Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border

He is scarred of being declared communal and that is why he openly speaks against Hai Rakshak but he doesn't speak a single word against Islamic terrorism. He is on a mission to win the hearts of Jhihadis.
:pound::pound::pound::pound::pound:

I can see our own Trump in making here.

Modi is known as the most communal leader world wide and he is afraid of being declared as communal. Joke of the day I must say. BTW what would he or we achieve by his TALK of Islamic terrorism if there is no WORK on ground?

Indrajit

The direct figures show 22 billion, the exports which US mnc’s are doing through China are not estimated here.

Services sector we have billions of exports but it is the us which is leading in this sector by employing Indians earning 3 to 4 times what they spend.

I agree we do need to give some concessions which we can affordable, beyond that we cannot afford like Walmart stores which will destroy the local eco system.
Walmart sources billions of dollars worth from India, we should encourage both Walmart and Amazon to source more, much more in return for the access they get to our market

If we are going to leverage our economic potential by showing the size of our market we will have to be a market in the first place. No body cares about a market if they cant sell there. Quid pro quo is both necessary and desirable, we cant be buying all our fighter planes from Russia and France but selling our products principally to the US.

The sad part is that we are kicked around by our "strategic " partners to each of whom we pay the equivalent of "hafta" to keep them quiet. The US is now asking its share.

Walmart sources billions of dollars worth from India, we should encourage both Walmart and Amazon to source more, much more in return for the access they get to our market

If we are going to leverage our economic potential by showing the size of our market we will have to be a market in the first place. No body cares about a market if they cant sell there. Quid pro quo is both necessary and desirable, we cant be buying all our fighter planes from Russia and France but selling our products principally to the US.

The sad part is that we are kicked around by our "strategic " partners to each of whom we pay the equivalent of "hafta" to keep them quiet. The US is now asking its share.
India needs time to be in that place, As of now India is making deals that are affordable with USA.

Regarding defence equipment, they come with tags and clauses one of the main reason why India is buying only platforms like helicopters and transport planes, instead of attack platforms.

itis presumed that the current paki area(s) needs to be exactly the same for PoK return to Bharat.

its presumed also that current paki dispensation will be part of the resolution and return of PoK to Bharat.

Well it's interesting bcoz they are not backing down either. Now it's Trump's word against Modi s..

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
They have backed down, and how!! It's only this asshole, the chief economic adviser who's not. He has to lick Trump's fat ass or he'll be out of a job before you can say Trump!!

It is becoming obvious that Pakistan will go back to its 90s playbook after the Taliban strengthens even more in Afghanistan. They're going to send shit loads of pathans into Kashmir, and try to make things difficult for us. But unlike the 90s, we are preparing for limited or even all out war in response to their terrorism. The Indian military is clearly set on a trajectory to conduct far more ambitious operations in Pakistan, and cripple them if they have to. Paki nuclear bluff has been exposed again and again by us. Interesting times lie ahead in the 20s. Balakot and Surgical strikes will look mild compared to the things we are preparing to do to them.

Deathstar

It is becoming obvious that Pakistan will go back to its 90s playbook after the Taliban strengthens even more in Afghanistan. They're going to send shit loads of pathans into Kashmir, and try to make things difficult for us. But unlike the 90s, we are preparing for limited or even all out war in response to their terrorism. The Indian military is clearly set on a trajectory to conduct far more ambitious operations in Pakistan, and cripple them if they have to. Paki nuclear bluff has been exposed again and again by us. Interesting times lie ahead in the 20s. Balakot and Surgical strikes will look mild compared to the things we are preparing to do to them.
I don't think , things are quite different from the 90s for them too.
In the 90s z Taliban was a newly formed group and unwashed abduls were eager to fight. But after fighting the Americans and other Afghans , they wont regain the power they had in 90s. Remember Trump had said he wants to keep shit load of intelligence guys in Afghanistan i e military guys dressed as intelligence guys. Nad even if Taliban takover they will engage in civil war with the northern alliance , infact NA will be able to directly attack Inbred Pakis while they have limitations when in power. Reverse for the Taliban.
If anyone thinks Americans will vacate strategic airbases like Bagram and strategic country like Afghanistan after losing 4000 soldiers and defeating USSR ,they are utter fools

I don't think , things are quite different from the 90s for them too.
In the 90s z Taliban was a newly formed group and unwashed abduls were eager to fight. But after fighting the Americans and other Afghans , they wont regain the power they had in 90s. Remember Trump had said he wants to keep shit load of intelligence guys in Afghanistan i e military guys dressed as intelligence guys. Nad even if Taliban takover they will engage in civil war with the northern alliance , infact NA will be able to directly attack Inbred Pakis while they have limitations when in power. Reverse for the Taliban.
If anyone thinks Americans will vacate strategic airbases like Bagram and strategic country like Afghanistan after losing 4000 soldiers and defeating USSR ,they are utter fools
Pakistan and Taliban had the advantage of initiative, objective and weapons when they started off. We were merely on the defensive. Now, we are itching for an opening.
I really hope pakis do something stupid.

Modi is known as the most communal leader world wide and he is afraid of being declared as communal. Joke of the day I must say
Then you should give some examples of what he did for Hindus. He has not been even been able to build the Ram Temple nor he is able to put a ban on cow slaughter nor he has been able to stop intervening of politicians in Hindu temple administration and taken over the funds. If you can not quote the examples, you yourself will become a joke on the forum.

You are talking as per your DP , Modi is Pm of india , do you think he will react on everything . Shah yogi are just branches of Modi they are not roots of tree .

Relax our officer our govt is doing his work , its not a 20 20 match its test match
Atleast stop our temple fund being grabbed by anti Hindoo looters like Chandra babau Naidu and Commies. He is not been able to do that. Sack unconstitutional Minority commission and settle Hindus in Kashmir. I am not asking any special favor but atleast remove injustice. He is not been able to do that as well. I have supported him like anything but no more cheating now. I am a supporter and not a bhakta who will support everything of Modi. Unfortunately, we Hindus do not have any other option. He must have a strong Hindu party to vote.

12arya

ignore the leftist narrative but no other news agency has covered this news!
they r arming the civilians in j&k.

i don't think modi needs to personally scream out all measures that is taken by the govt. amit shah is getting things done.

Revival of VDCs in Chenab Valley May Increase Communal Polarisation?

Several residents have alleged that these committees have been reduced to armed wings of BJP-RSS brigade, owing to the decreasing participation of minority members.

The decision to intensify anti-militant operations by overhauling and reviving Village Defence Committees (VDC’s) in the Chenab valley, Jammu, has triggered a debate over the role of such committees in the past. The decision is believed to have been taken in the backdrop of two major killings in the region, including the killing of Bharatiya Janata Party state secretary Anil Parihar and his brother Ajeet Parihar last year in November. This was followed by the assassination of RSS leader Chanderkant Sharma and his security guard inside a healthcare centre on April 9.

The overhauling of the VDC will include purging elderly members, who are above the age group of 60, and replacing them with younger ones. As per the reports, “The process to replace 352 VDC members and 117 VDC SPOs who are above the age of 60 years has been set into motion.”

The revival of VDC’s grabbed the spotlight after a case was registered against People’s Democratic Party MLC Firdous Tak for his speech at Kishtwar area of Chenab valley for calling VDC members as “Godse brigade”. Tak said, “We don't want Godse Brigade, RSS brigade here in Kishtwar. We also don't want certificates from them, whether we are true nationalists or not.” He further said, “When Rashtriya Rifles, CRPF and the state police are already deployed in sensitive areas of the hilly district, why were VDC members provided with weapons?”

An FIR was lodged against Tak under Section 153-A of the Ranbir Penal Code (RPC) (the main criminal code applicable in Jammu and Kahsmir) for promoting enmity between the communities, disturbing public tranquillity and for causing fear among communities.

Arming civilians? What exactly is VDC?

Village Defence Committees were setup in the mid-1990’s to ensure safety of the people by arming them with weapons for self-defence as well as strengthening efforts of the security forces to curb militancy and for checking cross-border infiltration. The VDCs were set-up in Doda, Kishtwar, Ramban, Rajouri, Reasi, Kathu and Poonch districts. As per the policy document under the government order Home-293 of 1995, the aim of VDCs was “to organise a small group, of volunteer armed civilians, in the identified villages along the borders as well as in depth areas of Jammu division.”

The reason behind the creation of VDCs was attributed to the meandering and hilly corners of the mountainous region with scattered and isolated hamlets, which made it difficult to station troops everywhere. Hence, it was found incumbent to train civilians to protect themselves and their hamlets. A meagre remuneration was given to the VDCs who were trained by the Special Police Officers (SPO) to defend the village against militant attacks.

The VDCs function under the supervision of SPOs who further function under the supervision of Tehsildars and Station House Officers. The order announcing the formation of VDCs read, “Above all, it is a manifestation of the will of the people to actively participate in the efforts to thwart the threat being posed to the national security and integrity.”

A reporter, who has been covering Chenab valley for over a decade, told NewsClick, “Currently, the threat of militancy is looming large on Chenab valley, that’s why the anti-militancy grid (VDC) has been intensified. At present, almost 23 youngsters are missing from Chenab valley. Its yet to be ascertained whether they have picked up arms or not but it has been speculated that they have. In the past, Muslims and Hindus both had participated in VDCs but this time, it has taken up a new narrative which is one-sided in nature. It has been turned into a Hindu vs Muslim issue and political parties are banking on it.” On this date, a total of 4,125 VDCs are present in the state.

Not a good track record

While VDC seem to have played a crucial role in tackling militancy, its members have also been involved in grave violations. According to figures, in 2016, around 221 cases including 23 murders, 7 rapes, 15 cases of rioting and others, were registered against the members of VDCs. Over a period of time, these committees were also seen to be working in connivance with state government.

A resident from Doda, requesting anonymity, said, “VDC is now-a-days the armed wing of RSS. Earlier, when militancy was at its peak there was a lot of chaos created by VDC but partly, its existence was justified. But now its just an armed wing of BJP to pit Hindus against Muslims which enjoy impunity.” Many civil society members and human right groups including Jammu and Kashmir Coalition of Civil Society (JKCCS) have opposed the creation of VDCs in the past.

In 2013, JKCCS had noted in a brief report that, “The policy of the Indian State to control the people of Jammu and Kashmir through armed forces is entrenched and has resulted in numerous informal and formal networks of forces outside of the regular armed forces [i.e. army, para-military and police]. More specifically, these networks are referred to in Jammu and Kashmir as VDCs, Special Police Officers [SPOs] and Ikhwans. Arms are distributed, minus any training, and persons appointed as VDC members, SPOs or Ikhwans, have little or no clarity of the chain of command to control the activities of such forces.”

Cases not forgotten

In 2015, the killing of civilians and a member of opposition in Rajouri had roused the residents, who protested against VDC and demanded its ban. In December 2015, Shamima Akhter, a resident of Budhal village of Rajouri district, Jammu and Kashmir, was killed along with her four-year old son by a VDC member Mushtaq Ahmad. The killing of Akhter, which was the second one in the week had created panic among the villagers.

Earlier, National Conference Worker, Ishtiyaq Choudhary from Kalakote village of the same district was killed by another VDC member allegedly over an argument.

Not just 2015, in 2013 too, VDC members had created havoc in the villages. As per a brief report by JKCCS, 16-year-old Shamim Ahmed Lone was alleged to have been killed by VDC members following which a resident of Kishtwar was “kidnapped and raped by the persons backed and protected by VDC”.

A resident from Kishtwar, requesting anonymity said, “The chaos that VDC had created in the past have not been forgotten by the villagers. When you give weapon to a civilian, there is a possibility that the person might use it to settle his personal scores.”

Entrenched Communal Strife

The news of VDCs being revived has deepened the communal strife in the region with Hindus applauding the decision while Muslims opposing it. Raiz Ahmad Zarger, chairman of the municipality in Kishtwar said, “One needs to understand that Kishtwar, Doda and Ramban are communally sensitive areas and such steps are going to further deepen the divide as its news has already. Residents of Chenab valley have seen major transformation in VDCs over time. Initially, there were few Muslims who participated in the VDC, but now it is dominated by Hindus. People are seeing it as a machination of RSS and BJP to create strife in the region. Even if they want to create VDCs, they should make sure that equal Hindus and Muslims volunteer.”

Meanwhile, the decision has been welcomed by certain quarters of the society. Appreciating the decision to revive the VDCs, Advocate Kaushal Parihar said, “We welcome the decision as it is meant to curb militancy and such a step was the need of the hour.”

12arya

Revisiting Pulwama: Can A Near Similar Incident Be In The Offing?
by Syed Ata Hasnain - Mar 15, 2019, 2:38 pm

• The scope for Pulwama type attacks is wide, and here lies the challenge.

People-based engagement must be central to all operations aimed at neutralising the ideology which drives this trend.

The car bomb attack at Pulwama perpetrated by the Jaish-e-Muhammad (JeM) with the sponsorship of Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) was enough to trigger such an escalatory spiral between India and Pakistan that the event itself lost focus in the chain of activities in its aftermath.

While the National Investigation Agency (NIA) undertook investigation almost immediately, the public attention was on the tragic impact which left more than 40 families all over India and the Indian public grieving for the unfortunate Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) jawans. The response of the government came quicker than expected and focused attention on the target of the air strikes — Balakot, the post-strike damage assessment (PSDA) and international reaction to India’s actions. Expectedly, among all this the tragic incident itself was forgotten. Questions on whether it could have been avoided have been raised. There are also questions on whether it was an intelligence failure and whether it can be repeated anytime soon. But this has been a secondary point of focus.

Did I expect an incident like Pulwama? I would confess that I expected a ‘spectacular act’ being perpetrated anytime in 2018-19 and knowing the ISI’s penchant for innovation always perceived it would be a surprise.

The only thing is one could not estimate just how big an event would possibly occur. That an explosive device of high intensity was in the offing was not guess work but the deduction from a serious analysis which revealed that improvised explosive devises (IED) had dried up after July 2008 when an army bus was blown up by a sideways IED resulting in nine fatalities. It also revealed that the last car bomb attack was in 2004 when a gas cylinder filled with explosives and secured inside a Maruti 800, had rammed into an officer bus of the Naugam convoy at Pattan.

In the interim, the IED in the form of car bombs and suicide bombers strapped with explosives emerged in four internal conflicts — Iraq, Syria, Afghanistan and Pakistan. The potency of the weapon was well understood by the Pakistani deep state and I did assess that it was a matter of time before which car bombs and suicide bombers were reintroduced in the Kashmir Valley.

The fact that Operation All Out (the Indian security forces (SF) operation to weed out the 350 odd terrorists of both local and Pakistani linkage) had succeeded in achieving a level of domination was an important input in the matrix of responses expected from the deep state inside Pakistan. There is no doubt that even as Operation All Out was succeeding in curtailing numbers, there was a parallel effort towards recreating the same through local recruitment in south Kashmir and infiltration into north Kashmir. That domination was also not affording the conduct of a major act by the deep state supported terror entities.

From Pakistan’s perspective, such acts are necessary at regular intervals to keep the security and psychological space within control of the separatists and terrorist entities. The entry of radicalisation and rising alienation especially among the youth in Kashmir, provided anti-national elements the scope for planning and executing such an act. The return of explosives as a suitable weapon carried the additional advantage of being below the intelligence radar. It was not a generally accepted modus operandi having been out of existence in Kashmir’s security landscape for over a decade. That brought in the surprise element, which in the context of terror and anti-terror operations, carries tremendous value.

The common question being asked by many is whether Pulwama was an intelligence failure. It is expected and even fashionable to label spectacular negative acts by terrorists as intelligence failures of the state. That is because public expectation about intelligence is that hundred per cent of potential negative activities must be within their scanner. That rationale would actually make intelligence agencies nothing less than the god.

The aim of intelligence is to maximise pickups and in a timely manner to be able to piece together the jigsaw to ensure counter action to neutralise any such act in the offing. The term ‘maximise’, does not allude to hundred per cent which is never ever possible. India should thank its intelligence agencies for the numerous neutralisations they have achieved especially since 2008, which has kept India safe. It is usually extremely difficult to convert a vague unconfirmed input into actionable intelligence, unless a trend has emerged and a focus has been brought to bear.

Was the CRPF wrong in running a long convoy packed with soft skinned buses along the new National Highway alignment? Now here is a point of introspection. In 2004, the car bomb against an army bus failed to have the desired impact because the bus had been hardened by improvisation. It led to hardening of all army buses, at least those running on the Jammu-Srinagar route.

Should not security force coordination and cooperation provide the inputs to harden all buses for all forces involved in Kashmir, thus securing our jawans? People may find occasion here to score brownie points for political vilification. But, this is not a political failure but a systems failure where perception about inter-force cooperation extends to operations and intelligence, but not to existential issues of administration.

The weakest element of security in all counter terror operations in the country is road security. It is the domain of operations which is most predictable, extremely difficult and carries maximum threat to life of jawans. In this case, the absence of IEDs for a decade had obviously shifted focus to potential hit and run or ambush style strikes witnessed in Bijbehara and Pampore in 2017. It is easy to say that all civilian vehicles must be stopped when security convoys ply.

However, the reality is that a halted civilian vehicle must then have the scope to be moved laterally into by lanes away from the road alignment. Is that even possible though? Along a greenfield broad new alignment on which this CRPF convoy was moving, no such side roads existed to do that. As to the practicality of stopping all civilian traffic to give unimpeded way to 10 odd other convoys, the limited number of arteries present would paralyse all traffic. It’s a measure that can at best be temporary and sooner than later will need to be diluted.

The answer lies in focused intelligence through more and widespread deployment of human intelligence resources and technology. There is a need for use of rewards and money for information, besides the return to the zimmewari system. That was the good old way of making village and town communities vigilant about the potential planting of IEDs or fabrication of car bombs. Use of drones with proper surveillance means and coordinated central information rooms are the other means.

As to whether Pulwama can be repeated, the scope remains wide. Vehicle based bombs may yet be prevented from being effective through stringent checks on roads by mobile vehicle check posts. However, strapped up human bombs remain outside this ambit of checks as foot movement can overcome all check posts. That is where the challenge lies.

Of course, this essay does not even mention the human resources available for being exploited as human bombs. The scope for neutralising the ideology and the alienation, which drives this trend can only be enhanced once the necessity of balancing all operations with people based engagement is realised. The slogan for that must be — ‘conversation without outcome’. More on that later.

The writer is a former GOC of India’s Srinagar based 15 Corps, now associated with Vivekanand International Foundation and the Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies.

Haldiram

forget the sickulars..i wonder what RSS has to say abt this horrible event!

if there was some one who picked up weapons to defend the KP's, then the govt definitely wud have send the army and that wud have stopped the exodus!

RSS inaction(correct me if im wrong) is what piss me off:mad2:
This question often bothers my mind. I think we haven't been given the full information. Often, the terms of genocide and displacement are interchangeably used. The only logical explanation to why we failed to stop the exodus I feel is that the administration scooped up Hindus and transported them away to safety before the Army could be deployed in greater strength. No government could be upfront and accept it so they make it look like a defeatist retreat of Hindus. The moment the killings began, the 'exodus' happened. It probably prevented more Hindus from getting killed and created the environment for us to increase troop strength.

Haldiram

Lt. Gen Patankar speaking about Kashmir (Marathi lecture with no subtitles)

Me and @ashdoc had the privilege to meet him upfront in Mumbai :)

Then you should give some examples of what he did for Hindus. He has not been even been able to build the Ram Temple nor he is able to put a ban on cow slaughter nor he has been able to stop intervening of politicians in Hindu temple administration and taken over the funds. If you can not quote the examples, you yourself will become a joke on the forum.
How long had you been taken leave of your common sense?

Lets suppose that he orders the Ram Temple buildup, then what? The very next moment SC would step in and would put a stay on it. Then what? You would simply loose your e***tion.

Every temple does have a committee and its been constituted by Hindus only. You would not find a Muslim or Christian sitting on those committees. Its the Hindus who have brought in politics in those committees. Pass a ordinance against any such committee and its the Hindus who would stand in arm against you with the flimsy excuse of peddling in their belief.

Bring on a ordinance on Cow slaughter ban. What would happen? It would be Hindus who would start the protest at first. The so called Liberal Hindus would turn into torch bearer of the protest. Remember that BJP does have members like Kiren Rijiju, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Soumitra Khan and all. What do you think they would face in their constituencies?

Go on and declare India as a Hindu country. What would be its impact? It would be Hindus who would shout against it. Leave alone India, look at Nepal. During transition, the idea of declaring it a Hindu nation was there. But then again its the Hindus who voted against it.

Politics is not about Black and White. Its all about being Grey. A good politician would always be a Grey character rather then a Black or White. You don't make Martyr out of your enemies in politics. So don't expect BJP to go all guns blazing against opposition. In politics the perception and idea matters rather then some verbal diarrhea.

So politics is a bigger game then what you think of.

ssg_slayer

Director at Search & Troll Wing - STW
List of admissions:
--------------------------

Pakistan used 'heroine' trade to pay for the Afghan jihad :)

Pakistan army trained Al Qaeda :)

Pakistan army committed human rights abuses in the Pasthun tribal areas :)

Imran Khan has credibility with Taliban (no wonder he's called Taliban Khan) :)
He is doing all that to win trust of Trump so that they come out of FATF grey listing. On the other side their military will remain rogue. There won't be any big difference between Zardari and Nawaz regime and his regime.

ISI is getting rid of old politicians and bringing the new one on their pay role. This is the reason why NAB is arresting so many of them.