Russian Tank Biathlon

Neil

MOSCOW, August 10 (RIA Novosti) – Blurring the line between sports and warfare, the Russian army premiered a new sport – tank biathlon – and invited US crews to compete.
"We've invited our American colleagues to participate"¦and our invitation was accepted by US Secretary of Defense [Chuck] Hagel," Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu said Saturday.
Italy and Germany also agreed to send their teams to compete with Russian and US tank crews, Shoigu said, adding that the event will take place sometime next year.
Russia will host the world's first ever tank biathlon championship next week. The country's best tank crews will compete against each other at a firing range outside Moscow, the winners then taking on competitors from Armenia, Belorussia and Kazakhstan.
The new sport allows showcasing the quality of Russian tanks, comparing them against foreign analogues, Shoigu's deputy Yury Borisov said Saturday.
Next week's event, however, will be limited to T-72 tanks, the staple of post-Soviet militaries, Vedomosti business daily said Friday.
The newspaper offered a preview of the new sport, covering a test competition held outside Moscow earlier this week. The event involved four tanks painted in bright colors – including yellow and pinkish red – which did three laps over rough terrain, shooting at targets shaped like tanks, houses and helicopters. The best time was 5:28.

Russia Challenges US in Tank Biathlon | World | RIA Novosti

interesting....!! hope India gets invited... !!

Damian

In reality such competitions are nothing new.

USA and other NATO countries are actually veterans of such competitions. During Cold War there was Canadian Army Trophy, and today USA have it's own Sullivan Cup competition and in Europe, the LeoBen club countries (users of Leopard 2 tanks) also have their own competitions.

So Russians might have a problems. ;)

Neil

In reality such competitions are nothing new.

USA and other NATO countries are actually veterans of such competitions. During Cold War there was Canadian Army Trophy, and today USA have it's own Sullivan Cup competition and in Europe, the LeoBen club countries (users of Leopard 2 tanks) also have their own competitions.

So Russians might have a problems. ;)
but is there any competition between T90 vs leopard or abrams...??

Damian

but is there any competition between T90 vs leopard or abrams...??
Not yet, unless you count a tests and competition for new MBT's in Sweden and Greece, Russians showed in Sweden T-80U wich loose gunnery competitions with NATO tanks, in Greece Russians also shown T-80U and Ukrainians the T-84, both are loose against NATO tanks in gunnery competition.

The T-80U use 1A45 FCS, same FCS is used in T-90 series (newest T-90MS use a completely new FCS which should be comparable to NATO ones).

Neil

Not yet, unless you count a tests and competition for new MBT's in Sweden and Greece, Russians showed in Sweden T-80U wich loose gunnery competitions with NATO tanks, in Greece Russians also shown T-80U and Ukrainians the T-84, both are loose against NATO tanks in gunnery competition.

The T-80U use 1A45 FCS, same FCS is used in T-90 series (newest T-90MS use a completely new FCS which should be comparable to NATO ones).
do u mean both lost...??

sir... if americans do decide to show up... which tank u think they will field...?? and also the russians..?? considering the fact they are still rivals...

and also do u have any info on what kind of simulation are part of the cups that u mentioned...??!!

Damian

sir... if americans do decide to show up... which tank u think they will field...?? and also the russians..?? considering the fact they are still rivals...

and also do u have any info on what kind of simulation are part of the cups that u mentioned...??!!
US Army currently use only one type of tank, the most advanced variant from M1 series, the M1A2SEP v2, which is a real beast, especially in terms of fire control system. While most other tanks (if not all) can accurately fire conventional ammunitions up to 4,000m, I learned just recently, that new FCS, permitts to fire conventional rounds up to 5,000m with accuracy.

Optics are also probably the best out there. Both gunner and commander optics have a maximum zoom of 50x which preaty much makes aiming and targets identification piece of cake even at very long distance + new thermal sights operates at high resolution which makes image very clear.

US Army have around 2,000 M1A2SEP v1 and v2 in it's active ABCT's and high readiness reserve and training units. And there is also ARNG, which have around 2,000 M1A1SA, which is preaty much analog to M1A2SEP v1/v2 but lacks some of it components like TC panoramic sight and some other goodies. The USMC have around 400 M1A1 tanks, from which there is 174 M1A1FEP in 3 active tank battalions, M1A1FEP is similiar to M1A1SA but have some differences due to USMC requirements.

Older variants which quantity is around 3,000, are mostly kept in storage at Sierra Army Depot (approx 2,000 tanks stored) and Anniston Army Depot (approx from several hunderds to maybe even approx 1,000) and waits to be modernized, converted to specialized variants like ABV or sold to USA allies (after rebuild and modernization of course).

Russians are a bit of mystery. I suspect they can show 3 types of tanks, the T-80BV (maybe even perhaps T-80U), the T-72B (or one of it's more modern variants like T-72B3) and a T-90A.

As for competition itself, such competition might contain several smaller competitions, like maintnance competition which means for example how quicklu crew is capable to replace a damaged track, or replace engine, there is also gunner competition, and there can be a driving skills competition.

I suggest you look at videos from US Army Sullivan Cup below, it shows what happens during such competitions.

MOSCOW, January 22 (RIA Novosti) – The United States and a number of European countries have asked to participate in Russia's international tank biathlon, President Vladimir Putin said Wednesday.

"They filed a request with the Defense Ministry to participate. We will be happy [to have them]," Putin said while fielding questions from students at a Moscow university.

Russia invited the US to participate back in August at a meeting of defense officials.

The first tank biathlon was held in the Moscow suburb of Alabino in August last year. This year's competition is planned to run from July 26 to August 10.

The tank biathlon is analogous to the Olympic event. Tank crews must navigate a 20-kilometer (12.5-mile) course that includes obstacles such as a slalom run, water crossings, bridges and steep climbs.

The tanks must also accurately shoot a set of targets at distances of up to 2.2 kilometers (1.4 miles) that simulate other tanks and low-flying helicopters.

The Defense Ministry said in a statement Wednesday that more than 40 countries had expressed interest in participating.

Putin said the event helps promote the nation's defense industry, noting that Russia is second only to the US in terms of the volume of arms exports.
Source : US to Compete in Russia's Tank Biathlon | Defense | RIA Novosti

In this competition no Arjun or Challenger taking part but all the crew will be sitting in T-72 ..

To test the best crews ;)

then why is this competition? to advance develop T-72 or its strategies?
==================

124 MK1 fully inducted some time back, Now its turn for MK2 ..

nahi bhai, i mean are the 124 Arjun MK-I fully inducted in IA? the corrupt babus or T-90 lovers wont allow it....

Abhijeet Dey

This was a good chance for DRDO to showcase Arjun MK-II. But our corrupt netas & babus don't have any idea about high end competitions in defense markets. How can India sell indigenous products to other countries?

hitesh

I dont think All tank crew would be driving T72 or russian tank but they will be participating with there own tanks .Do you think Americans would be competing russians using the T72 tanks