Science Centres in India

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Daredevil, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. Daredevil

    Daredevil On Vacation! Administrator

    Apr 5, 2009
    Likes Received:
    Science Centres

    The Minister for Culture and Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation Kumari Selja has said that 24 Science Centres have been developed and are run by National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous organization under the Ministry of Culture. In addition, 11 Science Centres, developed by NCSM, are run by State/UT authorities. Some of these Science Centres have planetariums. Details are at Annexure-I.

    In a written reply in the Lok Sabha today she said, setting up of Science Centres is an ongoing activity, based on proposals received from State Governments from time to time, in accordance with approved norms/guidelines, subject to availability of resources. Year-wise details of proposals received during last three years and current year and their status is placed at Annexure-II.

    Kumari Selja said, the programmes organized by NCSM during the last one year to develop scientific attitude and temper amongst the people include exhibitions, seminars, popular lectures, science camps and other science educational programmes through Indoor Science Galleries, and Outdoor Science Parks and traveling exhibitions including Mobile Science Exhibition Programmes.

    She said, it is a constant endeavor of Central Government to set up Science Cities in different States of the country. However, the State Governments have to initiate proposals for setting up Science Centres including planetariums, and based on the merits of each case, pro rata financial assistance is considered by the Centre.

    It appears your Web browser is not configured to display PDF files. No worries, just click here to download the PDF file.

    W.G.Ewald likes this.

Share This Page