Russia offers to build Nuclear powered Aircraft Carrier for India

The fact remains that while the Russians(read Soviets) have built many nuclear powered surface craft, they have never built a nuclear powered carrier or a CATOBAR. we have pretty much finalized that we want a CATOBAR for our next carrier and i do not see any point in becoming a testing ground for a new design unless it's a JV in the BRAHMOS sense with Equal design participation from our end as well.
I do not believe we should shelve our domestic program for any JV either, let us have a parallel path where we can work on both.
As for the French DCNS offer for a PA2 analogue, that too needs to be sufficiently indigenised via a JV .I believe we can have a tri pronged thrust withthe Mazagon docksPIPAVAV combine partnering with the French for a ship to be built at PIPAVAV. while Cochin goes ahead with the IAC2 and HSL pairs up with the Russians for a third head to this hydra.
I know that's one wet dream but it's an awesome one:p

............. unless it's a JV in the BRAHMOS sense with Equal design participation from our end as well.
I do not believe we should shelve our domestic program for any JV either, let us have a parallel path where we can work on both.
P
basically you have summarised what i tried to get across for debate ) - that we should break free of staid paths - giving free money to russians who are no longer soviet-minded ( while they delay and ask f ro more ) that we should break new ground not only in the sense of WHOM we approach but rather also in WHAT we ask of them - i.e let's now go more for joint ventures of EQUAL input as bengalraider pointed out - equal joint R&D , let's use more creative thinking ( which it seems exists at presently only in very small measure ) - but at least let's start somewhere instead of waiting for "someone else" to show us the way

Broccoli

Should they use your leaky reactors? I doubt India wants to expose their crew and citizens to such radiation. They certainly don't want to use the UK, Astute can't even make 20 knots. A partnership with the US on such a deal wouldn't happen.
If Areva EPR is an example how French do their nuclear business then Indians should stay away.

China ordered EPR because they don't want any leaks like on their submarines.

The Russians probably want to restart the old Ulyanovsk Carrier program that was based upon the OREL design study. The "Ulyanovsk" was oiginally to be called the "Kremlin" it got to an advanced stage ,Initial design work on a full-deck nuclear-powered aircraft began in 1973 under Project #1153 "Orel", which envisioned catapult-launched aircraft such as the MiG-23K fighter and Su-25K attack aircraft. The ship would have displaced 80,000 tons and carried as many as 70 aircraft. Following the death of Defense Minister Marshal Grechko, who had sponsored the project, the Defense Ministry was taken over by Marshal Ustinov, who did not share his predecessor's priorities. This Project 1153 effort was terminated in 1983.

Plans for a large-deck carrier were subsequently revived under Project #1143.7, which was undertaken at the Nevskoye Planning and Design Bureau beginning in 1984. The carrier was laid down in November 1988, but with the end of the Cold War the project was cancelled in November 1991. At that time construction was about 45% complete, and scrapping began in February 1992. The metal prepared for building the second ship of this class was also scrapped.

It would have been 85,000 tons in displacement (larger than the older Forrestal-class carriers but smaller than contemporary Nimitz class carriers of the U.S. Navy). Ulyanovsk would have been able to carry the full range of fixed-wing carrier aircraft, as opposed to the limited scope in which Admiral Kuznetsov launched aircraft, by way of a ski jump. The configuration would have been very similar to U.S. Navy carriers though with the typical Soviet practice of adding anti-ship missile (ASM) and surface-to-air missile (SAM) launchers.

Group "Ulyanovsk" was to include 70 aircraft. It was planned following composition:
24 Sukhoi Su-33 (Su-27K) Fighters
24 Mikoyan MiG-29K Fighters
4 Yakovlev Yak-44 RLD Airborne early warning aircraft
16 Kamov Ka-27 Anti-submarine helicopters
2 Ka-27PS Search and rescue helicopters
The ship was equipped with two steam catapults "Lighthouse", created by the Proletarian factory, a springboard and 4 arresting gear . For storage of aircraft at the hangar deck had a size of 175 × 32 × 7,9 m on the flight deck of the aircraft rose by 3 lifts with carrying capacity of 50 tons (two on the starboard side and one on the left). In the stern of the optical system is housed landing "Moon".

Sources:
Soviet aircraft carrier Ulyanovsk - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Ul'yanovsk Class - Project 1143.7

India should stay away from this... it has the expertise to design next generation of aircraft carrier.. rather India should explore possibility on building nucluear power plant with ~ 200 MW with Russia.

Sam2012

Re: Russia offers to build new aircraft carrier for India, possibly nu

A joint project with Indian Private shipbuilders like Pipanav , L&T etc will be the way to go . I think chances are very remote after Gorshkov afterburn

Re: Russia offers to build new aircraft carrier for India, possibly nu

Russia is good friend of india they share technology with us. We lost in bangladesh war when china & usa tring to attack only russia come they we won
Seems like you went in coma before 71 and just woke up... you need this for sure...

ON TOPIC... India should neither say yes or no and say "Accha dekhenge".If they want to give a ready to use one in a good price then make the deal.

Or else we can make AC's of our own now which are already planned... it might take the same time as refurbished Gorshkov.

Never in a million years should india fall to this cash sucking honeytrap laid by the russians."Are yaar hame kya pagal kutta ne kata" :pound::pound::pound:

India will no way shift the IAC-2 to a Russian shipyard. Simple reason: setting up the dockyard is expensive and we already have a built up local technical skills in Cochin. If we scrap IAC-2, that skillset will be lost. The same happened when SSK-5 & SSK-6 of the HDW class were scrapped which is now resulting in huge delays in the Scorpene program. If we want nuke AC, ask the DCN to help in setting up a nuke reactor inside an AC built in India.