Railway Budget 2012

Chan Lankela

Well, they'll have to actualy do something now, otherwise it would be like commiting political suicide for no reason by hiking the ticket prices.

7 things to like about Rail Budget

by FP Staff Mar 14, 2012

#Dinesh Trivedi #Railway Budget #Railways Minister

While the fare hike will dominate headlines, Railways Minister Dinesh Trivdei announced a host of new initiatives for the Indian Railways, a service he said is as important as any other to ensure the growth of the nation. Initiatives that caught our eye included proposals like green toilets to greatly improved passenger services. Here is a list of what we like best:

1. Green toilets: In his speech, Trivedi said green toilets would be introduced to stop corrosion and degradation of tracks due to what he politely referred to as 'night-soil'. Vacuum toilets, currently found on airplanes are to be fitted on a few premium train services as a pilot project and will be introduced on other trains soon. Additionally, 2,500 coaches will be equipped with bio-toilets developed by the DRDO. If it means our train coaches and tracks stink less we say : Yes please!

2. Cleaner toilet and hygiene services in six months : "I am not prepared to accept the hygiene standards of trains", said Trivedi. None of us ever did but then we really couldn't do too much about it. Trivedi announced the setting up of a special house keeping unit to ensure that cleanliness and hygiene are improved, in keeping with international standards. This will extend to toilet facilities at stations. Hallelujiah!

Commuters travel in a crowded suburban train during the morning rush hour in Mumbai March 14, 2012. Reuters

3. Better food: The minister got it right when he said that people expected better food while travelling on Indian Railways. Reputed catering agencies will be recruited through a global tender to run the kitchens in pantry cars of trains and kitchens at major stations that cater to the trains. The pilot project is to be launched on 26 premium trains, the minister said. The Railways will also have a book-a-meal scheme to allow commuters to book their choice of meals before they board they train.

4. Passenger amenities: For a change the railways seem to want to pamper its customers. Escalators at major stations, upgraded facilities at multiple stations, air conditioned executive lounges with wi-fi, SMS to be used as proof of identity while booking e-tickets and booking your meals through email or SMS. Now to hopefully have them implemented soon.

5. Train coaches and stations that are differently abled friendly: The minister has proposed special coaches for the differently abled that will specially cater to passengers bound to wheelchairs. Every train will have one such coach which will have specially constructed toilets and two attendants. Similarly toilets on train stations will also be more usable for the differently abled. About time we say.

6. Waitlisted? Get booked on an alternate train: The Railway Minister announced the introduction of an Alternate Train Accommodation System (ATAS) as a pilot project in order to accommodate wait-listed passenger on alternate trains instead of leaving them stranded.

7. Greater security: The RPF helpline is to be integrated with the passenger helpline that the Railways operate to allow passengers to contact security personnel in the event on emergency. Security systems are to be upgraded at 202 stations and police personnel escorting trains is also to be increased.

What did you like about the Railway Minister's budget?

I've done my duty, don't fear God also: Trivedi

Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi brushed aside the possibility of being asked to resign from his post by Mamata Banerjee, saying he was "not afraid of God" and would not roll back passenger fares at the cost of compromising passenger safety.

"I have done my conscious duty and I don't fear God also," Trivedi told CNN-IBN.

"The question of rolling back fares has not come to me and I have not been told to roll back fares. I am like a doctor and I know what is good for patient (railways). If you are going to roll back fares then I have to roll back on safety also," Trivedi said, adding "Railways was getting into the ICU and all I have done is to pull it out of ICU."

Trivedi said the TMC chief had not intefered in the Railway Budget and he did not believe she would ask him to resign. PTI

The Railway Minister ruled out being asked to step down from the post by party chief Mamata Banerjee and said he had not consulted with her or party colleagues before deciding to hike rates.

"In order to be fair with Mamata, I must tell you that she has never interfered in my working"¦ I must confess I have not consulted her or the party," Trivedi said.

The Railway Minister, when asked if he would be asked to leave the post, turned philosophical and said no seat of power was permanent and he had to do whatever was good for the country.

"There are no consequences of losing the chair. Mamata Banerjee is not so unreasonable," Trivedi said.

The Railway Minister who said his budget for Indian Railways would focus on safety said he had consulted with the common man who had given him approval to hike passenger fares.

"I have taken a decision on what my conscience told me. I have not consulted her or the party. I have not consulted anyone except the common man," he said, adding that the fare hike was in keeping with the demand for a low fare hike.

The minister said it was not possible to keep cross-subsidising the freight and passenger services of the railways and it was already in deep debt with the additional pressure of a Rs 3,000 crore loan from the Ministry of Finance.

"This is not a political budget but an economic one. I have to work as a railway minister of India," Trivedi said

Rail Budget: Railway minister announces 75 new express trains, 21 passenger trains

NEW DELHI: Railway minister Dinesh Trivedi has announced several new trains in his maiden budget speech. Presenting the rail budget, railway minister announced 75 new express trains and 21 passenger trains.

Dinesh Trivedi also announced Guru Parikrama trains to be run to Amritsar, Patna and Nanded.

Two double-decker trains and a Shatabdi train are among the new express trains announced in the Rail Budget 2012-13.

Howrah-New Jalpaiguri Shatabdi Express, Chennai-Bangalore AC double-decker Express and Habibganj-Indore AC double-decker express trains were announced by railway minister Dinesh Trivedi while presenting hisRailway Budget 2012-13.

For northeast region, Trivedi announced introduction of Dibrugarh-Kolkata Express, Kamakhya-Lokmany Tilak AC express, and Kamakhya-Tezpur Intercity Express among other trains.

He also announced 75 additional services to run in Mumbai suburb.

For Kolkata Metro, Trivedi announced 50 new services to be introduced in the 2012-13. The Rail Budget also announced 18 additional services to be run in Chennai area.

List of new Express Trains announced in Railway Budget 2012-13

1. Kamakhya-Lokmanya Tilak (T) AC Express (Weekly) via Katihar, Mughalsarai, Itarsi

2. Secunderabad-Shalimar AC Express (Weekly) via Vijayawada

3. Bandra (T)- Bhuj AC Express (Tri-Weekly)

4. Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Udhampur AC Express (Tri-Weekly)via Ambala, Jalandhar

5. Coimbatore-Bikaner AC Express (Weekly) via Roha, Vasai Road, Ahmedabad, Jodhpur

6. Kakinada-Secunderabad AC Express (Tri-weekly)

7. Yesvantpur-Kochuveli AC Express (Weekly)

8. Chennai-Bangalore AC Double-decker Express (Daily)

9. Habibganj-Indore AC Double-decker Express (Daily)

10. Howrah-New Jalpaiguri Shatabdi Express (6 days a week) via Malda Town

11. Kamakhya-Tezpur Intercity Express (Daily)

12. Tiruchchirappalli-Tirunelveli Intercity Express (Daily) via Madurai, Virudunagar

13. Jabalpur-Singrauli Intercity Express (Daily) via New Katni Jn.

14. Bidar-Secunderabad Intercity Express (6 days a week)

15. Kanpur-Allahabad Intercity Express (Daily)

16. Chhapra-Manduadih Intercity Express (Daily) via Phephna, Rasra, Mau, Aunrihar

17. Ranchi-Dumka Intercity Express (Daily) via Deoghar

18. Barbil-Chakradharpur Intercity Express (Daily) via Dongoaposi, Jhinkpani

19. Secunderabad-Belampalli Intercity Express (Daily) via Kazipet

20. New Jalpaiguri-New Cooch Behar Intercity Express (5 days a week)

21. Ahmedabad-Ajmer Intercity Express (Daily)

22. Dadar (T) - Tirunelveli Express (Weekly) via Roha, Coimbatore, Erode

23. Visakhapatnam-Chennai Express (Weekly)

24. Visakhapatnam-Sai Nagar Shirdi Express (Weekly) via Vijayawada, Manmad

25. Indore-Yesvantpur Express (Weekly) via Itarsi, Narkher, Amravati, Akola, Kacheguda

26. Ajmer-Haridwar Express (Tri-Weekly) via Delhi

27. Amravati-Pune Express (Bi-weekly) via Akola, Purna and Latur

28. Kacheguda-Madurai Express (Weekly) via Dharmavaram, Pakala, Jolarpettai

29. Bikaner-Puri Express (Weekly) via Jaipur, Kota, Katni Murwara, Jharsuguda, Sambalpur

30. Secunderabad-Darbhanga Express (Bi-weekly) via Ballarshah, Jharsuguda, Rourkela, Ranchi, Jhajha

31. Bilaspur-Patna Express (Weekly) via Asansol, Jhajha

32. Howrah-Raxual Express (Bi-weekly) via Asansol, Jhajha, Barauni

33. Bhubaneswar-Bhawanipatna Link Express (Daily) via Vizianagaram

34. Puri-Yesvantpur Garib Rath Express (Weekly) via Visakhapatnam, Guntur

35. Sai Nagar Shirdi-Pandharpur Express (Tri-weekly) via Kurduwadi

36. Bhubaneswar-Tirupati Express (Weekly) via Visakhapatnam, Gudur

37. Visakhapatnam-Lokmanya Tilak (T) Express (Weekly) via Titlagarh, Raipur

38. Howrah-Lalkuan Express (Weekly) via Mughalsarai, Varanasi, Lucknow

39. Kolkata-Jaynagar Express (Weekly) via Asansol, Jhajha, Barauni

40. Dibrugarh-Kolkata Express (Weekly)

41. Firozpur-Sriganganagar Express (Daily) via Fazilka, Abohar

42. Jaipur-Secunderabad Express (Weekly) via Nagda, Bhopal, Narkher, Amravati, Akola

43. Okha-Jaipur Express (Weekly) via Palanpur, Ajmer

44. Adilabad-Hazur Sahib Nanded Express (Daily) via Mudkhed

45. Shalimar-Chennai Express (Weekly)

46. Mysore-Sai Nagar Shirdi Express (Weekly) via Bangalore, Dharmavaram, Bellary

47. Valsad-Jodhpur Express (Weekly) via Palanpur, Marwar

48. Porbander-Secunderabad Express (Weekly) via Viramgam, Vasai Road

49. Bandra (T) - Delhi Sarai Rohilla Express (Weekly) via Palanpur, Phulera

50. Hapa-Madgaon Express (Weekly) via Vasai Road, Roha

51. Bikaner-Bandra(T) Express (Weekly) via Jodhpur, Marwar, Ahmedabad

52. Ahmedabad-Gorakhpur Express (Weekly) via Palanpur, Jaipur, Mathura, Farrukhabad, Kanpur

53. Durg-Jagdalpur Express (Tri-Weekly) via Titlagarh

54. Mannargudi-Tirupati Express (Tri-Weekly) via Thiruvarur, Villupuram, Katpadi

55. Gandhidham-Bandra (T) Express (Weekly) via Morbi

56. Kota-Hanumangarh Express (Daily) via Jaipur, Degana, Bikaner

57. Jhansi-Mumbai Express (Weekly) via Gwalior, Maksi, Nagda

58. Secunderabad-Nagpur Express (Triweekly) via Kazipet

59. Kanpur-Amritsar Express (Weekly) via Farrukhabad, Bareilly

60. Chappra-Lucknow Express (Tri-Weekly) via Masrakh, Thawe, Padrauna

61. Karimnagar-Tirupati Express (Weekly) via Pedapalli

62. Anandvihar-Haldia Express (Weekly) via Mughalsarai, Gomoh, Purulia

63. Barrackpore-Azamgarh Express (Weekly) via Jhajha, Ballia, Mau

64. Indore-Rewa Express (Tri-weekly) via Bina

65. Running of independent train between Jabalpur-Hazrat Nizamuddin by delinking from 12405/12406 Bhusawal-Hazrat Nizamuddin and 12409/12410 Raigarh-Nizamuddin Gondwana Express

66. Darbhanga-Ajmer Express (Weekly) via Raxaul, Sitapur, Bareilly, Kasganj, Mathura

67. Solapur-Yesvantpur Express (Tri-weekly) via Gulbarga

68. Chennai-Puri Express (Weekly)

69. Hyderabad-Ajmer Express (Weekly) via Manmad, Itarsi, Ratlam

70. Asansol-Chennai Express (Weekly) via Purulia, Sambalpur, Vizianagaram

71. Shalimar-Bhuj Express (Weekly) via Bilaspur, Katni, Bhopal

72. Amritsar-Hazur Sahib Nanded Express (Weekly)

73. Santragachi-Ajmer Express (Weekly) via Kharagpur, Chandil, Barkakana, Katni, Kota

74. Malda Town-Surat Express (Weekly) via Rampur Hat, Asansol, Nagpur

75. Dwarka-Somnath Express (Daily)

Rail Budget: Increase in train fares after nine years

Here's how much you will end up paying on some key routes after the increase in passenger fares announced by railway minister Dinesh Trivedi in his budget.

Delhi-Lucknow (AC-3): Rs 50

Delhi-Lucknow (sleeper): Rs 25

Delhi-Indore (AC-3): Rs 80

Delhi-Indore (sleeper): Rs 40

Delhi-Kolkata (AC-3): Rs 145

Delhi-Kolkata (AC-2): Rs 218

Delhi-Kolkata (AC-1): Rs 436

Delhi-Kolkata (sleeper): Rs 75

Delhi-Ahmedabad (sleeper): Rs 45

Delhi-Ahmedabad (AC-3): Rs 90

Delhi-Ahmedabad (AC-2): Rs 145

Delhi-Ahmedabad (AC-1): Rs 270

Delhi-Mumbai (AC-3): Rs 140

Delhi-Mumbai (sleeper): Rs 70

Delhi-Patna (sleeper): Rs 50

Delhi-Patna (AC-3): Rs 100

Delhi-Bhopal (AC chair car): Rs 70

Delhi-Bhopal (AC-3): Rs 70

Delhi-Bhopal (AC-1): Rs 210

Delhi-Bhopal (sleeper): Rs 35

Delhi-Chennai (sleeper): Rs 43

Delhi-Chennai (AC-3): Rs 217

Delhi-Chennai (AC-1): Rs 435
The increase in fares is quite nominal on Aam Admi and that too is happening after nine years. Don't understand the gripe of BJP and TMC about the fare hikes.

Dinesh Trivedi has proven that he is Railway minister of India and not Rail minister of Mamta aunty.

Reactions: nrj

Sack Dinesh Trivedi as Railway Minister: Mamata Banerjee to Prime Minister

New Delhi: Trinamool Congress and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday asked Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to remove Dinesh Trivedi as the Railway Minister. She has also suggested the name of Mukul Roy to replace Dinesh Trivedi for the Cabinet rank.

Sources said a fax has been sent to the Prime minister by Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday evening.
What a regressive leader Mamta has proven to be. God save this country.

Good to see some effort to increase the fairs. Hope he holds the ground and don't give up

Mamata Banarjee has exhibited monumental idiocy today.

What a retard, she is weakening her WB govt every passing day by making it easy for opposition herself.

Dinesh Trivedi would make a very good Railway minister, if only he were not subordinate to Mamata and her drivel!

Mamata Banarjee has exhibited monumental idiocy today.

What a retard, she is weakening her WB govt every passing day by making it easy for opposition herself.
Today? She showed her idiocy years ago with her Singur agitation. I cannot recall when was the last time she did anything intelligent.

Reactions: nrj

H.A.

Okay if Mr. Trivedi is replaced then what shall happen to the budget he has presented. Does it get accepted or rejected and a new budget presented?

Today? She showed her idiocy years ago with her Singur agitation. I cannot recall when was the last time she did anything intelligent.
As opposition leader in 90s she had ensured that office goers in Calcutta enjoyed one day holiday every month.Our branch office was the butt of jokes courtesy Ms.Banerjee calling for a bandh at the drop of the hat.

Rail Budget 2012-13: Green toilets to be installed in 2,500 coaches - The Economic Times

NEW DELHI: Corrosion from night soil being discharged from toilets on tracks costs Rs 350 crore annually; Dinesh Trivedi, Union Railway Minister said while presenting the Railway Budget in Lok Sabha. He said green toilets will be installed in 2,500 coaches in the next one year.

Trivedi said, "Standard of hygiene needs to be improved substantially; all out efforts will be made on this in the next six months."

He said the Railways was duty bound to provide high standard of services and the it would set up special housekeeping body for stations and trains.

Manufacturing of bio-toilets is part of the green initiatives being undertaken by the nation's largest transporter to improve the cleanliness in rail premises.

Estimated to cost about Rs one lakh per bio-toilet, these new age toilets will be manufactured at Kapurthala coach factory and fitted in long-route trains.

The anaerobic bacteria inside the toilets consume waste material and convert it into water and gas in the bio-toilet system. The water passing through chlorine tank is discharged as clean water and the gas generated evaporates into the atmosphere.

Railways had joined hands with Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) for development of bio-toilets.
Why don't Mamata and her ilk understand that if the government hikes fares and starts installing bio-toilets, it will not only save in the maintenance costs due to less corrosion of the tracks, it will also make the tracks cleaner and also generate jobs, because these bio-toilets have to be manufactured somewhere.

Also, if there is increase in manpower for the maintenance and upkeep of railway infrastructure, there will be more jobs created and less chance of human error.

Finally, why doesn't DRDO limit itself to Defense related products? Instead of worrying about toilets, why don't they try to help GTRE with the struggling Kaveri engine? Duh!

Okay if Mr. Trivedi is replaced then what shall happen to the budget he has presented. Does it get accepted or rejected and a new budget presented?
Don't know, don't care. All I know is that expect more death and destruction due to accidents in Indian Railways. Don't be surprised if tomorrow Mamata decides to walk away from the government.

H.A.

7 things to like about Rail Budget

by FP Staff Mar 14, 2012

#Dinesh Trivedi #Railway Budget #Railways Minister
6. Waitlisted? Get booked on an alternate train: The Railway Minister announced the introduction of an Alternate Train Accommodation System (ATAS) as a pilot project in order to accommodate wait-listed passenger on alternate trains instead of leaving them stranded.
What did you like about the Railway Minister's budget?
Ok lets take this scenario...

I booked a ticket in Train A now if my ticket does not get confirmed then i get a ticket in Train B, now so what about waitlisted Train B passengers??? Does the Train A passenger get first preference?

Ok lets take this scenario...

I booked a ticket in Train A now if my ticket does not get confirmed then i get a ticket in Train A, now so what about Train 2 passengers??? Does the Train A passenger get first preference?
LOL, good question.

Well, if there are vacant seats in train 2, then RAC/WL passengers might be accommodated there. Otherwise, we will have RAC/WL passenger form Train 1 going to Train 2, then from Train 2 to Train 3, ..., until it cascades into utter confusion.

I am waiting on more information how this system will work.

Everything depends on PM & FM.

It is being said that Rail Budget was crafted with extensive inputs from Pranab Mukharjee and if you check PMO statement it says that general budget has support from rail budget design. Meaning general budget will develop holes if Trivedi's budget is scrapped. So this question is beyond one single individual which is otherwise being propagated by Mamata's loyalists.

If there is total rollback then I doubt Trivedi will continue job even under cabinet's instruction. This guy isn't the one who presents something in morning only to scrap it in evening under pressure from political master.

If there is partial rollback, then maybe it will be win-win for all quarters with no change in minister's chair.

And if there is no rollback whatsoever then it will take sharp political turn in central political equation as well as TMC's govt in WB. MMS & FM are said have put SP in reserve if TMC decides to walk out of UPA (In that case, we don't know if Trivedi will walk didi's steps or remain with UPA). PM said it very clearly before beginning of session that we've the numbers. So maybe if better sense prevails on Mamata then she will not enter cong's trap)

Above situations depend upon mutual understanding between Delhi leaders who will engage in talks tonight & tomorrow. What I know for sure is that FM has cut deal with Railways to bring revenue of 20k crores to GOI so as to stitch the fiscal numbers.

i cannot understand why various parties of indian remains cut-off from common people . take eg of TMC i know from personal experience that present generation as well as some older generation are ready to spell out few bucks in lieu of facilities specially ac coaches but still parties continue with their poor people mindset.
Again, I said this in the Anna thread, and I am saying it now. It is these so called poor people, the mindless plebs, who are finally responsible. They will keep voting anyone who keeps the fares low. This is their mentality. Sorry if I sound mean. I don't like to hear the news of people getting killed in accidents, but if there isn't enough funds, the only thing that anyone can guarantee is more accidents and deaths.

If I am not mistaken, someone once said, "Politics is too important a thing to be left to the commoners."

When Nikita Khrushchev came to Calcutta, he said, "We don't believe in God, but the way your are running your railways, there must be God!"