Top guns on BJP first list of 20 for Lok Sabha elections

Discussion in 'Politics & Society' started by Hindi, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. Hindi

    Hindi Tihar Jail Banned

    Mar 6, 2014
    Likes Received:
    Top guns on BJP first list of 20 for Lok Sabha elections - The Hindu

    Sadananda replaces Chandre Gowda in Bangalore North

    The Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday released a list of 20 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. The list, released by the party’s Central Election Committee in Delhi, has 12 incumbent MPs, while four have been replaced.

    The prominent candidates include the former Chief Ministers B.S. Yeddyurappa — who has been preferred over his son and current MP B.Y. Raghavendra, from Shimoga — and D.V. Sadananda Gowda, who has been fielded from the Bangalore North constituency, ignoring the incumbent MP D.B. Chandre Gowda and other prominent aspirants.

    BJP national general secretary and five-time MP Ananth Kumar will seek re-election from Bangalore South, while BJP State unit president Pralhad Joshi will contest again from Dharwad.

    The first list does not include the names of constituencies where selection of candidates has become tricky. Mysore and Udupi–Chikmagalur seats, which are witnessing a tough competition among aspirants, are not part of the first list. Similarly, the Bellary seat, where the party is expected to field the former Minister B. Sriramulu after re-inducting him into its fold, has also been kept out of the list. However, there are indications of heartburn turning into rebellion as Koppal MP Shivaramagouda, who has not been given ticket to re-contest, has threatened to take a call on his future political moves. Mr. Shivaramagouda, who had won by a margin of about 80,000 votes in the previous polls, told The Hindu that he was upset over not getting the ticket. However, sources sought to underplay his dissatisfaction and said they had strictly gone by their district unit’s recommendation. The party has also denied ticket to Raichur MP Phakirappa, a relative of Mr. Sriramulu. Sources said Mr. Sriramulu had been taken into confidence while making this decision.

    The names of other candidates are: Ramesh V. Katti (Chikkodi), Suresh C. Angadi (Belgaum), P.C. Gaddigoudar (Bagalkot), Ramesh C. Jigajinagi (Bijapur), Revu Naik Belamagi (Gulbarga), K. Shivanagouda Naik (Raichur), Sanganna A. Karadi (Koppal), Shivakumar Udasi (Haveri), Anant Kumar Hegde (Uttara Kannada), G.M. Siddeshwara (Davangere), Nalin Kumar Kateel (Dakshina Kannada), Janardhana Swamy (Chitradurga), A.R. Krishnamurthy (Chamarajanagar), P. Muniraju Gowda (Bangalore Rural), P.C. Mohan (Bangalore Central), and B.N. Bache Gowda (Chickballapur).
    - The central election committee (CEC) meeting of the BJP on Saturday saw two top leaders, Sushma Swaraj and Murli Manohar Joshi, questioning the top brass over electoral strategy. Ms Swaraj, who sought to know details of B. Sreeramulu’s BSR Congress’ merger with the saffron party, made it clear that she was against the move. Mr Joshi, the sitting MP from Varanasi, demanded to know whether the party’s Prime Ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi, was being fielded from there.

    However, the senior leader was told that the party is yet to take a decision on the parliamentary constituency that Mr Modi would contest. Mr Sreeramulu has already announced the possible merger of his party, with which the controversial Reddy brothers of Bellary are also associated, and even the BJP’s Karnataka unit is in favour of the merger. The BJP also finalised the list of its 57 candidates for the Odisha Assembly polls. With confusion prevailing over candidates for UP, the party released its second list of 52 names from Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, Kerala, Assam and West Bengal.

    The fight between Mr Modi and Mr Joshi’s supporters over the Varanasi seat is likely to intensify in the coming days. After the CEC meeting, party leader Ananth Kumar clarified that Ms Swaraj and Mr Joshi left the meeting early as both had pre scheduled meetings. Mr Kumar said Mr Joshi had to go to his ‘karyakshetra’ work area. According to sources Mr Joshi, is miffed with the party leadership for not consulting him if at all the party decides to field Mr Modi from Varanasi.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014

Share This Page