Pakistan erased an entire International New York Times cover story

Prometheus

Today's edition of The International New York Times was stripped of its cover story in Pakistan. Instead of seeing a lengthy report on "What Pakistan knew about bin Laden," readers were greeted with an enormous section of white space that dominates the paper's front page.

Elsewhere in the world, the International New York Times published a story by Carlotta Gall that closely examines links between Pakistan and Osama bin Laden. Gall's report traces the common accusation that the ISI, Pakistan's intelligence unit, may have knowingly provided shelter for the al Qaeda leader before he was killed during a United States raid in 2011. Apparently Pakistan's government doesn't want its citizens reading that content, and instead we're left with one of the most visually arresting examples of censorship in years.

Pakistan erased an entire International New York Times cover story | The Verge

Glint

Today's edition of The International New York Times was stripped of its cover story in Pakistan. Instead of seeing a lengthy report on "What Pakistan knew about bin Laden," readers were greeted with an enormous section of white space that dominates the paper's front page.

Elsewhere in the world, the International New York Times published a story by Carlotta Gall that closely examines links between Pakistan and Osama bin Laden. Gall's report traces the common accusation that the ISI, Pakistan's intelligence unit, may have knowingly provided shelter for the al Qaeda leader before he was killed during a United States raid in 2011. Apparently Pakistan's government doesn't want its citizens reading that content, and instead we're left with one of the most visually arresting examples of censorship in years.

Pakistan erased an entire International New York Times cover story | The Verge
Well, This isn't the first time Pakistan has done something like that..
I don't know how people still believe in their government here even if they have the internet freedom in Pakistan.
Its actually like North Korea, The next thing you know, Pakistan government would be posting stuff about landing on the Sun.

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/03/23/b...al-qaeda-is-censored-in-pakistan.html?hp&_r=1

The article in Saturday's edition, by Carlotta Gall, explores the complex relationship between Pakistani authorities and militant Islamic extremism — which its powerful spy agency, Inter-Services Intelligence, has long been accused of supporting with the aim of furthering its own strategic interests. The article, which ran in The New York Times Magazine in domestic editions, is excerpted from a book by Ms. Gall, "The Wrong Enemy: America in Afghanistan, 2001-2014," which will be published next month by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

In May of last year, The New York Times' Islamabad bureau chief, Declan Walsh, was ordered to leave the country on the eve of national elections. His visa has not yet been reinstated, though the country's prime minister, Nawaz Sharif, promised last week to review the case again.

Pakistan remains a dangerous place for reporters, with at least 46 killed there in the last decade, according to the Committee to Protect Journalists, an advocacy group.

In her article, Ms. Gall recounted being violently intimidated when she reported on the links to Islamic extremists, and Pakistani journalists have been beaten or murdered in attacks that some claim have involved national security or intelligence forces.

Gall's report traces the common accusation that the ISI, Pakistan's intelligence unit, MAY have knowingly provided shelter for the al Qaeda leader before he was killed during a United States raid in 2011.
A lot of speculation without solid proof by hypocrite and biased US media again. Why should we expose our population to this zionist propaganda if its all about speculation?

Let them post detailed covert adventures by CIA all over the world for a change. Let them analyse Raymond Davis and how Pakistani people and government were misled. Let them explain the US taxpayer why the CIA let Bin Laden escape to Pakistan when they had him first and needed $600 billion to fight a war in Afghanistan.

Well done Islamabad, no need to accept zionist propaganda!

bennedose

If a country is slave enough to publish a local copy of NYT just to prove their liberal credentials they have to do silly things like this

tramp

Keeping the space blank was indeed a brilliant ploy, doing more damage to the govt credibility than if the report was indeed allowed to be published.

A powerful statement of the order of blank Indian Express editorial space during the emergency days in India.

If a country is slave enough to publish a local copy of NYT just to prove their liberal credentials they have to do silly things like this

A lot of speculation without solid proof by hypocrite and biased US media again. Why should we expose our population to this zionist propaganda if its all about speculation?
IF it was propaganda then why delete it. You have no means to tell population that it is propaganda? If you do allow your population to know what Zionist propaganda is , how will they come to know what Zionism is all about. And how does everything on earth that Pakistanies do not like is Zionism ? Why are you all so scared ?

Let them post detailed covert adventures by CIA all over the world for a change. Let them analyse Raymond Davis and how Pakistani people and government were misled. Let them explain the US taxpayer why the CIA let Bin Laden escape to Pakistan when they had him first and needed $600 billion to fight a war in Afghanistan.
Oh you do that why should Americans do that for you. They will do what fits their bill. Now Pakistanis want Americans to bash themselves ! Kya khwaish hai ?

You are pushing Pakistani awam into dark ages. Indians concern is that the Abdalies and Ghories then will turn East in search of light !!

I hope you appreciate our concerns ! Do declare that I am also a Zionist ?? you are using Zionist language all right !

Get a tinfoil hat dude.

CHOR(pakistan) ki dari me tinka:lol::lol:

well done Islamabad again u successfully manage to fool ur jahil,jihadi janta:sad::sad::laugh::laugh:

bennedose

Osammy bin Laden lived in Pakistan for many years. He was in Abbotabad. No Pakistani knew that he was there. But the Americans knew.

What does this mean?

it means Pakistanis are stupid and their army is incompetent.

Carlotta Gall takes a much kinder view in that censored article. She says Pakistanis were not stupid. They were scheming and clever and were merely trying to deceive and make ulloos out of duniya. But Pakistanis do not want to be called scheming and clever. They prefer to be shown up as stupid. So they deny any connection with intelligence and make a big song and dance about it by blanking out an article and not having the sense to put something else in its place - like a picture of Haseena Atim Bum

IF it was propaganda then why delete it. You have no means to tell population that it is propaganda? If you do allow your population to know what Zionist propaganda is , how will they come to know what Zionism is all about. And how does everything on earth that Pakistanies do not like is Zionism ? Why are you all so scared ?

Oh you do that why should Americans do that for you. They will do what fits their bill. Now Pakistanis want Americans to bash themselves ! Kya khwaish hai ?

You are pushing Pakistani awam into dark ages. Indians concern is that the Abdalies and Ghories then will turn East in search of light !!

I hope you appreciate our concerns ! Do declare that I am also a Zionist ?? you are using Zionist language all right !
ISI is a powerful, well trusted and respected institution within Pakistan. For millions of Pakistanis including me she's almost sacred. Why would we publish western propaganda in the first place? Hasn't CIA and Pentagon done enough damage already?

Bin Laden has been widely discussed in our media by pro and con's and there is no curb on local media to question the alledged involvement of GoP and ISI. We don't buy lies told by western media which are designed to save their face and to portray us as an escapegoat again.

ISI is a powerful, well trusted and respected institution within Pakistan. For millions of Pakistanis including me she's almost sacred. Why would we publish western propaganda in the first place? Hasn't CIA and Pentagon done enough damage already?

Bin Laden has been widely discussed in our media by pro and con's and there is no curb on local media to question the alledged involvement of GoP and ISI. We don't buy lies told by western media which are designed to save their face and to portray us as an escapegoat again.

Oh! You seems to say and believe that ISI has emerged as final defender of Faith and final defender of Pakistani state. So after Paki Army was thoroughly discredited, ISI now has emerged as the ultimate power centre.

ISI will one day sink and with that Faith and state will also sink...

Do you guys have some alternative and some options left ??

bennedose

ISI is a powerful, well trusted and respected institution within Pakistan. For millions of Pakistanis including me she's almost sacred.
ISI is a woman? Maybe that is why ISI agents wear burqas. In Pakistani law aren't women worth 1/2 as much as men?

PA and ISI are inseperably connected and respected in my country. They will continue to serve and defend us against our enemies.
When it comes to defence, there is no better alternative than these institutions which are awed by friends and foes.

have you ever read Abbottabad Commission report ?

here if you can read it.

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/pakistan/52525-pakistans-bin-laden-dossier-3.html

CHOR(pakistan) ki dari me tinka:lol::lol:
No, Bandar ke haath nariyal. Ofcourse the bandar would be the every tom, dick and harry who calls himself an expert on Pakistani affairs and the bafoons who buy these lies. :wave:

well mine as well as whole human race ancestors were bander , if u think ur ancestors were khote, then i cant help it:laugh::laugh::laugh: