Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

It's not the civvie deaths that are hurting the Napakis, it's retired and unretired Napaki fauji settled along the LoC that are getting culled that is causing this taqleef.

It's these "civvies" that do much of the groundwork for Napaki fauj to send intruders on this side.

delbruky

THE VALOR OF BHAI SATI DAS 1621-1675
India, China hold 'constructive' discussion on border issues
Nov 17, 2017 | 18:18 IST | Times Now Digital

New Delhi: With just a few months after the Doklam stand-off between India and China, it seems that the two countries are slowly trying to bridge certain gaps.

On Friday, officials from both sides discussed border-related issues at the 10thround of the Working Mechanism for Consultation and Coordination (WMCC) on India-China Border Affairs in Beijing.

"The talks were held in a constructive and forward-looking manner," the External Affairs Ministry said in a statement, indicating that the two countries are trying to mend their battered relation.

"Both sides reviewed the situation in all sectors of India-China border and agreed that maintenance of peace and tranquility in the border areas is an important prerequisite for the sustained growth of bilateral relations," it stated.

"In this regard, the two sides also exchanged views on further confidence-building measures and strengthening of military-to-military contacts,” the statement added.

While India and China, after the end of the Doklam tussle, promised to restore normalcy, some tensions still continue to prevail. It must be noted that China is blocking India and US' bid to declare Masood Azhar as a UN-designated terrorist.

There are several other issues, on which both the countries stood divided. While the bitter stand-off ended almost two months ago, it must be noted that some of Beijing's plan continue to affect India negatively.

With the support of the United States, however, India now has a stronger footing in the region and can negotiate head-to-head with China. In the meeting conducted today, an India delegation, led by Pranay Verma, Joint Secretary (East Asia), MEA, discussed several border-related affairs with the Chinese officials.

It has come to light that the respective delegations comprised diplomatic and military officials.

The WMCC, established in 2012, was constituted as an institutional mechanism to increase consultation and coordination for maintaining peace in the India-China border areas.

http://www.timesnownews.com/india/a...scussion-on-border-issues-doklam-issue/127793

What is the meaning of this Line "With the support of the United States, however, India now has a stronger footing in the region and can negotiate head-to-head with China". Timesow is passing this line off as a statement made by the negotiators to their reporters. Very churlish of Timesnow has to insert this line.

With or without anyone's support India is fully capable of standing it's ground when talking to it's neighbors. For the Chinese antics, as the saying goes "after the first punch on the face all the schemes and Plans are thrown outside the window". Doklam was that punch moment.

Steven Rogers

NaPakiRoaster
Pakistan got the opportunity to grab Kashmir because of Nehru's peace delusions. He did not allow Patel to make J&K accede to India like Junagadh or Hydrabad. Its only when Maharaja Hari Singh requested that Nehru agreed to send army. Then that moron went to UN for intervention. By the time ceasefire was declared PoK was created. Dont know abt '65 but in '71 war ended when Dhaka was liberated. As US and Ussr entered the scenario, liberation of Dhaka was negotiated but PoK wasnt touched. Ever since we have just forgotten that PoK was once our land. ABV was again a statesman (whatever it means) that he asked millitary to free up Kargill without crossing LoC. After Parl attack though army was mobilised but we did not open front. The best reason to goto war was 2008 mumbai attack which we did not do for obvious reasons. In last three years Govt has bn busy in neutralising the local forces. A lot has been done at tactical level. Govt has aptly cleared that agreements like Simla, IWT will be respected only when terrorism is stopped. In my view Govt is consolidating itself in valley before taking next step.
Pakistan got its land back everytime due to the arms twisting by our Defence equipment import partners, we couldn't have divided Pakistan in 1971 even if we had authority, it was because US and China.... Indira Gandhi was forced to make such decisions.

Sent from my Aqua Ace II using Tapatalk

Kay

Pakistan got its land back everytime due to the arms twisting by our Defence equipment import partners, we couldn't have divided Pakistan in 1971 even if we had authority, it was because US and China.... Indira Gandhi was forced to make such decisions.

It was more about grain imports from US. We did not have food security back then. Consequently green revolution was launched.

Steven Rogers

NaPakiRoaster
It was more about grain imports from US. We did not have food security back then. Consequentlt, green revolving was launched.
Green revolution, by MS Swami Nathan

Reactions: Kay

Indian Sniper.001

I really have no words for this. I really hope this doesn't change the dynamics at LAC.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

KOLKATA: Tibet does not seek independence from China but wants greater development, Tibetan spiritual leader the Dalai Lama said here today.

China and Tibet enjoyed a close relationship, though there were occasional "fights", he said at an interactive session organised by the Indian Chamber of Commerce.

"The past is past. We will have to look into the future," he said.

He stressed that Tibetans wanted to stay with China.

"We are not seeking independence... We want to stay with China. We want more development," the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people said.

The Dalai Lama said China must respect Tibetans' culture and heritage.

"Tibet has a different culture and a different script... The Chinese people love their own country. We love our own country," he said.

Holding that no Chinese "understand what had happened in the last few decades", he said the country had changed over the years.

"With China joining the world, it has changed 40 per cent to 50 per cent of what it was earlier," he said.

The Dalai Lama also referred to the ecological significance of the Tibetan Plateau and recalled that a Chinese ecologist had said its environmental impact was like that of the South Pole and the North Pole.

"The ecologist called it the Third Pole," the Buddhist leader said.

The Dalai Lama said, "From Yangtze to Sindhu rivers, major rivers ... come from Tibet. Billions of lives are involved. Taking care of the Tibetan Plateau is not only good for Tibet but for billions of people."

- https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...pment-dalai-lama/amp_articleshow/61767198.cms

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I remember
@COLDHEARTED AVIATOR saying we shouldn't trust them, and we should replace Tibetans in SFF with our own people. He faced quite some criticism from fellow forum members for his opinion at that point of time. I hope this changes opinions. Yes, I agree Tibetans have shed blood for this country, and we should be indebted to them, but let's not forget the fact that their first leader is Dalai Lama and not the PM of this country. They will listen to his call, and it can change the dynamics at any point of time. This should serve as a wake-up call to those concerned. Every govt's responsibility is to their own countrymen. But, to state frankly, I really didn't expect such a comment from Dalai Lama.

Willy2

I really have no words for this. I really hope this doesn't change the dynamics at LAC.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

KOLKATA: Tibet does not seek independence from China but wants greater development, Tibetan spiritual leader the Dalai Lama said here today.

China and Tibet enjoyed a close relationship, though there were occasional "fights", he said at an interactive session organised by the Indian Chamber of Commerce.

"The past is past. We will have to look into the future," he said.

He stressed that Tibetans wanted to stay with China.

"We are not seeking independence... We want to stay with China. We want more development," the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people said.

The Dalai Lama said China must respect Tibetans' culture and heritage.

"Tibet has a different culture and a different script... The Chinese people love their own country. We love our own country," he said.

Holding that no Chinese "understand what had happened in the last few decades", he said the country had changed over the years.

"With China joining the world, it has changed 40 per cent to 50 per cent of what it was earlier," he said.

The Dalai Lama also referred to the ecological significance of the Tibetan Plateau and recalled that a Chinese ecologist had said its environmental impact was like that of the South Pole and the North Pole.

"The ecologist called it the Third Pole," the Buddhist leader said.

The Dalai Lama said, "From Yangtze to Sindhu rivers, major rivers ... come from Tibet. Billions of lives are involved. Taking care of the Tibetan Plateau is not only good for Tibet but for billions of people."

- https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...pment-dalai-lama/amp_articleshow/61767198.cms

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I remember
@COLDHEARTED AVIATOR saying we shouldn't trust them, and we should replace Tibetans in SFF with our own people. He faced quite some criticism from fellow forum members for his opinion at that point of time. I hope this changes opinions. Yes, I agree Tibetans have shed blood for this country, and we should be indebted to them, but let's not forget the fact that their first leader is Dalai Lama and not the PM of this country. They will listen to his call, and it can change the dynamics at any point of time. This should serve as a wake-up call to those concerned. Every govt's responsibility is to their own countrymen. But, to state frankly, I really didn't expect such a comment from Dalai Lama.
The oldman is hopeless , the early Tibetan refugees whose 3rd gen now born and work in India , is more Indian and Tibetan , without govt care development towards free Tibet died long ago ,now Lama knows that every spiritual rank in Tibet going to be replaced by CCP , and few thousands here would change much , so by lowering his voice he try to truce a deal with Chinese so that they keep missionaries outside Tibet and let Tibetan live in true autonomy and also if possible not involve in religion of Tibet ...he is hoping that atlast it wil keep "Tibetism" alive for the future when our govt ready to take the matter seriously .

We Indian and other power in past is responsible for this

http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/pak-used-its-civilian-areas-to-target-indian-villages-goc/
No intrusion bid will be allowed to succeed

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Nov 22: General Officer Commanding (GOC) 16 Corps, Lt Gen Saranjit Singh said today that Pakistan army has used its civilians as shield and resorted to mortar shelling and firing from civilian areas on their side of Line of Control (LoC) to target Indian villages during recent ceasefire violations.

He charged Pakistan army with using terrorism as weapon towards India and declared that the troops were fully prepared to meet with any kind of situation on the LoC including infiltration attempts as he maintained that large number of militants were waiting at launching pads on Pakistan side of the LoC to infiltrate into the Indian territory.

Speaking to reporters at Poonch on the occasion of ‘Poonch Link-Up Day’ today, Lt Gen Saranjit Singh, who had yesterday met Governor NN Vohra to brief him on the situation prevailing in his area of responsibility, charged Pakistani troops with hiding behind its civilians and using them as shield to target Indian civilian population during ceasefire violations.

“Pakistan army had fired from its civilian areas targeting populated villages on the Indian side,’’ the GOC Nagrota Corps, whose area of responsibility extends right up to twin border districts of Poonch and Rajouri, said, adding that the Pakistani troops were given very effective reply and they will continue to get befitting response if they resort to firing and shelling in future.

Asserting that this year there had been massive ceasefire violations by Pakistan army, all unprovoked and without any reason, Lt Gen Saranjit Singh said that all provocative acts of Pakistan have been replied with very effectively and forcefully, giving very hard response to Pakistan.

“If Pakistan army chooses to violate ceasefire again, we are not going to show any leniency and will hit back aggressively,’’ he said.
It may be mentioned here that during past about a fortnight, there has been lull on the LoC in all forward areas of Poonch and Rajouri districts after about six months of intense mortar shelling and firing by Pakistani troops in which number of troops and civilians were killed and injured while there was losses of cattle and property too. In retaliatory firing by the Indian side, Pakistan army had suffered heavy fatal and non-fatal casualties besides huge infrastructural losses.

Charging Pakistan with using terror as weapon against India, the top Army Commander said there were large number of militants camping at the launch pads on Pakistan side of the LoC waiting to infiltrate into the Indian territory.

However, he added, the Indian troops were fully alert and prepared to deal with any kind of infiltration attempts by the militants on the LoC. “No infiltration bid will be allowed to succeed by our troops’’.
Army have reports that Pakistan army could try to facilitate infiltration attempts by the militants into the Indian side under the cover of ceasefire violations on the Line of Control. In view of this, the troops were maintaining strict surveillance on the LoC to ensure that the infiltration bids don’t succeed.

Replying to a question on civilians being targeted by Pakistan army during mortar shelling and firing, Lt Gen Saranjit Singh said the bunkers are being constructed for the civilians living within the range of firing.
“The Special Secretary, Union Ministry of Home Affairs along with civil administration had recently visited forward areas along LoC and International Border and assured the civilians on construction of bunkers for them. The civil administration has also constructed some bunkers, which can be used. The bunkers are proposed to be constructed for the civilians, whose houses fall within the range of Pakistan’s mortar shelling and firing,’’ the General Officer Commanding said.
The Union Home Ministry has set up a Study Group headed by Special Secretary (Internal Security) Rina Mitra comprising top MHA and civil officials of Jammu and Kashmir to study problems of the border dwellers of the State and recommend measures to address their grievances.
Lt Gen Saranjit Singh congratulated the troops and people of Poonch on the ‘Poonch Link-Up Day’ saying the soldiers and civilians had together foiled Pakistan’s evil designs on this day and ensured complete link-up of Poonch with Jammu and Kashmir.