The first woman to join an infantry regiment has quit after two weeks of training

Like I said before, there is no need for Government or Forces to get into any controversy or earn bad PR from good for nothing Left garbage Feminists.

Let the institutes be open for women but simply ask them to perform. When NSR MoD made this move I was quite sure what might have transpired behind the walls of army HQ.

Having said that I am not with a view that women can not perform like men in a combat. But they have meet the standards without any levy given to them.

so that brings the women quits figure to 100% :biggrin2:
50% drop out rate at RAF regiment, I seriously doubt that. This is not an "infantry unit". This is a unit which does guard duty but pretends to be a fighting unit.
my point is judging women power based on a single woman competing with 50 men is not fair ,
let there be equal number of trainee women as men and then measure their performance without lowering standards and if let says less than 5 percent of women trainees finishes the course then no need for any more argument ,

There are women who can outperform men physically, mentally and intellectually but they are too few in numbers. Problem is that militaries are a mass organisation. Having 3-5 capable women in an infantry company of 130 is not going to be helpful to the army, their male colleagues and to the women themselves. Its a lose-lose proposition.
this is a good point ,

I don't have a problem with WIC but it simply doesn't pan out in the real world. Women as heli pilots have been serving in India since 1994 and did a good job in Kargil and Siachen. At the same time, vast majority of women will fail to lift a 45kg 155mm arty round, let alone repeat it 50 times a day, trained or not.

There are places where women can serve in the armed forces and excel at their jobs, frontline fighting units are not one of these places.

but lets say there are 10 women among company of 130 equally capable as men then question is would you deny them for participation at war ,

and by god , if those women proved themselves then what ???

frontline is already very ugly place especially during war ,

the trouble is that they may not gonna win every time and what gonna happen to these women if they get caught by enemy ,

war gonna become more uglier ,
and how it gonna affect the society , would the society or even military and govt. honour their sacrifice or just gonna regret it as a mistake or try to hide it because of humiliation ,

or could society change their view about women .

12arya

I hope you don't take what I said in the wrong way 12Arya mam.

Lower the standards isn't the only problem that comes with women in Military.
We have a natural difference between a men and women

Take this for example this is a data complication on Grip strength taken by national heath committee of the United States

The black curves are the average.

You can see now both the gender start out equally till puberty hits and then the curve begins to diverg.

You see now in terms of grip strength we have less than 6 to 9% of the women women even coming close to a mans average and 2% going above average

Now you may ask me how does grip strength matter.
Well grip strength is everything, it is the some total of your upper body strength, all the muscles present in the upper body combine together to provide grip strength.

Grip strength is invloved in everything relevant to military.
Grip strength will determine if u can hold the gun as the same accuracy as the man when firing.
Grip strength will determine how efficiently you can climb a 10 m rope.
Grip strength matters when you lift something or grab on to something when your pulling or pushing.
Grip strength will matter in your martial arts training, this is the reason why most women get beat by men in wrestling kind of sport.

So you have maybe 1 or 2 female for every 98 men qualifying for the physical standard.
So this is how it goes we will have to arrange for different quarters different washroom facilities and other stuff.
This all will cost us a lot of money which we are already short off.

And that's not the only thing women go through periods which cut down on their performance even more.
And let's be real there is no guarantee of what will happen when male and female are put together in a team.

Now we can either just hire more males for the job which we have plenty or maybe hire more females just for the sake of filling progressivnes quota knowing well about all the drawbacks.

Granted there are fields like Air force where inclusion of women has little to no affect upon the performance. Women helicopter pilots have been operating for decades in our air force and now are doing so in the fighter jet department.
Women in the sniper department are renowned during the world war and even now.

I'm in no way have any patriarchical view against female all I'm asking for is efficiency in the armed forces.

Mam i respect and admire you and I'm all open on debate if u want to
@ Bhumihar, buddy u probably didn't read what i wrote. and no i don't think u r a patriarchal gringo either. and plz don't call me ma'am. kindly refer to me by my profile name. im a very ordinary woman and im here to gain some knowledge about our forces. that's all.

im very much a realist and that's why i said : I AM AGAINST WOMEN IN COMBAT and i completely agree with what u & others have said. i honestly think 99% of trained women in our forces won't be able to beat their male colleagues, if they r pitted against each other. its just impossible. but our feminists r a determined lot and they won't rest under national security is risked by getting this unreasonable request granted! in such a case, if WIC is allowed by the govt, then the standards shud not b diluted for the sake of pleasing the libtards. that's my argument. no, im completely against this "inclusion" hogwash. military isn't the place for geneder equality and such stuff.

yes, women excel in airforce and even navy for that matter. i think already women r employed skillfully in our amy. and they r used in the most efficient ways like in communication, education, law, medicine etc. what i can't understand is the stubborn attitude of libtards regarding women in combat in infantry.

by the way, very informational data & stats u have posted. i didn't knew this much study has been done on the matter. great post bro.

let there be equal number of trainee women as men and then measure their performance without lowering standards and if let says less than 5 percent of women trainees finishes the course then no need for any more argument ,
Impossible. Height, weight and other physical requirments and tasks are designed for men. There cannot be equal number of men and women unless women have gone through a bout of biological evolution that nobody noticed.

but lets say there are 10 women among company of 130 equally capable as men then question is would you deny them for participation at war ,
Yes I will. Unless women are bringing something special to the table which they don't, the point of "just as capable as men" is moot.

Why would I complicate the structure, logistics and living arrangements of a unit when even at their very best women are promising similar performance at additional costs?

and by god , if those women proved themselves then what ???
Again, impossible. There are women in India who can fulfill all kinds of reqirments.

a) How many want to join the military?

b) Do they really matter as far as the numbers are concerned?

This is not a sports arena where a handful of women are competing against each other. This is war where a handful of women will be competing against lakhs of men who are taller, stronger and have higher upper body strength.

Few 100 or even thousand women (being very generous here) are inconsequencial where beligerants are fielding million men.

12arya

It is after watching this video that the song "Baby marwake maanegi" was written.
the GIF luks like that of chini PLA, from the facial features of the soldiers!!! do chinis allow women in combat?

by the way, hilarious GIF. i laughed non stop watching it.

Haldiram

Impossible. Height, weight and other physical requirments and tasks are designed for men. There cannot be equal number of men and women unless women have gone through a bout of biological evolution that nobody noticed.

Yes I will. Unless women are bringing something special to the table which they don't, the point of "just as capable as men" is moot.

Why would I complicate the structure, logistics and living arrangements of a unit when even at their very best women are promising similar performance at additional costs?

Again, impossible. There are women in India who can fulfill all kinds of reqirments.

This is not a sports arena where a handful of women are competing against each other. This is war where a handful of women will be competing against lakhs of men who are taller, stronger and have higher upper body strength.

Few 100 or even thousand women (being very generous here) are inconsequencial where beligerants are fielding million men.
I may agree to post female soldiers on Indo China border but at no cost Indo Pak border.
If u have been following through you might know what happend to Captain Kalia. I'm not sure if it was the Afghan Mujahhidin or the Paki army but what the autopsy report suggested was an act of mad animal.
The Pakis aren't human they are animal.

Let the institutes be open for women but simply ask them to perform. When NSR MoD made this move I was quite sure what might have transpired behind the walls of army HQ
That's a slippery slope. Equal standards of today will turn into shitty standards of tomorrow at the drop of hat and for that to happen, you don't need a feminist revolution in the society.

All you need is a few politicians who want to score brownie points with a few yes men in military and MOD.

Military service in India will go from a priviledge to an inalienable right.

That's a slippery slope. Equal standards of today will turn into shitty standards of tomorrow at the drop of hat and for that to happen, you don't need a feminist revolution in the society.

All you need is a few politicians who want to score brownie points with a few yes men in military and MOD.

Military service in India will go from a priviledge to an inalienable right.
Reality and idealism don't go together. No one can dispute what yo saying but governments and Institute bounded by it follow perception and popular narrative.

12arya

Really man military is not the place to score brownie points, this year I had scored quite high in the NDA exam but got rejected due to flatfoot. See no exception for us flatfooters in the army.
yes, that's what im saying. if GOI lower standards for gender equality, how will it be fair to people like u who got rejected for such reasons?

also agree with @Bhumihar said, regarding posting women to Chini border and never to the porki ones. i can't imagine what they wil do to a female soldier if those creatures capture one!!!!

yes, Capt. Kalia still is a sore wound on our psyches & ofcourse Commander.Jhadhav's continuing torture.....so capturing a female soldier will raise crazy situations. And if male soldiers r around, im sure they will all risk their lives trying to save the female soldier!

undeadmyrmidon

yes, that's what im saying. if GOI lower standards for gender equality, how will it be fair to people like u who got rejected for such reasons?

also agree with @Bhumihar said, regarding posting women to Chini border and never to the porki ones. i can't imagine what they wil do to a female soldier if those creatures capture one!!!!

yes, Capt. Kalia still is a sore wound on our psyches & ofcourse Commander.Jhadhav's continuing torture.....so capturing a female soldier will raise crazy situations. And if male soldiers r around, im sure they will all risk their lives trying to save the female soldier!
My strategy -

Mandatory NCC training for all 16 - 21 year olds. Best get referred to army via NCC entry.

10 - 15% of NCC males join combat units. Remaining top 50% join combat support units and rest join desk jobs/reservers/industry.

Female top 10% join combat support units (Not below battalion level/active theatre) and rest join desk jobs or deputed to reserves or industry. US has revolving door for military specialists to join corporate sector and can go back as required.

In event of war, 20% of male reservists will join man army to allow for overmanning to prevent casualties ruining military readiness. Expedited training of NCC to fill reservist gaps and mobilize female or 4F (unfit for military service) males for factory production (munitions, supplies,etc) for mechanised and digital warfare. Police/Paramilitary to handle insurgents and rebels in half front.

If male reserves fall below 50% due to casualties, women top 25% move to combat support and are moved to below battalion level as required.

as a member of same species , what ' something special ' women could bring or how much it would affect additional costs of structure or logistics ,

its a good point that numerically speaking few women even if they could match with their male counterparts cannot brings any advantage to the army which means there could not be women regiment .