The world's 10 costliest militaries

'And you know all this sitting there in France reading articles? How many Army men have you meet to come to some sort of conclusions by yourself? Army is a Government job and government jobs are typically low pay but they come with lot of perks and job security.
And you know enough Jawans to know they are happy trouncing through the jungle, fighting an enemy they can't see, deficient in gear, can't go home for leave, stay in deficient housing facilities, stressed to the max, and get paid only 3-4k Rs a month? To top it off, their officers don't even bother to learn their names.

I will agree on the point of army jawans getting low pay but you make it sound so disgustingly negative that everything good done by the Jawans and Scientists and Nation as a whole seems to go completely over looked and uncredited by you. Even if be both agree on the low pay i cant agree with your attitude.
It isn't the fault of the Jawan's and Scientists that the goals do not get achieved. It is the corrupt babus in GoI that steal from the money which should be allocated to them. The attitude is negative because the results are negative.

And you know enough Jawans to know they are happy trouncing through the jungle, fighting an enemy they can't see, deficient in gear, can't go home for leave, stay in deficient housing facilities, stressed to the max, and get paid only 3-4k Rs a month? To top it off, their officers don't even bother to learn their names.
Exaggerated.

Basic pay for Jawans is 3-4k a month. Over that comes the HRA, Medical Allowance, Travel allowance, Food allowance, special allowance etc which brings the money you take home to at least Rs 12000-15000 after tax deductions. Then they have pension benefits and other army related benefits like discounted rations etc.

Considering most Jawans are villagers, these guys are actually rich in their villages. Sure, they cannot afford a city life, but they aren't city folk anyway.

During service the food the Jawans eat is currently unmatched even by western standards. Not the tin can, frozen food that NATO eats.

The rest of what you mentioned are one off incidents. Out of 2.5 million soldiers, one soldier shooting his officer does not give the term "One in a Million" a new meaning. Soldiers committing suicide, fratricide, depression etc are all part and parcel of life in the army. Better people survive that, some unfortunately don't.

http://articles.cnn.com/2009-05-12/...ier-camp-liberty-defense-official?_s=PM:WORLD
U.S. soldier charged with murder in Iraq shooting deaths

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/33678801/ns/us_news-crime_and_courts/
Gunman kills 12, wounds 31 at Fort Hood

Sh!t happens even in the best military and nobody in the world takes it as a joke.

When you sign up, you follow army directives. Many of our soldiers serve at potential war zones or in hostile regions. When a soldier tries to go home before his rotation is over or when his yearly leaves are over previously then his claim will obviously be rejected. He goes mad and shoots up the officer. That's that. You just don't leave the army whenever you want.

Even regular civilians cannot take holidays whenever they want to.

Depressing housing conditions really depends on POV. The Jawans are villagers, the army accommodations are actually better than where they come from. No electricity, no running water. If you are suggesting five star accommodations, then they don't exist anywhere.

Rahul92

how many countries post real figures regarding millitaries every one try to show little as to stop attracting the world's concentration

Exaggerated.

Basic pay for Jawans is 3-4k a month. Over that comes the HRA, Medical Allowance, Travel allowance, Food allowance, special allowance etc which brings the money you take home to at least Rs 12000-15000 after tax deductions. Then they have pension benefits and other army related benefits like discounted rations etc.
Housing built by and for the Army... no choice, no amenities.
What Medical allowance? They don't get any money, they just go to an Army hospital.
Travel allowance... reimbursed for $10 train ticket.
What Food allowance? They eat the rations they are served.
Special Duty allowance... Rs 100. WoW!

Rs 12-15k my arse... the amount of money that actually flows through their hands above their pay is nothing. Extra pay trudging through the jungles for a month is only Rs 1000! A conscript in the Russian Army does better than a professional Indian Jawan. What is being run here is like a conscript Army, except people volunteer for it because life in the rural is worse.

What Medical allowance? They don't get any money, they just go to an Army hospital.

Rs 12-15k my arse... the amount of money that actually flows through their hands above their pay is nothing. Extra pay trudging through the jungles for a month is only Rs 1000! A conscript in the Russian Army does better than a professional Indian Jawan. What is being run here is like a conscript Army, except people volunteer for it because life in the rural is worse.
I only gave examples of allowances. They literally do not get those same allowances. There are like a 100 different allowances which are tax free.

Anyway, read this and satisfy yourself,
http://indianarmy.nic.in/writereaddata/documents/brochurepaycommission.pdf

Unless you have kids, don't look like much.
Officers do earn more than the Soldiers. However the quality of living in villages and cities have a huge contrast where the Officers are mostly from cities while soldiers come mostly from villages where even the most strict fines for major criminal activities is probably less than Rs 5000 compared to lakhs in cities.

In a village a family of 4 could live very well with Rs 500-1000 a week.

singularity

I am confused whatever you have written is due to ignorance of the facts or because some Indian stepped on your tail bit hard sometime in the past. Instead of throwing sh!t at the fan kindly get familiar with the ground reality. May be you are right if you are talking about Indian army in the year of 1970..
Houses built by the army in the cantt towns as i belong to the one which Ambala cantt are more than good enough per Indian standards.
If you talk about the medical facilities i must tell you that nowdays jawans or ex jawans who are suffering from grave sickness
are referred to tier 1 hospitals like max or fortis(kindly google the names) the whole expense is borne by the military. I have witnessed it firsthand.
ration & grocery are provided at much cheaper rate by CSD canteens even two wheelers to four wheelers.
if you are talking about the phase before 6th pay commission then it makes little sense.
But i love france for its "Légion étrangère" and artistic porn films!!!
One of my very good friends is serving in 1° REC.
we certainly have our weaknesses but not the ones which you falsely highlighted.

Your ignorance proves you don't squat about the Indian Army ! Houses alloted for the armed forces personnel are based on the ranks of the those who serve in them. An officer of Indian army, navy or airforce is provided a substantially good accommodation based on his rank This includes 24 hours free electricity, free water supply, almost free telephone connection, plus the children of armed personnel study in Army schools which boast of being among some the best schools in the country in terms of academic and co-curricular activities and discipline at an almost paltry sum as fees compared to the private schools in the cities which charge ten times the fees for the same level of education standards. They are provided free healthcare for all members of the family and if there is no army hospital nearby that can provide advanced level of treatment required for any illness or injury, they are referred to the best hospitals and are fully reimbursed for their expenses. And by the way, the armed forces also boast of having some the best hospitals in the country that can match any A-grade hospital like AIIMS, Escorts, Apollo or Fortis. Hence, the don't need to go to any private hospital in most cases as all their medicals needs are taken care of by the command hospitals.

The $10 train ticket that you quoted is for a jawan, not an officer. And, that $10 ticket can get you upto 1500 kms by train to anywhere in India.

About food allowance, what do you mean they eat the rations they are served ?? Food allowance in the Indian army means that you can buy any kind of food items that an entire family of an serving personnel needs for the entire month at one third the actual market price, and that includes food item like humble vegetable, fruits and cereals to package imported food and Scottish Whisky, French wine and Russian Vodka, purchased by everyone starting from the humble jawan to the general of the army !

Plus, an armed forces personnel beginning from a jawan gets a group insurance, home loan, car loan, two wheeler loan, home furnishing and improvement loan, personal loan at fixed rates from the nationalized banks spanning from $10000-100000 depending upon rank. Anybody from a jawan to a general can buy a two wheeler or a four wheeler at special DGS&D rates, which make them 5-15 cheaper than the market price applicable for a general civilian.

As for amenities for recreation, you surely don't know shit ! The army, navy and the air force have some of the best officers clubs, auditoriums and guest houses that can put even 4-5 star hotels to shame ! They have some of the best facilities for sporting available in entire Asia which include some of the best and prestigious golf courses, horse riding academies and polo grounds. And you don't pay a paisa to wine and dine there or enjoy the riches !