacturers see the soon-to-be massive market as crucial to their future success and want to set up there before their competitors do.

Another reason: India’s government has incentivized local production through a variety of policies, including raising import duties on critical parts to make direct investment in India more financially compelling to manufacturers.

The biggest reason, of course, is money. Rent, equipment, and labor costs are all typically lower in India than China, meaning that manufacturers can produce phones more affordably there. And with costs in China being driven continuously upward by rising living standards even as local demand for smartphones slows, Chinese phone makers are finding themselves in a position where they need to make phones more cheaply even as all of their costs are rising.

The movement toward India, with its lower costs and far less saturated market, could thus prove very difficult to reverse.

Xiaomi’s manufacturing plants in Vizag, India.

China’s manufacturing industry worries
A mobile phone manufacturing shift away from China could cause serious problems. China’s manufacturing industry is an important part of the country’s economic power. And like India, China is a populous country. Without the stability provided by the manufacturing industry, China’s economy could experience a massive capital outflow.

India does have a comparative shortage of skilled laborers, but the movement of Chinese phone manufacturers to India will provide an opportunity for the country to both attract and train more skilled workers, speeding the development of the entire Indian mobile phone industry, including related sectors like R&D.

We have seen this effect before in China. When Foxconn established a massive presence in Zhengzhou, an entire vertical mobile phone supply chain took shape in the region. As mobile phone manufacturing becomes more established in India, the country will have a chance to become a more influential player in the global mobile phone industry as related businesses spring up around manufacturing hubs.

The current global climate, with America shouting about the return of domestic manufacturing and firms like Foxconn, Apple, and Samsung moving manufacturing to India, is a serious warning to the “made in China” industry.

Growing problems for China, with no obvious solutions

Narendra Modi launches Make in India campaign (Photo credit: Wikimedia Commons)

India’s Modi government has been touting the “make in India” plan since 2014, with the ultimate goal of making India the center of the global manufacturing industry. That strategy appears to be gradually coming to fruition.

India’s smartphone market is dominated by low-cost Android phones from domestic players like Lava, Intex, and Micromax, as well as Chinese firms like Xiaomi, Oppo, Lenovo, and Vivo. In the past, the Indian firms had trouble competing with Chinese companies on quality because they lacked access to a strong local supply chain, and many local factories like Micromax’s depended on Shenzhen subcontractors to meet their numbers. But as India’s domestic manufacturing industry grows, that’s becoming less true.

As far as the giants Apple and Samsung go, the Chinese consumer market remains crucially important. But their changes in supply chain strategy pose a definite risk to the Chinese manufacturing industry.

Finding a solution may be difficult. While America’s manufacturing industry dropped off naturally along with a corresponding boom in technology, research, and R&D, China’s manufacturing industry may not be as easily replaced, as the economic sectors needed to replace it are still developing.

And the mobile phone industry is but one signal of the broader trend that is Chinese manufacturing moving abroad. Electronics makers like Samsung, Toshiba, Panasonic, and Sony, are all considering cutting investments in Chinese manufacturing, setting their sights on countries like India. Even domestic manufacturers are moving more of their operations abroad in a bid to become more globally relevant and competitive.

At the same time, the “made in America” movement isn’t just a political slogan – data from the last few years shows that some manufacturing has indeed moved back to US shores.

The movement of low-cost manufacturing is probably an unstoppable trend. But at the same time, China’s technological development and local talent pool is not yet sufficient to support a large enough high-end manufacturing industry to replace all the departing low-cost players. So what’s good news for the development of manufacturing in Southeast Asian countries like India has all the makings of an impending concern, or perhaps even a crisis, for China.
Once we improve our infrastructure and reform the Labour and land laws, we can steal almost all the manufacturing jobs from China given our lower costs.

YagamiLight

From Yusuf
GST collection for July 2018 at 96,483 Cr. Which is higher than the avg of last fiscal when the taxes were high on many items. GST collection increasing even after reduction in tax rates. And “pandits” say reduction in tax rate will mean revenue loss
Will the bhakthals here at least now accept what I said from very beginning that the GST was a good idea but implemented badly at very high rates:lol:

YagamiLight

Once we improve our infrastructure and reform the Labour and land laws, we can steal almost all the manufacturing jobs from China given our lower costs.
You mean the reforms this govt is proposing like minimum wage laws and other anti business friendly laws?