Russian Flying Fortresses Beleive it or Not !!

In 1930s Russian army was "¦ by the idea of creating huge planes. At that times they were proposed to have as much propellers as possible to help carrying those huge flying fortresses into the air, jet propulsion has not been implemented at those times yet.
Not much photos were saved since that times, because of the high secrecy levels of such projects and because a lot of time passed already. Still on the photo below you can see one of such planes – a heavy bomber K-7.
Now modern history lovers in Russia try to reconstruct according the plans left in once to be top-secret Russian army archives their look in full color. This is one example based on ideas of Russian aviation engineers of that times.

No one can beat the Soviets in Aeronautical engineering and if U.S.S.R. existed today, the US would have been a puppet of U.S.S.R.

Sanjeev - nice thread - btw what purpose would these serve ? i can only think of airborne carriers of equipment ? but they would need protection wouldnt they ? - seems impractical imho ??

Thanks. Here are the details I had posted long ling time back:

This is my guess. A USAAF B-29 on a mission over Japan in 1945 ends up in Russia because it has not enough fuel to return to base. (Possibly before Iwo Jima was taken.) Russians keep the B-29 and paint Soviet markings on it.

Anything like that?
Excellent Sir! You nailed it. :)

Well, Tupolev Design Bureau actually made many planes largely based on the design of the B-29. The picture you see here with the red star is not a Boeing made plane with Soviet markings, rather a Tupolev made plane based on the design of B-29.

Well, I know that Andrei Tupolev once copied the airframe of a US aeroplane and made a Soviet version of it. See the pictures below:

Boeing B-29 'Superfortress' (USA):

Tupolev Tu-4 'Bull' (USSR):

Ankit Purohit

In 1930s Russian army was "¦ by the idea of creating huge planes. At that times they were proposed to have as much propellers as possible to help carrying those huge flying fortresses into the air, jet propulsion has not been implemented at those times yet.
Not much photos were saved since that times, because of the high secrecy levels of such projects and because a lot of time passed already. Still on the photo below you can see one of such planes – a heavy bomber K-7.
Now modern history lovers in Russia try to reconstruct according the plans left in once to be top-secret Russian army archives their look in full color. This is one example based on ideas of Russian aviation engineers of that times.

Ye cheez kya hai bhai

Akim

"Thank you", ordinary citizens, it must be said that the pilot, who forgot the camera in the cockpit. And he copied ..

No one can beat the Soviets in Aeronautical engineering and if U.S.S.R. existed today, the US would have been a puppet of U.S.S.R.

Convair B-36 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The Convair B-36 "Peacemaker"[N 1] was a strategic bomber built by Convair and operated solely by the United States Air Force (USAF) from 1949 to 1959. The B-36 was the largest mass-produced piston engine aircraft ever made. It had the longest wingspan of any combat aircraft ever built (230 ft, 70.1 m), although there have been larger military transports. The B-36 was the first bomber capable of delivering any of the nuclear weapons in the U.S. arsenal from inside its two bomb bays without aircraft modifications. With a range greater than 9,700 km (6,000 mi) and a maximum payload of 33,000 kg (73,000 lb), the B-36 was the world's first manned bomber with an unrefueled intercontinental range. Until it was replaced by the jet powered Boeing B-52 Stratofortress which first became operational in 1955, the B-36 was the primary nuclear weapons delivery vehicle of the Strategic Air Command (SAC), and the B-36 set the standard for range and payload for subsequent US intercontinental bombers.

The huge new XB-36 alongside the first superbomber, the Boeing B-29 Superfortress. The wings of the 'Peacemaker' were 7 feet (2.1 m) thick at the root.

Akim

The USSR caught up with the United States on the quality of bomber aircraft only in the 80-ies. Although in the early 30-ies of the USSR occupied the first place, but then the repression and war.

Phenom

Looks as ridiculous and impractical as the Nazi super tank p1000.

I bet any sane general would have dismissed this design the minute he saw it.